View Full Version : Going bigger if anyone is interested.

11-11-2010, 03:51 PM
Been testing the waters for a few weeks and keeping things low key but it is time to sell and get it out there as I am going bigger. I've dropped the price twice since I first started advertising but only had one serious enquiry so far but now I think it realistic for something in survey and with a new motor fitted Australia Day weekend.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/vbclassified.php?do=ad&id=3217

fly_1
11-11-2010, 04:04 PM
What are you looking at upgrading to Rob???

Jono_SS
11-11-2010, 04:22 PM
Smithy, sure you want to upgrade to something bigger? If you want to upgrade to something simpler, don't forget the little AMM is (reluctantly) for sale!! I just dropped the price also.

I presume you are selling before upgrading, but what sort of rig are you considering? I wonder if Brooksy would like a co-investor in Ymer!! Come to think of it, the AMM would make a lovely, worthy tender!

catch you soon.

Jono.

11-11-2010, 04:35 PM
Has to be in survey. Cuts a lot of good boats out. Looking at a diesel mono and an outboard cat at the moment. Looking all the time and nothing committed just yet.

Trent Butler
11-11-2010, 05:05 PM
Smithy, If George from Reelax still has the 770 molds! I reckon the mid mounted shaft drive diesel would make the ideal vessel for your operation out of the Sunnie coast.

Trent

Dezzer
11-11-2010, 05:52 PM
Good luck with it all Smithy and looking forward to a charter in the new vessel. The Stabi is a good fishing platform, although they didn't play the game on our day.

11-11-2010, 08:04 PM
Rob,

What are the key factors??? i.e

are you looking at the number of POB.

Is towing weight a factor?

Is the power plant a factor?

Only asking this as one of my clients does the same as you, he went from a 680 haines to a 760 haines just to gain 1extra POB

12-11-2010, 05:24 AM
Garry,

yep getting that extra person or few to cover the cost of running the bigger boat, being in full 2C to 30 or 50Nm survey and for more comfort for me are the main factors. Hopefully the diesel option will nearly be the same operating cost as the current outboard. Should be able to pick up a few of the bucks party/work trips etc. that I have to knock back at the moment as most boats around the size I am looking at are for 8 Pax. Will just be going from a 3 customer boat to a 4-6 customer boat depending on what they want to do. Only treading water at the moment, might be a bad move in the long run. Who knows?

Trent,

watch this space!

TREVELLY
12-11-2010, 05:46 AM
Worth a try and a good move Smithy.

You are expanding your options and still maintaining some proportion.

Worst case you cop a hit and return to where you are.

The Alchemy boat by Horizon seems to be getting good fuel burn from a single diesel too.

And yes the tunnel hulls are stable when all the fishos get on one side of the boat - but fuel burn will hurt you in this configuration as well as maintenance and motor replacement. Stating the obvious I suppose.

Good luck - you are an operator with plenty of good wraps from the guys so wish you all the success.

The 7.5 Nobles get very good reports too and in a centre cab lotsa fishing space.

therapy
12-11-2010, 05:56 AM
Good luck Smithy. Can your next boat have more comfy bunks so if I come up after a nightshift, I can sleep the last hour of the charter a bit better!!;D You might see me and dezzer up there for another crack at the billy's this season with someone who knows about these critters. Maybe on a new vessel??

Cheers......Terry.......

Dezzer
12-11-2010, 05:52 PM
I don't think "more comfy bunks" would have lessened the amount of Z's blown at all.

Alchemy
12-11-2010, 08:32 PM
The Alchemy boat by Horizon seems to be getting good fuel burn from a single diesel too.

If you're referring to my boat, then the only thing it has in common with horizon is that that is where it likes to head ;) FYI, Alchemy was built by Origin Boats at Clontarf.

PS; good luck Smithy with both the sale and purchase.

13-11-2010, 05:18 AM
Only asking this as one of my clients does the same as you, he went from a 680 haines to a 760 haines just to gain 1extra POB

Nice upgrade in boat, but I hope he bought an F350 to tow with. There's no way in hell a 760 could be dragged around by anything less, legally. I had a chat with a 760 owner, after it was off the trailer, being towed by a 100 Series Cruiser. Told me it was over 4 tonne, easy.

I'd hate to think of a Businessman overloading like that, particularly if he had a Punter in the car. NO INSURANCE!!! God help his passengers, or the people he hits...

rat_catcher
13-11-2010, 05:43 AM
Smithy, If George from Reelax still has the 770 molds! I reckon the mid mounted shaft drive diesel would make the ideal vessel for your operation out of the Sunnie coast.
I went all over this boat when George was building it at the Reelax factory. No idea if they still have the molds, but for some reason they only every built the one boat. I was talking with Peter Webster from F&B about this boat and they were about to do a full review on it before things went very quiet. No idea of the situation around why they just pulled the tent down, but that particular boat is actually for sale;

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=3181901

and

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=8934903

I would want to do some extensive seatrials though just in case there was something wrong with the thing and thus the reason they didn't build any more.

