PDA

View Full Version : LED light installation

rhino01
01-09-2010, 08:44 PM
I have just purchased some LED lights off eBay - 12v and about 3 metres in length. They came with no installation kit / instructions. It has only 2 exposed wires on each end that's it. I want to run the LED lights under the gunnels of my boat. Has anyone got any suggestions re: installing.

mattij2005
01-09-2010, 09:43 PM
Have you got a pic of them?

What do you want to know? How to wire them or how to install them?

Installing them i'd just say use a real good double sided tape or a glue gun to glue them up under the gunnel, as for wiring well if it's that's i can help i'm an electrician but no point goin into a long description if you already know how ot install them.

rhino01
02-09-2010, 06:28 AM
I should of said wiring them - installation is easy come with double sided tape on the back

sooty_mad
02-09-2010, 08:09 AM
I don't know the correct terminology (help from the sparkies out there) but I do know that those strip LEDs are "live" sensitive. If they don't work when wired up, swap the wires over and they will. Kind regards... David

mattij2005
02-09-2010, 08:19 AM
okay well, wiring them. Easy, well sort of anyway. I assume you have a switch panel on your boat already with a spare switch. All you need to do is find some tinned copper cable from the local boat store, ie BCF or the like, Twin 1mm should be heaps. Twin meaning black and red cores inside an outer sheath (black grey etc).
Have a look behind the switch panel somewhere for the negative bar (you'll see all a bunch of black cables in a copper bar), find a spare spot in that and that's where the negative goes. On the panel you'll need to find which terminal is switched, on mine i have three terminals per switch, (normally open, normally closed and a hard or constant active), you'll need to find which terminal is live (or has power) when you turn the switch on. That's where the red will go.