View Full Version : 200hp-250hp opti or 4 banger

rosco1974
11-02-2011, 07:02 PM
well am getting alot closer to buying the dream boat...it currently has a 250hp johno 2 stroke but am thinking when i get the finance i might get a little extra to buy a new outboard...was thinking bout maybe a 200 - 250hp either optimax or a yamaha 4 stroke..i know these are around 20k after the trade in of the johno...any1 have one of these outboards who can give me the good and bad on these motors and some fuel figures...pretty sure a 200hp would be fine on the boat as this is what springwood marine packages the new wellcrafts with.
cheers rosco

p.s. you only live once;D

oldie
11-02-2011, 08:54 PM
yeah rosco good on ya mate,

motor wise maybe if you were going the 200HP go with the opti as 200 is on the lighter end HP wise will give you that 2 stroke pep to get the big gal going and good fuel economy too. 4 stroke wise i'd be hitting up a Suzuki 250 even better with a Lean Burn 300HP but depends on $$$ at the time.

I agree life is too short and when we work our ass off all day everyday the time we have to enjoy we may aswell enjoy to the max

bama79
11-02-2011, 09:29 PM
I have a 250 4 stroke 2010 model and love it fuel wise i use about 1.3-1.6km/l at about 26 knots would recomend it to anyone also the 250 come stanard with fly by wire and fuel management guage where the 200/225 does not. Had a 200 opti on it before and the yammi s#*%s on it for fuel wise bye the way this is on a 7m plate boat

rosco1974
11-02-2011, 09:52 PM
yeah oldie the missus said she wants it so just have to get my ass into gear and get the finance sorted...would like to put a 225 opti on it..will have to price up the motors above and see what happins..the yammie 250 4 bangers are a great motor as well..went on a charter with fish the deep last yr they had a couple of new yammies on the cat have liked them from then on...but am a fan of the black motors as well..bama the boat it will go on if all goes to plan is a 230 wellcraft coastal tournament
cheers rosco

wrxhoon
11-02-2011, 10:06 PM
I have a 200 opti on my 6.5 mt Trophy and I'm very happy with it , I get 1 mile per lt , down to .8 ml per lt on slower speeds at very rough seas ( on and off) .
I prefer the grunt of the 2 stroke and the fact that I don't have any head parts , cams, valves etc..
If you want very quiet at low to mid revs go the 4 stroke , as far as fuel consumption goes there is not much in it.
225 opti is the same weight as the 200 opti both engines are 3.0 lts and in 25" shaft they weigh 225 kg.
I don't know what the Yam weighs but the Suzi is 263 kg ( 200-225 and 250 are the same).

rosco1974
11-02-2011, 10:19 PM
thanks wrxhoon for the info...just looked at the mercurysite in the states a 250 opti on a similar hull wot 54.3mph....i think a 225 or 200 would be heaps a 25ft boat doing 90+km/hr would be a bit scarry lol
cheers rosco

Longole
11-02-2011, 11:22 PM
The boat I dive out of (18ft penguin huntriss CC) has a 225 opti and gets around 1nm / L with 4 guys on board. Swapping between a 4 blade and 3 blade prop makes a big difference depending on conditions. Used to have a 200 Opti, similar fuel usage but less speed. Great holeshot with both engines though. Might be that good on fuel cause most of the time its only cruising 4-4.5k rpm, hammer down it will do 55knts - nearly fast enough!

12-02-2011, 05:52 AM
Anyone who can drive their 200+hp motor at WOT must have a money tree or 2 in the backyard or 500l fuel tanks. I have a 200 opti powering a 625 fibreglass and have only once had it at WOT for a minute or so until I saw the figures of 76l/hr or there abouts. It's the fuel usage I'd be looking at not the WOT speed.
I was told once that the 200opti had more 5% more power than the 200 zuke and better fuel economy.
Best of luck mate.

Wags

DOGFIGHT
12-02-2011, 06:04 AM
The boat is rated to 300hp ;D 250Opti would go sweet or a 300hp 4 stroke of some sort would be Sweee Terrrrrr;D8-)

DOGFIGHT
12-02-2011, 06:10 AM
Rosco, the beam on these boats are 2.64m? is that right?

