View Full Version : Outboard mechanic per hour cost

devocean
01-07-2010, 05:01 PM
Got my boat serviced today the bloke charged me $110 bucks an hour for labour. Does this seem pretty dear- does to me

tigermullet
01-07-2010, 05:08 PM
You sure he wasn't a heart surgeon in drag?

01-07-2010, 05:12 PM
What was the total cost of service and what did he do in the hour? Did he charge for consumables and all the little stuff or was that included? Did he use wholesale or retail parts price

Big difference between a book hour and a honest hour and what value you get.

$110 is seriously top dollar in my mind but it really depends on what you got for your hour

gr hilly
01-07-2010, 05:43 PM
that's nuts
Hilly

devocean
01-07-2010, 06:08 PM
Job sheet reads:

12 month service as per service schedule
Overhaul of carbys and replace fit water pump repir kit
New plugs

Total parts : $152- 48
Total Labour : $220

It was on a yamaha 25 - dropped it off at 8.30 picked it up at 1pm

devocean
01-07-2010, 06:09 PM
total cost: $383

01-07-2010, 06:13 PM
I reckon if he did overhaul the carbi/s and did the waterpump and then the rest of the stuff involved in a service then he worked pretty hard in the 2 hours that he billed you.
I'd rather pay that then someone who charges $80/hr and takes 4 hours because he's spent 2 hours on his bloody mobile phone talking to his mates and then bills you for it.

krazyfisher
01-07-2010, 06:16 PM
cant see how you can get trades man under that rate

Steeler
01-07-2010, 06:18 PM
I guess he could have charged 3hrs @ $73.3333333333333333333 p/hr;)

Now where is that goose button i will give myself one.

Steeler

01-07-2010, 06:48 PM
Now if you had a mobile mechanic come and do the work infront of your eyes:o

You would see what you are paying for ;D

$110 tho.. crikey he must be good:D

01-07-2010, 06:55 PM
Now if you had a mobile mechanic come and do the work infront of your eyes:o

You would see what you are paying for ;D

$110 tho.. crikey he must be good:D
So how long would it roughly take you to do that job Gary and, if it is not a rude question, what would you have charged for a service and water pump overhaul?

01-07-2010, 07:09 PM
So how long would it roughly take you to do that job Gary and, if it is not a rude question, what would you have charged for a service and water pump overhaul?

Scott, I did one in May just gone $274.00 including 2hrs labor, regular parts and $25 worth of parts from the wreckers to repair his throttle linkage assembly.

01-07-2010, 07:25 PM
So there you go everyone in Brisbane, Gold Coast and surrounds.
Use GD Marine Services and save some bucks...a lot of bucks :)

01-07-2010, 07:30 PM
Isn't this the same old billing practice typical of hourly charges for workers.

1 business 2 workers but every 40 hours each works 60-80h worth of labour is paid by the consumer...it's been going on forever.

IMO on that small engine and the service was just plugs/gear oil and pump/grease prop shaft, grease where ever else it needs and a general look over/start up 1 to 1.25h would be fair and none of it flat out, no sweat here.

Steeler
01-07-2010, 07:33 PM
So there you go everyone in Brisbane, Gold Coast and surrounds.
Use GD Marine Services and save some bucks...a lot of bucks :)

Put the pressure on him,he is already working 7 days a week after the last thread wrapping him for his good work;D

Steeler

bastard
02-07-2010, 05:49 PM
i reckon its pretty fair for an anual service if he did the carbies,there wouldnt be to many tradies on abn under 60 dollars an hour so that hourly rate seems high but if he has a factory and overheads i guess its right,he should have just given the bill and no hourly rate.

02-07-2010, 06:19 PM
Put the pressure on him,he is already working 7 days a week after the last thread wrapping him for his good work;D

Steeler

That last thread sucked me in!! Cant say I am unhappy with the work though. Boat is running like a champ now.

02-07-2010, 06:23 PM

Steeler
I'm really a greenie in disguise.
My theory is to keep the bugger off the water and a lot of fish will have a better chance of survival.
So there. The truth is out. I'm a greenie ;D

devocean
02-07-2010, 06:33 PM
Thanks boys for the replys I guess living in NQ is always a little more expensive - but we do have metre barra and coral trout 100 metres from the ramp so its not so bad.

The true test will be how it goes in 6 months time

devocean
02-07-2010, 06:34 PM
Hey Finga good to see you are still alive. I use to have some great threads with you back in 2006- where has the time gone!

02-07-2010, 07:31 PM
Hey Finga good to see you are still alive. I use to have some great threads with you back in 2006- where has the time gone!
Buggered if I know where the time flies to.
Yeap, it's been a while and I did take a long break for a couple of years when the health wasn't real good.

02-07-2010, 07:41 PM
My theory is to keep the bugger off the water and a lot of fish will have a better chance of survival.
So there. The truth is out. I'm a greenie ;D

Well ya don't have to worry too much about that... seems the fish are nowhere to be found around my local haunts....Stay tunned tho.. got a week up north with the boys soon.. PURE FISHIN:D

02-07-2010, 08:07 PM
They are so spoilt up there its crazy...we have to work so hard down here for a feed in comparison!

02-07-2010, 08:38 PM
Yeh Scott, I am hearin ya.. once you have had RED ya just have to go back :)

devocean
03-07-2010, 09:19 AM
OzScott those that work hard are rewared up here as well. Nothing stopping you from moving north- can't live for work go to work to fish

gr hilly
03-07-2010, 09:51 AM
So there. The truth is out. I'm a greenie ;D ;D i grow 2000 trees a month so i supose im a greenie to mate logan is a lot greener for my effort i suppose and i have not caught many fish lately either we are a good pair :D
Hilly

Dean1
03-07-2010, 10:07 AM
Well ya don't have to worry too much about that... seems the fish are nowhere to be found around my local haunts....Stay tunned tho.. got a week up north with the boys soon.. PURE FISHIN:D
Wheres my invite??? Can i be a Terry tag along??? ;D

03-07-2010, 10:45 AM
OzScott those that work hard are rewared up here as well. Nothing stopping you from moving north- can't live for work go to work to fish

Yep - good moto; tempting.

03-07-2010, 11:50 AM
Wheres my invite??? Can i be a Terry tag along??? ;D

If ya recon ya can keep up with a 30ft cat with twin 2fitties sure ya can ;D

devocean
04-07-2010, 01:15 PM
With my new service costing $110 an hour I reckon my tinny may be up to keeping up with you Spaniard King