View Full Version : Having trouble selling boat

kitch76
01-03-2011, 09:14 PM
what do you guy think of this
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/vbclassified.php?do=ad&id=3264
Had a few tyre kickers but no inspections, just reduced price.

greenie.77
01-03-2011, 10:34 PM
looks like a nice boat but perhaps a little dear??? I tried to look at all but the price and guessed around $6000....It is purely a guess though. Good luck mate

trueblue
01-03-2011, 10:47 PM
everybody is having trouble selling boats atm

Chamelion
02-03-2011, 03:23 AM
Not everyone... I know of three people, myself included, who have all sold boats in the last fortnight. One other bloke and myself took 6 weeks and the other bloke sold his within a couple of hours. We all got our asking price.

MyEscape
02-03-2011, 04:35 AM
I've always said boats are easy to buy and hard to sell.

The boat certainly looks in good condition. Depends on what it was worth new. Less the GST and discounted for second hand =$??

Mad-One
02-03-2011, 05:38 AM
maybe this is why http://www.trmarine.com.au/quintrex_open.html
only a thought

Phil

death_ship
02-03-2011, 06:18 AM
either no buyer or too dear. check the competition

Seahorse
02-03-2011, 08:02 AM
My Daughter Just Bought New 4.2 Quinnie, Unpainted, 30hp Brand New 7790.
Thats What Ur Up Against.
Wish Someone Would Buy Mine.
Chamelion, Where Did U Find U Got Best Result, Advertising That Is

Camhawk88
02-03-2011, 08:52 AM
I agree that the price is a bit high. While it is basically brand new, it is still 2nd hand and you could probably pick up a brand spanker for very close to that price. The main reason I would never consider buying new is depreciation is probably 20% once it is towed out the door. I would suggest taking 20% off new price, but of course i'm sure you want to re-coup as much $ as you can. Someone looking for a near new boat in the second hand market is looking for a bargain- not a similar price to new.

02-03-2011, 08:53 AM
As a general rule, if the boats good and the price is right, it will sell quick, especially tinnies, I think it is too dear, now I know there is a bit of stuff (extras) that you have added, but when selling second hand, they mean very little, people see a new (but bare) boat for (say) 8 grand, then see yours for over 7 second hand, pretty easy to do the sums I reckon.

02-03-2011, 09:03 AM
I lost $7k 12 months from new. As stated previously, if the coin you want is close to a buyer purchasing a new boat they may take the new option.

All the best with the sale.

timddo
02-03-2011, 09:23 AM
I lost around 3 k when i sold my trailcraft 12 months after purchase and upgrade.

I had a tyre kicker who wanted a 6k discount and said there is a boat for sale in NSW in the same condition for 6k cheaper. I told him to go buy the other boat. I could have sold the boat 3 times as i had 3 buyers wanting to put deposits on.

Just a suggestion. If someone has an intention of buying a boat. Make them put a deposit to hold it. $500. The good old handshake and she'll be right don't work anymore.

02-03-2011, 09:31 AM
I actually noticed that boat and thought...Mmm, nice.
As it's in Toowoomba you might get more then you'd get in Brisbane as there just are not the number of good boats for sale and only a couple of dealers over there.

I see boats (that's a bit of a stretch of a description too) on the side of the road here and wonder....you've got to be kidding me in regards to the high price....but they sell.
Exposure is fairly important. Where have you got it advertised?

deckie
02-03-2011, 10:58 AM
Always a buyers market..not just now.
For every one u see advertised there's another 20 for sale...especially mass produced brands.

Chamelion
02-03-2011, 11:56 AM
My Daughter Just Bought New 4.2 Quinnie, Unpainted, 30hp Brand New 7790.
Thats What Ur Up Against.
Wish Someone Would Buy Mine.
Chamelion, Where Did U Find U Got Best Result, Advertising That Is

boatsales.com.au did the trick.

02-03-2011, 08:59 PM
it's a lovely rig mate but unfortunately i agree with the other guys, it's too expensive. once you look through the nice paint job and bimini, the reality is, it's a 3.85m tinny with a 25hp motor, go and have a look at what the other 3.85m tinnies are asking.

for a $7.5k second hand boat i'd be expecting a 4m+ tinny with 30-40hp motor

Chris1984
02-03-2011, 09:56 PM
i just bought a 4 metre clark with alot of work done to it including side decks, 6 welded in rod holders, front and rear casting decks, bow and stern rails, 2003 yamaha 25, navman colour sounder, all safety gear registered on a trailer for $2500 on ebay. It's a buyers market;D