View Full Version : Your inventions...

wayno60
17-06-2010, 07:13 PM
Guys,
just been playing with an old 4.5m glass hull and got me thinking while its in this condition what little creature comforts or things i could knock up in the shed (instead of paying top $$$$) you have added to your boats.

mod5
17-06-2010, 07:35 PM
Going to sticky this for a while. We should get some good ideas for people. ;)

18-06-2010, 07:20 AM
You cannot go wrong putting storage in a boat.
A place for everything and everything in it's place type of thing.
Makes things easy to find and prevents a lot of damages.

One thing I put in the tiny tinny is an ashtray.
I hate the bloody butts and minty wrappers etc on the floor. They're a pain in the proverbial to clean out so it's easier to put an ashtray in.
I'll get a picture later :)

dreemon
19-06-2010, 06:15 PM
Has anyone got a unique idea for a bin in the boat?,

having kids with lollie wrappers, chip bags and all the other things that can get sucked outa the boat gives me the shite's , (I allways turn around and net what has flown out)

not as bad in the cudcab as it was in the tinny, I was using a largish plastic bottle with a big screw cap but lost the cap, would be great to have something conveinent and obvious for all to use. Cheers

I might have an idea. . . . .

Jono_SS
19-06-2010, 08:51 PM
Maritime Safety Queensland were giving out some fantastic yellow buckets at the boat shows. They have flip top lids and are perfect for rubbish.

Just remember to empty them when you get back, not when you get the boat ready a week later and remember where you stowed the prawn packets.

Prior to the MSQ bin, I used an old 4 litre oil bottle, with a hole in the side. The bottle fitted very neatly in the side pocket of the tinny.

moater
20-06-2010, 01:00 PM
Haven't done it yet but I reckon a basic plastic battery box could be converted into a very good storage area for all sorts of gear.Would be great to protect (wrapped) reels for example.Could also be quickly removed and carried to your car rather than leave it in the boat for thieves to acquire.

wayno60
20-06-2010, 09:51 PM
http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/8131/picture181.jpg
Im making a live bait tank out of one of the rear seats.
there's only ever two ppl in the boat at any one time
and its a waist of space.

Benben86
20-06-2010, 10:00 PM
Stubbie holders!!! Necessity

gr hilly
20-06-2010, 10:12 PM
emty cans are a top ash tray.

wayno60
20-06-2010, 10:16 PM
http://img63.imageshack.us/img63/811/picture190e.jpg

matt fraser
20-06-2010, 10:47 PM
Here is my Ironing board cleaning table. Great height for cleaning fish, and packs away neatly.

crozz001
21-06-2010, 02:50 AM
I refused to pay big bucks for rod holders so made my own out of two old bimini frames, I cut them to the desired height and screwed them to the gunnels with the original saddles.

I stiffened them with a few of the tube offcuts and stainless allthread then attached slotted timber rod holders to the top surface.

They hold the rods at a good angle to the water and have never let me down, I was later given a teflon bait board that clips over the rails.

All up the costs were kept under $25.

Feral
21-06-2010, 05:21 AM
I reckon the simplest things are the ones that do it for me, and its not an invention, but handy.

My Favourite is when I have the kids on board, I have an adjustable beach umbrella I put in a rod holder to give them shade. Just tie it off at the right angle and it doesn't matter what time of day it is the kids are in the shade. Not like a useless bimini that only gives you shade from 11:30 to 12:30 and is always in the way!

The other one is my "portable" sounder, where my transducer is screwed to a length of old packing case, which in turn is "G clamped" to the transom of which ever boat I want to use the sounder in!

The other good one is using an old tent pole with a drop down base for your all round light. Easily makes it over the required 1m above your nav lights (or boat structure if your mexican), slides down compact and folds down out of the way.

I also have an old plastic dinner plate which fits on that light just below the globe that stops any light shining in the boat or on the water around the boat.

What is my most desired invention that is not available yet?
When someone puts the autopilot switch for a bowmount on to the remote! I'll be queueing up at midnight like ya missus queueing for Tom Jones tickets to get my hands on one of those!

21-06-2010, 07:23 AM
Here is my Ironing board cleaning table. Great height for cleaning fish, and packs away neatly.

I got a fold down aluminium ambulance gerni to do the same job.
Nice and big and stable and won't rust :)

Here's a few things I've done to the tiny tinny.
Storage is a must so the first is the battery box and tool box (because you never know when you'll need it)
The second is the front hatches where the fuel tank is.
Each side also opens up and where the anchor is and where the old towels and bait buckets etc are.
The front is where all the jackets and spare rope etc is kept.
The third is a set of steps I put on the back. Amasing how often I use these to get myself off sand banks and pushing out after launching.
The third is where the VHF and sounders and gps are. There's storage for the first aid kit, Alvey tackle box and maps.
Under the seat is a draw (just below the donger) with the emergency gear like fish id books and size and bag limit guides (because I can't remeber them all now seeing they change every week) compass, flares and blowhorn etc.
The landing net has it's home and there are a couple of knife holders on the other side where the pliers and sidecutters are also placed.
Everything can come out to make the cleaning easy.
And the final result...

And the last one is a bait board I made up for a mate.
It has a good drain in the front and a knife slot/pocket at the back so the knives literally don't go out the back :P

wayno60
21-06-2010, 06:45 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=59280&stc=1&thumb=1&d=1277068720 (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=59280&d=1277068720)

This is really the business end of the boat. nice!!

24-06-2010, 12:25 PM
http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/8131/picture181.jpg
Im making a live bait tank out of one of the rear seats.
there's only ever two ppl in the boat at any one time
and its a waist of space.

I had a similar setup to this on my old 18th Mustang. I cut the seat part out, and gained extra fishing space.

Coontakinta
25-06-2010, 11:49 AM
Finga, that is bloody amazing stuff fella!
Love the concatena hatch, what a great idea and that bait board.........!
Looks to be a VERY verstile rig
Well done

tenzing
25-06-2010, 07:34 PM
Stubby Holders.
Sick of spilling the corona on the pillies.
Couldnt find the perfect place or hardware, Decided to modify a dual wine cooler heavy job from tallon marine ( way too wobbly in their holder due to its weight) .I had a stainless bracket made up locally ( Holt Marine ) and bolted it to the back of the bait board.
Holds two stubbies in their coolers, or 600ml coke buddies .Doesnt fill up with crap either.
possibly the most extravagant stubby holders I have ever seen but it was all a case of recycling and I was very happy with the result
Brendan.

NTMID8
26-06-2010, 12:26 PM
Stubby Holders.
Sick of spilling the corona on the pillies.
Couldnt find the perfect place or hardware, Decided to modify a dual wine cooler heavy job from tallon marine ( way too wobbly in their holder due to its weight) .I had a stainless bracket made up locally ( Holt Marine ) and bolted it to the back of the bait board.
Holds two stubbies in their coolers, or 600ml coke buddies .Doesnt fill up with crap either.
possibly the most extravagant stubby holders I have ever seen but it was all a case of recycling and I was very happy with the result
Brendan.

Have you got a model number for the holders????

I LOVE THE IDEA!!!!!!;D;D;D;D;D;D

tenzing
26-06-2010, 04:09 PM
Have you got a model number for the holders????

