PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed - boat positioning

rhino01
25-08-2010, 07:37 PM
i am a newbie to offshore fishing - the last few times I have been out the current / drift and direction of my boat have been opposite..... the bait / rig comes back towards the back of the boat :( :( very frustrating :( :(

Is there anything i can do to change this - if anything - or is it just one of things that u must deal with????

ps thanks for the contact phone to get clears done on my boat - all done and look great

FNQCairns
25-08-2010, 07:49 PM
So the wind and flow are more or less opposing? this slows the boats over ground travel to slower than the flow of water your bait is in.... if so then throw out a small para anchor or the like, a bucket even.

rhino01
25-08-2010, 07:54 PM
i am at anchor not drifting

Daisy Burnett
25-08-2010, 08:35 PM
If you were at anchor was there a strong breeze forcing the stern of the boat to face into the current???

rhino01
25-08-2010, 08:42 PM
not a strong breeze - probably 5 - 10 knots max. 15 knots

FNQCairns
25-08-2010, 10:15 PM
Ok at anchor use the outboard motor to act as a rudder in the direction that suits best, you can also raise or lower if you would like the wind to have more effect or the current at any time, it will become second nature.

Again a para anchor or bucket can help even more whenever needed. Short of these things use a bigger sinker:)

Angla
26-08-2010, 01:24 AM
I find that I am anchoring less as when the drift is fast then the para anchor normally slows this to a fishable state where you then make passes over your fishing area. Some times it will even hold you still against the forces of wind and current.
It will often make a unfishable spot more fishable.

Cheers
Chris

marto78
26-08-2010, 10:07 AM