View Full Version : Jetski Nuisance, tougher penalties, your thoughts

La Vida
26-01-2011, 07:37 PM
I really do not know if I am own own here. Just had a great australia day down a Wavebreak with family and friends (have never in over 8 years seen so many boats) however like every other weekend jetskis are a constant nuisance.

Obviously they have no idea of what a six knot zone is or what minimum distances off are to anchored vessels let alone what any shape or form of what is the right thing to do when running in navigation channels are. and honestly it is the vast majority that ruin it for the minority of owners

They are a honestly a maritime pest, did the changes in the law seceral years back do anything? no!

Personally I would like to see tougher penalities and in certain areas I would love to see them banned

Mark-P
26-01-2011, 07:55 PM
Came across two guys last year aussie day, FLAT STICK like a slaylum coarse through crab pot floats. Only they hit every one, being mine ! If i had of caught them, well hay thats another story .

26-01-2011, 07:58 PM
the laws apply to all vessels..there are idiots on jet skis, in large boats and small boats so how about pushing for more enforcement

bigdonk
26-01-2011, 08:10 PM
Yup im all for tougher penalties!!! i couldnt believe the footage of the bloke running over a bird here on the goldy.. What is the world coming to?

BD

La Vida
26-01-2011, 08:14 PM
the laws apply to all vessels..there are idiots on jet skis, in large boats and small boats so how about pushing for more enforcement

hi pinhead you are right there as well, there are definately a lot of people out there these days who have no respect for other boaties and have no responsibility. I would love to see tougher penalties all round however jetskis really get up my nose

La Vida
26-01-2011, 08:16 PM
Came across two guys last year aussie day, FLAT STICK like a slaylum coarse through crab pot floats. Only they hit every one, being mine ! If i had of caught them, well hay thats another story .

got told by a mate that a slingshot and a piece of ice should get their attention... apparently no evidence!!!

maimai
26-01-2011, 08:29 PM
got told by a mate that a slingshot and a piece of ice should get their attention... apparently no evidence!!!

thats not very nice, what if you hit the kid in the eye and blind him? what if someone did that to your kid at school because he was anoying for some reason>:(

antg2378
26-01-2011, 08:45 PM
I was asked when I got my recreational marine license if I wanted a jetski license and I promptly said no. There are the odd ones who keep their distance when you are anchored fishing. The bigger nuisance to me are the ones in the big cruisers, they think they are doing you a favour by not passing too quickly but they aren't quite on the plain and pushing a massive bow wave. Either slow right down or speed up!

La Vida
26-01-2011, 08:48 PM
thats not very nice, what if you hit the kid in the eye and blind him? what if someone did that to your kid at school because he was anoying for some reason>:(

you are exactly right maimai, that was a totally stupid comment i made and it is the last thing I would do or would want anyone to do. I apologise for my anger after today got the better of me while venting frustration

maimai
26-01-2011, 08:52 PM
you are exactly right maimai, that was a totally stupid comment i made and it is the last thing I would do or would want anyone to do. I apologise for my anger after today got the better of me while venting frustration

Sweet, fully understandable on how ya feel;)

eyeskeenas
26-01-2011, 08:59 PM
Ive got a Boat and a jetski. I agree that some jetski owners are (insert text here) I can tell you now we are not all like that. plus i have been pretty annoyed by the odd boatie, which i am sure we all have been in some time or another.
banning a sport is not the answer IMO. harsher penalties are the key here and better police action.
punish the deed not the breed!

antg2378
26-01-2011, 09:11 PM
Ive got a Boat and a jetski. I agree that some jetski owners are (insert text here) I can tell you now we are not all like that. plus i have been pretty annoyed by the odd boatie, which i am sure we all have been in some time or another.
banning a sport is not the answer IMO. harsher penalties are the key here and better police action.
punish the deed not the breed!

Well said mate :thumbup:

Triple
26-01-2011, 09:23 PM
Pinhead hit the nail on the head. We already have enough bloody laws and not enough enforcement of them. Harsher penalties wont do squat unless someone is there to issue them. Current regs are fine if they are enforced (that goes for jetskis AND boaties).

Crocodile
26-01-2011, 09:54 PM
Hello All,

There no such thing as enforcement and never will be.
The F&B patrol have about five officers to patrol from the border to the southern bay = no effective enforcement.
The director once admitted to me that he will no longer take his family onto the Broadwater because of the lawless behaviour, quite an admission in my view.

The reality is that in my area about 40% of jetskis travel too fast and too close.
The recent changes to the Currumbin Alley bathing reserve laws have had no effect at all.
The jetskis still ride all over swimmers and surfers well within the 60m rule.
Again lack of enforcement.
The F&B patrol and the water police are completely outnumbered and outgunned.
The Gold Coast City Council actively promotes the GC as an aquatic playground for jetskis.
Jetskis are here to stay and we civilised members of society will recieve no support or protection from our feeble law enforcement agencies.
Maybe at some future time common sense will prevail, but not in the near future.

wayno60
26-01-2011, 10:01 PM
We slipped up the coomera river for the day, and i must say only two fickheads in boats and they were the clowns with the wakeboard towers and the doof doof blaring out. but yes the major Nuisance were the jets skis. Heading west up the river you pass under the hwy bridge which is 6 knotts... maybe half know what 6 knotts means...the rest flat out. Then they do the full lock so the arse slides out then gun it...that gives me the shits.
Anyway heap of bream early but once the tide got half way in they went off the chew..more boats and JS around too.

gros21
26-01-2011, 10:40 PM
I'm supprized with the amount of handy cams/video phones there is no way to dob them in. I'm not talking about minor things but serious things.
I'm about to get a boat but last year when I used 2 fish/boat the barnarby river the major dramma was speed boat/tube ridders there is one main launching stretch of 100m were people launch boats and fish they ferry all there stuff to a little island just oppsite the site so they can drink. Then hook past at full speed time and time were family's are trying to fish or launch there boats. No more than 5m from the bank at times

catcrab
26-01-2011, 10:48 PM
hi all i have had many boats all my life and in the last couple of years i have started riding jetski's which i 'm really enjoying, i was out today with 10,000 other watercraft and saw all watercraft from 60ft vessels to jetski's seam totally ignorant of current laws and water rules, i believe the main problem is the current issuing of boat and jetski licences, my son recently got his boat and jetski license, all it took was 6 hours in a classroom and a 10 minute water test, no previous experience req. This is where the problem starts. and it is pretty scary to think a person with no water craft or general water useage experience, can take control of large cruiser's , boats and jetski' s after a 5 to 10 minute test drive. In a way its not entirlely these ignorant and somewhat selfish people's fault, it is our useless govt's licenseing laws,imo that is where the problem starts. it should be like a car licence, with many hours of on water experience required.before testing.
Please don't start saying and making statements like you want this jetski's banned because the way this qld govt is operating at present anything is possible and you could hurt a lot of fellow boaties who enjoy their jetski's.
Drew.

26-01-2011, 11:08 PM
I must say that I spent the day at Jumpinpin along with the other 400 odd boats and Jet Ski's in the local vacinity and the only real dick I saw was a 30 odd footer pushing a great wake going past a tinnie with some 6 inches of free board. I slowed down to reduce my wake and make sure they did not capsize from this big dumb boat drivers mentallity.

