View Full Version : My new boat - almost done!!!!

Matt76
05-08-2010, 08:12 PM
I havent said too much about it up until now because the thread would have dragged on and on whilst it was getting built, but its close to done now so I thought I'd share.

Its 5.3m side console built by Performance Plate boats at Brendale and saying that I am happy with it is an understatement! Most of the inside is done, all the floor and stuff is done, kill tank etc, they have now flipped it over to weld out the bottom and then its right way up again to do the final touches like console, rails, gunnels etc.

Still lots for me to do to finish it off, paint, wiring, motor, and to send the trailer in for galvanising whilst I am working on the boat.

Can't wait!

P.S. thats my young fella proudly posing with it, he has helped me design it the whole way.

http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/5876/croppedboat.jpg (http://img72.imageshack.us/i/croppedboat.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)

Matt76
05-08-2010, 08:14 PM

littlemac
05-08-2010, 08:46 PM
great stuff matt,

watch out for the young fella i think he might become the skipper.

iam sure you love the boat

brett

Matt76
11-08-2010, 09:36 PM
Nearly done!!!!!

http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/9855/11082010005.jpg (http://img24.imageshack.us/i/11082010005.jpg/)

http://img818.imageshack.us/img818/9375/11082010008.jpg (http://img818.imageshack.us/i/11082010008.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)[/QUOTE]

11-08-2010, 09:53 PM
Wow. That back section certainly blings

BayHunter01
11-08-2010, 09:53 PM
Looking great, can;t wait to see the finished product

Fishbait
12-08-2010, 03:31 PM
Looks awesome Matt. Great looking job alright! Keep the photos coming mate. Darren

dreemon
12-08-2010, 05:23 PM
That is blinged porn ! clear coat ! ! ! ! and a good set of sunnies .8-).

Rodpal
12-08-2010, 06:56 PM
very well done matt you must be stoked
shes going to look trick on the water

not sure but i think your young fello is going to get a real buzz out of some great times ahead and really well done man

cheers rod

Matt76
12-08-2010, 08:27 PM
Thanks guys, I brought her home today!

I was a bit nervous because I made the trailer and even though everything was checked and double checked I still didnt want the bloody boat to not fit! All good, everything looks to be perfect.

The kids are as excited as I am, they have sat down with me right from the start and planned it the whole way through, so they know every square inch of it as well as I do.

Will have to get a pic of it up on the trailer.

littlemac
12-08-2010, 09:37 PM
looking good mat. looking good

keep the photos coming

brett

Matt76
13-08-2010, 08:56 PM
Its on the trailer!!!!!!!!!

http://img826.imageshack.us/img826/9272/13082010001.jpg (http://img826.imageshack.us/i/13082010001.jpg/)

DOGFIGHT
14-08-2010, 07:53 AM
Sure looks good, Keep the pics updated

Seahorse
14-08-2010, 04:31 PM
sam is good boat builder.
looks a treat.
happy boating

Matt76
23-08-2010, 08:12 PM
I ordered all my bits and pieces today, steering, wheel switch panels, pumps, fittings etc etc. That bills going to be nasty!

Not too much more progress yet, been really busy at work. I need to pull my finger out though.

fishenmick
23-08-2010, 08:35 PM
Excellent job Matt. Not only a great job on your behalf, but including the kids is a fantastic thing to do and something they will always remember. Well done.

Matt76
24-08-2010, 06:05 AM
Excellent job Matt. Not only a great job on your behalf, but including the kids is a fantastic thing to do and something they will always remember. Well done.

Thanks mate, Sam at PPB was great too, he encouraged the kids to come down and have a look anytime and he would run them through what he was up to and what was next. They have loved the whole process so far, now they just want to get it wet!

aumapo1
25-08-2010, 07:17 PM
Awesome boat Matt she's a weapon. How hot do think she will get without paint or does the water do its job keeping her cool?;D

Matt76
25-08-2010, 07:37 PM
I had a 4.5m fisher centre console with a fully welded chequer plate floor a few years ago and the water did a pretty good job of sucking the heat out of the ally, on extremely hot days it got a bit hot, nothing a pair of thongs won't fix ;) It's worth it for the ease of cleaning I reckon.

Matt76
01-12-2010, 05:44 AM
Its been a while since an update, I have got my trailer finished and galvanised, only to find out the whole package weighs more than I had thought and I will either need to put another axle under the trailer.

