View Full Version : Lifejacket laws for NSW

bassfan
26-10-2010, 07:56 PM
For those of us unfortunate enough to live in NSW the nanny state, be warned of the new laws regarding lifejackets coming into effect on November 1st 2010.
From this date the bureaucrats at NSW Maritime have determined that it should be mandatory to wear a lifejacket in certain "heightened risk" situations and failure to do so will incur a $250 fine. These situations include the following:
Boating alone in a vessel less than 4.8 metres long (even at anchor in calm estuary waters)
Boating at night
Boating offshore (regardless of the conditions)
Boating on Alpine Lakes (even in summer)

This stuff is pretty frightening because it demonstrates yet again how f#@*wits in government who have no practical experience in something such as boating can pass draconian laws which impact on everyone and the enjoyment of their recreation.

NSW Maritime did the usual manipulation of statistics taken out of context, & apparently conducted a very extensive public consultation process before passing these laws, and they allegedly had over 3600 responses with 70% support. Total lies in my view and a well used government tactic to justify passing unreasonable legislation and pushing their own agenda.

Interestingly the NSW Government Minister for Porn Paul Macleay, was the fool in charge when this was approved, and he is a proven landlubber who's only boating experience was in the bathtub as a kid. Mind you I understand he was pretty cluey with a computer ;D ....:o

Anyway, I'm sure most of you weren't aware of these changes and if you live in Qld you probably don't give a rats, but if you do care then voice your disgust and opposition to this crap now by writing a letter to your local member, the newspaper, the current NSW Ports minister -Eric Roozendaal, or the big cheese, Premier Kristina Keneally. Only by voicing your opposition can things be changed.

With the NSW state election coming up next March, it might also be worth reminding them that "Ď boat & I vote".
Thanks for taking the time to read this rant & safe boating to you all.

bassfan

fishing111
26-10-2010, 08:03 PM
Does the below relate to boats less than 4.8 metres, or all lengths?

Boating at night

peterbo3
26-10-2010, 08:05 PM
Well,

christinasucksdirtyarmpits@gov.nsw.au

bassfan
26-10-2010, 08:08 PM
Does the below relate to boats less than 4.8 metres, or all lengths?

Boating at night

Yep, they have singled out boats less than 4.8 metres long as being inherently more dangerous. Obviously never seen a 5.5 metre Skeeter with 4"of freeboard::)
For full details check out http://www.maritime.nsw.gov.au/wh/lifejacket_reforms.html
but here's a brief summary taken off their website:

Children under 12 years of age • on a vessel less than 4.8 metres at all times

• on a vessel less than 8 metres and in the open area of a vessel
when underway
Heightened risk boating situations in
vessels less than 4.8m
All persons wear a lifejacket:

• at night

• on open (ocean) waters

• on alpine waters

• when boating alone

• when the boat is used as a tender more than 400 metres
from shore
Heightened risk situations in all vessels When the master judges a heightened risk exists and requires
passengers to put on their lifejacket. For example in deteriorating
weather, in rough seas, at night, if a passenger can’t swim, or when
a vessel is broken down
Water sports involving towing All persons wear a lifejacket when being towed on the water,
for example wakeboarding or waterskiing
Canoe/kayak When greater than 100 metres from an accessible shore in
sheltered waters, and at all times in ocean waters
Off the beach sailing vessels, for example
centreboard boats and catamarans
When used in open (ocean) waters
Kitesurfing When greater than 400 metres from shore when kiting alone

fishing111
26-10-2010, 08:16 PM
For one of the most popular recreation pursuits in the country one wonders how these laws get passed? Rediculous!

peterbo3
26-10-2010, 08:24 PM
So how about surfers? Surfboards are less than 4.8M & are being used in dangerous conditions all the time.
And lifesavers on their skis? These guys often train a km or more offshore.
Go here:

ericisastupiddickhead@nsw.shipoffools.gov.nsw

Mr__Bean
26-10-2010, 08:27 PM
I will tell you how they get passed, with intense and well programmed lobbying by the industry that produces the life vests.

This is the time for a freedom of information application.

The boating safety industry has been extremely effective in their relentless pursuit of this legislation.

Get yourselves organised and apply for the documents, you will expose the rort and the government manipulation, it stinks!!