OPTI
12-02-2011, 06:20 AM
the difference between the 225 opti and the 250 opti is the computer ,so not much in it ,id doubt youd notice the difference on that boat.also the 225 has optional dts controls,where the 250 doesnt ,worth having imop

rosco1974
12-02-2011, 11:00 AM
dogfight,i beleive the1 i am looking at is 2.59m beam...why do you ask

12-02-2011, 02:32 PM
I think the max allowable in Qld for towing is 2.5, might need permits or wide load signage for the big girl is all, lots of imported boats around the place now so I dont think it would be a problem. A quick call to Qld Transport will tell you for certain though.

rosco1974
12-02-2011, 03:27 PM
yeah mate just read u need a permit to tow if it is 2.59mtrs wide..will have to measure it as its on a 2.4mtr wide trailer and i doesn't seem to over hang it much at all if at all.the bt50 should fit the guidelines
cheers rosco

La Vida
12-02-2011, 07:37 PM
I guess here is the thing have a look at almost all commercial operators and have a look at what they are running, 4 stroke yammies, Hondas or suzukis. I had a 225 yammie 4 stroke on my last boat a haines 680 cruise at 25knots for 28lph.. great engine! and yamaha have released the all new 300 to 200 hp range at the end of last year and are lighter. I would be looking at the new 250hp

rosco1974
12-02-2011, 07:46 PM
had a look at a good 2nd hand 250 yammie 4 stroke this morning was an 06 or 07 with around 290hrs would be just starting to loosen up i recon with those hrs on it

Vitamin Sea
12-02-2011, 08:00 PM
well am getting alot closer to buying the dream boat...it currently has a 250hp johno 2 stroke but am thinking when i get the finance i might get a little extra to buy a new outboard...was thinking bout maybe a 200 - 250hp either optimax or a yamaha 4 stroke..i know these are around 20k after the trade in of the johno...any1 have one of these outboards who can give me the good and bad on these motors and some fuel figures...pretty sure a 200hp would be fine on the boat as this is what springwood marine packages the new wellcrafts with.
cheers rosco

p.s. you only live once;D

Hey Rosco

Got a 200 Opti on thee back of the 19C, pulls about 44kts @ 5750. Average usage is about 1.5-1.8 km/l, depending on conditions and how hard I'm pushing. Went out today, trolled 6.5-9 knts for 2-3 hrs, 140 km, did 35knts in the bay on the way home, 90 litres fuel, not bad.

Happy to take you for a quick spin if you wish.

Bill

wrxhoon
12-02-2011, 08:22 PM
yeah mate just read u need a permit to tow if it is 2.59mtrs wide..will have to measure it as its on a 2.4mtr wide trailer and i doesn't seem to over hang it much at all if at all.the bt50 should fit the guidelines
cheers rosco

I think you will find the 230 coastal is 8'8" wide (2.64 mtrs) Most USA built boats around that size are 8'6" (2.59 mt).
We allowed 2.5 mts on our roads in all states, the only things that can stick out over that are : mirrors, marker lights and tie downs.
You need a permit in all states for anything over 2.5 mts , in some states you are restricted more than others as to times , days and roads you can use. Permits are easy to get in some states you don't have to even get one but you must adhere to the restrictions and wide load sign and flashing lights.

Check the restrictions in your area before you comit to the boat so you know.

One good thing you will never run out of fuel as with all USA built boats the 230 has a huge tank , well over 400 lts .

My boat is good for 48 mph at 5700 rpm with a 19" prop, trimmed right out with 300lts and 4 adults on board . No I don't drive it at WOT , I sit on 4-4600 rpm .

rosco1974
12-02-2011, 08:47 PM
yeah i looked on the qld transport site this arvo..u need a permitand the usual wide load sign .cannot drive between 6and 9 mon-friday no probs there i be workin these days most times or would be on the water b4 6 anyway..is strange as nearly every plate boat 5.8mtr or bigger out there if they measured the beam most would be over the 2.5m mark...i spoke to the dealer and he said this boat is 2.5mtrs wide but will measure it to make sure...guess when he brings it for a water test if its over the 2.5mtr he will have all the legal stuff on it to tow it to the ramp..
cheers rosco

leezor
12-02-2011, 09:50 PM
yeah i looked on the qld transport site this arvo..u need a permitand the usual wide load sign .cannot drive between 6and 9 mon-friday no probs there i be workin these days most times or would be on the water b4 6 anyway..is strange as nearly every plate boat 5.8mtr or bigger out there if they measured the beam most would be over the 2.5m mark...i spoke to the dealer and he said this boat is 2.5mtrs wide but will measure it to make sure...guess when he brings it for a water test if its over the 2.5mtr he will have all the legal stuff on it to tow it to the ramp..
cheers rosco

The current permit does not mention the need for oversize signs here in QLD, looks like all you need is flags on each corner and headlights on low beam while driving during the day. ;D

http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/~/media/d4cded58-69c3-4a03-bb2c-6b4ea925b237/pdf_class_permit_220_th_09.pdf

rosco1974
13-02-2011, 04:14 AM
thanks leezor.i wonder whast happins after the 30th june this year as thats when the current permits run out

leezor
13-02-2011, 10:47 AM
thanks leezor.i wonder whast happins after the 30th june this year as thats when the current permits run out

A little off topic but hopefully they issue the same permit for another couple of years as I have just bought another US built boat too.