The boat has been sitting in my shed at home collecting dust, but is now out and on the trailer and will be heading back to performance plate boats to get a hard top on it and a few finishing bits so its ready for paint. More pics to come once I have something worth reporting.

ampol64
01-12-2010, 07:12 PM
nice boat matt just wondering are you painting the boat yourself

Matt76
01-12-2010, 07:27 PM
nice boat matt just wondering are you painting the boat yourself

At this stage I am mate. My brother is a spray painter by trade so he will do it for me, and I suppose I will get stuck with all the crap prep work. One of my customers is building a spray booth as we speak 2 doors down from my workshop so I am just praying the doors are wide enough to get it in and we will paint it there. If we run out of time or he is busy I will get someone to paint it for me.

ampol64
01-12-2010, 11:23 PM
sounds great matt just thought i ask if you or your brother know what prep work is involved with the ally for painting . only asking as i will be painting my new platy when its finished in february.i do have exsperence in spray paiting but not with ally and would be gratfull for any tips you might have cheers john

therapy
02-12-2010, 04:17 AM
Bloody nice rig there Matt. What did the weight end up being? I have a 5.2 plate Sporty 90hp Merc on a single axle trailer and it seems to be fine so I guess yours must weigh a bit more than mine. PM sent re the trailer.

Cheers.....Terry...........

fat-buoy
02-12-2010, 09:15 AM
Its on the trailer!!!!!!!!!

http://img826.imageshack.us/img826/9272/13082010001.jpg (http://img826.imageshack.us/i/13082010001.jpg/)

Not wanting to be a knocker... the contrary I love the idea of building a boat out the way you want it... I was just looking at the axle line of the trailer.. when you put the motor on the back I think the weight of the boat etc will be a little too far back and be trying to lift the back of your car..

I guess you are going to set it all up right after you send it away for galvanising, just flagging it for you if you haven't picked up on that just yet.

Did you find the build etc cost more or less than buying the boat pre built?

Matt76
02-12-2010, 03:21 PM
Not wanting to be a knocker... the contrary I love the idea of building a boat out the way you want it... I was just looking at the axle line of the trailer.. when you put the motor on the back I think the weight of the boat etc will be a little too far back and be trying to lift the back of your car..

I guess you are going to set it all up right after you send it away for galvanising, just flagging it for you if you haven't picked up on that just yet.

Did you find the build etc cost more or less than buying the boat pre built?

Yeah thanks mate, the axle setup can slide up and down the chassis, so when the motor goes on I would just adjust where the axle is to get the balance right.

Matt76
10-02-2011, 08:31 PM
It's been a long while coming but I finally dropped the boat off to the painter this morning! Spent the last couple of days drilling and cutting holes, trying to work out where everything goes and sanding back all the aluminium ready for the painter (absolute sh#t of a job...)

I decided to get a hard top on it, and really struggled with a design because there was very little to copy off for a side console. Sam at Perf plate whipped up an absolute cracker for it, and it is strong enough for us to climb up onto and jump off if we get brave enough haha.

The trailer is dual axle now and I feel much safer for it.

http://img822.imageshack.us/img822/1350/photogh.jpg

Have bought a 150 etec for it (second hand) I know there are very mixed reports on them but at the price I got it for it seems worth the gamble. Time will tell I guess.

OPTI
11-02-2011, 03:57 AM
great effort matt,looks fantastic,doing a lot of the work yourself makes it even more rewarding.wont belong now by the looks .

Rhinoc
11-02-2011, 06:43 AM
Looks fantastic. Love to see some more pics.

Rhino...

Eug
11-02-2011, 08:21 AM
good stuff matt, keen to see it all painted up behind the nav

Defore
11-02-2011, 09:32 AM
Looking good

Broomey
11-02-2011, 10:23 AM
Great stuff!!!!

Love to see more pics once she is painted!!

Eddy

Squidlet
11-02-2011, 11:18 AM
Nice work,looking forward to the end product!

Matt76
11-02-2011, 08:15 PM
Thanks guys, I really appreciate the comments. looking forward to getting it finished!

Matt76
25-02-2011, 06:50 AM
Some inside pics:

http://img340.imageshack.us/img340/7721/photoxg.jpg

http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/7484/photolga.jpg

And finally in primer!

http://img189.imageshack.us/img189/8688/photokmc.jpg

I just realised how optimistic I was saying it was almost done way back when this thread started haha.

Now just need to name it!

champion
25-02-2011, 07:34 AM
QUOTE - I just realised how optimistic I was saying it was almost done way back when this thread started haha.

"OPTIMISIM"

DOGFIGHT
25-02-2011, 08:45 AM
looking very very nice, Whats that on the inside of the transom? some sort of seat set up?

Matt76
25-02-2011, 04:37 PM
looking very very nice, Whats that on the inside of the transom? some sort of seat set up?

