View Full Version : Last 3 months Goldie

fishfreak01
18-03-2011, 11:24 PM

Haven't posted anything for quite a while, not that I haven't been fishing, just been really busy with visitors, xmas and work. living on the Gold Coast we get heaps of friends coming up bugging me for a fish.

So here goes.

Had some mates up from Sydney over xmas that wanted to go for a fish, so I booked a trip with Roderick Walmsley from RU4 Reel fishing charters, however we had to cancel due to 25knts SE on the day, so we ended up rebooking it so we could get some better weather, as it turned out when we eventually ended up going it blew up to 18knts and rain squalls all day so we stayed in close and fished the nine mile. We caught 8 small yellowfin tuna got sharked quite a few times a also caught a 12kg spaniard. Rod is extremely helpful and goes out of his way to get you fish, I would highly recommend a charter with him.

This was the same day that the bloke fell out of his boat and had to swim for 6 or so hours to shore. He was fishing the nine mile as well and some of the sharks we hooked up on were huge, I wouldn't want to be in the water with them. It's remarkable that he managed to make it to shore alive, it just goes to show you when your time is up, it's up, and not one second sooner.

I have fished mermaid half a dozen times this year and have always managed to catch mackerel on ever occasion except for friday when it was very quiet, my mate caught a nice spaniyard on a livie early on and I saw one of the pros catching one trawling baits around, but apart from that it was very quiet.

I had put a live yakka on a heavy hand line straight to the bottom hoping for a another estuary cod as I had caught one earlier in the week, but unfortunately a huge stingray took it and caused my son a bit of grief bringing it up, as it came to the surface a cobia was with it and stayed next to it all the time, we quickly cast a livie a pilly everything we could find but it just wasn't interested. After we released the ray they both swam away and we went back to fishing.

My son and my mate were getting bored as there was no action at all and as it was hot and the water was glassy, they decided to jump in for a swim an practice their open water synchronized swimming, ( one which I'm sure will take of in the next Olympics )

We headed back to the seaway and still had some yakkas, so we decided to fish the last of the run out tide. The first two baits that went down got smashed instantly with fiona hooked up to a big shark that was heading straight for deadmans and barry hooked up to a huge taylor that went 78cm on the brag matt and weighed 7lb, I couldn't believe it when it came up, Leon tried to net it in a small enviro net and really stuggled to fit it in, he ended netting the head and grabbing the tail to get it in the boat, this was on my jigg rod with 80lb braid 100lb leader heavy drag and it still took some line, we were lucky that we got it in quickly as Fiona was loosing line and we were driffting out on the last of the run out tide, on 20lb braid and 30lb leader we weren't goint to turn this thing in a hurry so we turned up the drag and eventually popped the leader, we didn't care as we wanted to have another drift while the tide was good. Next two livies down got hit just as quick, this time I hooked a jew that went 65cm and Fiona hooked a nice GT. next drift barry gets a small jew and we get bricked by something big, by now we had one livie left and as soon as it went down got bitten in half, the tide had stopped we had a ball at the end of the wall and called it a day.

I have fished the seaway quite a bit over the past 3 months and am totally surprised what you can catch there. I only have a 4.3m tinny and have to watch when I can go offshore, however the seaway is a great place to fish when you figure it out.

Here are some photos of the past 3 months, hope you enjoy.

Fishfreak.

http://i1221.photobucket.com/albums/dd462/dogfight20/DSC_0174-1.jpg

http://i1221.photobucket.com/albums/dd462/dogfight20/DSC_0183-1.jpg

http://i1221.photobucket.com/albums/dd462/dogfight20/DSC_0186-1.jpg

http://i1221.photobucket.com/albums/dd462/dogfight20/DSC_0190-1.jpg

http://i1221.photobucket.com/albums/dd462/dogfight20/DSC_0203-1.jpg

http://i1221.photobucket.com/albums/dd462/dogfight20/DSC_0218-1.jpg

http://i1221.photobucket.com/albums/dd462/dogfight20/DSC_0219-1.jpg

http://i1221.photobucket.com/albums/dd462/dogfight20/DSC_0232-1.jpg

http://i1221.photobucket.com/albums/dd462/dogfight20/DSC_0225-1.jpg

http://i1221.photobucket.com/albums/dd462/dogfight20/DSC_0148-1-1.jpg

http://i1221.photobucket.com/albums/dd462/dogfight20/DSC_0150-1-1.jpg

http://i1221.photobucket.com/albums/dd462/dogfight20/DSC_0160-1.jpg

spenceandkim
19-03-2011, 05:03 AM
Wow those are the best photo's I've seen for a while, sounds like the seaway was going off!!!