I LOVE THE IDEA!!!!!!;D;D;D;D;D;D
"stainless drink holder- pacific collection"
http://www.tallonsystems.com/cms/index.php?page=english-browse&key=/english/Marine+Accessories/Entertaining
Brendan

Just watch the clearance when lifting the outboard if you need to make a bracket like mine.
I used 3 mm stainless as its pretty heavy

NTMID8
27-06-2010, 12:03 AM

$199 though for a drink holder is a bit steep for me :o

tenzing
27-06-2010, 06:43 AM
I agree totally.
I got it as part of a package of a whole lot of stuff at a boat show in sydney a couple of years ago and couldnt really use it in the way it was designed. I dont need to have two open wine bottles in my boat either. This way I made some use out of it.
Brendan

NTMID8
27-06-2010, 01:18 PM
Nice, i like the idea and will be keeping my eyes peeled for something very similar

28-06-2010, 10:08 PM
I've got a 4.2 mt tinnie that had no gunnel to speak of and just invited anyone to fall out especially when watering the fish. I just added some home made riveted brackets to each frame and connected a timber gunnel to each side. Easy to make as long and wide as you want and easy to screw rod holders on top and anything you want underneath. A sliding car ashtray under each side for starters.

30-06-2010, 05:12 PM
I like the idea of flushing my 2.3HP Evinrude on the tender / canal cruiser but I've got way too lazy to pull the motor off the boat to run it in a bucket of fresh.......

So I replaced the tell tale hose that used to run out and discharge down under the cowl with one that slopes down but now passes out the side of the motor cover and pokes out for 150mm or so.

Now I can see the pathic steam / smoke that discharges thu it at really slow revs and nice water stream that happens at a few more revs.

Most importantly and moving back to the main point of this story; I can now plug a fresh water bottle onto the end of the tell tale hose and give the engine a flush of fresh. The flow is squeezed from the bottle and flushes the engine and down to the prop while the motors turned off and still on the boat thats pulled up out of the drink.

Seems to work well and apart from a short bit of plastic hose and drilling a hole is super cheap as I did rescue the flush bottle from the recycling bin.

05-07-2010, 10:40 AM
Before the water crisis, I had been in the habit of washing the brakes and underside of my boat trailer after each outing with a garden sprinkler for a few minutes.

This worked a treat albeit being able to push the sprinkler to the right spot under the trailer was sometimes a clumsy hit-and-miss affair.

However, during the worst of the water crisis, even though the boofhead water commissioner of the day felt that it was ok for her to build a swimming pool at her home at the worst time in the crisis, the rest of us were under very strict rules about using only hoses with trigger nozzles to wash the trailer brakes and to be as quick about it as possible.

I followed these rules to the letter and have no doubt that I never got as much salt out of the trailer and brakes as when I could use a sprinkler underneath.

In 2010, sprinklers are still not approved for use, but I reckon that if they were, something like what you see here would be just the ant's pants for washing under your boat trailer. :D With say two passes of the washer like you see in the video below, i reckon that it would do a much better job with much less use of water than trying to hose all of the trailer members and brakes with a trigger nozzle from various points outside of the trailer. Based on what the Youtube video timer tells us about how long it took to pull the washer gismo under the trailer, two passes, each one close to the opposite sides of the trailer would take just 2 1/2 minutes in total. A very efficient use of water, imho.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lHP2QvL7ye8

http://img.skitch.com/20100704-xh3d753a91nan455cc9kbs98yf.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dmn6d/skitched-20100705-085837)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dmn6d/skitched-20100705-085837) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

http://img.skitch.com/20100704-jksd1ysumwh7gb2xhqp2fhedw9.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dmn9y/skitched-772)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dmn9y/skitched-772) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

http://img.skitch.com/20100705-rqbk9sk7u9yweq4eckcpxcgdya.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dmn6i/skitched-771)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dmn6i/skitched-771) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

I am sure that the plumbers or landscapers would tell me that there are better and cheaper ways to do the plumbing on this washer but it works for me.

All materials obtainable from Bunnings. I already had a very long extension pole that screws into a paint roller or a paintbrush holder such as I have used on this tool but shorter rods with the screw fitting on the end connected to a broom or paint roller are probably already sitting in your garage.

I suspect that a single sprinkler on a short bit of tube, say 300 mm long might be a perfectly adequate solution and maybe three passes underneath with such might do the job perfectly well.

Originally, I intended just using hardwood skids rather than the wheels but I had the wheels sitting in my box of unused hardware bits and pieces and am pleased that I have used wheels. The contraption is very easy to manoeuvre under the trailer with wheels.

(PS Yes - I know that I need to replace the broken tail light. That is a job for this week. :-[ )

05-07-2010, 11:20 AM
Good to see that you made it to comply with survey specs by using 2 ties and two screws!

I did similar but different in that I mounted black poly hose with sprinkler heads screwed into the hose ontothe trailer and it covers the entire trailer and brakes on the 4 wheels and the water goes thru an inline filter to keep the little nozzles clear. Hook it up to a trigger fitting and its all legal too. It was anyhow as you have to maintain brakes for roadworthy vehicle operation!

05-07-2010, 11:35 AM
I did similar but different in that I mounted black poly hose with sprinkler heads screwed into the hose

Thanks. I had thought about using the sprinkler heads on black poly but was not sure how much pressure and water volume would come out of them. That would certainly be a more elegant solution.

I wanted a flood of water rather than a light sprinkle so I used the less elegant and more expensive option of conventional sprinkers and hose fittings.

Works for me, anyway. 8-)

05-07-2010, 12:03 PM
Pity you didn't use black cable ties Charlie.
Those aren't UV proof.

And seeing you such a good bloke I'll give you a great tradies secret.
Trim the cable ties tags with a trimming knive flush to the squarish grippy bit of the cable tie. Doing it that way will not leave a dagger to catch you, stab you and then cut you causing the claret to pour profusely out of your body.

Other then that what a great idea.
And the proof is in your trailer. If that's all the rust after 8 years been left in the weather then goodo I say ;D

05-07-2010, 12:14 PM
Those aren't UV proof.

True. I shall have to get some. Thanks for your advice.

05-07-2010, 12:20 PM
True. I shall have to get some. Thanks for your advice.

I would not bother until they break. Not worth the effort :)

05-07-2010, 12:25 PM
Those aren't UV proof.

And seeing you such a good bloke I'll give you a great tradies secret.
Trim the cable ties tags with a trimming knive flush to the squarish grippy bit of the cable tie. Doing it that way will not leave a dagger to catch you, stab you and then cut you causing the claret to pour profusely out of your body.

Other then that what a great idea.
And the proof is in your trailer. If that's all the rust after 8 years been left in the weather then goodo I say ;D

Squarish grippy bit.........................there's a technical term if ever I heard one......................::) :D :o :P

05-07-2010, 12:26 PM
I would not bother until they break. Not worth the effort :)

Understood thanks. Nonetheless, I only used these because that was all I had at hand in the larger sizes. You have just reminded me to write down cable ties for my next shopping trip.:)

A multiplicity of thanks.8-)

Defore
06-07-2010, 05:03 PM
Squarish grippy bit.........................there's a technical term if ever I heard one......................::) :D :o :P

The full technical term is Squarish clicky grippy bit ;D

deckie
15-07-2010, 11:06 PM
Does this look like anything from around the house ?
How about the second pic ?

Its one of those desk filing 'in/out" trays.

Was staring at it on the desk one day and had a stupid thought...and when i measured it up it was an uncanny fit if cut in half for the shelf without too much fiddling.
No idea why i did it...just one of those dumb things u decide to do on spur of the moment.
Need to tidy up some trim and get some plastic tackle trays.
Dont do this ;D...more trouble than its worth.
Buy them lol.

17-07-2010, 03:58 PM
Preamble

"Keep warm or you will catch pneumonia!" is what my dear old Mum used to tell me consistently when she was alive.

As I get older, I know that I should heed the words of Mum more than I did/do. I have never had pneumonia but I am only just now getting over a very bad cold that I contracted when I went fishing on a very cold night about three weeks ago.

