PDA

View Full Version : Sticky throttle on mercruser

Timfishin4fun
29-10-2010, 07:52 PM
Hi all my mate has just bought a 35 ft boat and one of the throttle is really sticky.

The moorings have said the boat has to be slipped, is this true or is there an easy fix.

Thanks

Tim

shubeej
29-10-2010, 09:54 PM
tim, the mercruisers have 2 shift cables ,1 which goes from the throttle to carby & 1 goes from carby to gear box in this arrangement there is a set up which has a kill switch that stalls the motor for a split second allowing the gearbox to engage without crunching if you have a look near the carby you will see what i am talking about & you should be able to disconnect these cables & manually try them to se if there is resistance.if it is the shift cable that goes from the carby to the gearbox i'm pretty sure that the leg needs to be removed & hence will have to be slipped.i am no expert but I do have a mercruiser & have had mine replaced before i,m lucky that it is on a trailer.have a look at this link you might get a insight of what needs to be done.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wB8rMCQeZyk&p=C226248C493FE29B&index=2&playnext=2 the other thing you might be able to get some lubricant down into the cable from the engine bay might save you a thousand or two
good luck john

Timfishin4fun
30-10-2010, 06:18 AM
Thanks mate will give that a go.

Tim

Fed
30-10-2010, 09:24 AM
The shift interrupt is to assist in getting the drive out of gear because the dog clutches are undercut, the interrupt system can be repaired/replaced/adjusted from inside the boat.
If you're having problems getting into gear then it will be cables or a gearbox problem.
If it's sticky on the throttle progression then it's probably a cable or controller problem.

testlab
30-10-2010, 08:43 PM
Ditto on what Fed said.