I had a fantastic day with Yabby pumping and catch & release whiting, then a BBQ topped of with dragging the kids on the tube for a while. Then we swam a bit and showered in fresh water and returned home.

BBQ seemed to be the top sport along with plenty of kids playing with adults too.

Mr__Bean
26-01-2011, 11:40 PM
In our family we are furtunate to have a boat and we have 2 jetski's.

We love our boating and fishing, but we also love our jetkiing.

But that doesn't make us irresponsible. sure we go fast, when the conditions are right for it. Sure we whip them around and spray water at each other at times, when it is safe to do so.

We navigate around swimmers, kayaks, fisho's and people driving big cruisers, but geez don't assume for a minute that all jetskiers do the wrong thing, I try to teach my kids to have a ball, responsibly.

Last Sunday we took the ski's down to the Gold Coast for the first time, given the debris in Brisbane waters we thought it safer to drive down and have a look around Gold Coast waters.

What a mistake!!!! Boats, ski's, parasaillers, fishos going everywhere going in all directions. Nobody keeping to their side of the channels (not even the Big white Rescue boat), just go where you want, stuff everyone else.

So, is it the jetskiiers, or is it that waterway that makes it worse?

Twice we have been pulled over by police when on Brisbane Northside waters, checked our licences and equipment etc and we had a good chat with them. We also sat and watched them chase and book a guy that went too close to swimmers at speed.

But i must admit, the loud jetskiis give me the pip too.

- Darren

Late edit: That's not to say we don't also make mistakes, but we do learn from them.

rayken1938
27-01-2011, 04:21 AM
I was yakking at Clear Island Waters yesterday and of about 8 craft that went past the only one that observed the 6k limit was a jet ski.
Ray

27-01-2011, 06:02 AM
Yeah, agree with Pinhead et al.
No point in stricter penalties if they cannot enforce the laws that are around now.
How do we get more policing of the waters??

They (governments of all levels) say they're fairdinkum about safety and that's why they brought in new pool laws and boating laws and we have to spend lots of money to make ourselves safe but are they fairdinkum about the safety of the wider community when they bring in laws but cannot police them because of budgetary restraints??

And I disagree where someone said the license should be a lot harder to get with log books and stuff been the answer.
Look at the roads. I hate driving in Brisbane because of the mindless sh!ts thinking of only one thing....to annoy me and to try and run into me.
But licenses to operate water craft should be harder to get....a lot harder.
It's harder the get the license to operate the radio on the boat then it is to operate the boat.
Now that's got to say that something is not quite right.

La Vida
27-01-2011, 06:29 AM
yes finga and pinhead are both right, getting a licence should be harder, and the enforcement should be much better. a wavebreak yesterday there was several of the big houseboats with many jetskis and wakeboard styles boats hanging off the back, the jetskis. we were a good 200m away and the music was still so load. the jetskis were ripping flatstick back and forth from the houseboats to the channels through the anchored vessels. water police and B&F cruised past several times and did nothing even though many anchored boats were yelling at them to do something.

funny it seems if you have some topless girls on a boat you are excused from doing the wrong thing.

what also i couldn't believe was the amount of overloaded boats, funny i thought s 5m, bad a capacity label of 5 not 7,8, or the best case was 10

authorities and govenment need to wake up to themselves

27-01-2011, 06:32 AM
I have never had a problem with jetskis out on the water but that may be because my fishing is often night fishing and certainly never weekend fishing. Whenever they have buzzed around me, there has been no issue as they hardly make any wake and in an instant they are gone, anyway.

However, I have often been rocked very uncomfortably by some hoon in a cruiser who has either no care nor understanding for the plight of small boats anchored nearby as they power by at some ridiculous rate of knots.

There seems to be lots of hoons in cruisers.

The only challenge that I have with in relation to jetskis, is that they often clog up the ramps and beaches beside the ramps just socialising without any real cognisance of the nuisance that their crowding is to lone boaties trying to beach at that time.

Sometimes they also approach the ramp a bit fast resulting in a bit of rocking when retrieving a boat but generally they do me no harm.

Mr__Bean
27-01-2011, 06:34 AM
The hardest thing for a lot of people is understanding the direction of bouyage, without this how are you expected to know which side of the buoys to stay on?

Where for example is the sign for this at the boat ramp?

It took us a while to "get it" when we dropped into the Gold Coast for the first time.

- Darren

27-01-2011, 07:41 AM
If you collect video of some clown breaking the Law, will the Cops pursue it?

I'd love to spend the day just collecting that info and giving it to them! I wouldn't mind seeing some stupid Daddy's-got-money brat lose his car license because he was an idiot on the water. That would certainly feed the chip on my shoulder from my childhood...

The reality is there will be no extra policing. Anna and Pete wrecked the budget. If you don't take film, all you'll ever do is whinge. Sad, but true.

Fed
27-01-2011, 08:24 AM
Either ban them or treat them like car hoons and crush their jetskis.

mmmouse
27-01-2011, 02:09 PM
hi all i have had many boats all my life and in the last couple of years i have started riding jetski's which i 'm really enjoying, i was out today with 10,000 other watercraft and saw all watercraft from 60ft vessels to jetski's seam totally ignorant of current laws and water rules, i believe the main problem is the current issuing of boat and jetski licences, my son recently got his boat and jetski license, all it took was 6 hours in a classroom and a 10 minute water test, no previous experience req. This is where the problem starts. and it is pretty scary to think a person with no water craft or general water useage experience, can take control of large cruiser's , boats and jetski' s after a 5 to 10 minute test drive. In a way its not entirlely these ignorant and somewhat selfish people's fault, it is our useless govt's licenseing laws,imo that is where the problem starts. it should be like a car licence, with many hours of on water experience required.before testing.
Please don't start saying and making statements like you want this jetski's banned because the way this qld govt is operating at present anything is possible and you could hurt a lot of fellow boaties who enjoy their jetski's.
Drew.
I spent 10 years on the deck of various commercial boats before i felt i had gained enough experience and confidence to go for a ticket, and then 6 weeks full time in the classroom studying the 'rules of the road', followed by an intense 1.5hr oral exam with an MSO from MSQ.

6 years later and more seatime I felt ready for the responsibilities that come with driving bigger vessels, once again 6 weeks full time study and a gruelling 2 hour oral exam.....and I still make mistakes!

It is far too easy for recreational boaters to get a licence and as for common sense...if it was common, everyone would have it!!!

I have to revalidate my ticket every 5 years...that would be a good start for the authorities to ensure the boating public don't just think about the rules once..when they get their licence and never again.

AnthonyL
27-01-2011, 02:27 PM
I was down at jumpinpin yesterday with the other countless boats, never seen so many boats out. Saw some jetski idiots and some big boat idiots too. On the way back to Coomera boat ramp there was a cop on a jetski grabbing boats near Sanctuary Cove.. was good to see.

Mark-P
27-01-2011, 03:19 PM
cop on a jetski.
Now thats a combo, :-?

