View Full Version : Seasickness anyone got any got remedies?

La Vida
13-01-2011, 04:31 PM
I am one of those poor bastards who gets bloody seasick in anything over 1 to 1.5m. to the point where I have to turn around and go home. the minute i am inshore I am fine.

If you know of any good remedies that dont make you want to lie down and go to sleed I would really like tol here from you.

Any info suggestions would be really appreciated

13-01-2011, 04:49 PM
Ginger, Travacalm, Kwell

13-01-2011, 05:00 PM
Avomine, it's quite gentile antihistamine and it is great! I cop it quite bad at times always have since the age of 5 when deep sea fishing for snapper down the NSW south coast but I only found these pills through here on ausfish a few years ago actually (Thanks again to whoever that was).

Actually other stuff works but crikey they are rough on a person, once many years ago when fishing tempest I put a scopomine (sp) patch behind my ear for the first time ever...felt spaced out and a little off when fishing but I didn't get sick.

at some time during that day I thought it had fallen off as I couldn't feel it so I forgot about it, I had to have the next two days off work because I was way too sick, found the patch still stuck behind my ear on that second day.

Anyway Avomine is the BOMB! so far not sick on it once and not one side effect noticed so far.

mmmouse
13-01-2011, 05:03 PM
hey good luck with that, i don't envy you..i've seen some seasickers that deadset looked like they were dead but the rolled over to spew every now and then just to let you know they were alive!!!!!!

lots of old remedies.... don't know if they work...but may be worth a try....
1. chew on raw ginger while on the water (supposedly even works after you start to feel sick)
2. take ginger tablets (some say they work...some don't)
3. put cotton wool in one ear (not sure which one..50/50 shot at getting it right the first time)
4. put a brown paper bag under your clothing against your stomach (????)
5. drink a spoonful of seawater (yech!!!!!)
6. wear pressure point wrist bands (see a lot of people with these)
7. cool your body temp ( use cloths soaked in ice cold water from ur esky and put them around the back of your neck and on your wrists and probably groin as well...wherever blood flow comes close to the surface)
8. jump in the water ( look before you leap!!)
9. keep your head up and look at the horizon ( don't look down and definately don't try to read anything)
10. when all else fails...take drugs!!! in my experience ginger goes great with thai food and drugs work for seasickness!!!!!

happy boating :)

gav73
13-01-2011, 05:44 PM
Mate I use to get that sick and my mate wouldn't go back until we ran out of bait(problem solved I threw the whole lot over board).I now take a six pack of beer drop a kweel in the first burp all day and don't get sick even on 3 day trips.
Cheers Gav

Bros
13-01-2011, 06:21 PM
1. chew on raw ginger while on the water (supposedly even works after you start to feel sick)
2. take ginger tablets (some say they work...some don't)
3. put cotton wool in one ear (not sure which one..50/50 shot at getting it right the first time)
4. put a brown paper bag under your clothing against your stomach (????)
5. drink a spoonful of seawater (yech!!!!!)
6. wear pressure point wrist bands (see a lot of people with these)
7. cool your body temp ( use cloths soaked in ice cold water from ur esky and put them around the back of your neck and on your wrists and probably groin as well...wherever blood flow comes close to the surface)
8. jump in the water ( look before you leap!!)
9. keep your head up and look at the horizon ( don't look down and definately don't try to read anything)
10. when all else fails...take drugs!!! in my experience ginger goes great with thai food and drugs work for seasickness!!!!!

11. Sit under a tree

If you do a search of the forums you will find plenty of posts on seasickness so it is pretty common.
One thing to remember it is never ever a fatal illness no matter how bad you feel.

castlemaine
13-01-2011, 06:40 PM
No or little alcohol the night before, one Avomine/Kwell before bed, one Avomine/Kwell half an hour before you board and drink Coke (not the diet stuff) while you're out.
Also stand rather than sit when you fish.

