PDA

View Full Version : Opinions/recomendations sought (QLD)

no eye deer
24-06-2010, 01:59 PM
G'day experts,

I am heading to T.I in July, and need a boat.

As you probably know, its pretty windy there.I want to fish just offshore(maybe 3-5 ks). I am not an expert offshore, but have some boating experience in a 4.5mt barra boat from Arnhemland.

So- I am guessing 5mt?

Fibreglass, as my budget stops at $10 k?

Thats about it. Whatja reckon. Any pointers?

thanks fellas,
Mark

Franco
24-06-2010, 03:25 PM
Look at any of second hand Hookers, Galeforce, Haines Drifters (now know as 490 breeze), UB boats they're all very popular up there and very little between them overall apart from strengths in different areas eg fishability vs room vs stability etc.

I have a 490 Breeze, my mates up there have the same as well as a 5m side console Quicksilver (sim to the hookers). Good all-rounders that'll get you home if it blows. For true "offshore" trips you'd have to look at true "offshore boats" though, with proper protection from the elements and freeboard.

Scott nthQld
24-06-2010, 03:34 PM
check out any long boats, hookers, which are a cross between a longboat and 'normal boat'. i'd probably go for something in a centre console with a t-top and big screen. becasue you won't be going all that far offshore, I gather range and economy isn't too big of an issue, so going with a 2 stroke will save you some dollars as well.

It all depends on what you are after in a boat, there's just so many configurations, like cabins, runabouts, tiller etc. maybe if you could ellaborate a bit more as to what you want in a boat (like a cabin etc) you'd get some more specific answers.

the Galeforce are a great boat, but you hardly see any come up for sale 2nd hand, a newy will be well out of your budget

Flex
24-06-2010, 05:05 PM