View Full Version : Available to help clean bay up

Beast1965
12-01-2011, 04:01 PM
Has anyone thought about how all the boats from the brisbane floods will be recovered from the bay? Is there anyone willing to go out and help retrieve some of these or is it left to VMR and the water police? Your thoughts?

12-01-2011, 04:10 PM
Mate I don't think too many will make it still floating..more like flotsam

Captain Seaweed
12-01-2011, 04:17 PM
Hello,
I dont know who to call and I am guessing all VMR's are busy with lots of other things. Today I saw 30 + pontoons/boats go out the river plus heaps of other stuff. I am offering myself with my boat to head out and tow them back in once conditions are good enough, or if not at least offer my services and boat. If anyone knows the correct people that would like to take this up as an offer send me a pm or let them know.

Marty

Captain Seaweed
12-01-2011, 04:23 PM
I am happy to offer myself and boat, I actually just started the same thread! I saw a lots 30+ go out the river still floating after smashing bridges

wayno60
12-01-2011, 04:45 PM
yer the cat that got squashed under one of the bridges wont be getting towed anywhere....new reef!!

byron_moses
12-01-2011, 05:10 PM
hey captain if u need a decky or 2 for this mate let me know

markbxy
12-01-2011, 05:28 PM
I will also help where possible and my boat is available for recovery missions

12-01-2011, 05:49 PM
It is great that people are willing to help i nthe clean up but what is required is to contact the authorities and volunteer. They will have all aspects organised and people doing one off things does not really help. It will take a well organised and run clean up effort.
Plus..the other side is, if you start just towing boats etc without being part of an organised effort then you may be labelled a looter and that won't look good.

madmackrel
12-01-2011, 05:53 PM
It is great that people are willing to help i nthe clean up but what is required is to contact the authorities and volunteer. They will have all aspects organised and people doing one off things does not really help. It will take a well organised and run clean up effort.
Plus..the other side is, if you start just towing boats etc without being part of an organised effort then you may be labelled a looter and that won't look good.
good comment pinhead , i too will make myself and boat available
Cheers MM:o

byron_moses
12-01-2011, 06:04 PM
hey guys i will be up brisbane way this weekend so if you need a hand or are doing a clean up somewhere plz pm me so we can meet up etc even if it is pulling rubbish from the bay

MEG-A-BITE
12-01-2011, 06:25 PM
I’m also keen to help wherever possible so just drop me a PM. I’m available any time.

Captain Seaweed
12-01-2011, 06:57 PM
I think vmr will do the whole your not trained and what If you get injured nanny state thing, not by personal choice. But I genuinely want to be involved in cleaning up my playground. I will get a prop guard and get busy

manboat
12-01-2011, 07:19 PM
put my name down as well

Beast1965
12-01-2011, 08:01 PM
I will offer my boat and time with this as well as we all play out there and want it to be as safe as we can make it.

12-01-2011, 08:51 PM
Make sure your insurance covers salvage/rescue work. You may find if you head out in a natural disaster area you wont be covered.

boatboy50
12-01-2011, 08:56 PM
Hey Guys,

I know you've all got great intentions, but the waters won't be navigated for a up to a week, even in the bay. I watched the Coastguard Cat today lose an engine (obviously blocked intake overheating). By the time an engine came up to clear it, he was sideways 100m from where he stopped. Any boat, regardless of material will get wrecked in those waters for up to a week. Even at six knots a log just under the water will hole even the best built boat. The Coastguard boat would have been doing 4000rpm to make 8 knots. Even they dodged and watched jetties go by with boats on top.

I'd love to help to, but it won't happen for a while. Don't you or your boat become a statistic for a runaway boat, pontoon or bit of rubbish.

ovakil
12-01-2011, 09:07 PM
Just saw on news some low lifes stealing a boat attached to pontoon from brissy river.Cops got them & have charged the 3 guys.
Unbelievable.

sprocketman
12-01-2011, 09:47 PM
Just saw on news some low lifes stealing a boat attached to pontoon from brissy river.Cops got them & have charged the 3 guys.
Unbelievable.

Link: http://www.facebook.com/notes/queensland-police-service/three-charged-over-looting-brisbane-floods/159867660727921

Scum. Least they were caught, should get the maximum, set an example for the rest of the trash out there.