- Darren

murf
26-10-2010, 08:39 PM
wanted sticker for side of boat 4.8 to replace my 4.75 sticker :)

cheers Murf

murf
26-10-2010, 09:50 PM
so from what I read in the glossy stuff I will have to wear a life jacket all the time :( I only use my boat in open waters

that sucks >:(

Heightened risk boating situations in
vessels less than 4.8m
All persons wear a lifejacket:
• at night
• on open (ocean) waters
• when boating alone

cheers Murf

for sale one 4.75m BlueFin CC 60hp 4str
wanted one plate ally 4.9m CC with 70hp 4str

27-10-2010, 07:33 AM
OK, don't toss a handful of rocks at me, I am just pointing out the "other side" of all this, are we getting in a flap because the Gov wants us to be safer? this law will affect me too, because I have a 3.9 tinny that I take my grandson out crabbing, so that means he will need a jacket on all the time! and maybe me too at some stage, but should I be upset because someone is forcing me to do what maybe I should have been doing anyway? now I have said that, I agree the law is silly and do not think it was created and implemented with any sort of sensible thinking, but there is two sides to all this (if you get what I mean) kind of funny how you are perfectly safe in a 4.81M boat, but will surely drown in a 4.79M boat hey!

deckie
27-10-2010, 08:05 AM
This stuff is pretty frightening because it demonstrates yet again how f#@*wits in government who have no practical experience in something such as boating can pass draconian laws which impact on everyone and the enjoyment of their recreation.

NSW Maritime did the usual manipulation of statistics taken out of context, & apparently conducted a very extensive public consultation process before passing these laws, and they allegedly had over 3600 responses with 70% support. Total lies in my view and a well used government tactic to justify passing unreasonable legislation and pushing their own agenda.
bassfan

The NSW government has become "experts" in making sure they get "public support"...they speed up the process of public approval by simply slanting things so they get the answer they want regardless of results of any public "consultation".

A cracker of an example was recently in my area where they wanted to cut bus services from the northern beaches to the city to save a few bux...they of course couldnt call this for what it actually was so they embarked on their usual plan of deception....describing it as "improving" the bus routes and the plan was simple....pure deception bordering on the illegal to get what they wanted.

They sent out the new chopped up bus routes that completely eliminated some services and added 5-10mins to the trip on others...then sent us out this questionnaire which was their "public consultation" process. Obviously the entire area was pissed off for good reason so mr smarty pants decided he had a good plan.

The first question you had to respond to was all they needed .....

Q1....Do you want better bus services ?

About 10 other subsequent questions then became totally irrelevant as they simply said the public all voted for better bus services and put the changes through...i.e. they had 90% public backing for slashing the bus services. Marvellous work it was.

Then to make everyone even more angry they hired mature aged women to sell their handiwork at the terminals in the city...figuring noone would abuse them and avoid a stir.

Rule one...never ask a question you dont already know the answer to.

27-10-2010, 08:06 AM
I'm gob smacked.
I need a life jacket on when I'm doing 6kts here. Why am I doing 6kts?? It's the speed limit.
Doesn't matter if the majority of the water is 2 foot deep at high tide or the channel is only 4-5m wide or swimmer can paddle next to you....wear a lifejacket.
If I'm alone here I need a lifejacket.
If I have a 4 year old in the boat I don't need a lifejacket.
If my aged dad goes fishing here by himself he has to wear a jacket.
If my aged mum is in the boat he doesn't need to wear one. What's she going to do if dad goes over??

Doesn't quite make sense to me. But I'm relatively simple.

If they were fairdinkum about saving lives why not fix the roads...or here's a thought.....fix the hospitals.

What are the statistics on accidents from people on boats not wearing jackets?
It's already mandatory to wear them going across bars and the such.

The stats in the document did not really say much about the majority of people wanting, or needing, to wear jackets all the time.

Roughasguts
27-10-2010, 08:18 AM
Damn... BIkini girls with a PFD on! just ain't gonna look the same anymore!!!...

27-10-2010, 08:41 AM
How many people die from boating accidents??
How many people die from drowning at beaches etc??
Why isn't everyone at beaches made wear a lifejacket if they were fairdinkum about safety and reducing fatalities??

