View Full Version : Where to buy Props in USA or Canada

19-08-2010, 05:30 PM

I'm having trouble finding a prop here, i'm chasing a stainless 4 blader in 11 1/8 x 14 or 13. (for a yamaha 50)

Can anyone reccomend a good website in the US or canada? My best mate is living in toronto, so it's possible tfor me to ship to him and then for him to bring it over on his trip down here in sept.

19-08-2010, 06:11 PM
Hey Dave.

Try boats.net in the US and go from there.

Steeler
19-08-2010, 06:23 PM

J & J Marine, Ontario ph 905 768 9188.

peterbo3
19-08-2010, 08:24 PM
http://www.propgods.com/content2/default.aspx

;);););)

Stik-ugly
19-08-2010, 08:57 PM
Try the prop shop at www.propshopinc.com

rogerb
19-08-2010, 11:24 PM
G'Day Dave,

Have you tried Steve Evans at Solas Propellers 07 5437 9400

Cheers, Rog

Steeler
20-08-2010, 08:01 AM
Get Solas props half the price o/seas

20-08-2010, 10:50 AM

Thanx for the suggestions, I've tried solas, it was my first port of call, all my props are theirs and they're fantastic, however what i'm looking for is a bit more specialized... have a look at the sizing/configuration.

20-08-2010, 11:15 AM
Might pay to ask on one of the US forums like iboat or the hull truth.........

Tazmaniac
22-08-2010, 12:53 PM
Blackened,
I got a good deal from Deep Blue Yacht Supply in the US when I purchased a stainless prop a couple of years ago. Was half the price Solas quoted me and that included delivery to my door. May be worth a look.
Taz

myusernam
22-08-2010, 09:20 PM
ask on the australian thindercat forum. those guys source props from all over the world and know their stuff. 50hp too

23-08-2010, 11:55 AM
ask on the australian thindercat forum. those guys source props from all over the world and know their stuff. 50hp too

Been there as i'm a member, and this is what my 50 is bolted too.

robothefisho
23-08-2010, 12:10 PM
Do you race in the surf? Because you will loose lots of top speed with that 4 blader. What about double cupped 3 blades? Do you tow tubes with it or somthing?

23-08-2010, 12:13 PM

Only use it for recreation, I do tow a wake boarder/tubes with it and also play in the surf, it's set up for long range cruising and spearfishing as well.

Currently running a 11 1/8 x 14 solas stainless that has some good cupping on it, however would like a more purpose designed prop (hence the 4 blader with the added grip) for the surf and wake boarding work.

robothefisho
23-08-2010, 12:19 PM
All makes sense now, wakeboarding definately is a killer for a thundercats performance set up. I've seen some small 4 bladders on US flat boats? maybe a forum with those things could be a start.

23-08-2010, 12:24 PM
All makes sense now, wakeboarding definately is a killer for a thundercats performance set up. I've seen some small 4 bladders on US flat boats? maybe a forum with those things could be a start.

Thanx Rob, I'm aware solas are working on a prop for this purpose but it's still circa 12 mths away, and i believe the price will be over $600...... so a bit up there.

megafish71
23-08-2010, 07:01 PM
Try here http://stores.ebay.com.au/americanboatpropeller
He doesn't list anthing that size, but he has heaps of props from lots of manufactures available to him. Might be worth asking. I recommend this guy to deal with, myself and 3 of my mates have all bought props from him. Mine arived to my door 4 days after making payment.

Best of luck with it.

Cheers Ron