PDA

View Full Version : Who measures their anchor rope?

the gecko
16-08-2010, 11:22 AM
Im just starting to learn about "scope" ie- anchor rope length to depth ratio, so that the boat doesnt drift in current.

Has anybody got any good ideas for measuring out rope length?

I was thinking that Id have to sew a color coded bit of material into the rope at measured lengths, if I really wanted to know how much rope was out.

cheers
Andrew

Scott nthQld
16-08-2010, 11:31 AM
Nah I Don't measure the rope, but usually find the mark, stop and find the direction of drift and motor back up the drift line and go about 4 times the depth past the mark and drop anchor, tieing off when I'm over the top of the mark, if there's a bit of current, I'll then pull the boat forward a couple of metres. Serves me pretty well, no problems hooking up and have never pulled anchor this way.

ahamay
16-08-2010, 11:38 AM
I don't have the answer but recently sorted out the correct length of anchor chain for my rig and that's made a massive difference.

STUIE63
16-08-2010, 11:42 AM
just use different colour paint or nikko's every so long . by using different colours you would not have to count from the start
Stuie

peterbo3
16-08-2010, 12:02 PM
You can also thread some coloured whipping twine through one the strands every 50M if you fish deep water. Stuie, you must have a better Nikko than me ;D;D............mine faded away to nothing.

Noelm
16-08-2010, 12:59 PM
after a bit of time, just the angle of the rope is enough to tell you if you have enough out, if it is rough, then no amount of theory will beat experience.

whiteman
16-08-2010, 01:05 PM
Even simpler - get a black marker pen. Measure 10m accurately and mark one ring with the pen. Double the line over for 20m and mark 2 rings ..... at 50m mark a big thick black ring then go back to single line for 60m, etc. The pen marks stay there for a long time.

Tickleish
16-08-2010, 01:44 PM