View Full Version : wahoo and spanish-goldy

brisbane_boy
17-03-2011, 02:36 PM
Made the most out of the good weather this week with a couple of trips, it was dirty work in such calm hot conditions especially when those ratchets went off but as per usual someone had to do it

The last trip was just spanish mackerel, no pics as it was a solo effort. today a good wahoo that went 18kg joined a 12kg spanish, both fish were taken on 20lb line in shark free waters so they were allowed to run and the wahoo put on a really good show with a massive roostertail coming off its runs.

Have been getting some nice fish on a new lure known as the DR Hoo, it got a bit of a haircut which is unavoidable on skirts but with the size of the fish wasnt about to complain, troll speed was around 7 knots.

may this cracker weather continue, i think 2 more days in a row could scratch the itch

carnster
17-03-2011, 02:51 PM
Awesome work mate

murf
17-03-2011, 03:47 PM
18kg Dr would go for a sweet run :)

top stuff

cheers Murf

JACE...
17-03-2011, 04:41 PM
That is a nice Hoo
well done

TREVELLY
17-03-2011, 04:44 PM
A resin head and pearl thread - that is just great. It would have miles of action.

Well done BB - get back out there whilst you can.

Willo
17-03-2011, 05:29 PM
Good lookin pic there with ya fish being well looked after in that icey brine

Willo

17-03-2011, 06:55 PM
Great fishing BB; Dr Hoo gotta love that name, and it obviously works too!

spenceandkim
17-03-2011, 08:50 PM
Do you own scales?

brisbane_boy
17-03-2011, 09:00 PM
Na mate ive got them on a lease plan.

timddo
17-03-2011, 09:05 PM
bboy
What esky are you using. It looks a tad small for those fishes.

17-03-2011, 09:20 PM
Do you own scales?

You don't reckon those fish are 12 and 18 kg?

I have no problem with those weights, whether estimates or read off scales. Good day out BB.

brisbane_boy
17-03-2011, 09:35 PM
eskys a 126, fish measured 138 and 120 respective. anyone with experience would know a wahoo is quiet a variable weight fish, ive had a 143cm fish weigh less than that one

Eug
17-03-2011, 09:38 PM
not bad boys... which bar did you head through?

3rd degree
17-03-2011, 10:51 PM
Nice couple of fish BB, hope you get out to chase a few more!

18-03-2011, 12:33 AM
Do you own scales?

No wonder people don't post many reports anymore. So u don't agree with the weight - fine but keep it to your self. What's the point in trying to put someone down?

BB nice fish the hoo looks a healthy specimen

18-03-2011, 04:11 AM
No offshore reports from you in a while BB ;-). Keep up the good work!

Bull
18-03-2011, 09:31 AM
Well done BB a couple of great fish. As willo said its good to see them go into icey brine

danners
18-03-2011, 06:37 PM
the left arm certainly felt like it'd been holding 18kg up for the pic :D was a great morning out thanks for the trip BB

that hoo was a true balltearer, just had some rolled in cajun spices + thai fish sauce, pretty supreme

Vitamin Sea
18-03-2011, 07:35 PM
Nice fish, good one BB, Hoo would have gone well but I recon spanno's pull them backwards

Greg, you got it:(

Bill

19-03-2011, 08:27 PM
Spaniards have got no ticker at all. Hoo go much harder and have a dig to the end. The day we got 11 marlin off the Gold Coast the biggest fight we had all day was with a big wahoo hooked in the top of the head.

brisbane_boy
19-03-2011, 10:36 PM
Plenty of the splinters cant find traction on the heavy trolling gear many employ, if you leave the boat in gear they often follow along like a dog on a lead and dont put much of a show on, many encountered are the summer splinters. for a wahoo to do what they are famous for they need to arc at speed.

the spanos often have a couple of tricks and mostly will put on a first run of some sort however brief which can make them seem stronger, whereas the hoo dont always wake up, however on light lines or a better size wahoo some of the shows are up there with what a blue marlin first run can be like, its a lovely site watching a hundred meters of line shoot spray along its length high into the air. i rate them well above the best spanish but you dont see it everyday.

20-03-2011, 04:31 AM
A wahoo change of direction catches many out leading to slack line at times. Haven't seen that with a switched on angler on a spanish.

Vitamin Sea
20-03-2011, 07:23 AM
Interesting guys

We got a hoo a couple of weeks ago around 15 kg, he did bugger all, where as the 3 spannos we got the same day went off, and they were smaller fish.

As you mention BB, maybe the hoo didn't wake up?

Cheer

Bill

22-03-2011, 06:10 PM
Na mate ive got them on a lease plan.

Good to see you haven't lost it BB!!;D ;D

No issues with fish size either mate, photo's can be very deceptive at times! I also agree about Hoo but think that alot of there first run can be lost due to other rods being cleared so many dont get the real deal. Last season i caught quiet a few xos Hoo whilst live baiting and to have the rod in hand during the initial take and not have the boat doing some of the work truely puts these fish in a new league!!;)

Ps. what boat did you fish out of??

fishandchips
22-03-2011, 08:33 PM
yea nice fish mate well done,i fished 6 days flat out at the swains last year, then went out the day i got back, and the itch was still there. luke