Yeah its a removable fold up seat frame mate. Will get an upholstered seat pad for it.

Hey I like that Champion, I hadn't thought about calling it that!

maimai
26-02-2011, 06:29 AM
sweet looking boat, hope it goes as good as some other 5.2 in 2-3m seas

Jono_SS
26-02-2011, 02:46 PM
She is looking good Matt. I like the hardtop - it looks like a canvas bimini but I guess it is ally. Did you toy with the idea of making it foldable?

My tinny is still for sale, but I've been enjoying using it to go for quick squirts out the seaway and then anchor up at South Straddie for some fun in the surf. I can't believe it has taken me all these years to finally get around to doing it!

cheers.

Jono.

Matt76
26-02-2011, 04:08 PM
Yeah it's an ally top mate, we made it so that the kids (and immature adults lol) can jump off the roof. I did consider making it folding even If just for resale but I was more so concerned about it being strong.

Matt76
02-03-2011, 05:25 PM
http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/3133/photohsw.jpg

Painted!

Now for stickers and start fitting it out.

littlemac
02-03-2011, 05:48 PM
thats looks sweet matt

brett

Matt76
05-03-2011, 08:28 PM
http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/6259/photopwa.jpg

Stickers go on on monday, by Robs Graphics at clontarf. along with the offiicial name ;)

Pics soon.......

Eug
05-03-2011, 09:31 PM
looks the goods matt, matching colour scheme to the nav?

Matt76
06-03-2011, 07:41 AM
looks the goods matt, matching colour scheme to the nav?

I really did want to paint the side panels black, but the additional cost and care needed on nice black sides wasn't worth it. It's just a fishing boat and I am not pedantic about cleaning haha.

johncar
06-03-2011, 08:29 AM
Very nice looking job there Matt, you must be getting very keen to get her in the water. I would love to do a project like that, maybe one day.

I noticed some lugs, one each side on the stern just above the bottom sheet.

Please excuse my ignorance, are they for tie downs?

I just ask because I am a bit of a sticker for trim tabs on any sort of serious boat such as yours and these lugs look like they may be in the way should you wish to fit later, although there may be enough room inside them.

Dantren
06-03-2011, 09:24 AM
Good looking boat Matt. Next time - get your business sign in the pic you dummy.......

Matt76
06-03-2011, 11:12 AM
Thanks again guys, yeah it's getting very close now.

Johncar, yeah they are tie down points. I didnt want to have to strap over the boat like I did in my tinnie. I wasnt intending on putting trim tabs on it, mainly because I have never had experiences with them, who knows it might need them though, so hopefully they will fit beside them, I guess I should have made a better allowance for it just in case.

Dantren as soon as there are any kind of boat or fishing thoughts going on, any work thoughts are well and truly vacant, hence my lack of advertising haha.

Rodpal
06-03-2011, 12:36 PM
hey matty

man that is one sweat looking ride, the result is a true credit to both you and berndale performance boats so well done guys

i took your advice and caught up with the owner of brendale performance boats on a visit to their factory and man for someone who doesn't advourtise or have a web page he sure was busy, and you couldn't meet a nicer more helpful guy so passionate about his product so really well done man and more pic pic pic's

congrads rod

Matt76
06-03-2011, 12:41 PM
Thanks Rod, yeah he sure is busy and yep a great bloke indeed.

dec0guy
06-03-2011, 07:17 PM
nice looking boat!

Matt76
08-03-2011, 07:52 PM
It now has an official name!!!!!!

http://img854.imageshack.us/img854/9403/photopz.jpg

http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/9985/photoskw.jpg[/QUOTE]

We called it Plan B, because everything I planeed started as something small and grew out of proportion every bloody time. Plan A was something just a little bit bigger than my 3.95 tinny, and this is what we ended up with:

Outboard is on, and hopefully lasts a weekend haha. Seats are in, plus a few more little things.

Still a few bits and pieces to do, but I can see the light at the end of tunnel.

Squidlet
08-03-2011, 08:28 PM
Look's sweet as matt!

Captain Seaweed
08-03-2011, 08:31 PM
Nice Boat mate, nice lines looks bloody great!

littlemac
08-03-2011, 08:35 PM
very nice mat,

plan b always works

brett

Matt76
08-03-2011, 08:46 PM
Thanks guys, I appreciate the comments.

eyeskeenas
08-03-2011, 08:48 PM
That is a sweet looking boat, well done on the design.

nickstock
09-03-2011, 08:17 AM
That is a sexy boat matt and it would be perfect up here in Weipa! I bet that your glad you went through the build without any problems. That is fantastic to here in the current plate alloy market mate. What is the total damage for it as it stands if you don't mind me asking? P.M me if you prefer.