Kevaclone
12-01-2011, 11:33 PM
Apparently he is claiming salvage rights. lowest of low acts. but there is scum everywhere, stealing from abandoned homes. "Shooting on sight" laws should be enacted as the world doesn't need such scum

sprocketman
12-01-2011, 11:35 PM
Apparently he is claiming salvage rights. lowest of low acts. but there is scum everywhere, stealing from abandoned homes. "Shooting on sight" laws should be enacted as the world doesn't need such scum

I am quite happy for him to salvage my size 12 from his rectum.

13-01-2011, 02:02 AM
If we were at war and things were really desperate then I reckon that the authorities would welcome an armada of well meaning amateurs doing a Dunkirk type exercise.

However, I doubt very much that in today's litigious world if any government official is going to welcome well meaning amateurs doing much more than sand bagging or, at the very most, doing work for which they are already licensed.

Apart from the possibility of genuine accidents, I reckon that there would be plenty of scope for skonky outcomes by opportunistic villains who might participate in such activities which are probably very specialised in nature.

See this post for how to register as a volunteer ... http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?p=1241592#post1241592

MEGA'bite
13-01-2011, 10:11 AM
I also offer my service, but charleville has hit the nail on the head

13-01-2011, 10:25 AM
Charlie is right, put differently todays officialdom may not take kindly to those usurping them.

Understand that you are managed under disaster regulation as a hopeless and incompetent individual in anything/action not first ordained by the heirachy, await the cattle call, most likely from a not for profit organization to pick up as much of the still noticeable light rubbish or you will run the very real risk our statutory officials/authorities heads will likely explode.

maimai
13-01-2011, 10:40 AM
My brother left this morning for Brisbane with 2 bobcats and a tipper, he should be down there a few months

bigjimg
13-01-2011, 04:38 PM
We have spent the last 2 days trying to clear the oil pipline{BP} of pontoons, airdocks,gas bottles and any other major obstruction to navigation.I can say this if you want to take your own private vessel into what essentially is going to void your insurance best of luck.It is completely inundated with timber of ALL sizes,drums, water weeds and any and all types of funiture.The clarity is -10,get my drift,Your motor will not thank you for your efforts,although well intentioned.Have at least 2 spare props on board,you'll need them.The current today is still crazy,around 10kts.MSQ will have things in hand along with Coastguard,VMR,Water Police.I myself would love to lend a hand but just not practical in a private vessel.Jim

13-01-2011, 07:06 PM
My brother left this morning for Brisbane with 2 bobcats and a tipper, he should be down there a few months

good on him...from the Lord mayors emails:

"We desperately need anyone who owns a bobcat, dump truck, front-end loader, water tanker or other heavy equipment to give us a hand with the clean-up. Please don’t bother to offer if you are seeking payment. We are after genuine volunteers who want to help and we will promptly respond to advise you where you should take your equipment.

For those that can offer their services please email lordmayor@brisbane.qld.gov.au or contact Council on 07 3403 8888."

13-01-2011, 08:01 PM
It would be nice if he was paid for his fuel you would think. Do the big fuel companies ever help out.

captain rednut
13-01-2011, 08:40 PM
hi ive just returned now from moreton bay trying to find my mates yaucht, hes stuck in ipswich at the moment losing his other possessions so i attempted to help him out, i couldnt find his boat but located in 5 pontoons and an airdock, 3 boats and so much other personal belongings it was despressing, atleast the owners of the ones located can be contacted now with some good news, we secured all the items found to prevent futher loss. i can tell you the bay is completely full of debris and even at idle we had to clear the motor regurly of debri. i wouldnt reccommend going out till there is less debri. i watched people loading there cars of all the salvaged items found on the shoreline, maybe this is ok to do but i couldnt keep the items found, it just didnt seem rite??
cheers jim

13-01-2011, 09:20 PM

Jim, I also was out yesterday afternoon and this afternoon, mainly out of curiosity and for a few pics of what was going on.

There are a mega amount of yachts, some tied to beacons and wharves and some sunk where I went and that was only the sunken wall and downstream of there.

There sure is a heap of stuff around, and absolutely zero visibility.

captain rednut
13-01-2011, 09:49 PM
hey dave did you take photos of the yaucts?? im looking for a 25ft yamaha sailing vessel single mast monohull beige in colour and brown stripe??

13-01-2011, 10:35 PM

Sorry mate, didn't see any matching that description... I expect the MSQ and Coast Guards know about it.... Hate to see how big their list is. There is about a dozen pontoons, and some with tinnies on/tied to them in the eddy behind the sunken wall.

rowanda
14-01-2011, 06:28 AM
It would be nice if he was paid for his fuel you would think. Do the big fuel companies ever help out.

