View Full Version : New members...

wayno60
01-12-2010, 09:34 PM
I just had a look in the new members page and the amount of newbies that sign up, go to the newbies page write a little about where their from, where they fish what there into, AND GET TOTALLY IGNORED.
They must think this is a friendly forum.......not, when the owner and none of the mods can be bothered with even a hello or welcome..
I think it should be a standard responce when a newbie joins us.

rant over

hope im here tomorrow to see the responces..

01-12-2010, 10:28 PM
Maybe the Moderators or owners send the newbies a pm ?

Maybe we know that we get literally hundreds of new members a week and it'd be a full time job just to " say hello ". ?

Maybe it's up to members to welcome the newbies ?

maybe it's late, I just home from a 15hr shift, no dinner, raining and i have to be up in 6 1/2 hours and do it all again. Do I have time to welcome newbies.. ?

Maybe we should have an " official welcomer " ?

Anyone want to put heir hands up ?

LP.

Rhinoc
02-12-2010, 02:02 AM
Wayno60 - I would imagine most prospective members scan the forums familiarising themselves with the site and establishing for themselves whether the site suits their perceived requirements prior to actually signing up. Most would already know that site is full of very helpful and willing members so I'm sure minimal damage is caused by a lack of responses in the new members page.

I must admit I never even go into the new members page. I spend enough hours sifting through my favourite pages already. That said, it's 2:00am. Got to sleep.

Rhino...

Axl
02-12-2010, 05:12 AM
Hey Wayno60 are you still with us?

02-12-2010, 07:06 AM
I know Phil.
Bung a sticky "how ya goin??" at the top of the new members page.
If they don't read it then tough banana's

Having the new members section in the drop down menu make get more sticky beaks as I know a lot of people do not use the main chat page menu so they do not know the new members bit actually exists.

bulldogs195461
02-12-2010, 08:04 AM
good point,and discussion

wayno60
02-12-2010, 09:21 AM
Still here......

Ok ill put my:vrolijk_26: up.

Would there be a standard message that steve would like me to give the newbies(just insert their name) or just take each one as it comes?

02-12-2010, 12:01 PM
Each one as it comes.
What a trooper you are :)

wayno60
02-12-2010, 12:05 PM
yer i know....

wayno60
03-12-2010, 01:03 PM
Im really glad to see thers a few Ausfish members following my lead and welcoming the newbies....thankyou guys

03-12-2010, 04:30 PM
onya Wayne the Greeter.

Crestcutter
03-12-2010, 07:06 PM
Most other forums im a member of encourage the members to say gidday. Mods dont usually say much as they are always the so called pricks. Members are the ones that have the convo's with other members not mods discussing stuff with members.

Although we have probably the best and fairest mod that gets involved in discussions on this board and that being the lolly water drinkin feral Phil.

Its really up to the members to make the board work from a social aspect. And of course it's a gift to post here, not a right, that's my way of thinking. Costs me 60 bucks a year to be a member of the xr6 forum. And yet it's free here and has 190 000 more members than the xr6 forum.

04-12-2010, 07:25 AM
Most new members seem to get a G'day on their first post..........
Agreed crestcutter, a great site, not many this valuable.

04-12-2010, 07:40 AM
I reckon Pinhead, Finga or even GOM TOL should be allocated the Welcommers?, they live here, on this site I mean, and they would either give them a hardy welcome or scare them away.

05-12-2010, 07:42 AM
I reckon Pinhead, Finga or even GOM TOL should be allocated the Welcommers?, they live here, on this site I mean, and they would either give them a hardy welcome or scare them away.

Nuthin' else to do.

All right then. I'll go and see who's joined up.

wamjam
05-12-2010, 10:38 AM
I thought wayno60's dog !!... looked a bit scarey to be a welcomer !!! .... But after seeing Crestcutter's cat looking thingy I now think the dog is OK.

Good on ya wayno , Scott

Shawn 66
05-12-2010, 07:00 PM
G'Day Gents,
Where is my flaming welcome,
Shawn.:'(

Crestcutter
05-12-2010, 09:41 PM
I love my pussy.

nathank
06-12-2010, 11:04 PM
lol funny discussion.. as a new member i got a message straight away, but i signed up to hopefully gather and share some info..

Little grey men
06-12-2010, 11:52 PM
G'Day Gents,
Where is my flaming welcome,
Shawn.:'(

Welcome Shawn ;D

Crestcutter
07-12-2010, 09:22 PM
Lmfao ^^^^^^^^^ classic mate.

rando
08-12-2010, 12:40 AM
Jesus!!!, you blokes are getting a bit "touchy feely thingy" what happened to the smelly, dirty, hard living, hard drinking, fishermen????
This is what comes of fishing with SOFT Plastics.;D

08-12-2010, 06:48 AM
Holly crap on a cracker.

THE desease is contagious.
Little Grey dude has caught it now.
Fizzy pink lolly water drinks, pink stickers on boats, pink flower arrangements and now Rando doing pink script....I'm truly afraid he might be the next case of it.
When is this madness going to end??

We're going to have to give this seemingly contagious, nasty desease a name.
Lucky Phylis syndrome sounds about right as Lucky Phil was the first known case and it's turned him into a Phylis.

Iwill live in constant fear of catching Lucky Phylis...

wayno60
08-12-2010, 11:49 AM
So whats wrong with pink....i rather like it

Shawn 66
09-12-2010, 09:04 AM
Welcome Shawn ;D

Mate,
You have restored my faith in my fishing brethren.;D ;D ;D