So , during that time when I have not been game to go fishing again, I have been doing all sorts of fix-ups and little jobs around the boat that might make my fishing experience a little better.

This one is not earth shattering and took all of five minutes to do but in the spirit of this thread, I am showing it anyway.

Detail

My little aluminium runabout has a good big solid bait board at the rear of the boat but I usually get too lazy to want to stand up and use it all of the time. Instead, I usually prefer to used a small domestic cutting board on top of an upturned bucket or on top of an esky or more usually, on top of the gunwale.

I have just formalised this latter arrangement with a couple of narrow strips of white perspex that will serve as cutting boards and which are secured to the gunwales with double-sided tape as shown below.

The strips of perspex were factory off-cuts obtained from the Reverse Garbage shop at West End in Brisbane for $1.20 each. They were as you see the one in the photo except that they have a protective plastic film on both sides that needs to be peeled off. ie no cutting to shape or rounding of the edges is involved if you can find pieces there to suit you.

The double sided tape is a cheapie that Bunnings often have on sale in their aisles. This tape is a bit thicker and a lot more sticky than their premium 3M brand stuff and so whilst I have not taken the boat out with these perspex pieces in place yet, I am pretty confident that the perspex will stay in place in all weathers. Using generous amounts of the tape is no big deal as the el cheapo stuff is quite cheap.

I have installed a couple of the perspex strips on either side of the boat to suit usage from rear and front seats.

http://img.skitch.com/20100717-1b8aa486c7wb5ajqhe9maaknjx.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dc9ny/skitched-20100717-155642)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/dc9ny/skitched-20100717-155642) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

I would still use my big bait board if I were taking fillets off a mullet or tailor for bait but for little jobs like cutting a pilchard in half, a lump of perspex on top of the gunwale is very suitable.

Fishbait
17-07-2010, 07:35 PM
Brought myself a $5 sink from a Garage Sale earlier this year, but $80 worth of copper plumbing fittings later - and presto, my new filleting table. Have since added a $10 shower rack underneath the sink to take the soap, towel, detergent, brush etc. Also cut up some marine ply to have as my fillett board on top of sink. All the scraps go into a bag in the bin and hence no smell later. Only blood of the board is washed down the sink. Waste water straight into my garden bed on other side of fence. Cheers, Darren

Fishbait
17-07-2010, 07:46 PM
And one more invention i suppose - have just extended my old baitboard higher and back out of the cockpit area to give me more room. Made from 40mm aluminium pipe - i think the little extension has done the trick well.

Steve B
17-07-2010, 07:49 PM
Brought myself a $5 sink from a Garage Sale earlier this year, but $80 worth of copper plumbing fittings later - and presto, my new filleting table. Have since added a $10 shower rack underneath the sink to take the soap, towel, detergent, brush etc. Also cut up some marine ply to have as my fillett board on top of sink. All the scraps go into a bag in the bin and hence no smell later. Only blood of the board is washed down the sink. Waste water straight into my garden bed on other side of fence. Cheers, Darren

Love it Darren,

It would be much funnier if it drained into the neighbours back yard!!!;D;D

Stevo

wayno60
17-07-2010, 08:52 PM
removable bait board in the tinnie..
http://img697.imageshack.us/img697/7875/1002558m.th.jpg (http://img697.imageshack.us/i/1002558m.jpg/)

http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/2215/1002559h.th.jpg (http://img534.imageshack.us/i/1002559h.jpg/)

http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/8356/1002560q.th.jpg (http://img205.imageshack.us/i/1002560q.jpg/)

http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/2571/1002561i.th.jpg (http://img267.imageshack.us/i/1002561i.jpg/)

Gon Fishun
20-07-2010, 01:41 PM
Bait board made out of acrylic offcuts and plastic plumbing pipe.:P Stainless screws drilled , glued with loctite and pipe glued with araldyte. Works a treat,:D but lost a couple of rod holders.:(

Sea-Dog
23-07-2010, 09:21 PM
I recently had to replace my switchboard enclosure and switches in the tinnie.

I decided to use a single switch to control both red/green sidelights as well as all-around white light.
I bought a double-pole double-throw switch to do the job.
It is essentially two switches side-by side in one unit.
The pic below is a smaller example of what I used.

When switch is in center position it is off.
Power from fuse to 'C'
Bridge 'C' to 'D' so that both halves of the switch have power.
Bridge 'A' to 'E' so whether you have the switch up or down, 'A' & 'E' will be ON
Connect all-around white to 'A'
Connect sidelights to 'B'

I mounted my switch vertically, with 'AB' end at the bottom, 'EF' end at the top.
I match the switch direction with my anchor.
Anchor up, switch up = red/green + all-around white ON.
Anchor down, switch down = Only all-around white ON.
Center position = all OFF.

http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/nuukspot/decdun/gc/dpdt.s.jpg

I also installed a spring-loaded switch normally OFF to control the bilge pump.
It saves the pump being knocked on and left on accidentally as you are motoring along with no water in the bilge and the pump overheats and burns out.

To operate the bilge pump I have to hold the switch ON. Release the switch and its OFF.

Apollo
24-07-2010, 07:03 AM
I have always struggled as to where I stick lures that are used and changed during a session. Obviously don't want to stick them back in the box untill they have been washed. My solution was weather sealing strip, bought for less than a $1 from clark rubber. Foam tape that has adhesive one side. Just cut to length and stick to relevant spots in boat where it won't get in the way. I have a couple in front of the console and a few down the back for the deckie. When lure is used, stick the hook/treble into the strip and they hold there. I leave mine there so it can be used later or even for the trip home so it can be washed with the boat and even dried there. Works a treat. Lures are stored, don't get tangled up or rattle around the floor to target toes. Mine is 18mths old and I haven't had to replace it yet.

Also excellent for flies used during a session too.

24-07-2010, 02:36 PM
My solution was weather sealing strip, bought for less than a $1 from clark rubber. Foam tape that has adhesive one side.

That is a great idea, Steve. 8-)

Many thanks. :)

24-07-2010, 02:50 PM
for a hand held spotlight...they usually come with a fitting for a cigarette lighter.
The ciagrette lighter sockets usually corrode quickly in a salt environment.
I have mounted a standard GPO on a mounting block in the tinny..cut the cig lighter fitting off the spotlight and fitted a plug top..very simple to use and much longer lasting.

tenzing
25-07-2010, 06:08 PM
Had this little canvas curtain made up to cover the batteries , switches etc and protect that area from the bulk of the salt spray,
Sailtrak on to the area where the seats attach and bungee down on each corner.
The bottom is still free for poking toes under or fiddling around without having to undo the bungees as they are not attached right down in the corners.

Dignity
02-08-2010, 02:18 PM

Fishbait, If you can find a garbage disposal unit attach that and you will have all the berley you want. Check around with some of the kitchen installers they might have a couple on hand that they have pulled out.

Dignity
02-08-2010, 02:25 PM
Yet to do on my tinnie but on my mates we used pool noodles, must be the hollow type, put a legthwise cut in them and slip over the gunwhales. His rod holders are a little too close to the gunwhales and when a good fish strikes the rods were hitting aluminium.

Micadogs
04-08-2010, 01:36 PM
Have made a trailer wash down system, similar to the Dunbier system on the market. Cost $29 in parts and approx one hour to install. Now i just flush the motor whilst unpacking, then put hose on the trailer wash down whilst putting stuff away. I used 19mm garden irrigation poly tubing, 20 micro jets (360 degrees) and 4 micro jets (180 degrees) for extra attention on the hubs/brakes.

All that is required after flushing and trailer is a quick rinse on the outside of the boat. No bending and getting wet etc.

