View Full Version : Are you up for a little chuckle?

Bazzawookooka
12-08-2010, 06:57 PM
After many years of saying "I'm gunna do it one day" I've finally taken the time to list out some of the more quirky aspects of our timeless sport.

As such I have put together a list that I have titled "My Observations on Fishing and Boating".

In our current situation, with green zones, political agendas and the like, I thought it might be nice to share my ideas with a view to putting some of it in perspective. If not, then I hope it provides some temporary respite, at least for a while anyway.

Please feel free to add to the list, I'm very interested to see what ideas come out!

My best regards to one and all,

§ You'll always need a bigger boat
§ Marine equipment will not fail unless it is at sea
§ A barra will easily spit your lure, unlike a crocodile
§ Happy Moments – well, what can I say?
§ A closed tackle box will never be bumped or kicked
§ To bring on a bite, pour a cup of coffee or pick up another rod
§ When fighting a fish, enthusiasm is inversely proportional to breaking strain
§ Squid always have ink in reserve - always
§ Fish that are biting through 180lb mono will not touch the lightest wire trace
§ You will always find the blocked sinkers at night
§ There is room in the boat for a fisherman or an eel, but not both
§ Large fish are more attracted to boats without gaffs or landing nets
§ ‘Fillet and release’ is not a recognised environmental strategy
§ There is no fool-proof way of remembering to put the bungs in
§ All fishing and boating tasks are more difficult with an audience
§ Chaos Theory is the result of studying how and when trailer lights work
§ A shag can fly just faster than your WOT (wide-open throttle) speed
§ The more expensive the propeller, the easier it will find bottom
§ The largest prawn can escape through the smallest hole in a net
§ Most of the time swell is not really all that swell
§ Lures catch more fisherman than fish, and a good number of trees
§ The wind will always come from the wrong direction – regardless
§ Warning someone about a dangerous spine often results in being stuck by it
§ Landing net handles are invariably six inches too short or three feet too long
§ Sand-crab claws can exceed the speed of light if a finger is exposed
§ A blunt knife and a sharp knife are equally dangerous in the wrong hands
§ Trolling more than one line is really just asking for trouble
§ Putting a mud-crab in an ice slurry will send him to sleep, along with your hand
§ Towbars are always accurately positioned at shin-height
§ Equally, bow-sprits tend to be aligned perfectly with one’s forehead
§ Expensive items sink like rocks but rubbish will always float next to the boat
§ Never turn your back on the waves, even for a second, they just can’t be trusted
§ The monster fish will always choose the lightest outfit on which to strike
§ Hooks that fall from a fish’s mouth will need to be cut from your best t-shirt or shorts
§ Compared with those who go fishing and boating, Murphy was a rank amateur

12-08-2010, 07:17 PM
If you want to start an argument, in a loud voice say something for or against eTecs in a crowd of boaties.

;D

12-08-2010, 07:27 PM
You really should have been here yesterday.

A bait jig should be renamed bait tangle.

You can never have too many boats.

LP.

STUIE63
12-08-2010, 07:38 PM
fishermen tell no lies::)

INDULGENCE
12-08-2010, 07:51 PM
KOALAS will not take lures no matter how many casts you make into trees

PaulMark
12-08-2010, 07:54 PM
If only you'd been here yesterday!!! That deserves two mentions.
be careful eating snacks on the boat at night...:o
Paulo

12-08-2010, 07:59 PM
The bigger the bait school looks on the Sounder, the less likely you are to catch anything off it.

mod5
12-08-2010, 08:18 PM
Only girls drink pink fizzy alcoholic drinks :-X

12-08-2010, 08:21 PM

damn near choked on my coffee on that one...LOL

jason p
12-08-2010, 09:34 PM
if the fish arnt bitting the mozzies are

jason p
12-08-2010, 09:36 PM
dosnt matter how good your boat is the next fellas got a better one

jason p
12-08-2010, 09:42 PM
hahahahhaha

samsnap
12-08-2010, 09:44 PM
Mum - can you bait my hook - will alway bring on a good bite!
Cheers Sammy xx

shrunken pojie
12-08-2010, 09:47 PM
There is a reason its called "fishing" and not "catching".

jason p
12-08-2010, 09:56 PM
if the bom says its going to be fine it usually isnt.

no matter how many drifts you put over 1 spot you usually miss it when trying to anchor on it.

the floater you set always takes off when you go to bed.

samsnap
12-08-2010, 10:04 PM
You can guarantee that when there is extra Ballet/Soccer/Footy practice on the weekend it will be 5-10k!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!

samsnap
12-08-2010, 10:08 PM
No matter how much coaxing the neighbours cat will not play in the crab pot :) :0

STUIE63
12-08-2010, 10:19 PM
No matter how much coaxing the neighbours cat will not play in the crab pot :) :0

My brothers cat played with a gold bomber once it involved a trip to the vet a $200 vet bill and kitty had three paws all pinned on the lure;D

sleepygreg
12-08-2010, 11:46 PM
I know I shouldn't laugh at that one Stuie.....but its just taken me ten minutes to settle down to write this reply. PMSL

sparkyice
13-08-2010, 12:11 AM
the water here comes clear up to the shore.

ColJacDak
13-08-2010, 06:24 AM
Even the most expensive Spotlight cannot see through the fog at night

samsnap
13-08-2010, 07:38 AM
Petrol/Diesel drops to 80c - 6 cyclones in a row!
Sammyxx

snasman
14-08-2010, 10:21 AM
The wind always picks up as soon as the boat hits the water

odes20
14-08-2010, 03:13 PM
The sea is unrelenting!