I am not saying there is anything wrong, but that I have no idea why they didn't build any more.

BTW I like this boat myself!

brisbane_boy
13-11-2010, 11:31 AM
1770 charter man ran one for years, it loked like the most used boat in round hill creek. theyd have to go alrite.

trueblue
13-11-2010, 11:37 AM
I went all over this boat when George was building it at the Reelax factory. No idea if they still have the molds, but for some reason they only every built the one boat. I was talking with Peter Webster from F&B about this boat and they were about to do a full review on it before things went very quiet. No idea of the situation around why they just pulled the tent down, but that particular boat is actually for sale;

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=3181901

and

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=8934903

I would want to do some extensive seatrials though just in case there was something wrong with the thing and thus the reason they didn't build any more.

I am not saying there is anything wrong, but that I have no idea why they didn't build any more.

BTW I like this boat myself!

I've actually walked through that particular boat with another Ausfish member. very interesting boat, lots of good gamefishing features and the mono diesel is a fantastic design feature. But the big let down for me was the lack of 'lady comforts and internal style'... not that these are required for gamefishing etc, but awful hard to get the nod to spend $100k if the mrs. isn't going to feel she has some basic comforts

different story if just looking at it as a fishing machine...

rat_catcher
13-11-2010, 07:24 PM
1770 charter man ran one for years, it loked like the most used boat in round hill creek. theyd have to go alrite.

Yes I know that boat too. It was the original prototype built before the molds and yes it did have a LOT of hours on it!

Getout
14-11-2010, 09:31 AM
Smithy, have you looked at the OceanMax CC built on the GoldCoast? It looks like the ultimate sports fishing machine to me.

15-11-2010, 11:36 AM
Will be interested to see what boat you go for Smithy. Have you narrowed down a list of possibilities?

16-11-2010, 01:29 PM
Seatrailing the Capricorn tommorrow with a marine surveyor in tow. Also been talking to a guy with a 2700 Noosacat, ex police boat.

16-11-2010, 03:09 PM
Make sure you try turning both ways while backing down hard on the Capricorn - nice boat though

rat_catcher
18-11-2010, 06:41 PM
Seatrailing the Capricorn tommorrow with a marine surveyor in tow.
Smithy what's the verdict?

Captain Seaweed
18-11-2010, 07:56 PM
Smithy did you want a NOble or are you looking for a rougher ride ;)

18-11-2010, 08:08 PM
You won't get him for a while - I believe he's on "Fish Whisperer" for the Hervey Bay comp till after the weekend. These days the net works at Rooneys so who bloody knows.....

Captain Seaweed
18-11-2010, 08:15 PM
Thanks GBC...the bait is out there! waiting for a hook line and sinker, he is too composed for that though!

23-11-2010, 03:10 PM
Went out today on the 2700NC. It is awesome but $25K more. The Reelax is still on the agenda. It goes well too. So many pluses and minuses for both. I need time to sit down and list them all on a spreadsheet and work out a shopping list for both and know what my final $ figure is going to be.

Dropped the Stabi to $65K inc GST. No enquiries at all so far.

Greg,

it turns both ways in reverse no drama. Goes hard in a straight line.

Scott,

the Capricorn is a scale model of the Assegai "The Force" Pete said. It is a variable deadrise hull with pocket tunnel and keel. It was awesome upsea. A fair bit different to a trailerboat and leans out on turns being a keel boat. You'd get used to it though. I think they were never popular due to price. Back in those days they were probably mid $100s or so when all the plateys and stuff were $40K. Now it seems all the big plateys and glass boats are up over $100K with outboards so a diesel shaft drive if you wanted to keep it on the water would be the way to go or if you wanted good economy. Pete only used half a tank on the delivery running at 20knots from the Gold Coast to 1770.

23-11-2010, 03:39 PM
Smithy did you want a NOble or are you looking for a rougher ride ;)

Shit! I didn't know that there was a boat that was a rougher ride than a NOble... any clues to what it is CS???:-?

Captain Seaweed
23-11-2010, 03:44 PM
:)
Yep most other FT

23-11-2010, 05:18 PM
You've probably seen this? Might not be much more boat than what you've got?

