View Full Version : repowering an old 570 outsider cruise craft

catfish55
15-02-2011, 10:55 PM
ok guys , am now the prowd owner of an older 570 outsider, anyone still have one or knows of somone that does has an old 120 johno on it now
so tell me what your thoughts on repowering both 4 stroke and 2??? what hoars power , tend to do a bit of outside fishing as well . yet want to be able to afford to go fishing too so economy is also as important as getting out of the hole, and staying on the back of a wave....after some serious input please.....pat

catfish55
15-02-2011, 10:56 PM
will have to change my pic ....sad

Duckfish
15-02-2011, 11:34 PM
Had a 550 Outsider with a 150hp Optimax. Nice rig. Wished I still had it. Used about 80litres of fuel for an all day deep sea trip to Deep Tempest and back to Manly. It had a nice cruising speed and plenty of top speed if you want it.
Duck

D river
16-02-2011, 06:28 AM
A mate of mine built cruisecrafts at there factory for 8 yrs so I trust his oppion, 2 stroke only on them old 1's mate the fours are just too heavy on there ass end. I do 200km round trips so I always wanted a four stroke but he has talked me out of it time and time again, hell he wont let me trade my carb 130hp yammy in for a new high pressure 2 stroke. I get .8L-1km out of it and this will only slightly improve with a newer motor. My 130 weighs 175kg a 115 or 130 4stroke weighs 239kg, Thats almost another guy in the boat with a less resposive motor. For you I'd be looking at a 175 opti it'll cost about 19k off memory but the 135,150&175 are all the same v6 block with the same weight, some say with 4 stroke economy but with 2 stroke power, My next up grade if I'm ever aloud will be a 125 v4 opti and sadly not a 130 honda. Or maybe budget for a 150 honda but instead buy a 150 carb 2 stroke and put the spare 7k in the bank in an account called boat fuel and see just how long this will last you and each time yiou put it in for a service get a quote on a four stroke service and put the difference in your fuel account.

16-02-2011, 08:09 AM
Hey catfish, at 186 kegs a Suzuki 140 4 stroke would be a pretty good thing on your boat ...... and run on the smell of an oily 2 stroke

catfish55
16-02-2011, 08:11 AM
thanks , duckfish what sort of 150 was it mate?
thanks also D RIVER WOW AND HERE I WAS THINKING A 115 4 STROKE WOULD DO THE JOB ....GOOD ARGUMENT THER HAS alot OF MERIT...
i havnt looked at the others but they do recon the optimax is good on fuel?? just never quite believe the marketing>>>>>
any one else with any input, muchly apreciated ...pat

catfish55
16-02-2011, 08:14 AM
actualy now looking back it was the 150 supercharged 4 stroke , cant remember what ther called ? but they only quote at flat out and lets face it outside and up to near the bar you dont often get flat out . think they chew the fuel more at lower revs ?????? anyone know more as well
pat

catfish55
16-02-2011, 08:52 AM
Hey catfish, at 186 kegs a Suzuki 140 4 stroke would be a pretty good thing on your boat ...... and run on the smell of an oily 2 stroke
OK PADDLE WELL FIRST AND IM ASHAMED TO ASK HOW MUCH IS A KEG????
AND CAN YOU GIVE ME SOME MORE CONSTUCTIVE INFO LIKE WHAT BOAT DO YOU HAVE IT ON NOW AND WHAT ARE YOU GETTING PER KILOMETRE ...LITRES PER KLK IS A GOOD COMPARISON . BOAT SIZE AND BREED HOW DOES IT GET OUT OF THE HOLE WEIGHT ETC.
THANKS MATE ..PAT

catfish55
16-02-2011, 08:53 AM
Are Shit With All The Colures We'd Be Better Drinking The Motor Hehehe

catfish55
16-02-2011, 08:58 PM
can anyone tell me what an old say 94 120hp johnson weigh's ??????????? v4

16-02-2011, 09:34 PM
too easy pat, that's slang for kilograms and that weight places it not a great deal heavier than a v6 or v4 2 stroke. we had one on a 6.2m, 900kg hull (dry weight so add in the weight of all the other krap) and got around 17 litres per hour when cruising at 4200rpm for around 20 knots. i was very impressed with it actually, it was a great motor.

