View Full Version : Nambucca Blue

siegfried
28-03-2011, 08:27 PM
Fished Nambucca cayons on Friday, 1kt of current, 27deg water ended up with 4 bar cod 10-16kg and one blue marlin on 37, est130-140 kg short rigger black bart 1656 mini angle, sorry fullas no photos- ocean flat as sh%t carters hat Lots of striped tuna & flying fish

sleepygreg
28-03-2011, 09:45 PM
woohoo.....where there is is flying fish there be marlin. One of the earliest lessons I was taught in gamefishing circles. Even better when conditions are a little 'lumpy'. The schools of stipeys also mean there are beakies about...thats one of their main sources of food. Looks like you struck the piscatorial smorgasboard. Great catch.

Midnight
29-03-2011, 07:56 AM
Good one Siegfried,
A feed and some fun!

What colours was ya lil Black Bart If you don't mind me asking. I have a few Barts myself, I like em. PM if you like.

Myles

29-03-2011, 09:12 AM
Where did you launch from siegfried, locally or run down from Coffs? Sounds like an awesome day!
Thanks for the tips re flying fish and striped tuna Greg.

siegfried
30-03-2011, 10:00 PM
Launched atSWR, Myles the 1656 mini is inside skirt colour 09 o/s skirt colour 03 as per the Melton Catalouge, like all my stuff twin hooks at 45deg mustad 7691 (9-0s ) 6oolb wire barbs ground down. This lure has caught 2 blues in 2trips now (only cause its always out) water is still looking good and I should be out this weekend but gunna go and shoot a pig instead, you fullas seeing many fish yet?

Midnight
30-03-2011, 11:30 PM
Thanks siegfried,
I have been eying off one of those little 1656's.

The Blues have been fishing well off the Cape with Brownie in "Megumi" catching 11 from 16 over 4 days a bit over a week ago.

The Blacks and Sails have just shown up in good numbers off the northern sunny coast grounds.

I have moved down to the Central Coast now, I fished Port Stephens for zeros over 2 days on the moon, but they have been catching the he'll out of em in the last week.

I have sold the Berty 25 and will be steaming it up to Townsville with the new owner in 2 weeks. I am still negotiating it's replacement.

Good luck on the bacon hunt!

Myles

Vitamin Sea
31-03-2011, 04:39 PM
Good one Matty

hows the old girl goin?

Bill

siegfried
31-03-2011, 07:07 PM
going good , better get down here mate

siegfried
31-03-2011, 07:08 PM
going good , better get down here mate
hey myles check out the albemarles..to cool;D

Vitamin Sea
01-04-2011, 06:26 AM
hey myles check out the albemarles..to cool;D

http://www.pacificboatsales.com/New_Boats/Albemarle/248XF/248xf-e1_1_thm.jpg

248 Express, hmmm

http://www2.worldpub.net/images/saltwater/articles/boating/2003/11/albemarle_268.jpg
268 xf hmmmm

Midnight
01-04-2011, 11:14 AM
The Albermarles do look good, especially the bigger ones.

But I have just done the deal on 11 tonnes of good old fashioned fibreglass and Caterpillar iron.

An American Bertram 33 Convertible. I will post some pics etc after I take delivery of it.

Myles

siegfried
01-04-2011, 04:13 PM
Excellent choice mate, just the boat for that part of the world

Midnight
02-04-2011, 09:05 AM
Thanks mate, I reckon she should plough along nicely. And it will be great for the family boating on the Hawkesbury etc

02-04-2011, 11:43 PM
Bill

Go the whole hog mate! Albemarle 410 express!;)

[

Vitamin Sea
03-04-2011, 09:21 AM
Bill

Go the whole hog mate! Albemarle 410 express!;)

[

Beautiful boats the Albies

The Cruiser would have trouble towing the '41 Ian;D

samsy
03-04-2011, 05:32 PM
how long did the trip from SWR to nambucca take?

siegfried
03-04-2011, 10:33 PM
30 min SWR to Nambucca canyon Bit less from river to river (@20knots)

samsy
04-04-2011, 06:55 AM
wow didnt realise they were so close.

Thanks for the info.

how do you know youre fishing over a canyon?

siegfried
04-04-2011, 02:06 PM
have a look at a navy chart mate, you can see the drop offs / depth contours etc,

04-04-2011, 08:25 PM
wow didnt realise they were so close.