Regards Adam

randell
04-08-2010, 07:07 PM
My best invention was a spotlight made from a sealed beam car headlight , the smaller one ,mounted in a cut-off detergent bottle , and a lead to a car battery with those metal clips. It probably spooked the fish but when you were ready to you could see where you were going...................
randell

Jono_SS
04-08-2010, 07:17 PM
With all the concern over the visibility of boats on the water at night, I rigged up an all round light that stands well above anything else on my boat. I stripped down an old broken rod and made a short attachment to slide over the end. I fixed an LED white all round light to the attachment. When I want to use it, I place the attachment over the rod and place the rod in a rod holder in the bait table. Bingo! As visible as the proverbial. Even the water police down at the Broadwater liked it when they pulled me over for a breath test one night recently.

By the way, the light has so far clocked up about 70 hours on the one set of batteries. Go the LEDs! Do they actually use power???

Gonzo73
04-08-2010, 07:18 PM
I made a sound proof box in which i place the mobile phone so if the wife rings " When the $^#&$ are you coming home ? " ... I can't hear it : )

Dignity
06-08-2010, 09:47 AM
With all the concern over the visibility of boats on the water at night, I rigged up an all round light that stands well above anything else on my boat. I stripped down an old broken rod and made a short attachment to slide over the end. I fixed an LED white all round light to the attachment. When I want to use it, I place the attachment over the rod and place the rod in a rod holder in the bait table. Bingo! As visible as the proverbial. Even the water police down at the Broadwater liked it when they pulled me over for a breath test one night recently.

By the way, the light has so far clocked up about 70 hours on the one set of batteries. Go the LEDs! Do they actually use power???

Jono, great idea, I have an old 27 mghz radio aerial that I haven't thrown away yet and was just waiting for a bright idea like this.

Jono_SS
06-08-2010, 05:54 PM
Jono, great idea, I have an old 27 mghz radio aerial that I haven't thrown away yet and was just waiting for a bright idea like this.

Hey Dignity,

Keep in mind that putting a weight of any amount at the end of a long lever like an aerial on a bumpy old boat is going to end up with lots of movement when your zooming along (less problem at anchor, of course).

I get minimal movement with my setup because the rod is quite stiff, plus the attachment has a reasonably long sleeve that takes out the bendiest part of the rod, if you know what i mean.

If I were rigging up something on an aerial, I would be keeping it as light as possible (those things sway even without a weight on the end).

Good luck with you project!!

Jono

Dignity
07-08-2010, 11:03 AM
Jono,

The aerial I have is the fibreglass type and not the steel type, after your post I was thinking of cutting it shorter and as suggested using when at anchor.

Sam

sparky54
14-08-2010, 09:40 PM
I heard of a guy in my area with a trailer wash down system where he had a sprinkler system mounted on the trailer and carried an old beer keg in the back of his ute conneced to the sprinkler, he would half fill the keg with water and pressurise it with the compressor, after he launched the boat and parked the trailer he would just open the valve and walk away while the trailer was automatically rinsed. Great idea for those extended or overnight trips where the trailer is sitting there covered in salt.

Gippslander
01-09-2010, 10:09 PM
Hey fellas, I like to have a feed when I am out. So I built a timber tray that fits over the bait board to make the sandwiches, cook the stir fry on etc. without getting blood and guts all over my tucker. See pic.

Gippslander
01-09-2010, 10:18 PM
I also siliconed a yellow pingpong ball to the top of the aerial so I don't poke my eye out if I walk into it!!

D river
09-09-2010, 02:38 PM
Turned the storage space under each side of my sleeper cab into 2x 100L eskies and in the center I have a 140L stainless fuel tank. leaves the floor space for fishing room

John Buoy
16-09-2010, 07:49 PM
For Solo Launching

My home made boat latch saves me getting in and out
when doing solo drive on/offs.
simply hook up the ring to a fixed hook on the trailer
with a tad of slack rope tied off to the stern cleat,
once your in the water unhook safety chain and winch
if the boat slides back the hooked ring will tension up holding the boat
then simply start your motor drive forward and removed the ring!
park the boat and trailer and off ya go.
simply reverse the procedure when loading the boat!!
Drive on lean over the side with motor in gear hook up the ring and tie it off
shut down engine's and hop out to apply safety chain and winch !!
Edit re posted pics
http://s18.postimg.org/eo7o7rjzd/Boat_latch.jpg (http://postimage.org/)

http://s12.postimg.org/8xl3i6j25/Boat_latch_2.jpg (http://postimage.org/)

Regards Frank ;D

JACE...
26-09-2010, 08:52 AM
I made a rechargable dolfin torch using a 6v battery from battery world.
works a treat, And still floats.

wayno60
30-09-2010, 01:18 AM
i hate smart ares ppl like that.....thats to clever..

so jace, cmon spill the beans whats involved??

cgibbo308
03-10-2010, 11:10 PM
after reading a few things on blown engines. I keep reading about the possible bag being sucked in, stopping water flow and killing the engine.
Sure they all have the tell tail out back so one can see if water is running through the system..BUT
What good is the tell tail out back where you CANT see it??
I dont have my boat yet, but why not spend a few $$$ prob $20 at the most to run some hose up to the helm from the tell tail so you can see that water is running through the system??
what ever boat i get i will be doing this with and having the water eject from just forward and below the eyeline, this will keep the water spraying back onto you and will just be a case of shifting your self just a bit so you can see ;D

FishHunter
04-10-2010, 05:54 AM
after reading a few things on blown engines. I keep reading about the possible bag being sucked in, stopping water flow and killing the engine.
Sure they all have the tell tail out back so one can see if water is running through the system..BUT
What good is the tell tail out back where you CANT see it??
I dont have my boat yet, but why not spend a few $$$ prob $20 at the most to run some hose up to the helm from the tell tail so you can see that water is running through the system??
what ever boat i get i will be doing this with and having the water eject from just forward and below the eyeline, this will keep the water spraying back onto you and will just be a case of shifting your self just a bit so you can see ;D

I suspect that after all the changes of direction and a couple of metres of hose the water flow will only be a dribble at best.
A better solution would would be a water pressure gauge rigged up with an adjustable pressure switch rigged to a big bright light and a buzzer if you are that worried about it.

wayno60
11-10-2010, 05:57 PM
Pending on the size of the outlet why not get a small garden irragation fitting (elbow) and screw it in facing up wards so it squrts upwards like the jet ski's do..

thylacene
16-10-2010, 09:55 PM
There is a guy that fishes Bermagui in a Markham Cat has both tell tales tunred up, reckons they work as tuna attractors also while trolling.

Thy

Jono_SS
30-10-2010, 01:30 PM
I just whipped up a couple of these little storage buckets for the Hodad 2. Thanks to Ed (Deelight) for the tips!

They're great for putting your rigged pilchard or paternoster rig in while going back up to the top of your drift.

I used a heat gun to soften the PVC and open it up a bit. Otherwise it was too hard to get off when not required. It's still a snug fit, but I don't need a rest each time I take if off!

Jono SS

Dignity
05-11-2010, 06:36 AM
Screwed a piece of conduit end to the side of the bait board and it holds a fluro tube upright just nice and gives me light where I want it, some of the fluro tubes dont have a shield so a piece of duct tape along the length stops the the glare in the eyes. Done it to the big boat and the tinnie it is so effective.

Muteki
03-12-2010, 07:50 PM
Not my invention..but worth a mention.. Seats 4 on a day out or two on a night out.. Dude attached two rectangular boxes to floor which acts as storage and anchoring chairs in four seat mode. Using a simple hinge and a support on each end the seats fold out into beds for fishermen or kids that need a nana nap. Personally custom awesome.

greenie.77
04-12-2010, 07:11 AM
I've got a pool noodle and cut it in half length wise then about 300mm long, Liquid nailed to the side of my canoe and boat. Used lures just hook into it to be washed at the end of the trip. It doesn't look AWESOME but it certainly does a job!