We are free citizens in this country...but you bloody well better do as we say. >:(

27-10-2010, 08:41 AM
Damn... BIkini girls with a PFD on! just ain't gonna look the same anymore!!!...

Need a better design for those occasions.

deckie
27-10-2010, 08:43 AM
I want to see the comparative statistics of drownings from recreational activities not involving boats...especially kids.

Controversial but i'd guess for every one boaties drowned there would be 10-20 drowned from shore and backyard pools. I think we need to make sure everyone is safe.

Jackets for everyone anywhere near the water i say.. and i'm gonna guilt trip them into it with their favorite saying..."if it saves just one kiddies life then it'll all be worth it".

We're all in the wrong business...how about we also make sure there's repeat annual/biannual revenue by lobbying to make it law they need to be checked/certified regularly.....then saying it must be one of certain type. No wait...

27-10-2010, 08:44 AM

Need a better design for those occasions.
Maybe they can get their boobies certified as PFD1's?? ::)

Wouldn't that be funny. The plastic surgeon telling the girls....Yep. these'll make you a D cup....and they're PFD1 to boot ;D

murf
27-10-2010, 08:44 AM
the more I think about it the worse it gets >:( I can't move from all this cotton wool the Gov is wrapping me up in (makes it easier for them to empty ya pockets if ya wrapped up)

there will have to be a lot more police put on to collect the revenue as everyone I have spoke to said not gunna happen

I don't mind having to buy a few self inflating types of PFD1 as I am all for safety when needed but to force me to wear it all the time is bullshit

cheers Murf

deckie
27-10-2010, 08:48 AM
How many people die from boating accidents??
How many people die from drowning at beaches etc??
Why isn't everyone at beaches made wear a lifejacket if they were fairdinkum about safety and reducing fatalities??

We are free citizens in this country...but you bloody well better do as we say. >:(
I like the way u think. But please stop typing it just before i do so i look like a goose ;D

A little revolution every now and then can be a good thing...lets deep six these nazi's.

p.s...we can probably fix those bothersome anchor light rules with the same angry mob ;D

deckie
27-10-2010, 09:02 AM
The waterfront kids in Sydney wont see this as cool in the least. All those tinnies buzzing along just after school to get to their mates place. Not a cool look and wont be tolerated. A Sydney institution ruined in one swoop...picking up your mate after school and having a bong out in the bay where noone can see you...your average image conscious teenager will never go for this.

You mean we cant just throw a tinnie into Narrabeen Lake in 3 feet of water anymore without a may west ? Is there a water depth rule ?

FFS...what about our tan lines ? By the time summer is over our women will look like zebra's..and when i'm stripping off at night trying to act all muscly and sexy how am i gonna look ?

27-10-2010, 09:35 AM

Wouldn't that be funny. The plastic surgeon telling the girls....Yep. these'll make you a D cup....and they're PFD1 to boot ;D

Fair Dinkum Scotty.................. ya sick puppy ;D ::) :o . You have too much time on your hands to think of that stuff. Or have you been having DDD with TOL, who no doubt is thinking upa way to boobify the Breaka Girls as PFD1????????????? ;D ;) :P

27-10-2010, 09:45 AM
The answer for those girls could be self inflation....going into the drink...hit the cord and up they go...could also work in dingy bars in Warwick when Scott walks in arm in arm with TOL.

gurgeena
27-10-2010, 09:52 AM
Qld has a similar set Kids under 12 have to wear a life jacket when the boat is under way even when drifting. Also some bars have been designated as dangerous and you are required to wear a jacket when crossing.
As for the new type jackets ie the inflatable ones I wear mine all the time.Soon as I get in the boat it goes on as well as the ignition safety lanyard.The inflatables are great you hardly know they are on.Whats more they are coming down in price too.

Roughasguts
27-10-2010, 09:57 AM
So what was the fishing party doing while these desicions were being made ???

