View Full Version : 175 optimax pro xs

mako rod
18-05-2011, 11:10 PM
Hi guys any one have any feed back on this motor looking at this motor for new boat / performance fuel economy thanks Rod..

kizza1
19-05-2011, 09:58 AM
give steve a ring at battery traders slacks creek, hes got one on his boat and is very happy with it.

19-05-2011, 10:00 AM
only problem with Optis is the size of them (I reckon anyway) they are huge, but very reliable, very good on fuel and have good power, not a lot more to ask for really hey!

julian1
19-05-2011, 10:10 AM
Noel i think your more thinking of the 90/115 series, the 175 is by no means huge by comparision to other 175 Di's and 4 bangers. great engine, good on fuel and plenty of grunt, they are noisy though - good pricing atm

19-05-2011, 10:12 AM
OH, OK, the 90 was the motor I was thinking of, my mate got one the other day and it is gigantic!

julian1
19-05-2011, 10:13 AM
OH, OK, the 90 was the motor I was thinking of, my mate got one the other day and it is gigantic!

yes the 90 is huge compared to say your 90 Zukes :o

craigie
19-05-2011, 12:22 PM
I have the 115 Opti (same block as the 90), it's actually lighter than the 115 4 stroke Suzi and Yammi, which were my other options when purchased back in 2004.
What are the differences between standard Opti's and the XS Pro version ?

Duckfish
19-05-2011, 04:39 PM
Good motors. Had a 99 150hp Optimax and pretty happy with it though a bit noisy. Have heard the new ones are quieter but I think i'll listen to one and make up my mind. Very economical.
Duckfish

Marchy001
19-05-2011, 07:37 PM
I have a 175 ProXs on the back of a 5.8 Noble super Vee.
Started out with a 150 Opti but was greedy and wanted more power.

WOT with the 150 was around 31knots but i was low on RPM with the Pro Xs i was hitting about 37knots and still low on rpm this was with a 17"Vengeance similar speeds with a 16 Enertia. I have a 15 Enertia sitting on the floor now ready to bolt on.

With both a 17 Vengeance and a 16 Enertia i am averaging 0.8 nm/L in the first 100 hours, fuel usage was the same with the 150 as well (first 40 hours) but i can cruise a fair bit quicker with the ProXs. I had a trip recently that it was a little lumpy and cruise was around 20knots and i averaged 0.9 - 1 nm/L for the trip

It does make noise but i find it easy to listen to tunes or talk when cruising at 27 - 30 Knots, I tested the same boat with a 175 Suzi 4St and i like the Opti better.

If ya want to know any more give me a call 0427 213 545

Reef Cruiser
19-05-2011, 09:13 PM
I have a 175 ProXs on the back of a 5.8 Noble super Vee.
Started out with a 150 Opti but was greedy and wanted more power.

WOT with the 150 was around 31knots but i was low on RPM with the Pro Xs i was hitting about 37knots and still low on rpm this was with a 17"Vengeance similar speeds with a 16 Enertia. I have a 15 Enertia sitting on the floor now ready to bolt on.

With both a 17 Vengeance and a 16 Enertia i am averaging 0.8 nm/L in the first 100 hours, fuel usage was the same with the 150 as well (first 40 hours) but i can cruise a fair bit quicker with the ProXs. I had a trip recently that it was a little lumpy and cruise was around 20knots and i averaged 0.9 - 1 nm/L for the trip

It does make noise but i find it easy to listen to tunes or talk when cruising at 27 - 30 Knots, I tested the same boat with a 175 Suzi 4St and i like the Opti better.

If ya want to know any more give me a call 0427 213 545
thank you for the info i have a cruise crafrt reef ranger and are going to put a opti 175 on it your post was very helpful

wrxhoon
19-05-2011, 10:07 PM
I have a 200 opti on my Trophy (21') , plenty of power and very good on fuel.
I run a 18" Enertia and a 19" Vensura, I get around the .9 mile per lt cruising at 35-40 mph , at 550 rpm she uses 1.4 lts per hour.
Noiser than any 4 banger or E-tec at idle and mid range , not much difference at high rpm.

Very reliable and heaps down low, jumps out of the hole .