Duckfish
16-02-2011, 10:20 PM
can anyone tell me what an old say 94 120hp johnson weigh's ??????????? v4
Hi Pat,
The old 120hp Johnno would have been the big block V4 so would weigh roughly 170kg.The Optimax was a Mercury. I have a mate who has a 140hp Suzi on a Signature 540 which he is happy with albiet a bit slow getting on the plane. A round trip to Tempest, he would use about 70litres of fuel but a bit slow and doughy. My choice would be an Optimax 150/175hp motor on a 570 CC hull, run on a sniff of an oily rag and heaps of power. Some say a bit noisier then 4 strokes but having a look on a forum about the noise, no worse then a old 2 stroke.
Duck

catfish55
17-02-2011, 05:54 AM
thanks paddles , hehehe kegs hey well ther you go . so i can't drink the motor after all , please excuse my thickness, and thanks for the tip.
duckfish thanks to you as well for the info. i am concerned about the fuel economy anda link that honda had previously put up with a yamy 115 was interesting on a 575 vega . will indeviour to find the links and put them back on here ..???
i must have the only CC 570 here . come on guys help me here. will the 115 4s do the job????

Lachie1
17-02-2011, 08:50 AM
I've seen a fair few with the 130 Yamaha 2 stroke. I reckon it would be a better bet than the 115 as those old hulls are fairly heavy. A 115 will do the job but it will be working a fair bit harder imo.

Tickleish
17-02-2011, 09:07 AM
I've seen a fair few with the 130 Yamaha 2 stroke. I reckon it would be a better bet than the 115 as those old hulls are fairly heavy. A 115 will do the job but it will be working a fair bit harder imo.

I agree with Lachie, a 115 would be underpowered. They're a big boat, alot bigger than most 5.7m boats. I took one for a test run a few years back & it had a v4 140 jonno on it and it was bearable - Like others have said go the 175 opti - you won't look back.

17-02-2011, 12:32 PM
me too, i'd only be looking at 130-175hp whilst also considering weight. the 130hp V4 yammy is a brilliant donk too, and quite cheap to buy (i've got a mate who's recently had one fitted to a 540br haines hunter). most of the bigger hp four strokes will simply weigh too much by the sounds of it, the beauty of the suzuki 140 is that it's a tuned up 90hp which keeps the weight down significantly. the 150 suzuki is a much better animal torque wise with it's bigger capacity, but the weight goes up by 15%.

17-02-2011, 10:34 PM
I have a 135 Opti on a 575 Outsider that returns 1 Nm per litre constantly. I will be increasing it to a 150 via electronic upgrade shortly.
I would suggest the 150 straight up for you due to the heavier weight to start.

gofishin
18-02-2011, 01:04 PM
The current F&B mag has a letter written by a Brisbane owner of a 570 Explorer with a 150 Mariner 2/. The hulls would be the same, however I assume the Explorer version would weigh a little less than the Outsider

If you contact PW I am sure he would pass on the owners details so you can have a chat re the performance of his boat.
PS. I agree with others, any 115 would be too small. My 2c - 130 possibly OK, 140-150 better, but depending on motor weight. These older boats are normally heavier (comparatively) than current production models (excl s/s targas and bling etc). You could also do a search on boatpoint and contact any owners that have similar rigs for sale re performance.

Reef Cruiser
19-02-2011, 07:09 AM
i have a cruise craft reef ranger with a 150 99 carb merc getting going a bit slow the hull is about 850 kgs about same lengh . i will be upgrading to a 175 opti might not need all that power but better fuel comsumin ,better for troling and more fun to drive

outsider580
19-02-2011, 08:32 PM
Hi mate, I have an 94 model 580 Outsider with 06 135hp opti and she goes well. Great hole shot and good cruise speed and cheap to run for a heavy hull 900KG hull. I think I read somewhere when I was looking to buy this motor, the yanks prefered them over the 150s because of the lower ratio gear box with better holeshot with only couple of knotts slower at wot. Is your boat an outsider or explorer didn,t think they did a 570 outsider.