27-01-2011, 03:37 PM
Unfortunatly in all areas of government......the governments are putting the fines up and making stricter laws....... but failing to spend money on enforcement.

As a result we have "widespread noncompliance"

It does not matter if it is industrial safety, road safety, corporate law or boating and fishing...........it matters not how the laws read or the penalties....... nothing will change without adequate enforcement.

I recon no matter how many coppers you put on the water on weekends and public holidays........if they were conciencious and in the right place......their overtime would be well and truly covered in fines levied.

Remember that nav light enforcement down the port.....hundereds of tickets written for one offence.

Sorry changing the laws or putting up the fines will do squat, without coppers on the water at peak times.

Knotpretty
27-01-2011, 04:48 PM
Shoot on sight no warnings just shoot them.

Shawn 66
27-01-2011, 05:17 PM
Some common consideration for everyone else on the water would be good from EVERYONE .
Yes I know I am being too simplistic .
Shawn :P :P :P :P

Kero
27-01-2011, 05:37 PM
I'm all for having a bit of fun now and again, and there's nothing like giving the throttle a bit of humpty! It's the knowing of when and when not to do it that makes a difference.
I had 2 jetskis (riden by teens) being riden within 10m of my boat while I was fishing. They seemed to have no idea that they were annoying me and breaking the law.>:( I simply waved them over to me and asked if they knew what the legal safe distance was? They didn't have a clue what I was asking them about! Not only they didn't know the answer, but they lacked any common sense or courtesy towards others.:-?
Don't ban the things, but maybe adjust attitudes back to the days where we actually cared about others (as part of everyday life).

The reality is there will be no extra policing. Anna and Pete wrecked the budget. If you don't take film, all you'll ever do is whinge. Sad, but true.

Off topic for a moment, but the above is soo true.
Tim, I own a security firm and pay big money for a licence. Now the QLD govt wants me to join a security association (more $$$) or they'll take away my licence. They sure must be desperate for extra dollars, so why not bleed some more out of small business.
Rant over!

Webby08
27-01-2011, 05:45 PM
I agree it the complete lack of enforcement thats the problem.

Over the period between NYE and now on the GC Broadwater I have:
- Had jetskis come within about 10-15m of our boat and spray water all over my gear and mrs FRIGGING DANGEROUS
- Had jet skis jumping my wake so close behind the boat it was just stupid
- Been T boned by a stupid old biddy in a kayak WHILST I WAS ANCHORED
- Watched countless morons think its ok to load unload all their crap whilst parked on the ramp and people lined up waiting the whole time their mates are hooning around the ramp washing things up
- Nearly ran straight over the top of someone (who's parents most certainly had to be related) who was parked up in the middle of the channel at night with NO LIGHTS in a very small tinny with a huge donk on it.
- Toffee noses in their big Rivs going flat out and coming past you so close that their wakes are still breaking.

No one seems to even know what the nav markers mean or what common scence it on the water up here it is just crazy.

Hooning laws to the water, impound their craft and sell it after X strikes.

dreemon
27-01-2011, 05:57 PM
At the moment the big cruisers making giant wakes are pi$$ing me off a bit more than jetskis , . . . nope, they piss me off the same,

at the seaway ramp yesterday my boat was swamped while I was getting the trailer ( long walk and wait), my poor deckie was left to battle the mess, he hit every switch but missed one . . . the bilge pump switch, there was a handy bucket for him,

If anyones boat is on it's way to getting winched up onto the trailer and a huge set of waves come at the wrong time , there could be a shiteload of damage done to both boat and trailer,

Jet skis, personal watercraft = ONE WHOLE CARPARK , and they park their skis as close to the ramp as possible and just hang out for as long as they want, If your finished using the ramp, park your vessel down the beach so people dont have to struggle around you,

more reason to learn to drive on and off the trailer .

oldie
27-01-2011, 06:16 PM
down here in NSW the license fee for jetski for one year is well over 200 bucks this potentially deters some people from going down that track, in Vic and QLD i believe its alot cheaper and even the registration in them in QLD is based on length in NSW they are charged a heap to register a PWC after the crap in Botany bay years ago the NSW Maritime wizened up ski drivers and the lunatics we sometimes see on them.

On Monday i too was a victim of the ski making wash at the ramp, 2 stand up ski riders motored in at speed right next to the ramp making a solid wake, literally had the nose of my boat cradled into trailer but the wake quickly changed that and boat ended up 90 degree angle to trailer, but the look i gave one of em quickly had him grabbing the back of my boat and straightened it out to assist me get it on, so they obviously know when they are being pains just alot maybe ignore their conscience

La Vida
27-01-2011, 07:11 PM
this is what I mean, these days have no consideration for others, they have no idea of the rules and they are just plain ignorant of what good seamanship is about.

doesn't matter what you drive or ride watch your bloody was. I once got told by a very experienced skipper and commercial pilot, that once your wash starts to lip, curl and break even at 6 knots then your wash is damaging.

as we all know idiots in their large tupperware boats drive too fast, or do semi displacement speeds that send up wash the size of a tsunami, jetskis and tinnies if you are doing what you think is six knots then look behind yourself and look at your wash and if it is like surf, ask yourselves would I be happy if someone drove past me doing this?????

for those you blatantly do the wrong thing then let the hooning laws commence

Knotpretty
27-01-2011, 07:54 PM
What ever you do don't shoot them. Throw big treble steel slugs at them. Then shoot them. mojo

Triple
27-01-2011, 08:34 PM
Would you still be mad at them if they were setup like this? ;)
http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/6088/kennyp.jpg (http://img405.imageshack.us/i/kennyp.jpg/)

Giffo65
27-01-2011, 08:35 PM
Yep,most, but not all Jetski riders are tools,and I don't own one either.I gave one bloke a gob full at the ramp, after a display with his mates around 4 anchored boats that were fishing,me being in one.His excuse was,well when you get a few of us together, we want to have fun.That made me want to snot him there and then.They all seem to drive either a small fast rice burner or a 4WD with all the bling that has never seem mud.Hoon laws on the water,bloody great idea.

Giffo65
27-01-2011, 08:38 PM
12 rod holders on a jetski ! what is he thinking,not a bad setup though.

Seahorse
27-01-2011, 08:40 PM
i to am a jet ski and boat owner, who has great respect for boats when on my ski.
I was driving past clontarf yest, australia day, and there were a few jet skis out front, towing tubes and a tinnie towing tubes.
The way the water is at the moment down this way with all the sticks and rubbish in the water, these people should have been charged with dangerous opperation of a vessel.
What would happen if stick went through tube and into kid.
There are signs up all along beach saying beach closed.
Do something stupid in a car would get atomatic fine.
And this was ski and boat owner.
What do u do?
Thanku for retracting ur comment lavida.
Anyone who threw anything at me would need an operation to get it out of there arse.

STUIE63
27-01-2011, 08:46 PM
it sounds like the time for a good old fashioned snappering::) ;D ;D

Seahorse
27-01-2011, 08:51 PM
fed. mojo

Its comment like urs thats get people upset.
.How can ausfish mods tolerate this type of comments.