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?seot=1&R=8462337&silo=-1&__Ns=pCar_RankSort_Int32%7c1%7c%7cpCar_Price_Decim al%7c1%7c%7cpCar_Make_String%7c0%7c%7cpCar_Model_S tring%7c0&Cr=&trecs=15&__N=1456%20285%204294911469%204294884620

23-11-2010, 08:40 PM
Yep I've been talking to Matt. Flirted with it but I need 4 customers at least to pay for the extra engine and then you start running out of deck room with it, especially if you have an esky on the deck which it needs. You could go with a fish bag but I have a found a mooring and bigger boats are proving cheaper anyway.

rat_catcher
24-11-2010, 07:19 PM
It was awesome upsea. A fair bit different to a trailerboat and leans out on turns being a keel boat. You'd get used to it though. I think they were never popular due to price. Back in those days they were probably mid $100s or so when all the plateys and stuff were $40K. Now it seems all the big plateys and glass boats are up over $100K with outboards so a diesel shaft drive if you wanted to keep it on the water would be the way to go or if you wanted good economy. Pete only used half a tank on the delivery running at 20knots from the Gold Coast to 1770.

Smithy thanks for the info. I have always liked that boat but have been a little gun-shy due to the lack of information around why they shutdown without any real notice or information.

I think from memory it is designed to be trailerable too. Would obviously need to have a trailer made up, but I think the dimensions are OK. Not sure about weight though.

Will be good to hear what your thoughts are when you make a decision.

I sold my 702L so am currently boatless and am toying with trying to bring something in from the US though. I want to go bigger, but not too big that it can't be kept in the CCYC yard at Rosslyn Bay.

rat_catcher
24-11-2010, 07:23 PM
I sold my 702L so am currently boatless and am toying with trying to bring something in from the US though. I want to go bigger, but not too big that it can't be kept in the CCYC yard at Rosslyn Bay.
The other requirement I have is the speed, range and sea-keeping to get me to the Swains safely and in reasonable time.

rat_catcher
24-11-2010, 07:26 PM
You've probably seen this? Might not be much more boat than what you've got?

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?seot=1&R=8462337&silo=-1&__Ns=pCar_RankSort_Int32%7c1%7c%7cpCar_Price_Decim al%7c1%7c%7cpCar_Make_String%7c0%7c%7cpCar_Model_S tring%7c0&Cr=&trecs=15&__N=1456%20285%204294911469%204294884620

IMHO the Capricorn 770 would be a better option than this.....it would be cheaper to run and have more cockpit space, plus of course it is cheaper to buy in the first place.

25-11-2010, 12:08 AM
Gone off the idea of the Glacier Bay 2670/80 mate? Not fast enough? If Only towing and storage wasnt an issue for me they would still be my pick

rat_catcher
25-11-2010, 07:42 PM
Gone off the idea of the Glacier Bay 2670/80 mate? Not fast enough?
Yeah I still like the Glacier Bay but I have decided that if I am going to deal with something oversize, then I might as well go even bigger, especially given I have the option of dry storage at Rosslyn Bay so I don't need to deal with keeping the boat in the water or towing it.

09-12-2010, 08:55 PM
Dropped the Stabi to $59,990 on Boatpoint, Boatsales, Ebay and Trading Post but at that price I am going to keep a lot of the toys.

The Capricorn would realistically have the range to do the Swains. The accomodation of the 1770 one is probably better with the felt lining as oppossed to the Gold Coast one with the flow coat finish. The engine hours are miles more attractive on the Gold Coast one and the dash layout with a 582 Furuno, bow thruster etc. is a lot better. I like the cork on the 1770 one which is better than the non-slip finish of the one at the Gold Coast and it also has a duck board. The owner must be wanting to get rid of it by now as it has sat there for ages.

Hell Boy
23-12-2010, 09:48 PM
Hey Smithy,

Any luck selling the stabi?

At that price i'm surprised that someone hasn't snapped it up already

Bryn

26-12-2010, 05:44 PM
Only had 3 nibbles on the Stabi. I can't understand why either. $100k new. New stuff is way overpriced but that is not my concern. That is market forces.

08-01-2011, 07:46 PM
Now at $49,990 + GST on Boatpoint, Boatsales, EBay and Trading Post.

Signed a contract and paid a deposit on the Capricorn. Hoping to pick it up next break in the weather. Will be operating from the Kawana Waters Hotel.

Stabi has to go!

trueblue
08-01-2011, 07:48 PM
which one of the capricorns did you go for?

Midnight
08-01-2011, 08:59 PM
Good stuff Rob. I hope you enjoy it.