I would make it a rear center console and take the canopy off and it would be the perfect Weipa sportsfishing boat.

Looks great and get out there and get it dirty!

Nick

FishHunter
09-03-2011, 03:52 PM
That looks very good, just waiting for the etc haters to climb aboard

Richard
09-03-2011, 04:03 PM
looks like a great setup.. I haven't read the rest of the post so you've probably already answered this question but are you going to paint the floor or put anything down on it ?

It'll burn your feet otherwise on a hot day.. !

Matt76
09-03-2011, 04:13 PM
That looks very good, just waiting for the etc haters to climb aboard

Haha yeah I'm sure they will.

Richard I made it chequer plate so that it is easier to clean, I got a fisher centre console made a few years back with the same floor and it was only on extreme days that the floor got too hot, the water did a pretty good job of sucking the heat out. I can always put mats or capret down if it does, I will just see how it goes.

Hunt-N-Gather
10-03-2011, 06:52 PM
Haha yeah I'm sure they will.

Richard I made it chequer plate so that it is easier to clean, I got a fisher centre console made a few years back with the same floor and it was only on extreme days that the floor got too hot, the water did a pretty good job of sucking the heat out. I can always put mats or capret down if it does, I will just see how it goes.

Matty,, she's a real head turner my friend, the attention to detail like the curved bow rail strut's would take allot of time, great to see you builder is using their initiative, instead of being yet another copy cat.

In the past I've used a rubber 'tube' mat from Clark Rubber found it very user friendly & good for the tender footed folk.

IMHO the Etec is worth a go especially in the later years, but don't agree with trying to drop the leg of after 300hrs, that's just insane!:o
HnG

Matt76
10-03-2011, 07:27 PM
Matty,, she's a real head turner my friend, the attention to detail like the curved bow rail strut's would take allot of time, great to see you builder is using their initiative, instead of being yet another copy cat.

In the past I've used a rubber 'tube' mat from Clark Rubber found it very user friendly & good for the tender footed folk.

IMHO the Etec is worth a go especially in the later years, but don't agree with trying to drop the leg of after 300hrs, that's just insane!:o
HnG

Thanks mate,

Those little attention detail things is what attracted me to Performance Plate, There are little bits like that all over the boat that a lot of other manufacturers don't even think about or don't spend the time doing.

I'll check out that rubber mat, cheers.

Matt76
03-04-2011, 08:19 AM
http://img852.imageshack.us/img852/6581/photo7b.jpg

First fishing trip in it yesterday, in a local bream comp at Toorbul. The boat went fantastic, plenty of room to fish the 4 of us out of, I couldn't be happier. The 150 pushes it along more than adequately (as it should!) it cruises at 50km/h at about 3600 rpm, gotta be happy with that.

A big thank you to Sam at Performance Plate Boats. I would recommend him to anyone wishing to get a boat made.

Also huge thanks to Pete at Valet Boat Services for doing a sensational job of fitting it out. His work is spot on and he is really easy to deal with.

stevel3
03-04-2011, 08:23 AM
very nice looking boat, congrats

aspherious
03-04-2011, 08:30 AM
looks pretty sweet, very jealous. the 150 must hammer along

Grand_Marlin
03-04-2011, 08:57 AM
Good to see it on the water Matt.
Thanks for your kind comments and it was our pleasure to fit it out for you.
I have had so many people asking about it - everyone thinks it is an awesome boat.

You will have to get some pics of the interior lighting at night, I think that will just tip people over the edge on the bling factor 8-)

frankgrimes
03-04-2011, 09:31 AM
Niiice rig Matt - like it a lot!

Cruising @ 50km/h@3600....whats she do at wot?!?!

Squidlet
03-04-2011, 10:05 AM
Well done matt,that's a boat you certainly can be proud of,many happy hours of boating and fishing to ya! Bloody nice.

03-04-2011, 01:06 PM
Very nice looking boat Matt, makes me wonder what plan A was.

Matt76
03-04-2011, 04:24 PM
You will have to get some pics of the interior lighting at night, I think that will just tip people over the edge on the bling factor 8-)

Like this mate:

[URL=http://img43.imageshack.us/i/photo8sq.jpg/]http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/2223/photo8sq.jpg

I havent got any pics of the baitboard lights, they are awesome too.

Matt76
03-04-2011, 04:27 PM
Niiice rig Matt - like it a lot!

Cruising @ 50km/h@3600....whats she do at wot?!?!

Does 80km/h WOT mate. I have only given it full revs once in the pine river, havent mucked around with trimming it up and getting max speed yet.