Just dont fish near me or u will wear those slugs.
There will always be this argument between jet ski and boaties.
As i said i am on both sides.

sleepygreg
27-01-2011, 09:53 PM
Now that set up is GOLD. Anyone know who does these sort of mods to a 'Ski?

And the next question is does anyone know anyone that has a leccy on a jetski......just exploring possibilities.

27-01-2011, 10:31 PM
With all this lack of enforcement and proper public education, it is quite probable that large numbers of PWC riders are unlicenced, and there fore completly ignorant of any regulations.

I recon a plain clothes copper with a good camera could make some quite efficient prosecutions.

We have all these fund raising speed cameras.

So what do they need in the picture....rego number visable wake and within 30 meters of something that matters.

I recon a nice happy snap and a infringment notice in the mail would calm a few of these blokes down..particularly if they have points deducted off their vehicle licence.

28-01-2011, 07:07 AM
Its comment like urs thats get people upset.
.How can ausfish mods tolerate this type of comments.
If you want a mod to look at any comments just press the little red button (at the bottom left of a post under the name of the person who posted it) and the Mods will investigate.

So what do they need in the picture....rego number visable wake and within 30 meters of something that matters.

I recon a nice happy snap and a infringment notice in the mail would calm a few of these blokes down..particularly if they have points deducted off their vehicle licence.

The you have to prove who was on the ski at the time of the offence and you have to get a good picture of the rego number.
Have you noticed how hard it is to read the rego number of a ski??
Why is it they can be so small and non-de-script and the numbers on my tiny tinny have to be so large and have to be as obvious as the third nut on a dog??

28-01-2011, 07:25 AM
12 rod holders on a jetski ! what is he thinking,not a bad setup though.
Did you count the ones on the side of the front esky?
Or is that a gimble?

28-01-2011, 03:18 PM
With all this lack of enforcement and proper public education, it is quite probable that large numbers of PWC riders are unlicenced, and there fore completly ignorant of any regulations.

I recon a plain clothes copper with a good camera could make some quite efficient prosecutions.

We have all these fund raising speed cameras.

want to explain how to judge 30 m in a photo?

forget the photos ..just have the coppers pull them over and on the spot fines. I had seen a copper on a jet ski in the moored boats near Jacobs Well..getting those speeding through there.

wayno60
28-01-2011, 03:32 PM
The you have to prove who was on the ski at the time of the offence
why cant they do, what they do with company cars?? if no one owns up to it, the registed own get the fine. and besides how many guys let their mates take out their JS??

28-01-2011, 04:15 PM
why cant they do, what they do with company cars?? if no one owns up to it, the registed own get the fine. and besides how many guys let their mates take out their JS??

I suspect that would be the case. Does anyone know for sure?

tim

aquatic
28-01-2011, 05:10 PM
Just make stand up jetskis only, most of the clowns on those big 3 seaters wouldn't be able to ride one. They're basically small ski boats nowadays. Used to race stand up jetskis until Bob Carr killed the sport in NSW

Seahorse
28-01-2011, 05:21 PM
Quiet probable that large number of pwc riders are unlicienced.
Mate i run out of clontarf, u wanta come down and check my licience.
Damm broard statement. I guess u throw slugs as well.
I could also say that about kids running around in tinnies.
I fish more than i jet ski, but to made those sort of statements is a laugh.
At the end of the day do the crime pay the fine, whatever ur doing or riding or steering

robothefisho
28-01-2011, 06:27 PM
What a good whinge everyone is having. If only everyone complained about real issues in the world as much.

28-01-2011, 06:51 PM
What a good whinge everyone is having. If only everyone complained about real issues in the world as much.
What are the real issues of the world??

I have to make sure I'm worrying about the right things

Seahorse
28-01-2011, 06:53 PM
hey if people wanta open their mouths they should back it up with proof.
Dont tar everyone with the same brush.
Thats what pisses me off.

oldie
28-01-2011, 07:04 PM
jets skis are really only good for tow in surfing in solid swell outer bombies and reefs this i feel is their best usage rather than flat water river stuff. Thats all i have ever used em for

AnthonyL
28-01-2011, 07:28 PM
Took my new boat out for the day from Vicky Point and when on the way back had some sounder issues(ended up being operator error lol) but it was a very low tide and the boat ramp was very busy.

I decided to anchor out front to wait my turn as there were a lot of boats waiting. While anchored a jetski came tearing past me several times and then would return to the pontoon and sat at the end of the pontoon, which made it difficult for boaties to get around. After a good 30 mins of watching people struggle around this jetski with a young girl sitting on it I called out to them and asked what were they doing, to move on. They screamed some obscenities at me and just sat there laughing.

I ended up coming in on the port side around the jetski poking out and noticed the silly girl had her legs dangling in between the jetski and pontoon, if someone had hit that her legs would have been damaged for sure. I told her to get her legs up and stop stuffing around on the pontoon as it was making it dangerous for others to get in. So after some difficulty I get my boat in and go up these silly girls and asked why they don’t move it over to the sand. They then say that the jestski is broken and they are stuck there waiting for the parents to pick them up.

For a start this jetski with a male driver went past me three times while I waited anchored so it was not broken down. I was furious with their stupidity and although I shouldn’t have I let them have it, same as I would if it were my own kids. Anyway some others on the ramp didn’t know what was going on and thought I was just picking on these poor girls with a broken jetski…very frustrating.

La Vida
28-01-2011, 07:39 PM
see i knew this would be an issue that people would like to comment on, so what do we reckon so far is it the majority or is the minority and lets be realistic,

not just a case of standing on the soap box saying I do the right thing, and it is the minority that ruin it for the majority. I would disagree and down on the GC Broadwater it is well and truly the majority that do the wrong thing compared to the small minority.

For those who do do the right thing I am sorry. For those who do not wake up to yourselves, you had better before it the same rules apply that apply to sydney harbour come in, in the famous words of the castle " are the serenity"

Chamelion
28-01-2011, 11:07 PM
Having been a kayak owner for a couple of weeks - Boats are a pain in the bum. Arrogant tossers constantly creating massive amounts of wake right next to me... Can't be long before I'm forced to turn turtle I'm sure.

Jet skiiers, by and large not as much of an issue on a per vessel basis, but more of them behave like idiots.. I guess it's like comparing mosquitoes (boats) to midges (jet skis).

29-01-2011, 07:17 AM
Oh bugger. The post last post has been deleted.

I reckon Camelion is dead right.
There's a minority (but quickly changing to majority) of people who have virtually no regard for other users of waterways....especially if the other users are smaller then themselves.
A trip to the Pin on a public holiday would confirm this opinion.

