View Full Version : Top 5

.:::stotty:::.
24-12-2010, 12:27 PM
Well guys, it is that time of the year when we reflect back on the year that was.... Take a look back and post up pics of the 5 fish you most enjoyed catching. They don't have to be massive fish or particuarly impressive, just 5 fish that for whatever reason are memorable from 2010'

First fish would go to a 120cm threadfin, it was caught landbased with a vibration lure and 6-17lb rod. Fought very well, after catching and releasing it I was onto work and got their just in time with a massive smile.

http://i60.servimg.com/u/f60/13/70/68/96/12010.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=3&u=13706896)

Second fish goes to the humble barra. It was caught on the 1/1/10 going 103. Was the first fish I caught this year, also landbased wadding in Kinchant dam near Mackay.

http://i60.servimg.com/u/f60/13/70/68/96/barra_10.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=4&u=13706896)

Third fish goes to my first 50cm+ jack caught earlier this year with a few more to follow after. It went 54 and put up a solid fight.

http://i60.servimg.com/u/f60/13/70/68/96/54blac10.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=5&u=13706896)

Fourth fish, ahh getting hard now. But this would have to go to a sooty. They are one of my most favorite fish to catch, they hit hard, they hit on the surface and theirs plenty of them making for fun and exciting sessions.

http://i60.servimg.com/u/f60/13/70/68/96/sooty_10.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=6&u=13706896)

Fifth fish, this would have to be my most memorable fish. It is also a threadfin salmon, just under the meter mark. But the way it was caught meant more to me than anything. It was landbased on top water. We had a few sessions that we found the thready's feeding on the top taking surface lures readily. This session we casted for 3 hours with not one cast blind. They were boofing, tailing and swirling all over the place. We ended up with 3 fish each all in the 90cm range.

http://i60.servimg.com/u/f60/13/70/68/96/surfac10.jpg (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=7&u=13706896)

So come on everyone I started it, I wanna see all your fish from 2010!!!

FishHunter
24-12-2010, 12:58 PM
I dont have a top 5 as I havent been out much but these will do both from the kayak.

1.2m 25kg Giant Trevally caught off Slade Island
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y38/razzo/Australia/Fishing/Kayaking/Slade%20island%206-02-10/P1000864.jpg

78cm flathead caught in the Pioneer River
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y38/razzo/Australia/Fishing/Kayaking/Pioneer%2029-05-10/P1000267.jpg

BeastMaster
24-12-2010, 09:26 PM
Top five is a hard one!

A few PB's happened for me in 2010- so they should form part of it I suppose.

Got a 65cm Jack on 6kg - tagged and released.- definitely my fish of 2010.Will never forget that fish.Had to get some poor bloke from a couple of houses up the road to come down to the waters edge a take a photo of it on my mobile phone before I let her go.- I figured no one would believe me without a photo.

Got a Qld / National length ANSA record Bludger Trevally at 965mm.- beat my sons old record, so wasn't popular for a while over that one.He 's finnally forgiven me (I think)

Got a very nice Golden Trevally - didn't bother measuring it but it was a PB fish.

Won the Redlands Boat Club Inhouse Comp for Flathead with a fish that went 74.8cm and about 3.2kg I think - tagged and released 98 flathead during the year to finally get her.

Had some fantastic and very memorable sessions with my son on the Spanish this year with many good spano's hitting the deck.

Also got a large big eye trevally on 3kg line whilst fishing for whiting , that went over line class but cann't find a photo of that one . It too gave me a fantastic fight.

BeastMaster

gr hilly
24-12-2010, 10:21 PM
Top five is a hard one!

A few PB's happened for me in 2010- so they should form part of it I suppose.

Got a 65cm Jack on 6kg - tagged and released.- definitely my fish of 2010.Will never forget that fish.Had to get some poor bloke from a couple of houses up the road to come down to the waters edge a take a photo of it on my mobile phone before I let her go.- I figured no one would believe me without a photo.

