View Full Version : Sunday Morning Spanish - Off Mooloolaba

smclaren
10-04-2011, 01:11 PM
Slightly stoked ! ;)

Whole mullet (real big ones) ... gang hooks (real big ones) ... slow troll at sunrise !

25kg's ! Great fight ... must have been 3 good long runs in total. Almost lost it at the boat :-? ... but a second better gaff shot nailed it.

Boat is Slack Attack .. angler is Gav ... dodgy gaff work (but skilful driving) by Steve, bait provided by Jase!

http://i289.photobucket.com/albums/ll231/stevemclaren/Fishing/DSC00759.jpg

http://i289.photobucket.com/albums/ll231/stevemclaren/Fishing/DSC00760.jpg

http://i289.photobucket.com/albums/ll231/stevemclaren/Fishing/DSC00766.jpg

Captain Seaweed
10-04-2011, 01:18 PM
thats a bloody nice fish mate.

-Marty

Captain Seaweed
10-04-2011, 01:18 PM
Would have been a nice one to taxidermy I rekon

Fast Break
10-04-2011, 01:23 PM
Well done mate, that is an absolute ripper.

Fast Break

carnster
10-04-2011, 01:56 PM
Nice work guys, I pulled the hooks on a nice fish this morn on my yak, then lost my fifth spanish (approx 1m) in a row with the fish in sight. Not happy.

smclaren
10-04-2011, 02:11 PM
G'day Carnster ....

Mate, for months we have been watching your reports with envy ... and suffering from EXACTLY that type of scenario (bust off's, mis-hooks, tackle fail etc ...)

All our efforts have been into monster Spanish ... but no results until today.

As soon as we dragged this guy on-board I thought ... "Carnster Territory".

;)

Escape with LG
10-04-2011, 04:38 PM
Well Done!

stonecold
10-04-2011, 04:41 PM
Nice fish mate.......Carnster the record for lost fish down here (off the rocks) sits at 14 in a row ....

Ratman
10-04-2011, 05:11 PM
Excellent fish mate, well done. :o

What sort of boat is that?

10-04-2011, 05:22 PM
Nice work boys!

smclaren
10-04-2011, 05:54 PM
What sort of boat is that?

G'day Ratman

I believe it started off life as Markham Whaler... has been heavily modified since (lengthened, widened, hight increased) and has twin Yamaha 100 4-strokes on it. Custom set up for trolling work.

I believe it is looking for a new home if you're interested ? Go to Boatpoint, search Multi Hull, QLD, Custom Cat.

TimD
10-04-2011, 05:56 PM
Good Spaniard there mate :thumbsup:

cheers tim :)

spenceandkim
10-04-2011, 05:57 PM
Now THATS A FISH!!!!!!:o :o :o How long did it take you to get it in and how was yhe rest of your trip?

Speniard

cuzzamundi
10-04-2011, 06:15 PM
Great spanno, mate. Great girth on her, too. Looks every bit of 25!

Have never tried trolling BIG mullet before, always thought it'd be a struggle getting them to swim right. Will have to give it a shot. Mate do you simply rubber band the hooks down the flank for a quick rig? Works a treat with ribbon fish, wondering if the same would apply with mullet. Also, do you use a chin guard?

Once again, beast of a spanno.

Cuzza

Giffo65
10-04-2011, 06:15 PM
Nice fish,the grin on your face says it all !

Giffo

10-04-2011, 06:40 PM
Top spaniard. Nice when a plan comes together. The first photo is a good one.

Jono_SS
10-04-2011, 06:45 PM
That is a fine mackerel, but I'm more envious of the great filleting bench! "Made to measure" for a big beast just like the one you got! Well done.

Jono.

tarzan
10-04-2011, 07:23 PM
That is a brute !! Well done

fishandchips
10-04-2011, 07:39 PM
great fish lads well done. Luke

Lucky 1
10-04-2011, 09:51 PM
Nice fish,the grin on your face says it all !

Giffo

What he said!!!

gavsgonefishing
11-04-2011, 06:13 AM
It was nice on the chew as well, nothing wasted, the fish head made up some fish stock, the flaps go to the dogs, the bones go to the crab pots. And the meat, well that is something else.

Steve, a sneaky late arvo run this week might be the go.

Cuzza, we have tryed the chin guards but the mullets fat head doesnt sit in to the keel and we have a hard time trying to make them swim. The chin guards are a lot more suited to the tailor (my favourate bait). Also tryed the hooks down the sied with rubber bands but as spanos do they miss the hooks. This rig is basic, 8/0 or 9/0 7766d, black crane swivels in between either 3, 4 or 5 hook pend on the size of the bait, second hook down rap the lead around probably heavy enough for a no 6 or 7 ball sinker. No wire as the front hook goes into mouth and the last one lines up to behind the anal fin.

Flex the mullet up and pop the flesh from the back bone. They will run up to about 4.5 knots pending on the conditions, I tend to run between 3-4 knots. sometimes you have to rubber band your line back to the reel to get a lower towing point.

Hope that helps. Its all hit and miss.

Gav

Johnny Yellowtail
11-04-2011, 12:06 PM
what a great beast!!!!!!:)

honda900
11-04-2011, 06:10 PM
nice work boys.. Great fish...

Honda