The 30m, 6kt rule is a minimum requirement. The bare minimum.
I normally double that or better just so paddlers (especially) are not flustered.

catcrab
29-01-2011, 07:57 AM
hi very interesting so far, as i have said before i own and operate both jetski's and boats, i to get really annoyed at some of stupid and neg comments re jetski's, it really is only a minority of riders that are thoughtless and ignorant to other water user's, the same applies for boat owner.s. but i ask the question. why is the speed zones all still indicated in knots? more than half the current water users would not know that measurement, or conversion to klms. i,m old school and can understand all measurements.. most current jetski.s, boats gps,and other watercraft all have speedo's reading in klms or mph. so maybe its time we have to change our water measurements to suit the younger generations.due to our changing world.
Drew

29-01-2011, 08:08 AM
On page 10 of the Recreational Boating and Fishing guide it stated as:
available here (http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/%7E/media/e70e74af-39e6-4813-8b91-f58347ee95fb/pdf_rec_guide_2010_2011.pdf)

Distance off
Six knots within 30 metres of:
• boats anchored, moored to the shore or aground
• jetty, wharf, pontoon or boat ramp
• people in the water
• boat harbours and marinas
Six knots is equivalent to a brisk walking pace.

So everyone should know what a brisk walk is.
I always thought of 6kts as no wash.

Lantana
29-01-2011, 10:56 AM
This topic has certainly created interest and rasied the ire of a few.
Interesting to read the range of issues that get up people's noses, whilst on the water. Although in my experience the most frustration for me comes either at, or going back to the boat ramp. By far and away most are considerate and get their boat in or out with expediency to suit their circumstances. Some however seem to adopt the rule that once you are on the ramp you own it for as long as you like to do whatever you like. Simple organisation seems to have to occur whilst launching.
The other thing which irks me back at the ramp is fishers using the pontoon, which is put there for boaters to tie up to whilst they get their car and trailer. Many of these simply do not move when they see you coming, and expect you to get yourself through their lines, and get snakey if you cannot. Was at the ramp one day during a Bream Comp., and most of these guys simpy came into the ramp at a great speed, straight through any cast lines. They are obviously experienced and can do this and know exactly when to back the motor off.
Now Bream fishing comp's, and the attitude of these guys (the contestants) at times, I suggest leaves all other gripes (including maniac jet skiers), for dead. I have heard many very negative comments back at the ramp (i.e. do these wankers think they own the river?)

Shawn 66
29-01-2011, 02:44 PM
hi very interesting so far, as i have said before i own and operate both jetski's and boats, i to get really annoyed at some of stupid and neg comments re jetski's, it really is only a minority of riders that are thoughtless and ignorant to other water user's, the same applies for boat owner.s. but i ask the question. why is the speed zones all still indicated in knots? more than half the current water users would not know that measurement, or conversion to klms. i,m old school and can understand all measurements.. most current jetski.s, boats gps,and other watercraft all have speedo's reading in klms or mph. so maybe its time we have to change our water measurements to suit the younger generations.due to our changing world.
Drew
Question for you Drew ,
Do you class some of the aforementioned comments as stupid and / or negative soley because they are not to your liking ?
Just a thought ,
Shawn.:-? :-?

on-one
29-01-2011, 03:05 PM
i suspect whoever wrote the recreational boating and fishing guide is confused about knots too, 6 knots is over 11 kilometres an hour that's running pace

oldie
29-01-2011, 05:08 PM
hahah minority doing the wrong thing?!! crap depends on the water way come down and check out the Tweed on any given sunday twits everywhere on jest skis, they even hook up the tube or wake board at the ramp and pull them straight out of there at fingal boat harbor at stupid speeds, what about ol mate coming in to the seaward side of the entry and clipping the guy on the tube??? commons sense is the issue and lack there of

STUIE63
29-01-2011, 07:12 PM
I was always taught that 6 knots or no wake . maybe the no wake thing was just a coutesy not a law but the no wake rule does work

Crocodile
30-01-2011, 09:14 AM
Hello All,
1. It is a very large minority of jetskiers who break the rules by my last count about 50% of them are too fast and too close.
2. 4 knots is no wake, 6 knots is just to slow you down for safety/ collison avoidance.

Seahorse
30-01-2011, 05:16 PM
50%
Do u sit there all day and count them or did just sound a nice round number

dreemon
30-01-2011, 05:27 PM
I would have thought much higher than fiddy, more like 73.8 % ::)

croc, sounds right with the 6 knots = safety

no wake is no wake . . look out the back and make sure.

30-01-2011, 05:27 PM
50%
Do u sit there all day and count them or did just sound a nice round number
Fish are off the bite I reckon ::)

Crocodile
30-01-2011, 09:18 PM
Hello All,

No need to sit there all day.
When I go to the beach for a swim say I spend 30 minutes there, the jetskiers never disappoint.
Always about 6 go past in that time and of that six there will always be at least 3 speeding, freestyling etc. in the six knot zone and in the bathing reserve.
If you keep a record of the regos and report them to B&F on 55835500 or Water Police on 55095700 the scum of the human race get a phone call.
The good news is that if the authorities get enough calls and build a big enough data base our government may finally act and ban them altogether as is the case in other areas.

Crocodile
30-01-2011, 09:24 PM
Hello All,

On reflection, the worse they behave the better it will be because sooner or later the government will be forced to act to protect average citizens.
So come on boys speed, freestyle, drive close to swimmers, surfers and canoeists, run your skis up the beach amongst the children, chase the dolphins because you will then hasten you demise and make the world a better place.
All of the above behaviours are a regular occurance.

truth stretcher
30-01-2011, 10:02 PM
I dont own a jetski but some of my mates do , they are mature age fellas and they are very responsable. Ive seen lots of people doing dumb s#$t on them but they stand out a lot more than the ones doing the right things.

Not stereo typing people but if the brim on your hat is remarkably flat and on a strange angle offering little or no sun protection.

or

Your vehicle is of the light commercial van type but has a remarkably large, shiney set of 56- inch + wheels on it and advertises for one or more energy drink companies,

then I reckon I can call your riding style before you unstrap your ski.

But in saying this I do believe
TO BE OLD AND WISE ONE MUST FIRST BE YOUNG AND STUPID!

as long as its not harming or affecting anyone else , or if your politely told your doing wrong you can take in on board and apologise, not arc up and act like a d#$khead.

Seahorse
30-01-2011, 10:18 PM
crocodile.
world would be a better place if we didnt have to read ur dumb comments on here.
know the numbers by heart i see.
Typical whinger I would say.
All to much for 1 thread was it, had to use 2 treads.

31-01-2011, 01:52 AM
Seahorse settle down mate, can't you see that you are obviously not in the majority that people are talking about so it really doesn't affect you does it.

I don't want to see the vehicles banned at all. For the most part we have managed to regulate the roads. Once the QLD government sees it in their best interests to suck money out of fining water users and confiscating JetSki's from repeat offenders that will get regulated and enforced also.

31-01-2011, 07:07 AM
I don't want to see the vehicles banned at all. For the most part we have managed to regulate the roads. Once the QLD government sees it in their best interests to suck money out of fining water users and confiscating JetSki's from repeat offenders that will get regulated and enforced also.