Peter4
04-12-2010, 07:45 AM
I have always struggled as to where I stick lures that are used and changed during a session. Obviously don't want to stick them back in the box untill they have been washed. My solution was weather sealing strip, bought for less than a $1 from clark rubber. Foam tape that has adhesive one side. Just cut to length and stick to relevant spots in boat where it won't get in the way. I have a couple in front of the console and a few down the back for the deckie. When lure is used, stick the hook/treble into the strip and they hold there. I leave mine there so it can be used later or even for the trip home so it can be washed with the boat and even dried there. Works a treat. Lures are stored, don't get tangled up or rattle around the floor to target toes. Mine is 18mths old and I haven't had to replace it yet.

Also excellent for flies used during a session too

Steve, this stuff is also good to stop anything that rattles when you want stealth. I wrapped some around the padlock for the bow mount Minn Kota to stop it banging when it bounces and put some on the gunnells near the rod holders to stop the noise from rods/reels hitting the gunnels...

Did this nearly four years ago and have not had to replace it yet!

Regs

wamjam
04-12-2010, 06:51 PM
I glued a left over peice carpet from doing the casting deck and floor to the inside of the tinny too hold the lures that you are not using. I cut it to fit between the uprights so it looks nice and tidy.

daveylad
04-12-2010, 08:41 PM
I Use a pool noodle to fasten my made up rigs too, keeps them together and quick to return them when I do a change over, cost $6. fo a 1.5metre length so I've got one piece for wires and the other for mono. kind of copied it from the foam one that sells for $40.

wayno60
04-12-2010, 08:50 PM
http://img836.imageshack.us/img836/3316/picture25201.jpg
http://img820.imageshack.us/img820/1909/picture251i.jpg

Not an invention but something a knocked up one sat arvo..

Seen what a bus bar looked like so i made one my self...

wayno60
04-12-2010, 09:02 PM
Seen one of these on ebay for like $31.00 plus freight.

Had all the stuff in the shed and had it done in an hour.
http://img577.imageshack.us/img577/1199/wot01.jpg

http://img577.imageshack.us/img577/8188/wot1.jpg

http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/8062/wot2.jpg

http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/6154/wot3.jpg

31-03-2011, 01:07 PM
As mentioned earlier in the thread, plastic battery boxes do make great dry boxes......I made one up for the young BIL boat a few years ago.

you will need a couple of plastic hinges and one of those elastic tie down thingies that are used on some torneaus and other stuff.

to get it to work you have to rivet the hinge to the outside of the box from the outside and to the inside of the lid from the inside (you could use cs screws and nuts).
rivet the elastic tie down to the lid and the knobby thing to the front..and you are almost done.

put some sticky tape over the vent holes at the to and silicon them up from inside...peel the tape off when finished.

now you can just screw it down wherever you like.

One final thing, throw a square of gutter guard in the bottom so if you do get any water in your stuff is not sitting in it.

Large BIL has had a pair of mec vapour gear housings screwed either side of his rear thwarts...these are the old cast ones....waterproof and lockable with a padlock.

Big brother makes up gunwal savers by splitting up 50mm polly pipe down the length......great for little boats.....takes some getting on.....leave it in the sun helps.

One of the single handiest things on a bloke's boat is a pissing pipe.
Simply a 2 or 3 foot lenght of suitable diameter plastic pipe......saves falling overboard or dribbling in the boat...

tropicrows
31-03-2011, 02:59 PM
Simply a 2 or 3 foot lenght of suitable diameter plastic pipe......saves falling overboard or dribbling in the boat...

Put some hair around that thing and everyone on the boat will want to use it. :o

Rodman
01-04-2011, 06:53 AM
I use a bicycle tube to cover my anker chain to keep it quiet when lowering the anker.
Find it does not scare the fish as much.
Also cheap as I get them from my local bike shop.
You should get the mountain bike type as they are a larger tube diameter and a half dozen cable ties to hold it in place.

Ken

Dignity
02-04-2011, 06:44 AM
Ken, used to do that but the chain rusted very quickly, any ideas on stopping that and I would go back to using it, just train my deckies to be better at handling the anchor these days

wayno60
17-04-2011, 11:30 PM
Dig, Ive just done the tyre tube thing over ther chain and thinking about what you said i got a leather hole punch and punched a series of holes in the tube so the water can drain out easier and also dry out.

Captain Jack Zero
18-04-2011, 12:55 AM
pimp my tinny.what a cracker finga.

21-04-2011, 05:06 PM

Good idea.... I think I have some 90mm stormwater spare in the shed I can use::);D;D

But for rubbish I found the reject shop have mini plastic wheelie bins for $10.00 and $15.00 with castors ( you can remove) depending on the size you want. I bought two of the bigger ones and use the 2nd as a "blood bin" because I don't have a kill tank. Despatch the hoo or mackeral in the bin, shut the lid and wrinse out later. But wait till they get more, they seem to have sold out :o(

The other thing I did was take the bung out of the mackeral esky and replace with an in line plastic flange fitting with the same thread. To that I attach plastic tubing and an in line tap. Buggar trying to empty ice water with fish in the esky when you get home. Too heavy for even two blokes to lift with a couple of hoo and snapper mixed in, so turn the tap, let the water drain into the bilge area and out the back of the boat via the bung, and lift the fish out of the boat one at a time via a bucket to the cleaning table. The esky then stays in the boat till its empty and wrinsed, and can be lifted out later.

wayno60
22-04-2011, 12:19 AM
90mm stormwater ........lol

Dignity
22-04-2011, 10:01 AM
Good idea.... I think I have some 90mm stormwater spare in the shed I can use::);D;D

Scalem if you cant find it I have some 110 mm which would a more comfortable fit for you

Beast1965
22-04-2011, 11:42 AM
I use bicycle headlamps attached to my bimini to light up my baitboard i have them on either side so i don't cast a shadow over what I am doing. I have also installed led light strips and a dimmer switch along the gunwales and this is great you can see my boat for miles with the light they give off. I am now looking for red and green leds for my nav lights. I am currently building a removable spotlight rack that i can turn the spotlights left to right and up and down for night trips.

wayno60
22-04-2011, 03:15 PM
B1965,
ive seen them on prime movers... twist the handle and it moves the light left , right and push or pull for up and down....

leelee
27-06-2011, 03:02 PM
Added a rod organiser to my rod locker after breaking a tip off one of my rods ( I was in a hurry to get out the bigger gear when a school of longtails busted up right near me).

Can now hold 10 rods and can easily light, medium and some heavy rods, as well as jigging rods.

Much cheaper to build then to modify something to make it fit.

Lee

captain rednut
27-06-2011, 08:02 PM
once when i was really pissed i invented triangle shaped sausages so you only have to turn them three times, this concept allows more drinking time and a more relaxed bbq enviroment. eliminates standing there turning conventional sausages dozens of times. what do you all think??? oops its time for my medication, got to go.
cheers cr

death_ship
02-07-2011, 07:39 AM
so are they shaped like a toblerone?....your strange jimmy

wayno60
02-07-2011, 02:40 PM
Well apart from having to only turn the snags three times they wont roll of the barbie plate.

02-07-2011, 03:06 PM
Put some hair around that thing and everyone on the boat will want to use it. :o

Grub. I'm telling...

Giffo65
02-07-2011, 07:16 PM
Cptn Rednut,triangular snags,you are an ideas man !.

fisho64
04-07-2011, 09:14 PM
Ken, used to do that but the chain rusted very quickly, any ideas on stopping that and I would go back to using it, just train my deckies to be better at handling the anchor these days

Grease the chain up before putting tube on?

