View Full Version : Townsville Nannygai and Friends

Alchemy
17-04-2011, 06:53 PM
It had been nearly two months since Alchemy had been to sea and there were a couple of hiccups (my fault) getting underway on Saturday morning, but thanks to our decky friends all was sorted quickly. We got away from the ramp about 5am and cruised for a couple of hours to our spot X. Straight away the fish showed up on the sounder and it wasn't long till we had the first fish aboard.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-7kjcCgcwrFc/TapkchbvouI/AAAAAAAAAHU/1av9P4C9av0/s320/atsa00027.jpg (http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-7kjcCgcwrFc/TapkchbvouI/AAAAAAAAAHU/1av9P4C9av0/s1600/atsa00027.jpg)
We've caught good grunter here before but had hoped the fish would have a red tinge. It wasn't long before a couple of nannygai came abord, including this horse 10kg fish to Steve which was a PB for him.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-sYwzzt9m3u0/TaplPg0vW6I/AAAAAAAAAHY/x9OTp6IbFfM/s320/atsa00011.jpg (http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-sYwzzt9m3u0/TaplPg0vW6I/AAAAAAAAAHY/x9OTp6IbFfM/s1600/atsa00011.jpg)
Amongst the nannygai were some fingermark. These are always a welcome surprise.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-kyaR6E4V_34/TapljQHjjgI/AAAAAAAAAHc/MPADzukzun8/s320/atsa00013.jpg (http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-kyaR6E4V_34/TapljQHjjgI/AAAAAAAAAHc/MPADzukzun8/s1600/atsa00013.jpg)
Not to be outdone, Nic also scored a very nice fingermark.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-MScHB-ll1ss/TaplwRBOHLI/AAAAAAAAAHg/E8avCTW_TaE/s320/atsa00015.jpg (http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-MScHB-ll1ss/TaplwRBOHLI/AAAAAAAAAHg/E8avCTW_TaE/s1600/atsa00015.jpg)
Craig's turn was next, but he upped the ante scoring his PB nannygai. Craig's fish being the fish of the day at 10.5kg.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-jtpufJW7JVc/TapmIElUaRI/AAAAAAAAAHk/K04HJzjZH1M/s320/atsa00021.jpg (http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-jtpufJW7JVc/TapmIElUaRI/AAAAAAAAAHk/K04HJzjZH1M/s1600/atsa00021.jpg)
Today was a day of firsts. Two PBs and new species to add to the growing list from spot X. The new species was a black jew that took Steve's SP. Steve also managed a couple of fingermark on the SP. The SP was a white "Slam". A great effort in my opinion.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-D3ZSYUxMb4A/Tapms6NRWtI/AAAAAAAAAHo/ZgvsEFoEonM/s320/atsa00023.jpg (http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-D3ZSYUxMb4A/Tapms6NRWtI/AAAAAAAAAHo/ZgvsEFoEonM/s1600/atsa00023.jpg)
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-DGyc-xmLk8M/TapmyR3eEyI/AAAAAAAAAHs/WGLZInTMuFE/s320/atsa00025.jpg (http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-DGyc-xmLk8M/TapmyR3eEyI/AAAAAAAAAHs/WGLZInTMuFE/s1600/atsa00025.jpg)
All I could manage was a couple of gold spot cod. First one was around the four kg mark, but the second was a nice fish for the esky at 14kg.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/--4GzinZPyHg/TapnSzPAkEI/AAAAAAAAAHw/oO-7VReLTrk/s320/atsa00017.jpg (http://2.bp.blogspot.com/--4GzinZPyHg/TapnSzPAkEI/AAAAAAAAAHw/oO-7VReLTrk/s1600/atsa00017.jpg)
Apart from the fish Steve caught on the Slam, all others fell to squid bait fished on paternoster rigs. We tried to drift but the breeze had us moving too quick, so all fish were caught at anchor with a number of re-anchoring exercises needed.

Thanks to Steve, Craig and Nic for a great day out. The last shot is of the esky and the fish cooling off in a brine slurry. Now the hard work starts!

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-veV8svadwTk/TapolgAe9lI/AAAAAAAAAH0/PwOBcur9dl8/s1600/atsa00028.jpg

-Beefa-
17-04-2011, 07:25 PM
well done Dave, those fingermark look great, very envyous.

XtremeBoony
17-04-2011, 09:38 PM
excellent report mate and top pics. Large mouth and goldies, is there any better combination :)

cheers from boony

STUIE63
17-04-2011, 09:45 PM
Dave like all your reports I am envious . a fair bit of time filletting there

pilchardjones
18-04-2011, 12:11 PM
good stuff dave and thanks very much again for the trip.
steve

murf
18-04-2011, 05:52 PM
a very sweet looking ice box, nice :)

cheers Murf

snipe
18-04-2011, 08:45 PM
Nice to see you are making some friends Dave.

Good fish too there cod tamer.

fishandchips
19-04-2011, 07:59 AM
Nice fish mate and great report, one of my mates is the codfather he got 5 goldspot one day ,we got everything but.lol Luke

Alchemy
19-04-2011, 06:50 PM
Thanks for the replies guys.

Beefa, those fingers are special fish. I always love seeing them come up, even when I don't catch them myself.

Steve, it was a pleasure having you aboard. Sorry for the early morning cock up :-? but thanks for sorting it for me!

Bob - FOM :P

Oh, I should have mentioned that Steve had a couple of the PE Tackle flies. The fished loved them, so much so that neither of them made it home!

webby nq
20-04-2011, 10:10 AM
Some very nice pinkies and fingermark there lad, all that rain has done wonders for the ocean I reckon cause there chewin there heads off and all fish are fat and healthy! just the way we like em, cheers mate

Dame00
20-04-2011, 06:10 PM
great report and excellent pics thanks mate