Calm night? 15 knt shocker land breeze to plough home!

Unorginised greenhorns still catch fish.

Loud noises dont chase fish away

Waypoint beggars only get shit marks.

The best knife falls overboard.

The missus will untimately want a saltiga like you

Theres room in a boat for 1 COBIA and no gear or people

The best knots still break

"We Filled Up" means 4 pickfish in a lunch box esky

15-08-2010, 12:12 PM

Elmer 1 Lucky 0

16-08-2010, 03:30 PM
A rod holder should not be allowed to be positioned anywhere near the fuel filler cap

tug_tellum
16-08-2010, 05:41 PM
Fish will always bite 1 hour either side. 1 hour before you get there & 1 hour after you leave.::)::)::) tuG telluM

Chong
17-08-2010, 11:14 AM
Anchor ropes should always be tied off at the end

BillR1
17-08-2010, 12:07 PM
No matter where you anchor to fish , someone will anchor next to you

Dropped fish always land on your foot....spine down

The missus ALWAYS catches the first fish

The monster fish target the lightest line

Stick to the right hand side of the channel and someone will drive straight at you

Crunchy
17-08-2010, 12:18 PM
If you scoff at "idiots" who forget thier bung, it WILL happen to you later that week:-[

The ocean may be huge but 'that boat' just happened to travel right to where you are::)

Sand banks make you stop quickly:-?

If you dream about bagging out, you won't catch a thing:(

leeroy1
18-08-2010, 08:49 PM
Jacks can still bite after bleeding.

leeroy1
18-08-2010, 08:53 PM
You can cast for an hour with no problems,but as soon as a school starts busting up you will get a wind knot.

greenie.77
21-08-2010, 09:12 AM
If ever your engine plays up, it always waits until you have reached your farthest point from your original position!!

thedeckie
21-08-2010, 08:06 PM

No, but Kookaburras will, they love soft plastics.

URAGANGI
21-08-2010, 08:55 PM
You do the right thing by putting all spent hooks and line in a rubbish bag for the trip back to the ramp. You arrive safely at the ramp.. your now headed to the rubish bin... for some reason you've droped the rubbish bag..... you've now bent down to pick the bag up and you've snaged your finger on your own bloody hook.

Ohh shizer's it hurts like hell and your a mess the hook has gone clean through and you haven't yet mastered the art of using side cutter's left handed because your right hand is well out of commision.

Now it's time to put both hands between your legs and look skyward in distress, hoping that that hook doesn't catch on anything else....Ohh shizers!

Edmo
22-08-2010, 09:39 AM
I'd like to ad- THE WEATHER IS ALWAYS PERFECT ON A MONDAY.
Groan..... tis true.

Sea-Dog
23-08-2010, 09:01 PM
You spot a group of arches on the sounder, but when you circle back to go over that spot - there's nothing to be seen.

Your line will never tangle, unless there's a school of fish busting up the surface next to your boat.

You leave the castnet at home because its too late in the year for prawns and all day you see clouds of the buggers on the sounder.

Dignity
25-08-2010, 09:06 AM
All planned go away trips require some sort of bribery, usually a Birthday, anniversary etc falls within the time frame.

fishboy018
07-09-2010, 10:52 PM
the first fish of a hot bite will run around all the other set rods before you get a chance to wind the others in.
after you release your livies, a fish will boof/jump/cruise past.
pissing of the back of the boat is the best berley ever, fish will always bite mid-piddle
giving your rod to the mrs to hold for a second after hours of boredom will always result in her catching the ONLY and biggest fish of the trip
fish will always swim away the most slowly when just out of arms reach after the hook has fallen out boatside

Dignity
08-09-2010, 10:01 AM
Fishing without beer will make the day feel like it has lasted a week

Idletime
09-09-2010, 08:17 PM
How a winch handle can turn into a nunchuck when it slips off.

ranga7
18-09-2010, 07:18 PM
Mates that because there mates think there entitled to free fishing trips>:(
Cough up or go fish off the bridge.

gr hilly
19-09-2010, 11:14 PM
he who fishes alone catches the first fish.
why must i do the dishes on friday night to go fishing saturday

Winf
20-09-2010, 08:37 AM
Staysharp knives don't.
Anything corrosion proof or water proof isn't.

Defore
20-09-2010, 09:07 AM
A $300 Radio will sacrifice itself to protect a 30cent fuse.

mojikoman
20-09-2010, 10:44 AM
when there is no ice in the eski the quality table fish will be caught,

ThePinkPanther
21-09-2010, 01:19 PM
The other guy's boat ALWAYS rides better than yours!

You will ALWAYS be the on the roughest patch of water!

Batteries only go flat on Friday nights!

Jabiru658
21-09-2010, 01:37 PM
The less time you have to go fishing the busier the boat ramp will be; if you have heaps of spare time it will be empty.

dreemon
21-09-2010, 06:00 PM
Hangin a leak out the back of the boat attracts sharks because of all the blood in it:P

Fish_gutz
26-09-2010, 05:43 PM
tandem trailers tow so much better when two of four tyres are not flat!
The tyres on my trailer stay up for months until off course a short notice fishing trip will guarantee one or more are flat.

26-09-2010, 11:18 PM
The best fishing is on Tusedays or Wednesdays.....unless of course you work weekends.