View Full Version : Anyone ever busted and Evakool using it as a seat?

CT
11-02-2011, 03:50 PM
I'm considering getting a big Evakool esky to double as a seat. My only concern is the weight of two people on it and the effects of ongoing pounding in rough seas. Has anyone ever busted the lid on a glass esky?

Lachie1
11-02-2011, 04:19 PM
Mate I've had the 125L Evakool for over 4 years now, gets used as a seat in the boat all the time and spends a fair bit of time in the back of the ute. Never had a problem with the lid - Can sit 2 big blokes on it no worries at all, i stand on it a fair bit looking for schools of fish etc too. only problem is the flimsy latches last about 2 trips.. Would definately buy another one if i ever needed another esky

Lachie

CT
11-02-2011, 06:04 PM
Thanks mate. The 125 is the one I'm looking at. Good to know that it will stand up to the job.

Alchemy
11-02-2011, 06:37 PM
I bought a couple back in 2001 from the factory. They custom made the lids for me and placed a piece of ply in the lid. At the time I was thinking of mounting a pedestal seat to it, hence the timber.

trueblue
11-02-2011, 10:58 PM
I have a 100 and also the 200. both have custom cushions on them. both have been flogged in heavy weather with people sitting on them, no issue at all.

peterbo3
12-02-2011, 08:24 AM
Here is mine on an earlier CC. Mounted on an alloy frame. Not Eva Cool but from the people who left Eva Cool & started their own brand.
Two people on it. Never a problem.

CT
12-02-2011, 10:46 AM
Good to see its all positive.

Borrowing on Peters idea I could get a base made with a swing over seat back for back support.

The only downside is that I can see this getting expensive!!

CT
12-02-2011, 10:49 AM
And the joy of Google.
http://www.boatbox.com.au/images/Helm%20Boxes/swingback%20low%20001.jpg

CT
16-02-2011, 11:14 AM
Theyre a bit dear for me. $1400 for the small and $1650 for the large, plus GST.

Back to the drawing board.