Matt76
03-04-2011, 04:50 PM
Some more of Valet's superb work:

http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/2061/photo9kh.jpg

http://img858.imageshack.us/img858/1518/photo10g.jpg

johncar
03-04-2011, 05:11 PM
Beautiful boat Matt,
You are in my part of the woods there around Bribie so I'll keep and eye out for you.

Nice electrics Pete, good to see, and a bit rare in many boats. Me being an electrician, I really appreciate tidy and quality work like that.
Although looked like one cable tie cut off end left in there;)

Chris1984
03-04-2011, 05:12 PM
awesome boat mate :D

Grand_Marlin
03-04-2011, 07:33 PM
Nice electrics Pete, good to see, and a bit rare in many boats. Me being an electrician, I really appreciate tidy and quality work like that.
Although looked like one cable tie cut off end left in there;)

That's definitely a leaf :P ;D

DTHCoCo
03-04-2011, 07:42 PM
Some more of Valet's superb work:

http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/2061/photo9kh.jpg

http://img858.imageshack.us/img858/1518/photo10g.jpg

Personally If my wiring looked like that I'd be pissed! the above pictures is just another reason why i will always wire up my own things. I must say your boat is a cracker though.

Matt76
03-04-2011, 07:46 PM
Personally If my wiring looked like that I'd be pissed! the above pictures is just another reason why i will always wire up my own things. I must say your boat is a cracker though.

Mate I'd love a pic of your wiring, I was impressed by mine.

I understand that a job like that can be done any number of ways, and if you have the skill and tools you could spend as long as you like and get it infinitely neat, I'm sure when Pete does his he has to meet both a quality standard and a cost balance, both of which I am confident he did for me.

Matt76
03-04-2011, 07:47 PM
That's definitely a leaf :P ;D

Haha yeah it's a leaf.

Rodpal
03-04-2011, 07:53 PM
awesome stuff matty .. absolutely awesome stuff .. wow what an absolute terrific finish .. well done man ..

Grand_Marlin
03-04-2011, 08:04 PM

Open to suggestions?

03-04-2011, 08:12 PM
Open to suggestions?

Not a suggestion but a question. What are the tee'd connections all about?

Boat looks awesome with the blue lights. There is no reason why a new boat should not be well lit with todays gadgets available in led lighting.

Grand_Marlin
03-04-2011, 08:35 PM
G'day Angla,

The Tee'd connections are for the NMEA 2000 Network.
In this case it has a Lowrance HDS 5m, HDS 5x, 2 x Evinrude E-Tec I Command gauges and the network power connected to the legs of the network.

Chris1984
03-04-2011, 08:43 PM

Sometimes it's easier to just mind your own business, the bloke is proud as punch with his boat so how about laying off with the negatives?? if my boats wiring looked like that i would be stoked.

johncar
03-04-2011, 08:44 PM
Gee DTHCoCo,
That is a bit harsh,
I have also have had to rewire every boat I have ever bought if that is what you mean.
But things need to be in perspective with regards to parts quality vs function and cost to the customer for time spent.
We can do a rolls royce job on it ourselves if we have the right training and background and time but I wouldn't want to add up my own time and what I put into it as it would be scary and most boat buyers would fall over when you hand them the bill.

I thought that compared to what I have seen in many boat fitups and from popular brands, that is very tidy by comparison. Everything seems well laid out, accessible and labelled. I would have been happy if any of my boats were done that well.
I am sure to that no doubt all terminations are solid and reliable too being the main thing, but time will always tell there.

And oh yeah it's a leaf, better get the vacumm cleaner out8-)

Squidlet
03-04-2011, 08:44 PM

Ok what's wrong with the wiring? If that was my boat i would be more than happy,neat n tidy all tuckedup,nice job. If you are to critasize than at least make it constructive and give reason!!
Cheer's Squid.

Matt76
03-04-2011, 09:18 PM
Haha well that got some discussion going didn't it!

At the end of the day only one person has to be happy with it so negative comments about any of it don't worry me. Every boat and every job is done to suit it's purpose and they will all be different and will all be a compromise of many aspects. I know mine will be a wet ride in rough conditions, but it is open enough to fish my family comfortably. I know the floor will get hot on extreme days, but it will be super easy to clean on every other day. I know it is now a bit big to go crabbing, so I guess i better get cracking on making a little creek boat :D (Jeez I hope the missus doesn't read this haha)

DTHCoCo
03-04-2011, 10:14 PM
To the unknown it may look all right, alarm bells ring to me when ever I see a bullet connectors I'm afraid its a dry joint waiting to happen. It may be slower but I soldier every joint and use a heat shrink seal followed by electrical tape if it's part of a harness, A little finesse goes a long way. I expected many ppl to flame at my response but I will never accept second best and when people are paying decent money people should be getting it. I'm sorry if I offended ppl but please do things the right way not just the fast way many of these electronics are life saving.

