PDA

View Full Version : Transom needs replacement HELP!!!

weekendfisher
20-01-2011, 10:23 PM
Hi Guys
As this is my first time posting on these forums i apoligise if i have posted in the wrong section.
I have just discovered my transom is soft around where the motor mounts and i am not willing to risk taking it out as is so there are 2 options...
First was to see what the shops were quoting and at 3-4k its out of the question for this boat i love the shape but its old and not worth putting that cash into it when i could put it towards another boat which is the other option.
The way i would kind of prefer to go is replace the transom myself and during that pull up the floor and modify the layout to how i want it to be.

My fibreglass skills are very limited and i am not comfortable glassing in a structural part like the transom.
I would like to know if anyone can recommend a place that will do what i am after relativley cheap or if there is anyone who is experienced in this and would like some extra cash (beer is supplied of course) to help with the replacement and guide me in the repair.
I am happy to do the work just not comfortable with doing the transom i want something i know will be better than new when i take it out.
The boat is a 15ft open fibre glass runabout if possible i would like to make the transom stronger to accomodate a bigger motor or a second one
Any help at all in this matter would be appreciated
If the repair idea options get exhausted i will be looking to replace the boat.
Thanks
PS sorry for the SA

svranjic
21-01-2011, 01:22 AM
Hey mate

Where are you located? Not in WA by any chance because I would be keen to make some cash!

Take a look at this thread
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=165427

This was the transom rebuild I did on my 15ft glass runabout. With help from the knowledgeable and friendly folks here on ausfish I managed to rebuild mine and I had limited experience with fiberglassing.