View Full Version : making a live well HELP please

sizedoesmatter
09-11-2010, 07:10 PM
hey everyone im looking out getting my front deck done and im thinking about putting a live well into it. jsut wondering what would i need to be able to do this. e.g. bildge pump ? i have never had a boat with a live well before so any help will be good thanks.
something similar to this http://www.ausbream.com/Forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=6860
thanks heaps
trent

the baker
10-11-2010, 09:27 PM
Hey Trent

The live bait tank in the pictures is very wide, the water will slop from side to side. And make the boat a little unstable when you are standing on the casting deck. You would do better with a round tank and more depth, with mine in the photos in your last post. That tank is about 50lts (olive drum) and I use a 500Gph bait pump, (tsunami thru hull) with a 40mm skin fitting for the outlet. 150mm from the top of the tank and the water line sits about 10mm above the outlet. The inlet I have mine on the bottom of the tank so that it pushes the old water out from the bottom up out of the tank with a non return valve so it cant siphon out this will stop the stale water being trapped in the bottom, STALE WATER WILL KILL YOUR BAIT. Make sure you use food grade hose for you inlet hose.

gazza2006au
10-11-2010, 11:26 PM
i purchased all the parts from a local boating supply store here in sydney the 65L pickle drum i got off of ebay for $15 i think it was and i have two inlets one is connected to the pump the other is connected to the metal pickup the pump is switched on while anchored or drifting and switched off while moving from place to place while moving the metal pickup feeds another inlet into the tank so while driving the pickup scoops the water up and delivers it to the tank so the fish have fresh water all the time

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y73/Gazza2005au/IMG_0489.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y73/Gazza2005au/IMG_0490.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y73/Gazza2005au/IMG_0496.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y73/Gazza2005au/IMG_0502.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y73/Gazza2005au/IMG_0503.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y73/Gazza2005au/IMG_0504.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y73/Gazza2005au/IMG_0508.jpg
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y73/Gazza2005au/IMG_0509.jpg

deckie
10-11-2010, 11:58 PM
agree with the baker up there ^^^. Looks nice and dandy and he does good work but wouldnt be my choice either for similar reasons. Plus i'd want rounded internal corners. You dont need a big pump, in fact bigger isnt necessarily better at all. Just good circulation to swap the old water for new oxygen rich water...the more baits u have the more pump time. I prefer a little 360gph.

Blue insides with white ceiling to mimic nature a little....maybe it makes a difference i dunno. Rounded corners tho i reckon definitely does. I also like the inlet low but there's a thousand fancy inlet systems about these days but cant see the point...its just getting fresh water to them and getting rid of the waste water. Outlet hose much bigger than inlet..say 1.5 X size. Prefer oval shape tanks. If u fish nights a little LED in there is handy.

the baker
12-11-2010, 01:26 AM
you can get smaller 25lt drums from bunnings too if you did not want to get to big with the tank

gazza2006au
12-11-2010, 01:30 AM
you can get smaller 25lt drums from bunnings too if you did not want to get to big with the tank
yeah i agree the pales would work great it stands high enough to have a gravity overflow feed without needing to raise the livie tank u could sit it on the floor and run the overflow hose over the transom next to the motor

Tailortaker
12-11-2010, 09:48 PM
The live well that was pictured in the first post is a standard bream tourtament boat set up so if thats what it is intended for bear in mind it needs to be no less than 60lts but 70-80lts is the norm, If this is the case it also needs to be either under the casting deck as pictured or insuated to meet bream tournament regulations. It is not a bait tank.....

craig gilvarry
13-11-2010, 06:45 AM
hi Sizedoesmatter
I have a thru hull style bilge pump (unused) and some other fittings and pipe if you are in the Brisbane area. Send me a PM if interested