John Buoy
04-07-2011, 09:43 PM
Use the plastic weaved cable protectors they use on outboard transom cables works a treat
Regards Frank ;)

netmaker
07-07-2011, 02:34 PM
hi all,
this is NOT my invention. i have "borrowed" it from another ausfish member. unfortunately he didn't post in this forum - i think it was in estuary reports but i haven't been able to find it. i loved the idea as i am into "extended" trips and reckon this is a treat. he also did a nicer job than me but68969 i am very happy with the result for a desk jockey. just one of those cheap butane cookers but the storage and ease of access is the clincher.

hope its of use to someone else
davo

08-07-2011, 09:31 AM
hi all,
this is NOT my invention. i have "borrowed" it from another ausfish member. unfortunately he didn't post in this forum - i think it was in estuary reports but i haven't been able to find it. i loved the idea as i am into "extended" trips and reckon this is a treat. he also did a nicer job than me but68969 i am very happy with the result for a desk jockey. just one of those cheap butane cookers but the storage and ease of access is the clincher.

hope its of use to someone else
davo

Invalid link error?

netmaker
08-07-2011, 03:15 PM
buggered if i know why. they worked when i first posted but this has happened b4. dont think ausfish likes my phone. mate is bringing his camera over tonight. i will repost pictures over the weekend.

netmaker
08-07-2011, 05:36 PM
heres the pics6906069059 69058

davo

netmaker
08-07-2011, 05:42 PM
i dont know why they arent showing. they do in preview. i have viewed them by clicking on attachment but they seem to have a limited life span b4 becoming a broken link. unless someone can tell me what im doing wrong you will just have to use imagination!!

mac64pc
08-07-2011, 08:15 PM
Where re you hosting the images - likely when you click that you are viewing the versions on your pc - others wont see them unless you host on an external site

netmaker
09-07-2011, 06:31 PM
thanks for your help mac64pc. have uploaded via photobucket. last pic is a $2 butt bucket from crazies with velcro glued down one side. sticks anywhere theres carpet.

davo

Magneto
23-09-2011, 04:27 PM
Very nice Finga, a very professional feel about it.

snodger77
12-10-2011, 12:34 PM

Stainless chain maybe?

gazza2006au
03-11-2011, 01:17 PM
i only just seen this thread heres my invention using a $15 video recording camera from ebay some PVC pipe with end caps and a perspex sheet for the window

i tested it in the video to 6 foot depth with no leaks i have since tested it to 35 foot it had a very minor slow leak with more refinement i could fix it properly it gets bolted to a downrigger weight or can be used as a troll cam

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZqFeiBZBF4

jason p
05-11-2011, 01:03 PM
it gave me the shts filling the gear box oil with those squirty bottles, as i would have to do it 3 or 4 times just to get a Lt + in there, and then i would of spilt another 100 or so mm on the ground.:-?

not rocket science but it is a useful tool.8-)

now theres more time to have a coldie.

jp

gazza2006au
05-11-2011, 01:06 PM
it gave me the shts filling the gear box oil with those squirty bottles, as i would have to do it 3 or 4 times just to get a Lt + in there, and then i would of spilt another 100 or so mm on the ground.:-?

not rocket science but it is a useful tool.8-)

now theres more time to have a coldie.

jp

u could have just placed 6mm hose in to the bottom drain plug holding the other end higher than thee gear box u simply connect the squeeze bottle to the hose and fill her up

jason p
05-11-2011, 01:13 PM
yep could have done that, could of also bought an oil pump for an over inflated price, im sure there are other ways too, but this is very quick inexpensive, low mess and reliable way. just one way to skin a rabbit and effective.

jp

wayno60
05-11-2011, 03:10 PM
Jason how do you reg the pressure in the can so it dont blow the top off it???

jason p
05-11-2011, 03:58 PM
hey wayno60, yes thats a good point. all compressors have some sort of adjustable regulator, i turned it right down at the start and slowly wound it out utill i got the oil pouring out at the desired speed/volume and left it set at that, then just used the valve/tap to turn on or off. the plastic tube goes down to the bottom of the tin to ensure that your not picking up air. worked a treat. and its ready for use in 6 -12 months time. within 5 to 10 min i had the box drained and filled ready to go, and with minimal spillage.

jp

wayno60
06-11-2011, 01:56 AM
nice.........

Roughasguts
06-11-2011, 08:07 AM
For a pressure vessel you can also use a 1.25 L plastic coke bottle they will hold 65 PSI safely, and you can then watch the contents flowing out.

Fed
23-11-2011, 11:30 AM
A modified 20mm PVC conduit saddle ---> clip to hold radio aerial while folded down.
I had to change the canopy stud to a longer one to allow for the extra thickness of the saddle.

wayno60
19-12-2011, 06:05 PM

Not really an invention but just a creature comfort, when the ol girl pulls in the anchor she complained that the leading edge of the front of the front covered area cuts into her legs and i must admit when shes not in the boat i use it to lean back on when the jacks arnt playing the game, it does get a bit sore on the back so i glued a noodle across the front. Tomorrow when it dry's ill take the tape off and see how it go's.

Sheik
20-12-2011, 08:58 AM

Not really an invention but just a creature comfort, when the ol girl pulls in the anchor she complained that the leading edge of the front of the front covered area cuts into her legs and i must admit when shes not in the boat i use it to lean back on when the jacks arnt playing the game, it does get a bit sore on the back so i glued a noodle across the front. Tomorrow when it dry's ill take the tape off and see how it go's.
That's called using your noodle.

wayno60
20-12-2011, 06:21 PM
hehe...

ok so its stuck down well but have learnt not to use masking tape on the foam . when i peeled it off it took the top shiny layer off the noodle.

still better then it was...

20-12-2011, 09:22 PM
So now you can go noodling for jacks!!

Gon Fishun
20-12-2011, 10:01 PM
Might be a bit of CANOODLING going on:love:

wayno60
21-12-2011, 08:51 AM
its not a canoe, its a tinnie ;)

Linedropper
05-01-2012, 03:53 PM
Hi Guys, I have an invention but not 100% on the best way to go about it so hoping for some advice.

I have a 4.5m open boat (tiller steer) that has short bow rails on the fore deck (approx 200mm high) and 100mm high rails on the gun whales at the rear. My idea is to build a lockable hardtop for the boat for weather protection and security when the boat is parked up on the trailer. That way I could leave most of my non expensive gear in there between fishing trips.

The hardtop would sit on the rails and need to be approx 4m x 1.9m and I want a slight curve in it for rain run off and it it will need to extend say 50mm over the sides of the boat for the water to run off properly. To lock it down I am planning on having some brackets that are fixed to the hardtop that slip onto the rails and then padlock each corner under the rails or maybe just two corners.

What do you think the best thing to construct this from would be? 3mm (or maybe 2mm) ally would be perfect and match the unpainted boat but might be a bit heavy to take on and off by myself so I was thinking maybe plywood with fibreglass coating then painted or something in fibreglass only. Can you purchase pre made fibreglass sheet or something similar anywhere? Any suggestions welcome.

Gon Fishun
05-01-2012, 04:15 PM
Hi Guys, I have an invention but not 100% on the best way to go about it so hoping for some advice.

I have a 4.5m open boat (tiller steer) that has short bow rails on the fore deck (approx 200mm high) and 100mm high rails on the gun whales at the rear. My idea is to build a lockable hardtop for the boat for weather protection and security when the boat is parked up on the trailer. That way I could leave most of my non expensive gear in there between fishing trips.