You don't see coppers on the road so why would they have coppers, or their equivalent, on the water.
Until they invent speed camera's for the water then everything will remain exactly as it is now.
The water is just like the roads. The road based hoons know where the speed camera's etc are on the road and they avoid them and do what they want. Just go for a drive any Friday or Saturday night on the M1 to the Gold Coast. No fear of prosecution as there are no coppers (or very few)
The water based hoons have it better. There is no fear of prosecution as there is no law enforcement on the water.
The Pin on any public holiday is positive proof of that.

leelee
31-01-2011, 07:56 AM
Personally I think that boat owners who own jetski’s understand the laws of the waterway.
The rest have no idea and are really painfull.
I think a rule needs to be put in place to keep jetski owners within mark channels between markers. They seem to love having the ability to drive in shallow water and ruin your drift. They also have an amazing ability to upset almost everyone on the water with their antics of speeding in go slow or no wash areas, jumping wake behind boats and breaking the law by driving to close to other pwc’s and boats at greater than 10 knots. They have no idea on the rules and simply do not care about anyone else but themselves.
I am over yelling at these clowns, but they simply don’t care. I guess I should be nice considering it is their waterway, well that’s the impression I get.
I wonder how they would feel if I turned up outside their house at 3am in the morning revving my engine upsetting them when they are doing something they enjoy.
Idiots
Lee

truth stretcher
31-01-2011, 09:24 AM
Went for a walk with my girls along the new Hornibrook bridge the other day and wandered from the redcliffe end to the fishing platform.
Some fella on a ski had obviously come hooking from the clontarf ramp heading straight to the channel near the bridge.
Uh Ohh low tide.
He was stuck on the flat for as long as I was there ( 1hour +) and then a young fella in a small tiny pulled his boat up and walked over and they where dragging it over the flats, looked like hard work.
I wandered back to my car and by now it was quite dark and I still dont think he'd got off .;D

Seahorse
31-01-2011, 08:42 PM
lovey
just shits me when clowns get on here and make very broard statements and really have no idea.

LeeLee
u r right. i really think boat owners who own jet skis understand the law.
I would say that i even give boats more room that is required when on my ski.

Some people just band them all together.
let it be known, they are prob shit drivers on the road

Fed
01-02-2011, 05:48 AM
I think the best thing to do is ring the water police every time you see a jetskier breaking the law.
For me that would be about 5 or 6 times a day so if everyone did it then I'd expect the water police would be getting at least a few hundred reports every day.
I'm sick of them & I'm not going to take it any longer.

Seahorse
01-02-2011, 05:27 PM
iam pleased for u fed.
u just do that.

i leave from clontarf so come on down and ring police on me as I put in my ski.

U just dont get it do u. There are a lot of boaties who have skis, who do the right thing.

There are lots crazy boaties out there as well.

u going to make those calls as well.

eyeskeenas
01-02-2011, 05:54 PM
iam pleased for u fed.
u just do that.

i leave from clontarf so come on down and ring police on me as I put in my ski.

U just dont get it do u. There are a lot of boaties who have skis, who do the right thing.

There are lots crazy boaties out there as well.

u going to make those calls as well.
I am one of the few who have a boat and a ski. I know the rules well and make sure i follow them and i keep up to date with all of them.
i will come down with you so he can kill two birds with one stone.;D

Mark-P
01-02-2011, 06:26 PM
I find the average jetski owner is like the saturday morning cyclists !
The first annoy me on the water & the second on my way to work !
God forbid if the mobile coffee vendors start turning up @ the ramps.....
Latte anyone
Ooooops here we Go ....!!!!

La Vida
01-02-2011, 07:34 PM
i find it amazing how jetski owners like seahorse do not see the problem. an the problem unfortunately is that the majority of jetski owners donot respect the laws or the safety of other boat owners.

yes seahorse you may be some of the few who do the right thing and good on for that as you will be people like yourself will be the savours. yes there is going numbers of boat owners who are doing the wrong thing as well.

Here on the gold coast it is a growing problem and there group in particular is the late teen early mid twenty something that is causing the issues. On australia day I saw many of them mouthing off to the water police and BF saying it was unaustralian to fine them on australia day. I believe it is unaustralian to be endangering other boaties.

When I was with VMR the vast majority of marine accidents and personal injuries that we attended were jetskis, either falling off and hurting themselves, throwing passengers off and injuring them, collisions and high speed groundings. I saw the aftermath too often, of this behaviour. people unfortunately do not wake up until someone gets hurt. and even then the penalties are weak

I guess the thing is we are in a world now where govenments do not stand against those who do the wrong thing and crack down on them hard, they prefer to take rights away as they did with Jetskis in Sydney

It is interesting to see that the majority of posts have been anti jetski. so I would say look and listen to these comments and instead of defending yourself and those who do the right thing, be part of a solution to fix the problem.

I appreciaste the comments seahorse

Mr__Bean
01-02-2011, 08:05 PM
Hmmmm,

plenty of emotion and no shortage of idiot comments in this topic now.

Hurl sinkers at them, crush their skiis.................

Certainly has brought out the "tosser" in people.

- Darren

01-02-2011, 09:03 PM
i find it amazing how jetski owners like seahorse do not see the problem. an the problem unfortunately is that the majority of jetski owners donot respect the laws or the safety of other boat owners.

yes seahorse you may be some of the few who do the right thing and good on for that as you will be people like yourself will be the savours. yes there is going numbers of boat owners who are doing the wrong thing as well.

Here on the gold coast it is a growing problem and there group in particular is the late teen early mid twenty something that is causing the issues. On australia day I saw many of them mouthing off to the water police and BF saying it was unaustralian to fine them on australia day. I believe it is unaustralian to be endangering other boaties.

When I was with VMR the vast majority of marine accidents and personal injuries that we attended were jetskis, either falling off and hurting themselves, throwing passengers off and injuring them, collisions and high speed groundings. I saw the aftermath too often, of this behaviour. people unfortunately do not wake up until someone gets hurt. and even then the penalties are weak

I guess the thing is we are in a world now where govenments do not stand against those who do the wrong thing and crack down on them hard, they prefer to take rights away as they did with Jetskis in Sydney

It is interesting to see that the majority of posts have been anti jetski. so I would say look and listen to these comments and instead of defending yourself and those who do the right thing, be part of a solution to fix the problem.

I appreciaste the comments seahorse

get over it..it is only a minority...go and sit at Jacobs Well ramp on any weekend and count how many boats are doing over 6 knots within 30m of the ramp..then go to Tiger Mullet and record who goes over 6 knots there the most then come back and tell us the results..I already know them. There are those with all types of vessels that do dumb things and they are the minority in all groups.

01-02-2011, 09:34 PM
Greg, too much commonsense mate in that post,

Always gets back to commonsense doesnt it? , doesnt matter if your in a tinny, a jet ski or a cruiser, if you qualify for the Darwin award?

Like last time i went up early to Mooloolabah, 4.30 in the morning to pick up TOL, from my place, double lane, a long stretch, just myself and another car, now why would they want to tailgate at 80kmh? on an empty double lane? commonsense zip, put that person in a cruiser, a tinny, a jetski and you will get the same result, darwinism

it isnt the vehicle/boat, its the idiot controlling it, cant legislate against idiocy, we try to though;D its like the bomb, someone has to press the button, didnt some US President lose the briefcase for a while? all those protocols regulations and someones out to lunch.

maybe people should just move and relax somewhere else on the water when idiots in tinnies/cruisers and jetskis arrive?

robothefisho
01-02-2011, 11:10 PM
Boats- Create more wake,
More of them,
Most take longer to launch/retrieve,
Park up right next to you when fishing, and
Generally can't drive them for Shi

Jetski's- Most are competant riders,
create bugger all wash, and
fewer of them.