Glad me boats over 4.8...... but if some of you guy's are just a bit short! I think if you put a bow sprit on that counts for over all length.

murf
27-10-2010, 10:06 AM

Glad me boats over 4.8...... but if some of you guy's are just a bit short! I think if you put a bow sprit on that counts for over all length.

nope bow sprit don't count :( my boat is 4.8 with bow sprit :)

cheers Murf

Mick2480
27-10-2010, 10:07 AM
When I seen the new kids rule I thought it was one of the best rule they have come up with. I have had a tinny for about 2 years and have always made my 2 squirts (then 9 & 10) wear a life jacket. No jacket no fish. You then see some idiot flying past in a ski boat or the like with 2 or 3 kids under 10 sitting up the bow of the boat without jackets.

As for the adults rules, I can't agree more with the comments. I have just purchased a 4.5m fibreglass to start going outside and will now have to purchase some jackets that dont get in the way my fishing.

I did think about putting something out front to make it 4.8.

gurgeena
27-10-2010, 10:09 AM

I am so surprised that someone still believes in the Easter Bunny and the fishing party
Why do you deny safe boating for others in your boat.Seat belts in cars save lives and life vests in boats dont ????????????????
Funny a bow sprit isnt listed anywhere in the world as an item essential for boating safety

murf
27-10-2010, 10:20 AM
When I seen the new kids rule I thought it was one of the best rule they have come up with. I have had a tinny for about 2 years and have always made my 2 squirts (then 9 & 10) wear a life jacket. No jacket no fish. You then see some idiot flying past in a ski boat or the like with 2 or 3 kids under 10 sitting up the bow of the boat without jackets.

As for the adults rules, I can't agree more with the comments. I have just purchased a 4.5m fibreglass to start going outside and will now have to purchase some jackets that dont get in the way my fishing.

I did think about putting something out front to make it 4.8.

I have been taking my daughters out into the open ocean fishing since they were 5 they always had jackets on in their early years or even now when I deem it necessary for my boat and the place I am in

you can't legislate against stupidity and that's a fact, so the drunk or drugged up idiots flying along at WOT in the middle of the night that get themselves killed are not going to be wearing PFD's anyway but we all have to abide by a another new law :(

cheers Murf

27-10-2010, 10:37 AM
what organisation (political or otherwise) is EVER going to oppose a proposed legislation that INCREASES safety??????? aren't lifejackets mandatory in tassie already and for kids in qld already?

just remember to carry the current test/inspection certificates in the boat if you have inflateables, dunno what it's like in nsw but a yachty mate of mine's been caught out here in qld with that one.

Roughasguts
27-10-2010, 11:35 AM
I am so surprised that someone still believes in the Easter Bunny and the fishing party
Why do you deny safe boating for others in your boat.Seat belts in cars save lives and life vests in boats dont ????????????????
Funny a bow sprit isnt listed anywhere in the world as an item essential for boating safety

Yes but seat belts aren't enough in cars either! We should all be wearing helmets to prevent head injurys, Kevla vests to prevent obdominal injuries. And may as well wear life jackets in case we drive over a bridge and get flung of the side by a cross wind, end up in the water, and potentially drown.;)

I'm not denying safe boating for kids at all when there out with there parents.!! But if your a single fisherman! or two grown men out for the day I think you should be allowed to make your own judgement call on PFD's.

Have you ever tried to swim for your boat with a PFD on! you ain't going to make it with a bit of wind or tide running.

Defore
27-10-2010, 12:04 PM
Wondering how my boat fits into this if I launch at the Tweed.
It is 4.47m from bow to transom, but the pod fills the overall length out to 4.9m.
When originally registered it was registered as 4.47m. :-?

Vromme
27-10-2010, 12:06 PM
Absolutely ridiculous, just what we need, more rules to further our ‘mothering’ state.

Surely people have to take things upon themselves and use their own common sense to some degree. Its amazing how many imbecile/over zealous enforcement officers don’t use any discretion and give infringements for incidents which the laws were not designed (like described by others eg shallow water).

If people are stupid and die as a result that’s life (also part of natural selection). These incidents can be reduced through education NOT just enforcement. OH&S, road safety (speed & ‘Safety’ cameras) etc are getting absolutely ludicrous. It’s obviously not just about saving lives (no doubt that is a good part of the motivation) but raising revenue.

Make people do recertification license courses like you need to do with any serious licence. Regulation changes, safety issues etc should be taught (videos/photos shown of dangerous situations etc). Most people get a license (boat or drivers) and then have it for life without needing any further assessment to see their capabilities. This is probably not a popular solution and will not generate nearly as much revenue but no doubt the most beneficial.

