PDA

View Full Version : Turkey Beach options.

Muddy Toes
11-12-2010, 09:33 PM
Hi All,
Planning on heading up to Turkey Beach over x-mas and after reading some old posts about the Turkey beach boat ramp i'm kinda worried about trying to launch/retrieve my 7.4mtr/3.5T boat.If anyone can offer some feedback on this it would be a great help and as this is my first time in Turkey Beach(couldn't get a place in Agnus) i was also wondering what my options could be in the bay with this size boat if the weather turns foul and i cant get out wide.I've read a bit about sand banks,rock bars,submerged hazards and its starting to seem like a bit of headache for a blow in like myself.
Thanks Anthony.

perko
11-12-2010, 10:08 PM
I don't have any trouble launching a Kevlacat 2400 off the ramp in anything but dead low water. As for the fishing, hope the weather comes good and you can get outside or you would need a tinnie to go up the creeks chasing jacks and crabs etc. Also pack the bushmans.

Muddy Toes
11-12-2010, 11:05 PM
thanx for that perko sounds like you've done it all before....is the run out across the bay pretty straight forward?and i think i read somewhere the road to the ramp was gravel, if true does it get bad after rain?

tae4551
11-12-2010, 11:46 PM
no she's all bitumen.

Sheik
12-12-2010, 02:03 AM
Mate it depends where the wind is coming from. Its a pretty big bay, Rods Bay, and you can get out into some of it in a big boat even if you can't go outside. Launching from the sand is probably the safest unless you do it very carefully from the ramp. The ramp is BLOODY slippery with a big run going past. Boobs nearly lost the Prado last year when he backed down the ramp, even with the brakes on she kept slipping down, and that was with just a 450 hornet trophy.
You can also go out and down to Pancake which I am informed has some reef around it. We went there but unfortunately my trasnducer broke off half way down there.