I know BP are donating money for fuel for volunteers when the clean up begins. I'll let you know a link if I see one. Good one him for helping, I think if I had the equipment I'd be there aswell
Just on another note, see below on the BP website, no e10 for about 6 months in Qld!! keep an eye on those pumps as they are converted back to Unleaded

Release date: 12 January 2011

BP’s supplier of ethanol in Queensland has advised that due to adverse weather conditions it will be unable to supply ethanol to BP from mid-January for a period of 150 days.

As there are no alternative supplies of locally produced ethanol currently available, BP will, from 17th January, begin phasing-out E10 in Queensland and replacing it with conventional Regular Unleaded 91.

BP said; “It is unfortunate, but in the circumstances not surprising, that our ethanol supply has been disrupted. To ensure continuity of product for our customers we will, in the next few days, begin converting all E10 pumps in Queensland to Regular Unleaded 91.”

The timing and scale of any re-introduction of E10 sales in the State will depend largely on the resumption of reliable supplies of ethanol.

14-01-2011, 06:52 AM
Payment thing for heavy equipment is a bit strange, the state government will be reimbursing the council and every other organization every red cent they outlay, its part of the disaster legislation.

Some happy cars about to be set loose on our roads it seems :)

14-01-2011, 07:06 AM
I wouldn't be going anywhere near the bay (in a boat) for quite a while to come - This needs to be left to professionals / authorities......... they bay/river will need to be surveyed for debris etc ...... just too dangerous .

rowanda
14-01-2011, 07:30 AM
in a few years there'll be some new reefs holding some fish just off the coast i'd say....and for sure, the sludge in the river wouldn't do much for a rubber impeller

Axl
14-01-2011, 08:17 AM
I wouldn't be going anywhere near the bay (in a boat) for quite a while to come - This needs to be left to professionals / authorities......... they bay/river will need to be surveyed for debris etc ...... just too dangerous .

My thoughts as well NAGG.

Whilst it is always nice to offer assistance this should be left for the appropriate authourities to handle. I think it will be far to dangerous out there.

I wouldnt want to put my boat which has cost me alot of hard earned cash in a position where it could be damaged and not covered buy insurance.

bigjimg
14-01-2011, 07:13 PM
We'll be doing some survey on Sunday in various areas of the creek.Got to get the Port open to shipping at some point,don't know exactly when that will happen but will be sooner rather than later.When all is given the all clear.Long road to recovery unfortunately.If your going to come down for a sticky please stay well clear of working vessels and be well aware of their Restricted manouverability whilst towing.Jim

Steve B
14-01-2011, 08:05 PM
I know another issue they are going to have is for the big ships( and any boaties wanting to help) is the mouth silting up. Going on what has happened at Bundaberg, the main channel and hole at the sugar loading dock was 50 ft deep...now 12ft and that doesnt include the sunken boats etc that litter the mouth as hazzards. Brisbane would be 20x as bad given the amount of debris and silt coming down.

Cheers Steve

maimai
15-01-2011, 07:06 PM
Brisbane, get ready for a huge boom in the next 2-3 years, the price of housing is going to sky rocket, rent going to be out of control, and so on. A hell of alot of tradies heading to Brisy along with 1000's of millions dollars will be spent on fixing the place up, this will be all good for the first few years thus giving a false economy after that

Mike Delisser
16-01-2011, 12:15 PM

Lord Mayor Campbel said on the radio if you bring your trucks and plant, they will supply the diesel, don't know if that means they'll reimburse you or actually fill you up.

16-01-2011, 07:00 PM
I will be heading out into the bay to start cleaning, maybe this coming weekend if no more help is needed cleaning out houses. Good old poly craft can take a bit of a beating, and as long as your not fanging around at top speed things should be ok.

I dare say our VMR unit will be out and about, so I will just follow them around helping out. Might have to get the bimini repaired for this one!