FishHunter
04-04-2011, 05:41 AM
Boat looks good and I would be happy with the wiring job.

Grand_Marlin
04-04-2011, 09:54 AM
To the unknown it may look all right, alarm bells ring to me when ever I see a bullet connectors I'm afraid its a dry joint waiting to happen. It may be slower but I soldier every joint and use a heat shrink seal followed by electrical tape if it's part of a harness, A little finesse goes a long way. I expected many ppl to flame at my response but I will never accept second best and when people are paying decent money people should be getting it. I'm sorry if I offended ppl but please do things the right way not just the fast way many of these electronics are life saving.

You had better get your facts straight ::)

Firstly, there aren't any bullet connectors - I am completely against these.
All the joins in our wiring are done with resin filled heatshrink waterproof joiners. They are crimped, then heated with the heat gun which shrinks the casing and activates the resin.
We use Cabac adjustable ratchet crimpers and test that every crimped joint is secure.

I find it interesting that you consider my work to be second rate and yet you use and recommend soldered joints :o
In any Commercial Surveyed work we do it is a requirement that soldered joints are not used.
Solder, combined with the heat used, creates a hardened stress point / weak point where the solder ends and the natural wire starts. Vibration and movement (especially amplified in the marine environment) can, will and does cause these joints to break.
I have seen it a number of times, especially on switch panels and in places where the wires are not properly supported.

In a centre console like Matt's boat waterproofing is of the utmost importance.
Take another look at the pic. Waterproof joiners, waterproof fuse holders, waterproof Icom VHF, waterproof Fusion amp & speakers, BEP waterproof switch panels, BEP waterproof Battery Switches etc etc etc.
As you said, a lot of these electronics are life saving devices.
Both Chris and I at Valet Boat Services are experienced boaties in both recreational and commercial areas.
This experience we have is put directly into our customers boats' to make sure they get the best possible fitout and workmanship.
Anyone who has had work done by us will know that quality in parts and workmanship is always chosen over price.
If I can't do it to my standard, then I won't do it at all.
We have many commercial operators that rely on our workmanship to keep their income generated, we have many live aboard couples cruising the entire Australian Coast and we have hundreds of Blokes who love their fishing and love to take their Wives & Kids out in the boat.
I personally take to heart the safety and wellbeing of all these people.

I always welcome new ideas and will always explain why we do our job a certain way.
Albeit that your comments and criticism are very degrading, I am pleased that you made them as it allows people to make up their own minds as to who knows what they are talking about.

Feel free to give me a call if you wish to discuss.

Pete McCullagh
Valet Boat Services
0419 263 264

DTHCoCo
04-04-2011, 02:47 PM
You had better get your facts straight ::)

Firstly, there aren't any bullet connectors - I am completely against these.
All the joins in our wiring are done with resin filled heatshrink waterproof joiners. They are crimped, then heated with the heat gun which shrinks the casing and activates the resin.
We use Cabac adjustable ratchet crimpers and test that every crimped joint is secure.

I find it interesting that you consider my work to be second rate and yet you use and recommend soldered joints :o
In any Commercial Surveyed work we do it is a requirement that soldered joints are not used.
Solder, combined with the heat used, creates a hardened stress point / weak point where the solder ends and the natural wire starts. Vibration and movement (especially amplified in the marine environment) can, will and does cause these joints to break.
I have seen it a number of times, especially on switch panels and in places where the wires are not properly supported.

In a centre console like Matt's boat waterproofing is of the utmost importance.
Take another look at the pic. Waterproof joiners, waterproof fuse holders, waterproof Icom VHF, waterproof Fusion amp & speakers, BEP waterproof switch panels, BEP waterproof Battery Switches etc etc etc.
As you said, a lot of these electronics are life saving devices.
Both Chris and I at Valet Boat Services are experienced boaties in both recreational and commercial areas.
This experience we have is put directly into our customers boats' to make sure they get the best possible fitout and workmanship.
Anyone who has had work done by us will know that quality in parts and workmanship is always chosen over price.
If I can't do it to my standard, then I won't do it at all.
We have many commercial operators that rely on our workmanship to keep their income generated, we have many live aboard couples cruising the entire Australian Coast and we have hundreds of Blokes who love their fishing and love to take their Wives & Kids out in the boat.
I personally take to heart the safety and wellbeing of all these people.