Good luck with the Wellcraft, personally I would go with a 4 stroke, no reason other than personal preferance.

oldie
13-02-2011, 04:33 PM
hey rosco 290hrs if been looked after n serviced etc all good n can save some dosh on new. the 250 Yammi would be perfect.

oldie
13-02-2011, 04:35 PM
hey rosco 290hrs if been looked after n serviced etc all good n can save some dosh on new. the 250 Yammi would be perfect.

but also depends on what its been fitted too and whether lived in water etc always have mechanic and Yammi mechanic take a look they can plug into it and see what type of life those 290hrs have entailed

rosco1974
13-02-2011, 07:06 PM
i know it was fitted to a cruisecraft resort 6 for bout the last 12months...

oldie
13-02-2011, 08:36 PM
i know it was fitted to a cruisecraft resort 6 for bout the last 12months...

interesting as the resort 6 is only rated to 225HP? maybe why they are selling it? would have maybe been used for skiing and water sports then being a bowrider family style boat.

rosco1974
13-02-2011, 08:42 PM
its at wynnum marine..one of the service blokes had it on his boat.is all i know bout it.looks in good nic.is a good price think they want $15000 for it

Axl
14-02-2011, 07:14 AM
Geez mate the bank is gunner love you!!!!! lol

All the best with the search mate I hope you get what you are after and when you do as I am sure you will I cant wait to catch up with you on the water so I can see what she looks like.

14-02-2011, 07:34 AM
This is not a comment on motor choice, any of the new motors will be fine, but just a note on the beam of the boat, NEVER believe what the dealer tells you on a US import, I know of a couple of guys now that have boats they will need to leave moored! becuase they took the (especially OS) dealers word on the beam.

rosco1974
14-02-2011, 04:29 PM
yeah noelm i will be measuring it myself, i qld you can get a permit if over the 2.5mtr at the moment so should be fine..

axl,hope i get it but wont let my boat go cheap to jump into the new boat...

cheers rosco

Axl
14-02-2011, 09:29 PM
Mate you allready have the big black Mako so there is no need to rush as I am sure you would appreciate all the best mate.

Im sure the BT50 will tow the new rig no dramas you'll just need a wide load sign lol!!!!!!!

wrxhoon
15-02-2011, 08:53 AM
yeah noelm i will be measuring it myself, i qld you can get a permit if over the 2.5mtr at the moment so should be fine..

axl,hope i get it but wont let my boat go cheap to jump into the new boat...

cheers rosco

Rosco,
You can get a permit in any state mate, the restrictions vary from state to state .

You don't have to take any ones word for the beam width, check on the manufacturers website it will be there .

15-02-2011, 09:36 AM
that may be so, but when you try to register it (in NSW anyway) it WILL be measured, I have been through all that recently, and if it is over width, they will NOT pass it for rego, trust me. Also the restricted permits are changing very soon, whether for the better or worse is anyones guess at the moment.

business class
15-02-2011, 02:45 PM
Id look at the 250 yammy if i was you as i have seen the fuel bill for a 225 opti for a day out wide on the heavy tackle grounds and it was 60ltrs MORE then a 225 4 stroke same conditions fished and same miles run.

rosco1974
15-02-2011, 07:55 PM
yeah thanks for the info matty..i measured the beam myself this arvo unless my tape is farked it measured 2.5 m across the widest point so will not need a permit for it anyway and yes i know how to read a tape properly.

wrxhoon
15-02-2011, 09:50 PM
that may be so, but when you try to register it (in NSW anyway) it WILL be measured, I have been through all that recently, and if it is over width, they will NOT pass it for rego, trust me. Also the restricted permits are changing very soon, whether for the better or worse is anyones guess at the moment.

That is true for the trailer in any state all over Australia but the load on it ( the boat in this case ) has nothing to do with trailer rego. The trailer must be under 2.5 mt.

Rosco I was sure these boats are 8'8" mate , unless some of the older ones are 8'2" ??

rosco1974
16-02-2011, 05:58 PM
yeah not sure mate but this 1 deffinatly measured 2.5mtr..i know the new ones are 8foot 8