Roughasguts
27-10-2010, 12:13 PM
I don't think it's the older boaters that have been around for years that are the issue, after all there still alive by experiance. But we are being penalised for the inexperianced.

Maybe just have the "P" plate system on our boat licenses where you have quite a few restrictions until your wiser!..

Bear001
27-10-2010, 12:32 PM

Yep - my husband has always said I have 'inbuilt flotation' ::) ;)

At least you guys over there on the salt have running water......how bloody fun in 40deg to have to wear a lifejacket to fish in 12ft water on our dams!!!!! Gunna have to invest in a deckie I spose.....>:(

Cind

murf
27-10-2010, 01:22 PM
Yep - my husband has always said I have 'inbuilt flotation' ::) ;)

At least you guys over there on the salt have running water......how bloody fun in 40deg to have to wear a lifejacket to fish in 12ft water on our dams!!!!! Gunna have to invest in a deckie I spose.....>:(

Cind

I just got a giggle out of the bikini lines you will get :)

cheers Murf

27-10-2010, 01:39 PM
Tan lines would look like a truckie that wears a singlet all the time.

27-10-2010, 01:40 PM
It is 4.47m from bow to transom, but the pod fills the overall length out to 4.9m.

I'd be working to the registered length.
Get her registration details changed to the 4.9m

Cind

Oi Cindy...It doesn't say the decky has to be human does it?? ::)
It just says when boating alone and if I remember you have a little scruffy pooch.

By all the occupants of a vessel less than 4.8m in length when the vessel is being operated in any of the following situations:
at night;
on open (ocean) waters;
on alpine lakes;
when boating alone;
as a tender more than 400 metres from shore;http://www.maritime.nsw.gov.au/wh/lifejacket_reforms_faqs.html#15

prawnfrog
27-10-2010, 04:04 PM
wanted sticker for side of boat 4.8 to replace my 4.75 sticker :)

cheers Murf

If you find one give us the heads up so i can go get one for myself :)

27-10-2010, 06:07 PM
Waterways and police have the rego record on the computer in the boats guys. They pretend not when they approach. So if you don't want the hassle "attach " something that is structural to the boat and have it remeasured.

The rules are a absolute disrace and teh way tehy conducted the survey and drew conclusions was terrible. Everyone respoded saying the skipper should decide but that is not what tehy meant. Considering both the 11yo that I go on a boat with regularly do nippers etc they would thrash me in the water any day and as for elderly father he would probably give me a run for my money and has the brains to just float about rather that exert himself apart from swearing at whoever pushed himout!!.

All swimmers should have to wear them and all people walking near a beach just in case they fall in.

So to go for a swim off the back of the boat you pull off your life jacket , jump in swim around for half an hour and then when you hop in the boat you put a jacket back on as they water outside they boat is so dangerous. Explain that one to the kids - I'm waiting. Wonder what the time limit is- can I towel off?

Wayne_Red
27-10-2010, 06:53 PM

I have seen someone quote form maritime nsw that it goes on the overall length of the hull not including a bolt on item, eg motor, bowsprit etc. But a pod was included in the lenght of the hull.
I haven't found it myself but haven't really looked or asked the question yet. I have a 445r haines that spends 90% of time at sea. So I am considering a pod to add room and get me over 4.8m. Boating alone won't be able to get around but the "all people in the boat at sea" is what really make me cranky.
Upsizing is option #2
Wayne

tigermullet
27-10-2010, 07:08 PM
Yet another ridiculous rule but this is what we get if we call for increased safety measures every time some idiot loses their life or has an accident.

Near veneration of obsessional safety twits in Volunteer Marine Rescue and Air Sea Rescue is not helping the cause of freedom and responsibility for personal decisions.

Disbanding these groups would be a plus for freedom - they have too much input with authorities and far too much support from the easily frightened sector of the boating community.