I always welcome new ideas and will always explain why we do our job a certain way.
Albeit that your comments and criticism are very degrading, I am pleased that you made them as it allows people to make up their own minds as to who knows what they are talking about.

Feel free to give me a call if you wish to discuss.

Pete McCullagh
Valet Boat Services
0419 263 264

I'm man enough to admit when im wrong, i'm glad you don't use dodgie bullet connector and i apologize for that statement.

Mate the only application in which you shoudn't / not allowed to use a soldier joint (and you should know if you have a trade quailification) and that is when working with AC mains household wiring, Due to the frequency in which active and neutral switch at 50hz or (50 times a second).

I find it hard to believe you even have a quailifcation with your post relievence to soldiering, yet another thing against your post if soldier is such a bad thing regarding vibration why if not all electrical devices including boat electronics have soldier joints on the pcb's (circuit boards for ppl not in the know) and wiring.

04-04-2011, 02:57 PM
don't want to get involved in a personal debate here (but I will anyway) not too sure about the 240V ac thing, plenty of 240V equipment has soldered connections, although unsure about soldiered connections. The dabate on whether to crimp or solder has raged for ages, for me, unless I have access to a GOOD crimper, then I solder, if I have the crimper for the wire I am using and good crimps, then I crimp and seal with glue lined heatshrink. I have been soldering for more years than I care to own up to, and personally think PROPER crimping is best for boats, but I have (as mentioned) soldered thousands of joints and feel confident with my work crap crimps result in crap connections, a BP connector is better than a shit crimp.

Matt76
04-04-2011, 03:53 PM
In any case I am perfectly happy with the work Pete has done, and wouldn't hesitate to get more done. He certainly knows boats. As Noelm said the solder/crimp argument will probably go long after we are all gone.

WalFish
04-04-2011, 06:32 PM
Gand Marlin, well said; however, I can't agree on the "no soldering because of heat generating weak points at the joints subject to vibration etc etc". I wear the "green" skin for the govenment and have had a long career, most involving tracked armoured vehicles. The vibrations in these are enough to shake your fillings out - but every electrical connection in these vehicles is soldered - no issue::)

Grand_Marlin
04-04-2011, 06:34 PM
In any case I am perfectly happy with the work Pete has done, and wouldn't hesitate to get more done. He certainly knows boats.

And thats all that matters ;)

Squidlet
04-04-2011, 06:48 PM
Well all that said and done bloody nice boat,good wiering and a good to and fro of trade debate,let's let matt enjoy the boat!
Cheer's Squid.

Matt76
04-04-2011, 07:25 PM
Here here! Let's talk about fishing, what's the weather doing Sunday?

Squidlet
04-04-2011, 07:33 PM
It's gunna be hot n bloody sticky up here matt! The rain has ezed a liitle but now its comen outa tha ground! Ya just can't win bud!8-)
Cheers Squid

Matt76
04-03-2012, 03:55 PM
Well just in case anyone is still reading this thread, I have now had the boat on the water for near enough to 12 months. Have fished a fair bit in the creeks, have been over to moreton a fair few times and clocked up around 100 hours in it. I have sold off the 150 etec and put on a nice 140hp suzuki 4 stroke, beautifully quiet and smooth motor! There wasnt anything wrong with the etec but the right deal popped it's head up so I went for it.

I have loved the hull design of this boat and have decided I want to build a bigger centre cab, again will definately be a Performance Plate, so that being said I have listed this one for sale in the classifieds at what I hope is a reasonable price. Its not a desperate sale by any means so will see how it goes.

If anyone wants more info please feel free to PM or check it out in the classifieds.

Rodpal
04-03-2012, 11:07 PM
Hey Matt

That sounds like a great excause for some pics up here man

Bigger ay mmmMMmmm sounds interesting ...

keep it up and u'll end up in something like Alexander lol

cheers Rod

Matt76
10-03-2012, 01:20 PM
Change of plan, instead of selling my baby we have set about turning it into a centre cab!

Have so far cut the hard top off (anyone want to buy a hard top?) cut the middle of the raised floor out and cut out the gunnels to narrow them up to make room to walk around. I will add some pics this arvo!

fisho8
10-03-2012, 05:51 PM
So you went with PLAN B again mate haha well done mate should be an easy conversion very nice boat keep the updates coming.:)

Matt76
10-03-2012, 07:35 PM
So you went with PLAN B again mate haha well done mate should be an easy conversion very nice boat keep the updates coming.:)

Plan B the second? lol

Yeah mate it really looks like it will be an easy conversion, if we didnt narrow the gunnels up it would have been even easier but the cabin would have been too skinny. Would have been much better if I hadnt painted the hull, Oh well live and learn :(

Sam at Performance Plate Boats is an absolute wizz, I cannot wait to see it finished.