Personally i find them boring to ride in anything but surf. But they certainly don't annoy me. Not much on the water does, and I find I have a great day which is very relaxing. Why bother letting anything bar extremes work you up on the water? It's not worth it.

If a ski or boat goes past you at 100mph, who cares? If your not being put in danger by them it's not your problem.

Oh, my point is TOLERANCE. The last thing we need is more bloody laws and regulations.

Fed
02-02-2011, 10:04 AM
Instead of defending them you'd think all the sensible jetskiers would want the hoons off the water too because it's the hoons that will finish up getting jetskis banned.
As was said, Sydney Harbour has a total jetski ban in place & the whole of the Sydney basin is classed as a restricted area for jetskis which among other things means no 'tricks' within 200M of the shore.
It makes me wonder when I see them doing donuts 50M from the ramp, they have no idea whatsoever and don't get me started on them driving on the wrong side of the channel, some of them are downright dangerous.

La Vida
04-02-2011, 08:21 PM
Instead of defending them you'd think all the sensible jetskiers would want the hoons off the water too because it's the hoons that will finish up getting jetskis banned.
As was said, Sydney Harbour has a total jetski ban in place & the whole of the Sydney basin is classed as a restricted area for jetskis which among other things means no 'tricks' within 200M of the shore.
It makes me wonder when I see them doing donuts 50M from the ramp, they have no idea whatsoever and don't get me started on them driving on the wrong side of the channel, some of them are downright dangerous.

too right fed i am with you

05-02-2011, 07:05 AM
If you think it's only jetski's that are a problem.
Look at how this guy is advertising his boat. (5th and 7th pictures)
I, for one, am glad he's moving offshore.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/17-5ft-Carribean-Jaguar-Wake-Ski-Boat-/120679225246?pt=AU_Boats&hash=item1c190ad79e

05-02-2011, 07:17 AM
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/17-5ft-Carribean-Jaguar-Wake-Ski-Boat-/120679225246?pt=AU_Boats&hash=item1c190ad79e

It has an anodized Bimedy, and it's on a Dumbier trailer.

Honestly, don't folks check spelling in their ads before they run them?

FishHunter
05-02-2011, 08:05 AM

What are you the fun police? Doesnt look like he is endangering anyones life in those pics.

05-02-2011, 08:13 AM
What are you the fun police? Doesnt look like he is endangering anyones life in those pics.
It may seem innocent enough but can he see what's in the water??
What would happen if there's a log or a kid swimming??
You cannot avoid it if you can't see it.
I've had them 'aiming' at me at Evan's Head within 100m of the ramp and in a narrow channel.
Which way do you go to avoid an accident??
It definitely wasn't this clown at Evans but it was a tinny where the operator is down the back and all he can see is the seats in front of him....and that's it.
How can that be construed as operating a vessel in a safe manner??

If this clown advertises his boat with pictures like that you can bet your bottom dollar he will do worse on the water.
Just the same as the w@nkers who advertise their cars with burnout pictures.
You just know they're tossers on the road.

mitchdemeanor
05-02-2011, 08:56 AM
Gotta love it, just says to me that its been thrashed!!! Idiots in all forms of transport, still any transport with handlebars is the favorite of the full blown w*nkers

jason p
05-02-2011, 09:20 AM
its just his hole shot. a light boat big heavy donk with sht loads of power, it would be pretty safe to say he wouldnt be able to hold it up like that for to long let alone travel down the river like that, so its not like hes realy going to hit anyone, well you would think you would look for a clear path befor attempting such a move.

Mr__Bean
05-02-2011, 12:52 PM
Same thing happens with almost all high powered ski boats whenever you pull a skier up out of the water.

Even with full down trim the nose lifts right up due to the load on the ski pole.

All you do is ensure that the path in front is well clear before you hit the power. As said, it doesn't stay up there it is just as you launch off.

- Darren

maimai
05-02-2011, 01:58 PM
its just his hole shot. a light boat big heavy donk with sht loads of power, it would be pretty safe to say he wouldnt be able to hold it up like that for to long let alone travel down the river like that, so its not like hes realy going to hit anyone, well you would think you would look for a clear path befor attempting such a move.
No its not hole shot,:D I'ts the "IN" thing to do;D, motor trimmed out as far as it takes to bite when taking off, you tube has a few vids on how its done ;)

05-02-2011, 04:51 PM
Same thing happens with almost all high powered ski boats whenever you pull a skier up out of the water.

Even with full down trim the nose lifts right up due to the load on the ski pole.

All you do is ensure that the path in front is well clear before you hit the power. As said, it doesn't stay up there it is just as you launch off.

- Darren
Gees I must be behind the times.
I would have imagined a boat (especially a ski boat) would need to perform like this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LKe8rhZnx0Y
(http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/%3Ciframe%20title=)

jason p
05-02-2011, 08:49 PM
Gees I must be behind the times.
I would have imagined a boat (especially a ski boat) would need to perform like this

(http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/%3Ciframe%20title=)

big difference in the performance of an inboard and a eggbetter ive skied behind both sorts for most of my life and you will never get an inboard doing what the outboard does cats and dogs realy.

jp

jason p
05-02-2011, 08:51 PM
and yes my brothers boat is very similar to the inboard in the picture and its a great ski boat.

jp

Mr__Bean
05-02-2011, 09:08 PM
Agree, a mid mount inboard ski boat like that shown in the video will lift from the centre of the boat, it has a lot of down angle on the prop shaft. Plenty of pull down low but very very inefficient at speed.

A V-Drive inboard will do the same as a big outboard, different centre of gravity in the boat and a big difference in prop shaft angle to the water.

- Darren

Mr__Bean
05-02-2011, 09:12 PM
Oh and by the way, we are heading over to Tangalooma tomorrow for the day. A boat load plus 2 jetskis.

If you feel that you must then come and hurl your sinkers at us, and we'll sort it out from there.

- Darren

05-02-2011, 09:24 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ZE81-hUQlU&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iHzr1UJm2lQ&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DKJM8qlboL0&feature=related

jason p
05-02-2011, 10:06 PM
ok finga i see your point, regardless of the motor position, under controlled throtle they can all reach a safe and leval plane.

jp

ashh
05-02-2011, 10:08 PM
bet this bloke cant stop in a hurry, or turn for that matter lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h7O9a9KBKfk

Steeler
05-02-2011, 10:14 PM
Oh and by the way, we are heading over to Tangalooma tomorrow for the day. A boat load plus 2 jetskis.

If you feel that you must then come and hurl your sinkers at us, and we'll sort it out from there.

- Darren

I don't think you need not worry, if your not within the min distance no one has cause for agro.

sleepygreg
05-02-2011, 10:22 PM
It probably wasnt, but that footage looks like it was taken on lake Burrinjuck.

sleepygreg
05-02-2011, 10:26 PM
Now im betting that the twin turbo one was filmed on the Murray River

06-02-2011, 06:22 AM
ok finga i see your point, regardless of the motor position, under controlled throtle they can all reach a safe and leval plane.

jp
And then there are the tossers who want to be skua operators in inappropriate places at inappropriate times.

