View Full Version : What do you think this is?

Timfishin4fun
25-07-2010, 02:18 PM
Hi all, I have been looking at google earth and punching in some marks that I converted from my maps.

I decided to just do a bit of a browse around the bay and bar entrances and I'm amazed at what I have found.

Gps point 27 23.645 153 28.587

I have gone into tools and made the terrain value as high as possible, so if you don't see anything try that.

Zoom right into and let me know what you think it is.

I have my thoughts but not sure.

Timbo

By the way we are not stealing anyones fishing spot if thats what you think I'm up to.

Member101
25-07-2010, 03:00 PM
I punched the mark into google earth and ended up somewhere near japan. Is that where you were looking??? 27 23.645 153 28.587???

Gon Fishun
25-07-2010, 03:18 PM
Ghost of Jap sub?:rifle:

Colins Sub poaching.:P

seastorm
25-07-2010, 03:21 PM
Just make sure you are using the same datum, to check this use google earth to locate your own house and get the GPS marks. Then punch these marks into your own GPS and see if they match up .

Timfishin4fun
25-07-2010, 03:33 PM
I punched the mark into google earth and ended up somewhere near japan. Is that where you were looking??? 27 23.645 153 28.587???

It's just in front of amity North straddie. The marks should be good.

Make sure you are in the right format.

Timbo

mowerman
25-07-2010, 03:34 PM

27 23.645 s 153 28.587 e

Try that.

Rod

Timfishin4fun
25-07-2010, 03:34 PM
Ghost of Jap sub?:rifle:

Colins Sub poaching.:P

Looks like a sub to me.

Timbo

bennykenny
25-07-2010, 03:38 PM
cant tell what it is looks like a boat wake but there is no boat, are you thinking container off a ship, looks a bit close in for that???

25-07-2010, 04:04 PM
I just went to google maps and put this in the search bar
27 23.645 153 28.587.

I went a bit below the middle of the scale in the zoomy in and out thingo and got a pretty good picture. I just clicked the zoom out button 8 times
I don't know...it looks like a face and a few booby's to me.

25-07-2010, 05:15 PM
I call it for a jet ski wake.

Timfishin4fun
25-07-2010, 05:55 PM
Looks wierd though hey.

Thought there might of been some more conspiracy theory's out there or maybe you just got in to quick.

Timbo

boney-leg
25-07-2010, 06:08 PM
I don't know...it looks like a face and a few booby's to me.

Best keep away from shrinks and their ink blot tests Finga ;D

25-07-2010, 06:35 PM
Best keep away from shrinks and their ink blot tests Finga ;D
Na...fair dinkum. Try it.
Go to Google maps
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&ie=UTF8&ll=37.09024,-95.712891&spn=47.167389,92.8125&z=4&om=1&layer=c&utm_campaign=en&utm_source=en-ha-na-us-google-svn&utm_medium=ha

Paste these co-ordinates in 27 23.645 153 28.587
And then press the zoom out button 8 times.
There's definitely a face towards the middle top and to the right there's definitely booby's.
Even the cook says so.

It's more defined if you only zoom out 7 clicks and then bring the top down a smidge.

25-07-2010, 06:46 PM
Aaaah. I see the problem. I went Google maps not Google earth..
Oops

25-07-2010, 06:51 PM
I just got Google earth going...try zooming out a bit.
You'll see the face and the booby's...ya gotta see them.
http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Surprise/surprised-033.gif

bennykenny
25-07-2010, 07:19 PM
WOW. they look nice and firm!!!

Sea-Dog
25-07-2010, 09:54 PM
Could this possibly be a US warship?

Google could have an agreement with US Govt not to publish any images of its warships.

Measured at 131 Metres long with Google Earths measuring tool.

That is 41M longer than US subs. It is an unusual place for a warship to be though, or for any ship for that matter.

Meh, who knows?....

dnej
25-07-2010, 10:58 PM
A whale, just under the water?

25-07-2010, 10:59 PM
I think it might be an image overlay error. Lots of GE's images are overlayed over older images and the previous ones are sort of visible under newer ones.
I would very much doubt a sub would approach that bar and definitely not from that angle.

griz066
26-07-2010, 06:40 AM
If you zoom right in close to the aft you cam just see Captain Barbossa standing to one side so that would make it the Black Pearl;D;D;D;D

26-07-2010, 07:13 PM
If you zoom right in close to the aft you cam just see Captain Barbossa standing to one side so that would make it the Black Pearl;D;D;D;D
And they reckon I'm troubled.
Mate, your 7/8th's of the way to the place with padded walls. :)

URAGANGI
26-07-2010, 09:59 PM
FANTASTC it's a load of boat people with a busted compass and they are headed for a sandbank,and one P.O.B is taking a shower on the deck, that's where Finga got his booby's from?

Sail away Sail away Sail the bloody hell away from here Sail away.....

samsnap
27-07-2010, 01:58 PM
Its "the hammersley" & your looking at "Bomber" Finger

URAGANGI
27-07-2010, 03:38 PM
Ahh Samsnap you've broken me up LOL, I'd have the XO on the Hammersley out for dinner anytime! Not to keen on "Bomber" though.

SeaHunt
27-07-2010, 04:09 PM
This is how I get my spots, zoom in on Google Earth, find small ships just sitting there and steal their marks.
If they are anchored in the middle of no-where they have to be fishing.
Load them up on the GPS and check them out next time you are out there.
Imagine having your best spot stolen by a spy satellite.