Remember, it's just water not liquid death.

murf
27-10-2010, 07:58 PM
I have seen someone quote form maritime nsw that it goes on the overall length of the hull not including a bolt on item, eg motor, bowsprit etc. But a pod was included in the lenght of the hull.
I haven't found it myself but haven't really looked or asked the question yet. I have a 445r haines that spends 90% of time at sea. So I am considering a pod to add room and get me over 4.8m. Boating alone won't be able to get around but the "all people in the boat at sea" is what really make me cranky.
Upsizing is option #2
Wayne

here ya go :)

http://www.maritime.nsw.gov.au/docs/publications/determininglength.pdf

and I was joking about the re-sticker job :P

cheers Murf

ahamay
28-10-2010, 10:30 AM
Probably won't be long before this is the same for Qld. I've been wearing the PFD 1 self inflating vest and after you've had it on for a few minutes you forget your wearing it. Debate aside, this type of life jacket is perfectly suited to meet these requirements.

bassfan
28-10-2010, 07:11 PM

I suspect your boat length will be rated on the hull length not with a pod extension ie at 4.47m. Also the Tweed River is NSW waters (just) so the law will apply while you are on it. Don't stress too much though the boating officers there are generally pretty reasonable especially when it comes to stupid laws like this one.

bassfan

bassfan
28-10-2010, 07:20 PM
I want to see the comparative statistics of drownings from recreational activities not involving boats...especially kids.

Controversial but i'd guess for every one boaties drowned there would be 10-20 drowned from shore and backyard pools. I think we need to make sure everyone is safe.

Jackets for everyone anywhere near the water i say.. and i'm gonna guilt trip them into it with their favorite saying..."if it saves just one kiddies life then it'll all be worth it".

We're all in the wrong business...how about we also make sure there's repeat annual/biannual revenue by lobbying to make it law they need to be checked/certified regularly.....then saying it must be one of certain type. No wait...

What about rock fisherman? Now there's a proven dangerous sport where mandatory wearing of a lifejacket would really save some lives (not that I'm advocating another law), but it's a lot easier for the NSW Labour Govt. to just pick on boaties in smaller vessels and pretend they give a damn about public safety. I see right through the ignorant bastards and it's good to see others do too. Roll on the next election, I can't wait to vote them out.

bassfan

murf
28-10-2010, 07:21 PM
I suspect your boat length will be rated on the hull length not with a pod extension ie at 4.47m. Also the Tweed River is NSW waters (just) so the law will apply while you are on it. Don't stress too much though the boating officers there are generally pretty reasonable especially when it comes to stupid laws like this one.

bassfan

a pod is counted in total length (if the motor is on it) but you will have to pay for it to be re-stamped

http://www.maritime.nsw.gov.au/docs/publications/determininglength.pdf

cheers Murf

bassfan
28-10-2010, 07:38 PM
Qld has a similar set Kids under 12 have to wear a life jacket when the boat is under way even when drifting. Also some bars have been designated as dangerous and you are required to wear a jacket when crossing.
As for the new type jackets ie the inflatable ones I wear mine all the time.Soon as I get in the boat it goes on as well as the ignition safety lanyard.The inflatables are great you hardly know they are on.Whats more they are coming down in price too.
Not the same laws at all. The Qld law states kids under 12 years in vessels less than 4.8m must have them on when the boat is moving and this is not totally unreasonable although I still believe it should be the parent or master that makes that decision according to the situation ie. weather conditions, distance from shore and kids swimming ability. In NSW they have taken it to the absolute extreme by insisting that any person alone in a vessel under 4.8 must wear one, even if you are at anchor in calm waters and have a bronze medallion. THIS IS TOTALLY UNREASONABLE.
As far as you choosing to wear an inflatable lifejacket all the time, that is your right and I think it is a good thing that you CHOOSE to wear one and therefore do so. However, others that don't choose to wear one because the situation doesn't require it should not be forced to do so by some ill thought out law passed by an ignorant bureacrat.

bassfan

29-10-2010, 10:35 AM
Gents,

Trying to seek clarification on this one for my young fella,

We have a 5m open dinghy. Harrison sometimes wears a life jacket all the time and sometimes he doesn't depends on what we are doing in the river. So to that end what does this mean:

Children under 12 years of age
• on a vessel less than 8 meters and in the open area of a vessel
when underway.

Given I have an open dinghy - if he is sitting anywhere in that boat while we are moving he must where a life jacket?????