The hardtop would sit on the rails and need to be approx 4m x 1.9m and I want a slight curve in it for rain run off and it it will need to extend say 50mm over the sides of the boat for the water to run off properly. To lock it down I am planning on having some brackets that are fixed to the hardtop that slip onto the rails and then padlock each corner under the rails or maybe just two corners.

What do you think the best thing to construct this from would be? 3mm (or maybe 2mm) ally would be perfect and match the unpainted boat but might be a bit heavy to take on and off by myself so I was thinking maybe plywood with fibreglass coating then painted or something in fibreglass only. Can you purchase pre made fibreglass sheet or something similar anywhere? Any suggestions welcome.

G'day Linedropper .
I'd be inclined to hunt around for an old lawn locker/shed arrangement. It would be easier to roll the boat into than lift a canopy onto it.

Linedropper
06-01-2012, 10:03 AM
Thanks but unfortunately not an option. Boat is out the front in the driveway and the missus wont allow a shed type arrangement. It would also be nice to be able to leave some gear in the boat locked up between trips rather than keep carting it all inside.

Goldfinch
29-11-2012, 09:08 AM
As per the post I put in the Boating Forum, I had a dead space under the leaning post on my New Edgewater centre console so I made a cabinet for tackle trays, lures, leader etc. I also had some space under the rear tool station at the transom so I rigged up a cutlery container to put used lures, sinkers, jigheads, tackle etc in for rinsing later on.

Here's some picks.

25-12-2012, 01:34 AM
http://youtu.be/2QLy4-H4WNg

It is not hard to turn your garden hose on and off using a wireless remote control. Dead easy, in fact.

All you need to do is connect your garden tap via a bit of garden hose to the sort of solenoid valve that you will find in the gardening section at Bunnings for $20 - $30... http://www.bunnings.com.au/products_product_valve-irrigation-solenoid-pope-1in-flow-control-1010321_P3123148.aspx?search=solenoid+vale&searchType=any&searchSubType=products

Ostensibly there is a bit of science in selecting the right size of solenoid valve because it is the water pressure that keeps the valve closed until the solenoid is operated. If you have plenty of water pressure at your place then it is not so much of a problem but if your water pressure is a bit weak, you might like to Google "solenoid watering system valves" and look for info on how to select the right size based on your water flow as measured by how long it takes you to fill a bucket. However, at my Brisbane suburban home, the water pressure is pretty strong so I just took a punt on the commonly available 25MM valve and it worked out fine.

These sorts of valves are operated by a safe voltage, 24V AC. That means that you will need a transformer to convert from your home 240V mains power to 24V. Typically, the solenoid valves need about 400 mA to operate. So, thinking back to your high school physics classes, you will recall that the power being used is calculated by multiplying the voltage by the current. Sooooo.....24V X 400mA = 9.6W. That means that you will need a transformer that is rated to deliver about 10 Watts, albeit usually, they use the unit "VA" rather than watts when applied to transformers. For these purposes, just consider that VA = watts albeit it ain't necessarily so, strictly speaking, but a technical gobbledegook explanation as to why will make your eyes water and is not important to this project. 10 Watts is bugger all so it will cost very, very little on your electricity bill to operate this system.

I have not seen any transformers in Bunnings but they are readily available in irrigation type shops and online. eg .... http://www.rockaroundtheblock.com.au/garden-lighting/transformersncable/24-volt-ac-transformers.html

Strictly speaking, you really ought to get a waterproof transformer. However, if it is well housed in a waterproof container, then what the heck, a $25 internal transformer should do the job nicely.

In the pictures of my set-up below, you will see that I have used a humongous waterproof transformer that is mounted in the open air. That transformer is 20 times larger than it needs to be but I got it at a price that made me want it so don't think that that size of transformer is what is required. It isn't. It is just what I used because I had it.

Finally, the bit that makes it all work is a wireless remote controller. You simply connect the powerpoint controller to the 240V power and plug in the transformer to it. With the transformer connected to the solenoid valve, presto!....you have a wireless remotely controlled water supply to your garden hose.

Typically, you will pay $25 - $30 for a set comprising the wireless remote and two to four powerpoint controllers. You can get internal and external varieties. Naturally, the external types cost a bit more but once again, if the powerpoint controller is housed in a waterproof box, it should not matter if the controller is meant to go outside or not.

From my experience, it is hard to go past the controllers sold by Aldi. You will find the Kambrook controllers in the electrical department at Bunnings. They work fine in close proximity but it is hard to go past the Bauhn brand external controllers that Aldi sell. Their range well exceeds the Kambrook; they are cheaper; the remotes are more stylish; and as seen in the picture below, they have a very small remote which could, in fact, be tied to a lanyard around the user's neck. Unfortunately, Aldi only sell these things as part of their "special promotions" every few months. However, they are worth getting if you see them advertised at Aldi. http://www.aldi.com.au/au/html/offers_20121103.htm

You will also see from the pix below, that I house the power point switch in a weatherproof box. The one that I have used is a beauty costing just $10 from Masters Hardware. At the time of writing this, it is Christmas so they have been in popular demand for use with Christmas lights and are sold out in pretty well every Masters. However, they are worth grabbing when stocks reappear. http://www.masters.com.au/product/900030640/weatherproof-box-for-outdoor-power-connections

Likewise, the solenoid valve sits in a box to protect its wiring from the weather. Available for $5 from Masters Hardware... http://www.masters.com.au/product/900012688/hr-products-valve-box-round-160mm-deep

So there you have it. Of course, you will need a power point somewhere near your garden tap but you can sort that out.

My installation works a treat. Most times I use it for turning a sprinkler on and off remotely but it is damn handy for little tasks like turning the water on and off to my Gerni when I am up a ladder. Simple enough to build if you want to.

Merry Christmas, everyone! :)

RayLamp
04-01-2013, 09:42 PM
I thought I would chuck up my magnificent work of art!

How to mount a bow mount electric on bow rails... my Bunnings special!

87911 87913 87912

wayno60
04-01-2013, 11:57 PM
mate seems a bit of hardware involved, to stop it from twisting did you have to brace it the the gunwale?

RayLamp
05-01-2013, 09:33 AM
It probably looks more complex than it is. I reckon I would not have spent more than $50 on the parts (not including the minn kota quick release bracket).

I drilled 4 holes through the bow rail and stuck a bolt in each one. Then those brackets have rubber feet on them and they press down on the bow if there is any twist. The 4 bolts prevent the twist really, the feet are just there to be sure.

All you have to do is undo the 4 bolts and the whole thing comes off in one piece. I rarely do that as the motor utilises the quick release bracket. If you are out on the water and you dont take the electric (rarely in my case) then the little platform works well for those little $20 portable cookers.

I just wasnt keen on gridning away bow rails and welding on a plate at the front.

cwcarter
06-01-2013, 12:10 AM
I'm in the same situation. Just finished my quintrex fishabout project and a trolling motor was an after thought. My bow rails are a bit higher then yours and I wont be cutting anything.
Wandering if its possible to reverse a bow mount to have on the stern. Would be good to have the remote control. Havn't seen any remote transom mounts?

netmaker
06-01-2013, 05:26 AM
I'm in the same situation. Just finished my quintrex fishabout project and a trolling motor was an after thought. My bow rails are a bit higher then yours and I wont be cutting anything.
Wandering if its possible to reverse a bow mount to have on the stern. Would be good to have the remote control. Havn't seen any remote transom mounts?

transom mounts push and bow mounts pull. in both cases, pointy end goes first. dragging your boat around by the transom will be difficult to steer (excepting recorded tracks on the i-pilot) and create a lot of drag costing you both speed and battery power. if a 60" shaft wont do it, cutting may be your only option. have a look at minn kota website. they have a tool to assist you with working out the shaft length: http://www.minnkotamotors.com/selectamotor/

bazinga
24-01-2013, 08:02 AM
Storing live bait jig rigs.
There is probably a better idea out there but for now i have cut 2 bits 25mm electrical conduit about 1200mm long and cable tied upright to my fixed bimini frame. Each has a groove cut 1/2 inch long with a hacksaw from the top edge down. When done stealing slimies from kindergarten, you dump the sinker (must be the appropriate size obviously) in the conduit, the rig all slides down under the weight of the sinker and the last inch of line and swivel sit out through the hacksaw groove so it doesn't all fall down the tube. My kids are very impressed and have far less holes in them these days.