Thanks for the info.

how do you know youre fishing over a canyon?

or you have a decent transducer!! Never fished Nambucca but the canyons off SWR look bloody good on a sounder!

siegfried
04-04-2011, 10:52 PM
Same country mate my ducer dont read 500 fathoms so Ill believe em

Aussie123
04-04-2011, 11:51 PM
The Mountain is also a great area for Blues and Yellowfin.
It is more off Hat Head but no further than the Nambucca Canyons.

siegfried
05-04-2011, 10:21 AM
It is mate, you have spent a bit of time down here ay, we fish deep for bass and blue eye there;)

Aussie123
05-04-2011, 10:42 AM
It is mate, you have spent a bit of time down here ay, we fish deep for bass and blue eye there;)

I have spent a lot of time on the shelf there and heaps on the Mountain.
The south west corner is good for schooled up blue eye when they are in spawning mode as they like to sit on the mud there.
The pinnacles on the North East corner is good for Blue eye and Broadbill and Yellowfin on the bottom.
250 fm on the inside edge of the top of the mountain holds some massive bassies there as well as the very odd Hapuka.
Directly inside the bottom edge of the mountain along the 200 fathom ridge there is some awesome ground and bass groper fishing.It is also a favored area of the long liners setting for striped marlin and Yellowfin but it also attracts some of the biggest blues along that part of the coast.
Inside there again in 100 fm is some great bar cod fishing.

acehigh
05-04-2011, 10:52 AM
Aussie 123 have you caught broadbill there deep during the day time??

Keen to give the day time broadbill another crack up here off Queensland on some of the good canyons off the Cape and Tweed;D

Aussie123
05-04-2011, 11:02 AM
Aussie 123 have you caught broadbill there deep during the day time??

Keen to give the day time broadbill another crack up here off Queensland on some of the good canyons off the Cape and Tweed;D

Most of the Broadies and Oilfish were caught during the day.

siegfried
05-04-2011, 09:13 PM
me and you need to have a beer

Aussie123
05-04-2011, 09:23 PM
Beer sounds good,lol
I have 2000 marks for SWR,every handline,longline,dropline,trawl ground from Urunga to Port Mac.
Theres not a rock in the ocean there that i dont have a mark for.
I found an interesting pinnacle about 10 mile NE of the mountain one day,1200 fm straight up to 400 on the peak and lined with fish up the sides and 50 fm of fish over the pinnacle.
I always presumed they were mostly orange roughy but i missed the mark when i kicked a line over but must have been close as I got no baits back.
I never did get back out there to have another crack at it.

siegfried
06-04-2011, 02:44 PM
Ssssshhhhhhhhh

06-04-2011, 05:37 PM
There are some nice pinnacles out there for sure that aren't on any chart. Mick's Mount off the Gold Coast is a bit like that. 800 fathoms all around then this extinct volcano in the middle of nowhere that comes up to 600 fathoms from the surface. Looked good on Black Bart the 40' BW with Mick the owner who found it on his 3kW Furuno. Should have taken a picture. I know Mick Keogh who does some of the longliners electronics down there has similar marks off them.

Wayne_Red
06-04-2011, 07:04 PM
Fished Nambucca cayons on Friday, 1kt of current, 27deg water ended up with 4 bar cod 10-16kg and one blue marlin on 37, est130-140 kg short rigger black bart 1656 mini angle, sorry fullas no photos- ocean flat as sh%t carters hat Lots of striped tuna & flying fish

flat as a sh%t carters hat, haha never heard that one before, must be flat from opening the back flap door to remove the pan and hitting his hat on the back of the loo??
I use slow as a sh%t carters horse alot but never heard that one.
How far is it from swr to the nambucca canyons? I have heard there are more bar cod that way that swr?
where you pig shooting the pig at?
Regards Wayne

Wayne_Red
06-04-2011, 07:08 PM
sorry, didn't read page 2 for the distance
wayne

siegfried
06-04-2011, 10:25 PM
Gooday Wayne got a big boar with the 3oo ultramag, let a heap go to grow up. Fished out the front today in $hithouse conditions for nothing not even a carp with teeth(some people call em mackeral) hope to get wide on Satdy Pig was near tamworth

