View Full Version : 6.2 kevlacat

feral cat
10-05-2011, 11:10 AM
hi just wonder if you kevlacat owners could help with a bit of info.im looking at maybe upgrading to 6.2 kc.is there a specific year mod or brand kc to look for.ive read a fair bit of hype about the 5.2 but the old saying some is good and more is better.so ill be looking at the 6.2 with 4 stroke 100 or 115hp.any idea on what fuel econemy would be like with these donks ltr per km.i have the old bruce harris 5.65 podded with 90hp 2stroke yammys and roughly get 1.1ltr per km.so i think the 4's would be a bit cheaper to run with the bigger cat.also how much difference in handling ability between the 5.65 sharkcat and the 6.2kc.i know the ride would be a hell of a lot smoother.pretty keen to upgrade soon.;D cheers.any info would be great.

perko
10-05-2011, 01:17 PM
For what people are wanting for old Kevlacat's with four strokes I reckon you would be better getting a KC2400. Awesome boat and prices are coming down now. In the long run you will be better off. Better boat, better resale etc. Once the price of the 2400 get down to the $70k I reckon the arse will fall out of the prices of the older ones.

10-05-2011, 01:38 PM
Where's Ian............. ?

I am sure he will be here soon .... :)

LP.

10-05-2011, 01:45 PM
not too sure the ride in a 6.2 KC would be a "hell of a lot smoother" than a Sharkcat! and for sure, the cost of a 6.2 with 4 strokes (if you can find one) will be on the high side, the 6.2 also suffered the inherint problem of being low in the stern with decent motors, plenty were fitted with 90HP Yamaha 2 strokes, and these went OK, but just OK, 115 was the best choice for them, but then the weight is a killer, best of luck in your search.

10-05-2011, 06:00 PM

As an option, http://www.australiawide.com/list-boats.php?dealer=australiawide&ToDo=show_details&cate=Power&de=83575

This is what you're looking for. I detailed this one when it came on the market not too long ago.

rosco1974
10-05-2011, 06:04 PM
dave i looked at that boat 3 week ago and the floor is stuffed in it.alot of money for a boat needing a new floor but other than that i looked ok
cheers rosco

Dean1
10-05-2011, 06:28 PM
dave i looked at that boat 3 week ago and the floor is stuffed in it.alot of money for a boat needing a new floor but other than that i looked ok
cheers rosco Ah so the floor is stuffed in it. Was wondering why it hadnt sold it is cheap in my eyes. In saying that a new floor isnt that big of a job, if you got it for 50k you think youd have to be on a winner!!

10-05-2011, 06:36 PM

I'd love to see a surveyors report, with me bouncing all over the deck for 12 hrs, I found one small patch as big as your heel that was a little soft. Nothing untoward from a boat of that age.

rosco1974
10-05-2011, 06:49 PM
i would too dave.did u feel where the fibreglass had let go from the ply floor in it.is a patch around 1mtr square in the middle of the boat .felt pretty soft there as well but i must be wrong i only spent 10 minutes lookin over it.jumped in it found the floor this way jumped out and walked away.but i guess paying 56k for a 2ndhand boat with a suspect floor might be someones cup of tea but not for me but on the plus side it did have an alloy trailer
cheers rosco

10-05-2011, 06:52 PM

Fair enough Rosco, If it were me laying down the cash I'd be going over it with the surveyor as well.

Was working right next to it today actually, still looks the goods.

rosco1974
10-05-2011, 06:59 PM
all good dave,does look good u did a good job on the detail.

julian1
10-05-2011, 08:55 PM
all good dave,does look good u did a good job on the detail.

Rosco, did you just buy that 2400 in your Avater ??

feral cat
11-05-2011, 04:26 PM
g'day dave and rosco.yeh that was one boat i want to have a look at.how bad is the floor and is it actually useable for a while and did you notice any stress cracks under the hull.trailer looks ok and rest of boat looks good from pics.the twin 100 4"s with low hours are inviting.i swore after doing the floor on my cat i would never do one again.ahh well 1 more wont kill.cheers.

11-05-2011, 06:17 PM
g'day dave and rosco.yeh that was one boat i want to have a look at.how bad is the floor and is it actually useable for a while and did you notice any stress cracks under the hull.trailer looks ok and rest of boat looks good from pics.the twin 100 4"s with low hours are inviting.i swore after doing the floor on my cat i would never do one again.ahh well 1 more wont kill.cheers.

