PDA

View Full Version : 23ft sharkcat

Ron boucher
22-07-2010, 10:53 PM
G,day gents im new to this, but i most say i have enjoyed reading the threads with great intrest. IM a west aussie that loves cats, right from my very first ride on a marlin broadbill 5.2m with mercury 75hp,s at a port hedland boat show in 1984, i was seven years of age and i have never forgot that day. I have owned a 6.2m marlin broadbill which was very wet and a 5.2m kevlacat that was like driving a sports car on rails, both have been wonderful boats in thier own right. Now my latest is this 23ft sharkcat see photo's attach, QUESTION WHAT IS THE BUILD DATE, LATE 1970,s or early 1980,s my plan is to do a full rebuild and bring it back to the classic it was and still is. any info would be great to here good or bad.
go the cats.
cheers Ron boucher.

Noelm
23-07-2010, 12:38 PM
not too sure of how old that one would be, I don't think there was very much difference in the early ones to the early 80's, but I am sure there probably was some things different, I know the very early 20' had the fuel tanks above the floor, but I think the 23 always had them below the floor. I am sure someone will hop in and have a bit more of a clue for you.

cormorant
23-07-2010, 02:34 PM
with a couple of my old boats I have asked the rego people and they have been able to tell me when first registered to narrow it down a bit. Depend on state as different states recorded stuff differently.

Sometimes fittings have had dayes on them in the serial numbers

I had they exact material on cushion covers in 1984 ha ha - must have been fashionable back then and I saw it for years.

If that is a original trailer it will have a welded number in the crossbar just behind the hitch or on the starboard side ? I know what number my trailer was. Trailer grew a extra axel. We had a tri. Trailer weighed in at 900kg

Most never had the lower buffer on the side so it may have been used commercially?

Noelm
23-07-2010, 03:03 PM