Is that everyone's reading of the new laws.

29-10-2010, 10:46 AM
yep, that's my take on it.

murf
29-10-2010, 11:03 AM
yes Brett when moving and this includes drifting

cheers Murf

29-10-2010, 11:38 AM
yeah well that does make sense, you cannot possibly fall over baord and bang your head and drown while anchored could you?

29-10-2010, 12:07 PM
Gents,

Trying to seek clarification on this one for my young fella,

We have a 5m open dinghy. Harrison sometimes wears a life jacket all the time and sometimes he doesn't depends on what we are doing in the river. So to that end what does this mean:

Children under 12 years of age
• on a vessel less than 8 meters and in the open area of a vessel
when underway.

Given I have an open dinghy - if he is sitting anywhere in that boat while we are moving he must where a life jacket?????

Is that everyone's reading of the new laws.

Moving as you boat is open 100% of the time he has to have a jacket on. Anchored he doesn't as you are over 4.8m

Ahhh NSW the state of many rules.

Read the fine print and as soon as your boat breaks down you need to don a lifejacket.

Everyone will need a induction everytime they go near their boat.

I can kite surf on my own 399m from shore and don't need anything- My board doesn't eve float for Flucks sake- ??????

But I can't be in a full floatation dinghy under 4.8m long in 2 foot of water in my local lake????? I can be in a surf lifesaving boat doing a coastal training row but I can't be in 2 foot of water in my lagoon??

I can be on a surfboard anywhere or swimming and not need one. Oh those people are not lic holders on a registered craft and have a big lobby so we'll leave them alone.

I think all divers should have to wear a solid pdf 1 then there would be fewer cases of the bends!! We could drain the ocean as well of add lots of jelly powder crystals.

Frigging rules for rules sake

Noel when I looked at the statistics -now removed from site bugger all were caused by people hitting heads etc unless thay had already had a heart attack.. Statistics , dam statistics.

Lets be serious, a non auto inflatable ain't going to save you if you aren't conscious but they are still allowed. A pdf 2 or 3 won't save you ether as you will be face down!!!!!. Rules are still not common sense if they were trying to stop someone unconcious going overboard with these rules. But they will add to them and make them more onerous.

The statistics were badly flawed and led to flawed policy but if you ask the question does everyone want it to be safer the answer always comes back yes and people forget to ask the real question of out of 200 million people boat journeys that only 200 deaths happened and only 10% of those were directly related to a possibly survival if a jacket was worn. Bugger that stat doesn't look convincing so I change it to boats registered and multiply by average usage .lets say there is 100000 boats and each boat is only used once a month then that means that ot of 10000 boat usage that 203 deaths - wow that is convincing so I could go on.

file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/guest1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot.png

bassfan
01-11-2010, 08:14 PM
Interestingly the NSW Government Minister for Porn Paul Macleay, was the fool in charge when this was approved, and he is a proven landlubber who's only boating experience was in the bathtub as a kid. Mind you I understand he was pretty cluey with a computer ;D ....:o

bassfan

For those of you that may have missed this little insight into the dishonourable Paul Macleay MP, follow this link for a good laugh....;D ......http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/state-politics/keneally-minister-quits-over-net-porn/story-e6frgczx-1225912864194

Sadly, it truly is indicative of the calibre of people running the state of NSW these days.

Thanks to all for their interest & responses.

bassfan

01-11-2010, 11:53 PM
Remember this will have very littel to do with boating safety.

It is not just NSW, we are finding this token effort consultation and preconcieved conclusions to be what both major political parties are up to these days.

Governments are more interested in passing restrictive legeslation with high penalties that they are in actually informing the public or speding money on things that will work.

This will be aimed at winning votes ( at least in someones mind) and most people who do not go boating will think it is a wonderfull idea...cost to the government.......didly squat...a few brocures and press releases..and those will tell us how wonderfull that government is and will be in full glossy colour.

Consider also there are those who realy have a very poor attitude to life jackets and if they did finaly decide they needed to have one on it would be too late.

In places like lake Cootharaba, where you can belt along in a catamaran or canoe........and in most places step out of it and stand up it sonds quite silly.

But if you read the detail of the QLD regs they are far more reasonable than those proposed or ineffect in the south.