It is a shame to take such a hit on the Stabi, bugger of a market to sell in eh

Good luck with the new boat mate!

rat_catcher
08-01-2011, 09:06 PM
which one of the capricorns did you go for?
I am guessing the 1770 one because it was already in Survey and it is gone from Boatpoint.

08-01-2011, 09:11 PM
Saw it on ebay at that price. Hope you got a similiar discount on the Capricorn. Like they say with houses, buy and sell in the same market.

Good luck with it all. Bet you can't wait to get out in the new boat.

08-01-2011, 10:36 PM
Yep the 1770 one. 2700NC was just out of reach $$$s wise plus the whole uncertainty about unleaded on the water here. The Gold Coast one is a good buy. Probably cost me $12K to get it into survey but it has all the toys like the bow thruster and 582 Furuno etc. plus the engine hours are attractive. 2700 was going to cost more to run and engine life on the outboards are the unknown when I put 1,000 hours a year on.

rat_catcher
09-01-2011, 07:09 AM
Good choice. Would love to hear some real world performance numbers when you get her operational.

Camo
09-01-2011, 05:53 PM
Jesus Smithy, $49,990 for a boat like that, mate you'd think people would be knocking down your door. I just wish it was for sale 12 months ago.

markbxy
11-01-2011, 10:13 PM
have you looked at the edencraft 233 formula awesome boat;D

12-01-2011, 07:55 AM
They may be awesome but I have heard on the rumour mill that all the Edencrafts/Formulas/White Pointers (flops of old HHs) etc. are going to run into trouble complying with the new NSCV (National Standard for commercial boats) with regard freeboard. Haines Hunter has allready had to increase the deck height on John Gooding's new HH and the smaller 6-7m boats are really going to struggle to get the deck height and they they are going to have to increase their covering board height or have rails.

ashmax
28-01-2011, 08:26 PM
so smithy how long til you have your new boat running charters? Coming down your way in October and was told you were the man to come and see when it comes to Charters out of Mooloolaba!!!! hope you enjoy your new boat!!!!

30-01-2011, 07:36 PM
Now at $47,990 + GST for the Stabi.

Hopefully heading up to 1770 Tuesday to bring it home if it all works out.

rat_catcher
31-01-2011, 06:52 PM
Hopefully heading up to 1770 Tuesday to bring it home if it all works out.
Good luck Rob, hope it all works out for you. We are still moving ahead step by step with our decision. Not rushing into anything though as we want to make sure it is all sorted after what it has just been through.

Jono_SS
31-01-2011, 08:00 PM
Smithy. I think you better get a wriggle on by all accounts - you might get an interesting following sea for the trip home! Take care...

Jono.

05-02-2011, 04:28 AM
Trip was good.

Here are the figures with a dirty bum. Had full barnacles the entire rudder surface, keel guard, shaft, tabs and rudder. Fair few just starting on the hull and prop too.

12.4 hours continuous on the plane for 415litres and 185 Nm. We maintained probably 14-16knots for 2500-2700 rpm. We pushed her to 2800 a bit but temp would climb to 86 or so. Absolute total worst case scenario then is 34 l/h.

Now it is clean again yesterday I was running it everywhere at 2800 for 18-20knots if I could and the temp was back at 81. If there was a bit of sea I was back down at like 2600 and temp would be 76 or so.

Swains is on the cards for these boats Scott!

05-02-2011, 07:49 PM
Smithy, the boat pics look great. Hope the new venture works out for ya.

Wags

sleepygreg
05-02-2011, 10:37 PM
ok - so where are the boat pics?

06-02-2011, 06:55 AM
On Facebook Greg. Will get a chance soon to put more up on there and on here. Got a heap on the weekend at the tournament.

06-02-2011, 06:57 AM
I was going to ask the same..will have to wait to see them on here.

06-02-2011, 07:03 AM
Better update the signature too. :)

rat_catcher
07-02-2011, 08:41 PM
Swains is on the cards for these boats Scott!
Thanks Rob. I have been in Melbourne for a wedding so offline for a few days.

23-02-2011, 09:44 AM
Now $44,990+GST.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2011/Feb/IMG_0003s.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2011/Feb/IMG_0004s.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2011/Feb/179476_10150108308286505_662286504_5978903_5672373 _n.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2011/Feb/167192_493872141343_567691343_6282107_7396946_n.jp g

13-05-2011, 03:25 PM
Now at $40,990+GST. Had the big boat since February so it really needs to be sold! Spread the word or come for a test drive.

MyWay
13-05-2011, 04:46 PM
is it 40900 for the Stabicraf 605 with new 150 Yamaha on ?

frankgrimes
13-05-2011, 04:48 PM
Now at $40,990+GST. Had the big boat since February so it really needs to be sold! Spread the word or come for a test drive.