Got a Qld / National length ANSA record Bludger Trevally at 965mm.- beat my sons old record, so wasn't popular for a while over that one.He 's finnally forgiven me (I think)

Got a very nice Golden Trevally - didn't bother measuring it but it was a PB fish.

Won the Redlands Boat Club Inhouse Comp for Flathead with a fish that went 74.8cm and about 3.2kg I think - tagged and released 98 flathead during the year to finally get her.

Had some fantastic and very memorable sessions with my son on the Spanish this year with many good spano's hitting the deck.

Also got a large big eye trevally on 3kg line whilst fishing for whiting , that went over line class but cann't find a photo of that one . It too gave me a fantastic fight.

BeastMaster what a fat thick Flathead A BEAUTY MATE
Cheers,Hilly

004dam
27-12-2010, 08:03 AM
nothing super huge here, BUT i dont have many top fishing spots with huge fish :P, nor do i go offshore

luderick on a mf40

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs345.ash2/62523_482913391222_751566222_7275261_1757598_n.jpg

My first diamond trev
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs005.snc4/33596_495713466222_751566222_7515632_2447485_n.jpg

decent size tailor on 8lb leader :O

http://l5.sphotos.l3.fbcdn.net/hphotos-l3-snc4/hs889.snc4/72241_496310621222_751566222_7526643_6202550_n.jpg

awesome hot bite on GTs caught 3 in about 10 minutes

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs139.snc4/37294_453238591222_751566222_6514164_5716754_n.jpg

My first ever trev on a popper

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs146.snc4/36678_450610121222_751566222_6441166_8306239_n.jpg

matt fraser
27-12-2010, 09:09 AM
Great idea for a thread, some great fish here already! Good stuff!

I had some great trips, particularly in the salt this year. On the downside, I did it bloody tough on impoundment barra trips, I had five trips for the year, a total of 22 days fishing, for just seven barra with the biggest just 102.

Highlights were landing three of my best fish of the year in one day off the Tweed in June - a PB 103cm GT, 113cm Jewie (12.5kg) and a PB 82cm snapper (6.5kg). All caught on 5 and 7 inch Gulp Jerkshads on 20 and 14lb braid, 20lb leader

My 4th fish would have to be a 118cm Brisbane River Thready, also caught in June.

The last of my top five is a harder call, But a Longtail caught off Mooloolaba with a mate was a lot of fun. We got it trolling a scorpion for Mackerel, it was a team effort on the rod, Geez they just dont give up.

stonecold
27-12-2010, 02:17 PM
Hmmmm a tough one but here goes

Top of the list

20.04kg jew that won the Evans Head fishing classic heaviest sp...not because of the size of the fish but because i nominated the day of capture and time 3 weeks out from the start of the comp:P ... also had to deal with Rabbi gaffing the fish twice and playing hide and go seek with it before it was on dry land.

2nd

My young blokes first decent spaniard off the rocks. No weight but Im guessing 17-18kg..he actually got 2 that day

3rd

A good mates PB snapper on SP....Think it was 85cm from memory..Rabbi may have the piccy of the photos for this fish

No 4 My first jew from the yak along with a 78cm flattie

No 5...well the years not over yet...but just in case I dont get a decent jew in this flood rain my little girls first cod will be a good option

rabbi
31-01-2011, 10:47 AM
Just wanted to see you sweat mate:)

31-01-2011, 12:39 PM
1/ Crumbed Snapper with Beer Battered chips and Garden Salad - Fish on FIre Cleveland

2/ Crumbed Whiting - FIsh Factory Morningside

3/ Whiting - Red Dolphin Suttons Beach

4/ Grilled Sweetlip - by me at home on BBQ

5/ Crumbed Flathead Fillets - Little Mermaid Alex Hills

Oh, did you mean fish I have caught ???????????? ;D ::)

stonecold
31-01-2011, 05:53 PM
Been sweating like a pig for the last week with this heat mate..lucky I have a stash of carlton dry to rehydrate with

Richo1
01-02-2011, 06:58 AM
Some familiar target species there Stotty! Good post.