Captain Seaweed
16-01-2011, 07:15 PM
I did a day with 10 mates, a tipper and bobcat on Saturday and cleared out 5 houses in Rocklea. I cant believe the state of these places and the surrounding ground. After the posts on here I agreed and decided to stay out until things improve a bit.
Things that surprised me:
-Catfish, eels, mullet everywhere.
-10,000,000 worms in the rd gutters
-Someone in the area selling poly pipe has their entire stock in everyone elses back yards. Poly pipe everywhere
-Highset house with sold sign on the front, no one living their but all stumps holding it up fractured, cracked and falling apart
Handy Tip
-If there is a flood coming again and projected power outage empty your fridge and freezer, its amazing how much harder it is to clean out a flooded house with rotting food scattered throughout.
I say this with due respect to the people that have suffered.

bigjimg
17-01-2011, 06:02 PM
Surveyed from Lytton Reach down to the Bar Cutting and found a few objects of interest,some of these were removed today.A little yellow yacht and the remains of various vessels along with some trees,roots and all.Still some more to go.Most of the bank on the western side is littered with debris as this was the direction of prevailing wind at the time.Both our tinnies have destroyed props as you have to get into skinny water to get the rubbish.Boggy creek is loaded with debris and along from Luggage Point and due North.Some of these areas you will not get into as Port Security will not let you.Most of these areas are under Maritime Security.Jim

mowerman
17-01-2011, 07:37 PM
in a few years there'll be some new reefs holding some fish just off the coast i'd say....and for sure, the sludge in the river wouldn't do much for a rubber impeller

Try changing the impellor whilst tied to the Jindalee bridge in a 15 knot flood.

On 2 motors.

Rod.

boatboy50
17-01-2011, 08:36 PM
Surveyed from Lytton Reach down to the Bar Cutting and found a few objects of interest,some of these were removed today.A little yellow yacht and the remains of various vessels along with some trees,roots and all.Still some more to go.Most of the bank on the western side is littered with debris as this was the direction of prevailing wind at the time.Both our tinnies have destroyed props as you have to get into skinny water to get the rubbish.Boggy creek is loaded with debris and along from Luggage Point and due North.Some of these areas you will not get into as Port Security will not let you.Most of these areas are under Maritime Security.Jim

Hey Mate,

Post some pics if you have some. I'd be interested to see what's left.

18-01-2011, 12:46 AM
Brisbane, get ready for a huge boom in the next 2-3 years, the price of housing is going to sky rocket,

Hmmm! Did not happen after the 1974 floods. Real estate prices went nowhere for about six years.

It was only at about 1980 that they rocketed away and then we had a credit squeeze of some sort at 1983 and it all stopped for a few years.

Mister
18-01-2011, 08:34 AM
Try changing the impellor whilst tied to the Jindalee bridge in a 15 knot flood.

On 2 motors.

Rod.

On what sort of engines ??

18-01-2011, 01:24 PM
i'm staying out of the water for a while myself. i've heard of groups in the bribie area operating on foot and starting to clear debris from the beaches, apparently heaps has washed up with the onshores we've been having. i'd imagine that there'd have to be something similar going down in the redcliffe/sandgate area.

mowerman
18-01-2011, 07:50 PM
On what sort of engines ??

I believe they are 200 Hondas.

A friend is with the manly coast guard.
He was skippering one of their boats in the river last tuesday.
Keeping an eye on things and ready to lend assistance if required.
He was near South Bank when a yacht made it under the bridges and was still floating.
They went over to see if anyone was on board.

Halfway there the motors lost thrust. Still running but no thrust.
Shit. something may have hit and spun the hubs or even knocked the props off.

Shut down motors. Call for help as they were drifting towards the pile of rubbish at the bottom of the Kangaroo Point cliffs.

Lift the motors to find a 4 foot round piece of tree trunk jammed between the legs and the props biting into it.

Boots, back of an axe and a few choice words got rid of the tree and they were on their way again.

Tied off to the downstream side of the Jindalee bridge.

His story.

Rod.

18-01-2011, 07:59 PM
I believe they are 200 Hondas.

A friend is with the manly coast guard.
He was skippering one of their boats in the river last tuesday.
Keeping an eye on things and ready to lend assistance if required.
He was near South Bank when a yacht made it under the bridges and was still floating.
They went over to see if anyone was on board.

Halfway there the motors lost thrust. Still running but no thrust.
Shit. something may have hit and spun the hubs or even knocked the props off.

Shut down motors. Call for help as they were drifting towards the pile of rubbish at the bottom of the Kangaroo Point cliffs.

Lift the motors to find a 4 foot round piece of tree trunk jammed between the legs and the props biting into it.

Boots, back of an axe and a few choice words got rid of the tree and they were on their way again.

Tied off to the downstream side of the Jindalee bridge.

His story.

Rod.

And when exactly did this happen?

mowerman
18-01-2011, 08:43 PM
Hi Andy.

This bit.

His story.

Mister
18-01-2011, 08:46 PM
Sounds like there is a bit of confusion between an impellor and a propellor. One thing is for sure they did certainly not change an impellor. That would be a really tall story.