Why not call the brokers (Euan and Detlef) and talk with them, knock a few grand off the price and get the floor professionally done before taking it away if you're that worried about it?

rosco1974
11-05-2011, 07:21 PM
i recon u prob get 12 months out it,maybe more..me personally i like to fix probs as i find them.

oxygen
12-05-2011, 07:21 AM
Feral cat
Over the past 3 years I have refurb a KC6.2 fitted the latest KC pods and is powered by 140 Suzies, I use 10.7ltrs per hour per motor. This includes a run across the bay and offshore fishing, averaging 47klms / hr on 4300rpm. I suspect in poor offshore conditions the fuel consumption increase.
Previously I had a 18ft SC (not podded) with Honda 90hp (carby model) the SC was not as economical as the KC, but the SC was the better riding boat. Hope this helps.

Flex
12-05-2011, 07:39 AM
Feral cat
Over the past 3 years I have refurb a KC6.2 fitted the latest KC pods and is powered by 140 Suzies, I use 10.7ltrs per hour per motor. This includes a run across the bay and offshore fishing, averaging 47klms / hr on 4300rpm. I suspect in poor offshore conditions the fuel consumption increase.
Previously I had a 18ft SC (not podded) with Honda 90hp (carby model) the SC was not as economical as the KC, but the SC was the better riding boat. Hope this helps.

Wow thats awesome fuel figures to say the least..

I have a mate with a 6.2 KC centre console with twin 140's. It rides fantastic. I have never ever been in a 5.6SC so I cant compare the two. But I cant imagine the SC riding better than the 6.2KC? Against the 5.2 for sure. But the 6.2 is a big boat, weighs nearly 2.5t and much bigger tunnel etc and is a bigger boat in general.

12-05-2011, 09:12 AM
hey Flex, can you post a picture of the 6.2 CC?? I have heard about a few being made, but as yet I have never seen one, be a good boat I would think.

12-05-2011, 11:43 AM
Feral cat

Are you calculating those figures across a complete day? As much as I luv a zuke, there is no way a DF140 would be sipping 10.7l/hr @ 4300 rpm pushing that lump of a boat.

oxygen
12-05-2011, 04:48 PM
Greg p
On a full day fishing half my running time will be across the bay so i pick up on economy here, obviousy offshore I'm working harder and give a bit away but overall for a day its very efficient, for the run I have to do.

rosco1974
12-05-2011, 05:34 PM
i have 140 suzuki's on a 2400 kc and at 28 knts at 4300-4500rpm and i use around the 17-20ltrs/hr / motor.sounds like i should of bought a 6.2 with 140's if those figures are accurate

Dean1
12-05-2011, 06:17 PM
Sorry but I doubt those figures very much. I was using around 26-28 litres an/hr for both motors at 23 kts with twin f 60's 5.2kc. 35 litres/hr for both WOT 28 kts.

rosco1974
12-05-2011, 09:33 PM
hey dean u refering to me or oxygen..mine is a close approx as i have only had the boat for 2 weeks but am sure both motors using around 40ltr/hr doing 28knots is really close going by the fuel i have put in and used on a trip.wot i recon prob 60ltrs/hr combined for 40odd knots
cheers rosco

perko
12-05-2011, 09:37 PM
Rosco's figures are spot on.

Dean1
13-05-2011, 01:58 PM
hey dean u refering to me or oxygen..mine is a close approx as i have only had the boat for 2 weeks but am sure both motors using around 40ltr/hr doing 28knots is really close going by the fuel i have put in and used on a trip.wot i recon prob 60ltrs/hr combined for 40odd knots
cheers rosco Hi Rosco, no not you mate i meant oxygen. I cant see how a 6.2 kc could be getting those figures. Maybe match a 5.2 kc with 60's at best but not beat it that much. Cheers.

Flex
13-05-2011, 03:03 PM
hey Flex, can you post a picture of the 6.2 CC?? I have heard about a few being made, but as yet I have never seen one, be a good boat I would think.

Yeah Noelm, I'll see what I can dig up.

feral cat
16-05-2011, 07:57 PM
thanks guys for all your thoughts and input with purchasing 6.2 kc.im still just looking and in no hurry.i have the minister for war and finance convinced;D so thats 90% of the battle out of the way.cheers.