Had a fairly quiet fishing year in 2010, new job, rug rats etc. 2011 will hopefully be bigger and better. Not a good start thanks to the flood but it can only get better as they say.

#1 without a doubt was finally cracking the 1m mark on a Tinaroo Barra, 112cm fishing solo!

#2 Was catching more Barra at Tinaroo with 3 good fish boated in 20mins, Barra Mundy fever is worse now!

#3 a red hot sootie session guided by my brother 'Jim'. 15 healthy Sooties, 1 Barra, 1 Tarpon, 1 Jungle perch.

#4 Biggest Threadie of the year on 4Lbs braid.

#5 Taking my young fella fishing for the first time to discover he loves it and has an ongoing obsession with fishing rods.

Richo

thelump
01-02-2011, 09:23 AM
1. Cobia 32kg caught on 30lb mono.
2. Best Spaniard going just over 10KG (hoping to get a better one this year)
3. First snapper PB at 5.6kg
4. A few months later upgrade snapper PB to 8.7KG
5. Largest other species weighing in at around 102kg. Didnt put up much of a fight.

Defore
01-02-2011, 10:41 AM
Did you release the 102kg catch or place it in the esky, you could have mounted the thong on the bar wall. ;D

One thought comes to mind "OUCH" :o

thelump
01-02-2011, 12:25 PM
Did you release the 102kg catch or place it in the esky, you could have mounted the thong on the bar wall. ;D

One thought comes to mind "OUCH" :o

Released to fish another day;)

Giffo65
01-02-2011, 07:35 PM
The Cobe was 43 lb just a few Ks out from Bundy on gear meant for Spotties and bent my gaff fishing solo,the Parrot was from 15mile Bundy, and the Spanish was just out from Bundy,same spot as Cobia.

Giffo

Giffo65
01-02-2011, 07:38 PM
Hope the pics work

Giffo65
01-02-2011, 07:56 PM
http://i888.photobucket.com/albums/ac84/Glenn_Gifford/05052010164.jpghttp://i888.photobucket.com/albums/ac84/Glenn_Gifford/spanish22lb.jpg

imnotoriginal
01-02-2011, 08:35 PM
Hmm, probably my favourite fish was the Bluefin Trev I got in New Caledonia. He fought harder than the GTs pound for pound and lit up like a xmas tree when in the boat. It was the highlight of my trip away and they are one hell of a fish.
http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs205.ash2/46778_426426001871_512136871_5239376_6652360_n.jpg

My first fish for 2010 was my biggest MJ and he put up one hell of a fight. I didn't realise just how undergunned I was until I hooked into him. Dragged the kayak around easily and I was very lucky to get him in
http://l17.sphotos.l3.fbcdn.net/hphotos-l3-snc3/hs202.snc3/20952_234004911871_512136871_3421204_965337_n.jpg

My third might seem a strange choice for some. While in NC I had the opportunity on my last day to do some light tackle fishing using some of the guides own personal gear. Off I walked with a popper, light rod and reel and some very light leader to see what I could tempt. After catching some new species along came this beauty. They're definitely not pretty, but this fish tailwalked, jumped, cartwheeled and sprinted away from me and I never thought I had him landed until he was on land. I was incredibly lucky to get him in given the array of teeth and that made it a real highlight.
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs211.ash2/47445_426432016871_512136871_5239529_7650059_n.jpg

Unfortunately, fish four and five were both fish that got away. I entered the KFT tournaments over the later months of 2010 and in the first tournament everyone was struggling to land a fish. I hooked into a nice 30 cm bream and after a short tussle got him into the boat, held him up to show my mate put him down on the board to measure and as I went to take the photo he slipped out of my hand and over the side. Cost me 6th place and a couple of hundred bucks worth of lures as prizes:'(

Fish five was the Kingfish I hooked into over at Moreton in December. I managed to get him to hit a popper which was an amazing hookup. Unfortunately I didn't get to enjoy it for long as he quickly took a liking to the underside of the jetty. It was still a massive highlight to see him smash the popper even if I didn't get to lift him up. I'll be back for round 2 later this year.
Joel