catfish55
21-02-2011, 05:38 AM
well thanks all thanks outsider 580. as well
YES MY MISTAKE NEWS FLASH THIS IS AN EXPLORER
A 570 EXPLORER MY MISTAKE ANY BODY WITH A 570 EXPLORER TO GIVE A GIDE ON HP ... 135 SOUNDS BETTER THAN A 175 AS THATS THE HIGHEST RECOMENDED HP FOR THE BOAT SAYS ON WEBSTERS BEST BETWEEN 120 AND 140..
BUT IM LISTENING
SORRY FOR THE MIXUP.....PAT

D river
21-02-2011, 06:02 AM
Hey mate that is an impressive weight for a four banga at 186kg for a 140 hp I may look at this option for myself but for your big rig I agree with the others and say 175 opti mate. A friend of mine has a 150 opti on a heap of shit 6m signiture and gets awsome fuel economy out of it off memory he does 250km round trip on around 150-170L of fuel and only uses about 2L or less of oil, it is alot quieter than my carb 2stroke but not as quiet as a four.

catfish55
23-02-2011, 09:26 PM
whats your thoughts on either a 150 yammy 4 stroke or a optimax, the optimax arnt carby are they looking at probably a 135

catfish55
23-02-2011, 09:27 PM
Hey mate that is an impressive weight for a four banga at 186kg for a 140 hp I may look at this option for myself but for your big rig I agree with the others and say 175 opti mate. A friend of mine has a 150 opti on a heap of shit 6m signiture and gets awsome fuel economy out of it off memory he does 250km round trip on around 150-170L of fuel and only uses about 2L or less of oil, it is alot quieter than my carb 2stroke but not as quiet as a four.
what 4 banger is that was it a suzuki ...missed that...pat

D river
24-02-2011, 05:58 AM
Yeah it was a suzi,and mate there is gune be a huge weight diff between a 150yam 4 stroke and and opti 135 and as stated already the opti 135 150 & 175 are all the same weight. just looked them up a 150 yamy weighs 216kg so you looking at just over 40kg diff between it and the opti

Explorer570
27-02-2011, 03:36 PM
Gofishin,

I have the yellow CC 570 Explorer in the latest F&B mag. Its a pretty heavy hull with deep vee. I would assume a similar hull to the later 570 outsiders.

My thoughts are the old (1982 model) 150 2.0ltr V6 is a great engine for this hull. Its a light motor with plenty of power and remarkable pretty good on fuel - just keep it in the 3600-4200rpm, 22-28knot range. Trolling ..... Forget it. The only time I would consider going to a 175 would be for skiing purposes only. The old 150 planes easily with two adults, three kids, esky and a days worth of "other stuff". Top speed with the old 2-Stroke is 38knots, which is plenty fast enough. If I was to upgrade I would go for the 135 -150 Opti.

Good weather to be out on the water too. Just brought home a good feed of parrot, grassy sweetlip and a half a dozen sandies from Moreton Bay. Caught the best snapper too, unfortuantly it had to go back due to the closed season......aaahh.

Just my thoughts,

Sam

catfish55
28-02-2011, 05:48 AM
thanks sam,
yes took it for a good run yesterday and , well it performs rather well with the 120 an old johno around that vintage. so im sure a 175 is major over kill yet a 135 to 150 sounds good .
i can see what rhe other people mean about you mayas well have a 175
but i only have a 120 litre fuel tank so , anyway thats tooo big . anyone out ther that has a 140suzuki 4 stroke or a 150 yammy or a 150 optimax would like to compare fuel economy etc. thanks sam
pat

cass449
01-03-2011, 04:27 PM
:D We have a 550 Explorer with a 115 Johnson - did alot of research and she is in getting a 140hp Suzi as we speak. Can't wait to get her out!!!

catfish55
03-03-2011, 06:20 AM
hey cas is it a 4 stroke. really keen to find out how it goes etc.
new second hand??? apparently te 4 stroke is smaller motor not sure weather that makes the fuel economy better or worse so keen to stay in touch..
are you in brisy? ....pat

03-03-2011, 11:37 AM
I reckon Suzuki have cornered the market for anyone who has an older 5.5-6m hull and is looking to repower with a four stroke. With the 140hp they've managed to create a four stroke that weighs not much more than a 2 stroke (of that late 80's early 90's era) and simply have no competition when it comes to weight in that power rating. Their only real competition for older boat repowers is DI 2S technology.