MEG-A-BITE
13-01-2011, 06:50 PM
I had a mate that had the sea bug and got sick all the time, he was so bad even in the river when it got bad he got sick. But I bought some wrist straps with a pressure point magnet in it, this puts pressure on the inside of your wrist. Well this did the trick for him. He now can go any time anywhere and not get sick. They are not the power balance gimmick that’s out at the moment. I got these in South Africa 5 years ago. I will try and post some pictures for you to see what they look like.

13-01-2011, 07:02 PM
I have never been sea sick but been fishing with many who do..but they don't look for remedies..more preventions like kwells etc..seems to work for some.

13-01-2011, 07:26 PM
Avamine is great but affects some differently . Forgot to give daughter a travelcalm and only had Avamine left in glovebox of boat i had stopped giving it to her caused it knocked her clean out all the time . And same this time she slept and slept.So have steered away from it

MEG-A-BITE
13-01-2011, 07:34 PM
I had a mate that had the sea bug and got sick all the time, he was so bad even in the river when it got bad he got sick. But I bought some wrist straps with a pressure point magnet in it, this puts pressure on the inside of your wrist. Well this did the trick for him. He now can go any time anywhere and not get sick. They are not the power balance gimmick that’s out at the moment. I got these in South Africa 5 years ago. I will try and post some pictures for you to see what they look like.

Here are the straps with the magnet in them.

14-01-2011, 09:06 AM
The search feature on this website is an amazing tool. Seasickness has been discussed before in detail.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=153959&highlight=seasickness+remedies

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=146731&highlight=seasickness+remedies

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=123358&highlight=seasickness+remedies

Camhawk88
14-01-2011, 09:22 AM
If you want something that wont make you lie down and go to sleep as you have stated, then steer well clear of kwells- they might as well be used as a date rape drug those things!

I dont suffer but my missus does and goes on extended trips for work- often staring down microscopes which isnt good. She found dramamine were the best- better than travacalm she reckons.

Keeping you head up and keeping busy (hooking into a heap of fish is best) seems to be the best thing you can 'do' to prevent sickness. Soon as you lie down or go below decks your in strife.

thelump
14-01-2011, 10:18 AM
What about for kids around 9 years old? I just found out last week that my young bloke has the curse. Are those drugs safe at that age?

cheers Jason

Knotpretty
14-01-2011, 11:25 AM
Some of the pros down here wont have dairy products if they are going out (I stopped having dairy products when I'm going fishing and it helped me). I take Blue Travacalm one before I go to bed and one when I wake up, caution it can make you a bit drowsy. Look on ET's sight I believe he has a chemist in Sydney that makes a compound that works well (local bait shop owner uses it). Good luck with your search. Mojo

Belly66
14-01-2011, 12:30 PM
I too suffered the curse until I found a nice blonde in a red bikini to take out in the boat. I haven't spewed since but all my mates are !!!!!

mlaagtho
14-01-2011, 03:02 PM
Eat 4 bars of chocolate before you go out
So that when you get sick it dont taste so bad

La Vida
14-01-2011, 03:18 PM
I too suffered the curse until I found a nice blonde in a red bikini to take out in the boat. I haven't spewed since but all my mates are !!!!!

so far belly66 you have the best sounding solution, Now I eiother have to make the wife look like a nice blonde in a red bikini or convince her that I need one. I do not know ehich one will be the most difficult!!!::)

Astro
14-01-2011, 05:02 PM
Eat 4 bars of chocolate before you go out
So that when you get sick it dont taste so bad

LOL thats the last thing you want to get sick on. It doesnt taste very good comming back out.

I get sick offshore aswell, things ive found help are TRAVACALM white packet ONLY, one tablet 1 hour before arriving on your spot. Also make sure you have eaten, an empty tummy will make you sick, and eating offshore while having an empty tummy does not help, you need to eat well before starting your trip. I also find keeping out of the sun helps ALOT, its rare ill get sick in an afternoon session as the sun seems to have a big effect on me, if possible keep out of the sun and I also find that the wind helps, having a breeze. The worse days ive had offshore have been dead calm, Sunny, Hot, Humid, no wind, Empty Tummy, and got very sick.

