View Full Version : Reds And Red Jew Before the Blow

05-03-2011, 08:22 PM
Coming off my work swing i eyed friday off for an overnighter to try and get some fish into the freezer before the suspect blow on saturday afternoon. We left the harbour around 10 am and headed out to skirt around a storm that had built up to the north of us so up to Flat some 50 up north we decided to go to sit the wind out and watch what it was going to do.
Water was sloppy with the swells coming in all directions making it uncomfortable trip in it. Out went the X Raps but to no avial did they work. Stoppped for a bottom bash to scored some smaller reefies and a black king.
Wind had dropped after s couple hours and we headed out to some Fern ground in search of the reds.
We found some area and drifted with only hussar and small jobbies to aid us so we searched around and found a small patch to anchor on and it wasn't long before they started to come into the boat.
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/fishingfridaynight037-1.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/fishingfridaynight042.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/fishingfridaynight048.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/fishingfridaynight034.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/fishingfridaynight064.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/fishingfridaynight073.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/fishingfridaynight077.jpg
Some beautiful sized Red jew coame on board with 13 all up and 4 nice reds
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/fishingfridaynight109.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/fishingfridaynight092.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/laurels005.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/laurels009.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/laurels007.jpg

TZOMsM3Olb0

mangomick
05-03-2011, 08:41 PM
good onya JT. Looks like you havent lost your touch.

kitty_cat
05-03-2011, 09:33 PM
very nice well done cant wait for some more red fishing

vertico
06-03-2011, 12:14 AM
good stuff JT, nice to see you getting amongst those red fish
sean

Sheik
06-03-2011, 05:38 AM
Looks green around the shed there JT. Had a bit of rain recently? Hope to make it up in the next few weeks. Maybe after the blow? Good to see you're getting your eye in.
jim

06-03-2011, 06:09 AM
Love those Nanni's JT.

Thanks for the pics and report.

murf
06-03-2011, 07:18 AM
top stuff again JT

I love ya sunnies :)

cheers Murf

XtremeBoony
06-03-2011, 07:30 AM
headed out at 10am??? geez you old fella's love your office hours :) well done on that haul of red quality. Had 2 mates head up ferns/flat way and both brought home the same bag of spanish and small mouth. Thought the small mouth might have taken over the north but you just proved that theory wrong :)

cheers from boony

06-03-2011, 07:43 AM
[quote=jtpython;1259357]We found some area and drifted with only hussar and small jobbies to aid us so we searched around and found a small patch to anchor on and it wasn't long before they started to come into the boat.

Just happened to come across that mark hey mate???::) ::) ::) ........I'm led to believe I found that mark......:-X ;)

Well done but don't send me pics at 6 oclock in the bloody morning!>:(

murf
06-03-2011, 07:49 AM
[quote=jtpython;1259357]We found some area and drifted with only hussar and small jobbies to aid us so we searched around and found a small patch to anchor on and it wasn't long before they started to come into the boat.

Just happened to come across that mark hey mate???::) ::) ::) ........I'm led to believe I found that mark......:-X ;)

Well done but don't send me pics at 6 oclock in the bloody morning!>:(

haha he just can't help himself,

so you lost your beauty sleep again Wags :-* your sleeping habits seem to be getting a lot of attention atm

cheers Murf

06-03-2011, 08:28 AM
Murf, not beauty sleep....more like - much needed sleep. ;)

06-03-2011, 08:29 AM
HAHAHA Thanks Wags was some area you found but i found the ground :P between your marks
Yeah Boony i'm not real fussed on the small mouths never got one on this patch of ground yet touch wood. Only got back from work that night mate had to get the boat out an get her ready ......i'm not a machine :P

ifishcq1
06-03-2011, 08:42 AM
You are a machine.........a fish processing plant

onya

indy
06-03-2011, 12:36 PM
nice one jt, good haul of fish once again well done, getting itchy feet myself got to get back out there, 1770 next

cheers pete...

aerordauto
06-03-2011, 12:57 PM
Hello jt that sounds like a great fishing trip and a good report to go with it.
u blokes r definately spoilt up that way.
cheers mark

06-03-2011, 03:05 PM
Hello jt that sounds like a great fishing trip and a good report to go with it.
u blokes r definately spoilt up that way.
cheers mark

A few words come to mind Mark and spoilt isn't one of them..........:-X :-X ;D ;D

06-03-2011, 05:20 PM
A few words come to mind Mark and spoilt isn't one of them..........:-X :-X ;D ;D
Well you won't come fishing will ya
i ask ya

jarhead
06-03-2011, 05:26 PM
Some top colour there JT, cheers for pics and vid.

Wal

bondy99
06-03-2011, 05:56 PM

Well done mate, a variery of fish to be had, nice red too, never caught one. how is the eating quality on a red?

Are you up in Townsville or south of Townsville

four_button_arnie
06-03-2011, 06:31 PM
Bloody he'll nice work! I think I need to pick your brains about chasing those lovely big red fish! Good work

Josh

06-03-2011, 07:24 PM
They are pretty close to being on par with the red emp but the red emp is just that bit better ............. this is only my opinion thou

Fishwisher
06-03-2011, 09:19 PM
Ripper fish well done JT im dying to catch some like that.

supa29
06-03-2011, 09:22 PM
Nice work JT, soem ripper fish there. a esky full like that is the best way to forget about work for awhile.

be up that way in 3 weeks so have to catch up for a beer and a lesson or two.

you even got the raccoon eyes to prove it mate

well done mate

supa

07-03-2011, 07:35 PM
No worries mate Pm when ya about
I'n not here for the next 2 weekends

supa29
07-03-2011, 09:22 PM
Sounds Good I Wont Have A Boat For 3 Weeks Leaving It Here And Coming Back For It Once I Get Settled So Have To Put Up With The Tinnie For A Couple Of Weeks.

But Loofing Forward To The Fishing
Supa

08-03-2011, 07:36 AM
Awwwwww Wags does That mean i'll See You Next Tuesday (as Murf would say)
:P

cuzzamundi
11-03-2011, 04:34 PM
Good stuff, JT. Great to see you out getting the reds again. How's the water around keppel? Still muddy or clearing up? Ripper session mate.

Cuzza

11-03-2011, 06:07 PM
Still Dirty mate ........... Will be doing an island camp soon and hoping for a spear will keep ya informed

Donny Boy
12-03-2011, 10:14 AM
Geez JT !

Here I come back after ages away....and you're still pulling those things in.....

I hate you. ;D

Yet another top report.................good stuff buddy.

PS. I still hate you. :P