Seahorse
06-02-2011, 08:05 AM
darren
well said

jake0
06-02-2011, 08:43 AM
Yep jet ski and yackers= PITA

Shawn 66
06-02-2011, 10:17 AM
Yep jet ski and yackers= PITA
Jake ,
Just out of curiosity , what is a PITA .
Shawn:-?

maimai
06-02-2011, 10:39 AM
Jake ,
Just out of curiosity , what is a PITA .
Shawn:-?
haha.........pain in the A***

Seahorse chill out your blood pressure is way too high dude :-X

Shawn 66
06-02-2011, 10:59 AM
haha.........pain in the A***

Seahorse chill out your blood pressure is way too high dude :-X
Thanks Bud ,
Shawn8-)

06-02-2011, 11:02 AM
anyone in any vessel that does the wrong thing is a pain...I could many examples of large boat drivers and tinny drivers that are just as bad or worse than yakkers and jet skiers.

and the funny part is..when you say something to them they all run like scared cats...but then I guess the bloke in the tinny that had the 30' boat right up his bum didn't want to stop and have a chat to me...that was the one and only time I have done my block when on the water

or the idiot in the 15' boat that nearly ran into the back of me cos he was sightseeing.

some ofyou blokes need to go out and enjoy yourself..none of us are perfect.

onerabbit
06-02-2011, 08:03 PM
This has been a very interesting read,

informative also as a few otherwise casual members have come across as complete knobs........anyway,

as well as jetskiers, drivers of cruisers have taken a bit of a battering through this,

my question is this,

how can a licence to drive a tinny let the same person drive a 30 ft + cruiser????

It's like having a licence to drive a Toyota Yaris, then jumping into a 45 tonne semi??
To get a licence to drive a Heavy Rigid vehicle, you have to show you are competant,
to drive a semi you must have 2 years experience in rigids behind you,

but any FW can get a tinny licence and drive almost anything??????

Why haven't the powers that be looked at this issue?

Surely there are tax $ to be made?

jake0
07-02-2011, 05:10 AM
maybe the same reason they can give any FW a jet ski licence ;D

07-02-2011, 05:46 AM
This has been a very interesting read,

informative also as a few otherwise casual members have come across as complete knobs........anyway,

as well as jetskiers, drivers of cruisers have taken a bit of a battering through this,

my question is this,

how can a licence to drive a tinny let the same person drive a 30 ft + cruiser????

It's like having a licence to drive a Toyota Yaris, then jumping into a 45 tonne semi??
To get a licence to drive a Heavy Rigid vehicle, you have to show you are competant,
to drive a semi you must have 2 years experience in rigids behind you,

but any FW can get a tinny licence and drive almost anything??????

Why haven't the powers that be looked at this issue?

Surely there are tax $ to be made?

no difference driving a 30' cruiser to a tinny..just different proportions is all. The principles remain the same.

07-02-2011, 06:11 AM
no difference driving a 30' cruiser to a tinny..just different proportions is all. The principles remain the same.

I completely agree. Without some training, most folks couldn't get a semi trailer moving, dependent on gearbox of course. And then God forbid they have to stop in a hurry! The comparison is not a valid one, imo.

But Greg's right. It's just the proportions in boats, they all do, pretty much, drive the same. It's the idiot behind the wheel that makes the difference, and you can't legislate against stupidity. More Police, please!

tim

La Vida
07-02-2011, 01:13 PM
It is Ironic that it is much harder to get your VHF operators licence than it is your boat licence. compulsary course and quite a tough closed book exam.

yet a VHF cant run over, in jure or kill a person and cause destruction to property or wildlife

is something wrong here or is it just me?????

07-02-2011, 01:47 PM
No mate it is silly, but it is one of those typical government inequity things.

There are plenty of things that are harder than getting a boat licence.

Just like you are in a heap more trouble getting busted shipping untaxed tobaco than smuggling hard drugs.

jason p
07-02-2011, 04:12 PM
And then there are the tossers who want to be skua operators in inappropriate places at inappropriate times.

skua operators??

07-02-2011, 04:21 PM
skua operators??
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9enllfJZ1MQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jo5Tu_RXeHo

Seahorse
07-02-2011, 04:57 PM
greg
its nice to try and put everything in proportion.
nearly everyone on here has a similar opinion on drivers of all vessels on our water ways.
Good and bad in them all. from 10ft tinnie, jetski up to 40 ft cruisers.
The thing that gets up my nose are the few clowns on here who go out of their way and try and be big and brave and say what they would do to certain vessels and their drivers.
Big mouths on here as its easy.
Iam no different i hope to any normal person on here, out their to have fun and stay safe.\, not to be threatened with sinking, having things thrown at them etc.
so if some think I should settle down, maybe true but I will not be stood over.

dreemon
07-02-2011, 05:29 PM
Greg your taking it WAY to personally, No one has pointed a finger at you, and you've made your point very clearly that you not one of the irritating knobs "on the water"

Mark-P
07-02-2011, 05:31 PM
Im one of the bigmouths on here greg !!!!!!
When i said that if i caught the guys running over my pot floats
( to which i lost 1 pot ) i would have kicked there A##SS !

By the way, there actions were very deliberate.

maimai
07-02-2011, 05:55 PM
Im one of the bigmouths on here greg !!!!!!
When i said that if i caught the guys running over my pot floats
( to which i lost 1 pot ) i would have kicked there A##SS !

By the way, there actions were very deliberate.

that has to be the best avatar i have seen on this forum 8-) need to get bumper/boat stickers like that ;D;D

robothefisho
07-02-2011, 05:58 PM
Gotta love it, just says to me that its been thrashed!!! Idiots in all forms of transport, still any transport with handlebars is the favorite of the full blown w*nkers

Well I'm definately a w*anker, I bet your a cat.

jason p
07-02-2011, 06:28 PM
skua operators wow now thats just bldy stupid, its only a matter of time before theres some serious injury to them and or others.

jp

La Vida
18-02-2011, 08:35 PM
I find it amazing that people have the bravado to put videos on the web of stupid behaviour, they just the same as the sick F#### who post videos of people bashing one another.. about time the laws and enforcement gets way tougher>:( >:( >:(

Orange_hains
27-04-2011, 10:37 AM
what really pisses me off are the jet ski idiots that do donuts and just make a hell of a wake at the ####ing boat ramp, boat ramps are a horrible place at the best of times.

27-04-2011, 12:11 PM
Its just occured to me that "El Guapo" had the solution to discouraging this sort of behaviour.

:) " Hey, these guys are Funny.......Shoot...One of them";D

Lucky 1
27-04-2011, 12:37 PM
Its just occured to me that "El Guapo" had the solution to discouraging this sort of behaviour.

:) " Hey, these guys are Funny.......Shoot...One of them";D

I love that saying from the 3 Amigos "These are funny guys !!!......Just shoot one of them"... in a heavy mexican accent ;D;D

27-04-2011, 01:56 PM
" OHg YEggS BOSS..... YOU'd HAVE A PLEgTHORA"