Pete from Valet Boat Services will get the exciting job of hooking all the wiring up again, I bet he is looking forward to that one haha. A few things I have learnt along the way with this boat build is how getting the right people for the job can make such a difference. Valet did the electrics hook up and the job was so neat I was able to go through and unhook all the electrics to rip the console out and everything was laid out so neat and organised I could find where everything went, and for a gumby like me, that is a feat!

Should have something to take photo of in the next couple of days.

Squidlet
11-03-2012, 07:07 AM
Will be very interesting to watch this conversion,and im sure the grand marlin cant wait for sprays to come after electric photos are posted!!!
Cheers chris.

stevemid
11-03-2012, 09:04 AM
Hi Matt,
Really nice job. Did you say you built the trailer yourself? Can you refer us to any websites on how you go about a DIY trailer?

Drifty75
11-03-2012, 09:18 AM
Will you lot shut up and let the man post up more pictures!!! :p

Awesome looking boat mate, So jealous...

fisho8
11-03-2012, 10:01 AM
Plan B the second? lol

Yeah mate it really looks like it will be an easy conversion, if we didnt narrow the gunnels up it would have been even easier but the cabin would have been too skinny. Would have been much better if I hadnt painted the hull, Oh well live and learn :(

Sam at Performance Plate Boats is an absolute wizz, I cannot wait to see it finished.

Pete from Valet Boat Services will get the exciting job of hooking all the wiring up again, I bet he is looking forward to that one haha. A few things I have learnt along the way with this boat build is how getting the right people for the job can make such a difference. Valet did the electrics hook up and the job was so neat I was able to go through and unhook all the electrics to rip the console out and everything was laid out so neat and organised I could find where everything went, and for a gumby like me, that is a feat!

Should have something to take photo of in the next couple of days.

Awsome stuff and it is true what you say you need to have the right people on the Job seeing all these boat building threads is making me think about have my own built myself I have been looking at those origin boats out here in clontarf they look to be very well built I am pretty sure they doa 5mtr+ centre cab to as for the paint that should be easy enough to touch up. And as for the electric's Pete and the boys at Valet Boat services will definatly have that covered I hear nothing but positive reports on their workmanship. never stop leaning with boat mate I am on my second one now and if I had my time again I would more than likely ended up with a Platey.:)

fisho8
11-03-2012, 10:10 AM
Will be very interesting to watch this conversion,and im sure the grand marlin cant wait for sprays to come after electric photos are posted!!!
Cheers chris.

I would not worry about it opinions are like arsehole's everyone has one everyone does thing's their own way if you do not like the way someone does something then you will know not to use them. A mate of mine is one of the best Minkota Tech's in Australia and he even still has people trying to tell him how to do his job he just tells them to Get F'd. He is good at his job and that is all that matters to him and BLA and it's customers know it he does not care what anyone else thinks.:)

Axl
11-03-2012, 10:54 AM
Change of plan, instead of selling my baby we have set about turning it into a centre cab!

Have so far cut the hard top off (anyone want to buy a hard top?) cut the middle of the raised floor out and cut out the gunnels to narrow them up to make room to walk around. I will add some pics this arvo!

Matt76 good to hear you have decided to keep her rather than the other option. All the best with the transformation mate it will be interesting to see the pic's.

Matt76
12-03-2012, 09:15 PM
Nothing too interesting to see yet but a a couple of picks to keep you lot entertained ;)

The very first cut, off with the roof!

http://img717.imageshack.us/img717/1663/firstcut2.jpg

Roof off, console removed, cutting out the middle of the raised floor.

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/730/photo8rk.jpg

Matt76
12-03-2012, 09:20 PM
Floor cut out and gunnels cut back

http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/4209/41735310150643144379719.jpg

Matt76
12-03-2012, 09:22 PM
Hi Matt,
Really nice job. Did you say you built the trailer yourself? Can you refer us to any websites on how you go about a DIY trailer?

I didnt come across any DIY sites as such, I just copied off some others and got Active Fabrications at Beenliegh to supply all the bits I needed to bolt onto the chassis.

Squidlet
13-03-2012, 05:10 PM
Well their no turning back now!!!! keep the updates flowing.
Cheers Chris.

Fishbait
13-03-2012, 05:45 PM
Good thread Matt. Did you buy the new suzuki new or second hand like your e-tec. You've taken on an awesome project and the photos are great - keep them coming. Cheers, Darren

Matt76
13-03-2012, 07:22 PM
Bought the Suzuki second hand mate. 300 hours, it's still a nice sweet motor. Will get a newy one day.