Geez someones going to pickup a bargain...cant believe how much you've had to drop the price!!

13-05-2011, 04:56 PM
Rob - maybe you should find another skipper and keep it the stabi as well for charters up north. Could go up in rank if you do - admiral ;D;D

That is a seriously cheap boat at that price considering the fitout. Good luck hope it sells soon.

13-05-2011, 05:07 PM
Fadil,

609HT with 2010 F150 Yamaha.

You've just bought a new boat though!

MyWay
13-05-2011, 07:31 PM
yep mate and i love it
:D
but if i knew it you will drop price that much we could talk 8-)

thylacene
13-05-2011, 07:50 PM
You probably ought to repost the current links. I started reading this read while having a beer and all the links are now expired or broken.

You got more chance of selling it if people can see it.

Best of luck with it

Thy

15-05-2011, 09:50 AM
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=9413360

Wouldn't have thought the Boatpoint ad would have changed.

Dunno what happened to the Ausfish one and why it dissappeared.

15-05-2011, 03:37 PM
Just noticed the Ebay add, seriously gotta be the bargain of the year!
Good luck, can't believe it hasn't sold yet.

barney11
15-05-2011, 04:06 PM
Gotta rip all that charter stuff off, noone wants an ex charter boat with 1.2mil hours on it.

15-05-2011, 04:41 PM
Gotta rip all that charter stuff off, noone wants an ex charter boat with 1.2mil hours on it.

Why make comments like that??? If you aren't interested keep it to yourself.

barney11
15-05-2011, 04:59 PM
Why make comments like that??? If you aren't interested keep it to yourself.

you serious bro ? he has dropped to nearly 50% of his original asking price, like $35,000. I'm currently in the market for a boat and skipped over the ad on boatpoint when i saw it was ex charter. Had it not been i would of looked more closely. I'm just not sure if "ex charter boat" is a selling point. Each to there own.

Next time i sell a car i might just say "Exclusively driven by an 18 year old male.':-*

dec0guy
15-05-2011, 06:13 PM
Wish I had to dosh to buy it!

Just a comment, the add lists all equipment etc, but might be worthwhile saying the boat, motor, trailer etc are all in good condition etc (assuming they are ;D ).

Anyway a group of us were thinking of going fishing off Mooloolaba soon so might give you call.

15-05-2011, 07:09 PM
you serious bro ? he has dropped to nearly 50% of his original asking price, like $35,000. I'm currently in the market for a boat and skipped over the ad on boatpoint when i saw it was ex charter. Had it not been i would of looked more closely. I'm just not sure if "ex charter boat" is a selling point. Each to there own.

Next time i sell a car i might just say "Exclusively driven by an 18 year old male.':-*

IMHO good point re the signage Barney, but being a charter operator I'd reckon one would want to be keeping one's rig in tip-top operating condition; somehow I reckon breakdowns at sea would hardly impress the clientelle let alone encourage repeat business or word-of mouth recommendation..........

04-06-2011, 07:46 PM
Boat is now sold and on its way to Tamworth to be recreationally registered in NSW. One less commercially registered Qld boat and it is only going to get harded under NSCV (National Standard for Commercial Vessels).

Midnight
04-06-2011, 08:59 PM
Good stuff Smithy!

04-06-2011, 09:13 PM
Nice Rob. Good to see her go

Bull
05-06-2011, 08:02 PM
Well done Rob

Bear001
06-06-2011, 12:46 PM
Boat is now sold and on its way to Tamworth to be recreationally registered in NSW.

Geez....would like to see that monster on the local puddle......will keep an eye out!

Isaac
06-06-2011, 03:14 PM
Tamworth, bloody rich farmers.....lol, someone got a good deal.

wirlybird
24-06-2011, 03:13 PM
Boat is now sold and on its way to Tamworth to be recreationally registered in NSW. One less commercially registered Qld boat and it is only going to get harded under NSCV (National Standard for Commercial Vessels).

As a Salvage master of 10 years i really feel for the little operators it’s like pulling teeth to get any leniency with QLD transport and they change the rules like the tides. in the end i was fed up with it all i literally walked away from a 150k a year job

24-06-2011, 09:03 PM
I know what you are saying. It is going to reach a head soon. I believe all the ferry operators were getting some leniacy with MSQ for the engineering qualifactions on the boats doing the daily runs out to the reef at Cairns. They must have had a special endorsement or something worked out. Under NSCV all of that will stop. I guess the bigger problem they have up there at the moment is the high $AUD and no tourists. That is going to cause them to be parked up more than not being able to get appropriately qualified masters or engineers.