Wayne_Red
07-04-2011, 04:31 PM
300 ultra mag, nice, he wasn't getting away then. private property or forest?
Wayne

siegfried
07-04-2011, 07:25 PM
private mate..have a look on the AHN forum the poftahs just banned me:wings: :behead:

Wayne_Red
07-04-2011, 09:04 PM
what did ya do?

siegfried
07-04-2011, 09:52 PM
::) gross villainy apparently;D water and weather are both looking good this weekend so it looks like blue marlin sat and poke up and drill a big boar weve been after for a while. No other reports this week as the weather has been downright evil, spanish off grassy seem to have split as well

Aussie123
07-04-2011, 10:03 PM
The spanish are actually late leaving this year.
You will find them on the 11 fm reef though from now on on the odd days.
They also may have moved right in near grassy headland on that tiny bit of reef just north of the headland in about 5 fm.
Some days in there is incredible fishing.Good for a quick swim for a lobster too.

siegfried
10-04-2011, 07:27 PM
Got 7 blue eye and 1 bass yesterday in 520m and about 20 bloody endeavor sharks 0-0-0 on the blue marloons , more pigs to drill with the bow for 5 days then have another crack for a blue, water 26.5 1.5-2kts current blue but no chickens or bait..no other marlin sighted over the weekend

bigbrian47
10-04-2011, 07:39 PM
siegfried you must have been real naughty
pretty hard to upset MM

siegfried
10-04-2011, 10:03 PM
Not really and not really ;D just another brave man on a keyboard...you catching anything mate

samsy
11-04-2011, 07:57 AM
lucky you. we had 3 knots of current off ballina yesterday. too strong to fish the deep successfully.

business class
11-04-2011, 09:35 AM
lucky you. we had 3 knots of current off ballina yesterday. too strong to fish the deep successfully.

We fished off the Gold Coast Yesterday and went 2,1,1 with a 180kg Blue on 24kg. Was heaps of birds working and a few tuna. Water was 27.1 and 1.5 knots of current. was an awesome day and also marked a few more fish on the sounder just couldnt raise em.

siegfried
26-04-2011, 03:10 PM
Another deep water run for 6 blue eye 1 bass groper and 1 terrakhi current still pwering making holding the bottom difficult No birdys bait and the blues look to have split with the current. 2less big boars and 2 less deer inthe world:rifle: Been a good week

jake_snapper_king
26-04-2011, 09:19 PM
Beer sounds good,lol
I have 2000 marks for SWR,every handline,longline,dropline,trawl ground from Urunga to Port Mac.
Theres not a rock in the ocean there that i dont have a mark for.
I found an interesting pinnacle about 10 mile NE of the mountain one day,1200 fm straight up to 400 on the peak and lined with fish up the sides and 50 fm of fish over the pinnacle.
I always presumed they were mostly orange roughy but i missed the mark when i kicked a line over but must have been close as I got no baits back.
I never did get back out there to have another crack at it.

alot of the ground out there has stuff like this. ive been fishing it for 2 years now on 2 different boats. the birtinya straddie n queesland sea MT .

how are you fishing it?

Aussie123
26-04-2011, 09:35 PM
I mostly drop lined it but occasionally used rods or handlines.

jake_snapper_king
26-04-2011, 09:38 PM
how many hooks you setting?

Aussie123
26-04-2011, 09:52 PM
The sets depended on the depth being worked.
In 100fm for bar cod I worked 2 lines with 30 hooks each.
Out wider in 200 and 300fm I would soak 6 to 8 lines with 30 hooks each but that also changed depending on the ground.
200fm below Hat Head was a series of rocky outcrops so often it was only 1 or 2 lines on a spot and then move to the next piece of ground for a look.
The deeper canyons off the light and off scotts head i may set half a dozen lines along the canyon walls and often set one on the canyon floor and let it slide across the mud.
The mountain was just a case of setting a few lines on the shows and resetting any that had fish on them

jake_snapper_king
27-04-2011, 09:36 AM
im guessing you did it as a pro?

how many KG for you getting an average trip?

how did you find setting that many drop lines and soaking them,
we have done a bit of drop lining but have found soaking them the sharks get to them. it was better to use other tatics.

did you find any honey holes? where the bar cod would be in the 20-30 kg mark but heaps of them?