Also if your ok after 1hour, a couple of beers seem to help with the rest of the day, again only if you have eaten.

ozassassin
14-01-2011, 05:39 PM
My wife gets sea sick bad, she now takes out green apples to eat when she starts to feel off, and it seems to work for her go figure.

Eric

14-01-2011, 07:58 PM
I reckon if you think your going to get seasick or its possible, then you will,

But, DON'T drink fizzy sunkist!!!

have hardly ever chucked on a boat until I drank sunkist, never again. And if your going to chuck, at least try to make it to the downwind side of the boat:D

no chicken tonight
14-01-2011, 08:53 PM
Every person can be seasick. It is only their tolerance levels that vary.
You can increase your tolerance level by going to sea more often.
Macdonlds before going to sea is the worst thing you can do.
Drugs work but have side affects.
Don't drink the night before
Get plenty of sleep The night before
Eat a good healthy dinner the night before
A piece of toast for breaky(no vegimite)
Fish in a cat as you are slightly less likely to get seasick as oposed to fish in a mono.
These are some of the things I have found to make a difference.

Dean1
14-01-2011, 09:13 PM
Ive fished offshore for 18 yrs and never got seasick till the last 18 months. I mean i was getting really crook as soon as it started blowing up and i was considering giving up the hobby. I couldnt work it out didnt understand until I mentioned it to an ausfisher here. He told me to get my ears checked out as a blocked ear will do it every time.

Well well my left ear was completly blocked ( couldnt believe what what the doc got out of there eeeeww) and i have never been crook again and ive fished 5 times since and in some rubbish conditions but not a sign of getting crook.

Im stoked get your'e ears checked it blew me away!

Lantana
15-01-2011, 05:09 PM
Plenty of good stuff mentioned here.
I had always been hit bad with sea sickness to the point that I gave it away.
Went to the Doc 1 day and mentioned it and he said forget all the rest of those over the counter or like remedies.
He advised and wrote out a script for me for stemzine or stamital type product. It is an anti nausea medication. Has to be on presciption.
Maybe worth a try if nothing else any good.
Must admit that for me after a couple of rough days outside, it did not work either.
Now fish the estuary in a tinnie, and it is great fun, and don't get sick!!

wakakiwi
15-01-2011, 05:57 PM
i was told by an old salt that he used to put 2 bits of white bread on the dash and let them dry out like toast and just spew till you cant spew anymore bile and all then eat the bread. He told me thats how he cured all his new deckies when thay come on the boat and still swears by it. me i use avomine

culbara
15-01-2011, 06:01 PM
Mate my6 wife used to get sick all the time and a mate of mine suggested i try Avil as that is what is in all the life rafts and she has found it unreal yo can buy it across the counter at the chemists but do not get it confused with Advil the one you want is spelt AVIL

16-01-2011, 04:09 AM
I seen all sorts of people try all sorts of things in my game. So far the one thing that has worked the best is the Bova Compounding Chemist blue pills. These are the ones ET uses on Escape with ET. Ring 1300 Seasick and order them over the phone. It is a mix of Travelcalm/Caffeine to stop the drowsiness effect/Ginger/something else as there is 4 major ingredients. This is has worked for the fiance and Brooksy's missus. The fiance would still be queezy on Avomine but it would zonk her out. Brooksy's missus is now unstoppable in the boat now and has won a couple of champion female trophies at game fish comps. Avomine did work for Phil T on here though. It fixed him right up. He was a chronic spewer.

OPTI
16-01-2011, 07:26 AM
ET,S bova pills are the bomb ,i had a mate who was a great berly machine ,nothing worked for him untill he got onto these ,and they are pretty cheap as well.definately worth a go

sporty1
16-01-2011, 08:05 AM
I totally agree with Smithy and Opti. The little blue pills (no not viagra, but hey it could be worth a try!) are great. I give any newby's coming fishing with me one and even the worst cases have yet to get sick. They are reasonably expensive at nearly $2 per tablet, but hey, to abort a trip offshore after outlaying all costs makes it a cheap alternative.