View Full Version : 4 stroke lifespan.

Mad Fish
11-07-2010, 06:09 PM
Hi guys,
How long do you think a 150 Yammie four stroke should last? Assuming it is serviced regulary. I'm getting 1600 hrs from one salesman and 3000 hrs without any problem from another..
What you think I'd like some opinions

11-07-2010, 06:12 PM
Much more like 3000. As Noelm has said, other things usually do them in than normal engine wear.

Seahorse
11-07-2010, 06:13 PM
is it an issue, just enjoy what u got.
if it 3000 hrs or 1500 hrs, would see me out.

11-07-2010, 06:19 PM
Hard to determine the exact figure,

depends on a lot of factors.. ie how your boat is used, do you troll alot. how well the engine is setup. what engine oil is used.

generally speaking you should get a good 15 years use with regular/proper servicing.. possibly longer.. how it is serviced will be a major factor.

Mad Fish
11-07-2010, 06:51 PM
Thanks guys. I use the boat every 2weeks so have done 745hrs in 6 years someone told me that the best time to re power is at 800 hrs because it is 1/2 way through it's life. Just a bit concerned as we go 65k's out quite a lot and don't want to have problems out there.

tigermullet
11-07-2010, 07:22 PM
If my little 8hp 2 stroke Yamaha is a guide then it should last for decades. It starts first time every time, been serviced three times (probably a waste of money) and has just turned 25. Of course, they might have built them extra well in 1985. If it conks out I'll definitely buy another one. Good brand.

gr hilly
11-07-2010, 09:11 PM
one of my mates has a 25 Yamaha 20 yrs old hes changed the plugs 4 times never flushed it' he goes out twice a week and never had a problem and he only knows 1 speed that's flat out, i gues some some of us are just blessed.
Hilly

indy
12-07-2010, 08:25 AM
My suzuki mechanic told me that with my 140 i should get about 3000 hrs but he said with the bigger blocks it was quite alot more than that

12-07-2010, 08:42 AM
I kind of doubt it would be possible to put a definitve time/hour frame on how long a motor will last, be it 2 stroke or 4 stroke, lots of things can and do happen to shorten the estimated life of any engine, there has been recorded instances of commercial motors getting well over 6,000 hours out of them and they are still running, but then lots of others (from the same operators) have failed in less than half that, a recreational user would almost certainly never ever wear out an outboard, it will rust to bits before it get the 6,000 hours a commercial user would get, or you would die of old age before it wears out. But there is plenty of motors gone to god in 5 years with 100 hours on them, just as there is still 30 year old outboards still running, just use them as much as possible, get them serviced by someone who knows your motor and hope for the best.

LoungeLizard
12-07-2010, 08:44 AM
Most charter boats seem to change their motors at around 2000 - 2500 hours. These guys would change motors before any serious issues start to appear, so I'd say 2500 - 3000 hours is what you could expect before a motor becomes unreliable and/or not worth repairing. But as others have said is depends a lot on the servicing, how you use it etc. A bit like a car, really.

Mad Fish
12-07-2010, 08:21 PM
Thanks guys makes me feel a lot better about keeping mine at least to 2000 hrs ::)

andkat
13-07-2010, 09:10 PM
Mate,
I personally know a local pro who has never flushed his 2 Yam 250 4banger's in their 5 yrs of use. He has had all the services done, he would be pushing close to 6000 hrs per motor. He said he would be pushing get these 2 to make 8000. His last 2 made 8200. He said his last 2 were Johnson's 4 bangers ( Suzi's re-badge now ) After these he current Yam 4 strokes he said he would be going back to Suzuki's as he said the fact was they ran timing chains, not some cheap Chinese rubber that needed changing every @$^& so number of hrs!!!!!8-) The choice of language was what made me look at Suzi's when I chose mine.
Mate if I can get close to 3000 out of my 90Suzi, I would be more than happy.
The trick is to keep up the services and maintence, and not to leave to longer hrs between services.
Bit like my 97 TDI Disco, still original 2.5 ltr Diesel motor, pushing 400,00klm, service done every 5000kl, timing belt done at 90,000klm intervals. You look after your toy's!!!!! they will look after you.

Crawfy

yowie3
18-07-2010, 11:02 AM
We have 4 stroke Suzukis at work. The replacement schedule for them is 1500hrs. They are by no means rooted at 1500hrs, it is just a reliability/warranty thing. After 1500hrs i guess you can still trade them for a reasonable price. Add a little bit extra, purchase a brand new engine and commence reliability/warranty time again for another 1500hrs.

Looking at the figures you have quoted 745hrs in 6 years equates to approx 124hrs a year. this means that you could replace your engine at 1500hrs and it would take you 12 years??? by then a newer more economical lighter engine will have been produced!!

18-07-2010, 11:36 AM
Crawfy - good to see another Discophile on the board. I reckon you are right 300,000k on an original 95 3.9 V8 Disco and 160000 on an original D2 4.0 Disco and all I do is service them properly.

The net fisherman around Brisbane usually rack up 3,000 hours or so and trade up every 2-3 years. The problem of the past where that hot hours allow big hours, but for a recreational fisho doing a hundred hours a year if lucky corrosion (from sitting) and other things running down - like wiring were the problem. Now the corrosion issue with modern coatings should be really a thing of the past with basic flushing. So even though hot hours are the best for reducing wear on parts I would be very surprised if a modern 4 banger did not last 15-20 years without hassles for a weekend warrior.

OPTI
18-07-2010, 05:30 PM
do a google or check [the hull truth] about 4 year old yamaha 4 strokes corroding the exhaust divider out ,and NO WARRANTY,id say its more the age than the hours,but 1500 is starting to get up there