View Full Version : Towing weights

yamiemerk
03-08-2010, 09:26 AM
G'day, i'm looking to upgrade from my 3.7m tinny with a 7.5hp to a 4-4.3m with a 35hp, but am unsure about how much it would weigh.

Could anyone give me a rough estimate on how much a 4 - 4.3m tinny with a 35 and front steering etc would weigh including trailer?

M current tow car is a suzuki sierra with only 400kg unbraked towing capacity. It tows my current boat fine, and im not worried about speed, just legalities.

Thanks for any help, Mark

03-08-2010, 09:49 AM
It will be close, big guess on my part is you might end up over including the trailer...but still it depends some tinny's are built very basic and light and some are fitted out and heavy for length..which one is yours?

robothefisho
03-08-2010, 10:43 AM
Motor 100kg
Boat 250kg
Trailer 160 kg
Esky 30 kg
Fuel 20kg
Gear 30kg

And thats a reasonaby light 4.3 m boat.

SilverMoose
03-08-2010, 11:51 AM
I've got a 4.3 front steer runabout and robothefisho is about on the money for weight. All up including some fuel and limited gear the boat trailer tips the scales at around 630kg

Crocodile
03-08-2010, 12:16 PM
Hello yamiemerk ,
I would agree that the 4.3m tinnie will be well over 400kg.
I have studied this subject in detail for my own boat.
Very few cars will tow over about 550kg (unbraked) legally.
The more recent model utes will do so but anything over about five years old is limited to 550kg unbraked.
eg. Mitsubishi Triton, a big powerful 4WD ute, 550kg unbraked limit.
Most Falcons, Commodores, Camrys Magnas about 500kg unbraked limit.
Later models may be better.
Search Carsales.com.au and Drive.com.au and do research.
You also need to check the owners manual and then check the company website because they often reduce towing capacity retrospectively!!!!!!.
Hyundai have actually done this.
Options;
Buy a better car after doing the research.
Put brakes on the trailer (have to go to 13" wheels etc. etc., a real pain in the @rse and huge overkill).

yamiemerk
03-08-2010, 02:32 PM
Thanks for the info.
So assuming that it will be over 400kg, I've been looking into installing electric brakes to up my towing limit to 750kg. Looking at it, it doesen't really look that hard, and i'm relativly experienced with wiring/mechanical installations.

I'm looking at this kit http://cgi.ebay.com.au/10-ELECTRIC-DRUM-BRAKE-KIT-trailer-caravan-camper-part-/170511969033?cmd=ViewItem&pt=AU_product_Trailer_Parts&hash=item27b34e2b09 as a base, but am wondering if i would also need a control box?

robothefisho
03-08-2010, 05:36 PM
You want mechanical over rides on boat trailers because of the corrosion and water ingress problems associated with boat trailers.

banshee
03-08-2010, 05:48 PM
Google 'Spinny Things Trailer parts' they do complete/partial brake kits for trailers at a prety good price.

Crocodile
03-08-2010, 07:36 PM
Hello yamiemerk ,
what is the towing capacity of a Sierra?
I used to have a '95 Vitara and it was 450kg with or without brakes.

White Pointer
03-08-2010, 10:07 PM

You have three problems:

1. The weight of BMT as a towing load behind the Sierra without brakes or with over-ride brakes

2. The Sierra's towing capacity for braked and unbraked trailers and towball down force

3. You might be illegal now and would certainly be with the BMT you are considering.

I reckon that the Sierra is capable of a lot more than 400Kg but Suzuki have limited it on the basis of short wheelbase, narrow track and high centre of gravity which makes them prone to roll overs and jack-knifeing (spelling?)

Rock and a hard place I think.

White Pointer

03-08-2010, 10:31 PM
There are plenty of older cars with decent towing capacities.

The toyota pasenger cars have comparitivly high capaities.....the st141 corrona towed 1 tonne with brakes and 750 unbraked.
Some of the older utes were rediculous lake the early bravos with 400kg unbraked the hilux of the same era did 700 unbraked

yeh I have to agree that any 14 footer with 3hp and front steer will bust 500kg easy.....the young brotherinlaws old savage went 580kg.

yamiemerk
05-08-2010, 11:59 PM
Thanks for the advice everyone. Well it looks like i'll be convincing my father to let me borrow his rodeo to tow it

Jono_SS
06-08-2010, 05:31 AM
Hey Mark.

I used to have a sierra (I really miss that car) until the kids came along. Personally, I used to think my 3.9m tinny with 25hp FELT like the upper limit of what I would want to tow with that car. When I say FELT, I'm talking about how it felt when accelerating, braking distance on the highway and in suburbia and when doing hill starts (including that little wet hill called a boat ramp).

Borrowing your dad's car sounds like a safe idea.

Jono.

Matt76
06-08-2010, 05:41 AM
A 4m tiller steer would get you under the weight limit. I have a 4m with 25 horse that would be under 400kg. (its for sale too! haha)