Another idea for clumbsy blokes like me is to use old broken surf board leg ropes to retain bait knives, burley mashers and hook pliers to boats that would otherwise end up mysteriously missing after a fishing trip with the kids. These velcro attachments wrap round bait board legs etc. There is always one good end left after snapped.

Linedropper
24-01-2013, 11:15 AM
Here's my latest idea to aid in recovery of your boat if it gets knocked off and hopefully catch the thieves red handed.

A canvas sign that slides into sail track mounted somewhere on the back of the boat and the sign reads something like this.

"Boat is stolen, call Police immediately. Reward offered"

"Contact the owner on 04xx xxx xxx"

Obviously remove the sign before the owner tows it anywhere and keep it hidden if the boat is parked on the front lawn etc as you don't want the sign seen and people calling it in. To keep it hidden you could roll it up, fasten lightly with a paper clip and attach a line to a brick on the ground (or a tree) so it rolls out as soon as the boat is moved.

Hopefully a good Samaritan would see the sign when it travelling and call it in. Bonus points if they follow the boat and lead the Police and/or owner to it.

wayno60
13-02-2013, 07:00 AM
just to take the weight off the ram on the pump.

turnips
10-08-2013, 07:09 PM
You could try self-adhesive velcro tape instead of double-sided tape. This would allow you to remove the perspex for cleaning.

wayno60
04-09-2013, 11:57 PM

just to stop the flatties from slipping all over the shop..when it piccy time..

bryne
10-10-2013, 07:47 AM
just feed a nylon rope through each link, tie off at the ends. reduces noise by heaps. I now leave anchor in bow roller, tied off of course, no mud in boat, don't lose deck space to anchor well. bryn-e-bass

josef otway
24-02-2014, 02:04 PM
Suspension Skidzz are a new safety device for towed vehicles with leaf spring suspension. Skidzz are designed to protect your Ubolts, springs and brakes in the event of loss of wheel due to bearing failure, broken axle, or loss of wheel studs.
The Skidzz allow you to pull to the side of the road in a safe and controlled manner, while protecting the undercarriage of your trailer and boat, minimizing load shift.
Although maintenance is the highest priority for safer towing of boats and caravans, Skidzz are the latest safety product, saving lives and making our roads a safer place to be on.
Skidzz are Australian owed and made in WA. Check out our facebook or webpage for a video of Skidzz in action.
www.skidzz.com.au (http://www.skidzz.com.au) www.facebook.com/suspensionskidzz

wayno60
25-02-2014, 10:16 AM
Always wanted one and now with all the macks around and having found a nice piece of hard wood spun up this the other day....

25-02-2014, 04:53 PM
What am I looking at?

Always wanted one and now with all the macks around and having found a nice piece of hard wood spun up this the other day....

Gon Fishun
25-02-2014, 05:24 PM
What am I looking at?

A bommy knocker.

wayno60
25-02-2014, 06:05 PM
cheech, never been mackeral fishing????

The first time you pull a metre plus onboard and it starts going balistic you'll wish you had one.

copie
19-03-2014, 01:24 PM
Ok well I have two firstly I don’t like my reels resting on the gunwales when in a normal rod holder especial now a lot of rods have a shorter butt so I made up four of these. They are stronger than I thought and have used them now for more than a year no problems.

Second launch and retrieve solo I have a good strong braided rope with a D shackle on one end, I attach the D shackle to the car tow bar where your safety chain attaches then I just sit it up over the V section of the plastic. When I drive on I just walk forward with the motor still running and reach the rope and tie it off at the anchor tie post the turn off the motor boat goes back about one foot hop out over the front and connect the winch and tighten and the job is done. Oh and no rope rubs on the paint work.

McKnight
28-03-2014, 11:49 AM
I once used a dead lawn mower as a jockey wheel for a boat trailer that was missing it. Worked really well for maneuvering it in the yard. it just needed electric skid steer motors and a pendent controller.

wayno60
03-04-2014, 07:14 PM
copie, great idea the rod holders....ill be all over that tomorrow when I get home from work...

wayno60
24-06-2014, 11:02 PM
Sick of all the tools of the trade going rusty from being in the cutlery strainer that I had mounted under the bait board so made this up yesterday, also saves me going to the tackle box for hooks or lures , their now right under the bait board.103874

wayno60
26-06-2014, 03:13 PM
finished product...
http://i935.photobucket.com/albums/ad197/mjack60/003_zpsaca9de0c.jpg (http://s935.photobucket.com/user/mjack60/media/003_zpsaca9de0c.jpg.html)

wayno60
28-06-2014, 02:51 PM
So here it is mounted. I had visions of me hitting the brakes on the way to the ramp and the draw sliding out so a bit of bungy cord did the job...
http://i935.photobucket.com/albums/ad197/mjack60/002_zpsbb2cece1.jpg (http://s935.photobucket.com/user/mjack60/media/002_zpsbb2cece1.jpg.html)

wayno60
28-06-2014, 10:53 PM
Today while rummaging around in the shed I remembered that I had tried to take a selfie in the boat but the camera wouldn't sit upright on the dash so I found this suction cap with a metal thread down the middle. Found a bolt that fitted and guess what the camera had the same thread. Cut the head off the bolt and screwed the two together...nice

http://i935.photobucket.com/albums/ad197/mjack60/camerasuctioncap_zpsa4c53632.jpg (http://s935.photobucket.com/user/mjack60/media/camerasuctioncap_zpsa4c53632.jpg.html)

wayno60
02-08-2014, 08:47 PM
Found these arm rest at work, so with the wind blowing like a bitch, and not planning on heading out tonight this arvo I made up some brackets and bolted them on .

wayno60
08-12-2014, 10:51 AM
Whipped up an esky over the weekend. 112 lt, outside dia 50x50x80, inside 40x40x70
http://i935.photobucket.com/albums/ad197/mjack60/006_zps450f9975.jpg (http://s935.photobucket.com/user/mjack60/media/006_zps450f9975.jpg.html)
http://i935.photobucket.com/albums/ad197/mjack60/007_zps27ffeacb.jpg (http://s935.photobucket.com/user/mjack60/media/007_zps27ffeacb.jpg.html)

Dignity
02-03-2015, 02:44 PM
I had a spare roller bracket cover which I found many years ago and wondered what to do with it. I didn't like the way the jockey wheel grease nipple hit the frame work so thought I would put the cover to good use. Now it's not lying around in my shed anymore.

wayno60
08-03-2015, 09:59 PM
The other night I dropped a few pots in and had trouble finding the floats. I had some stitch on reflective tape in the shed so I flattened one side of the float on the lathe to give the tape somewhere flat to stick to and works like a beaut in the dark..
http://i935.photobucket.com/albums/ad197/mjack60/008_zpskrha720p.jpg (http://s935.photobucket.com/user/mjack60/media/008_zpskrha720p.jpg.html)

http://i935.photobucket.com/albums/ad197/mjack60/024_zpsgdpnhfoj.jpg (http://s935.photobucket.com/user/mjack60/media/024_zpsgdpnhfoj.jpg.html)

CHEE-FEE
09-06-2015, 07:59 PM
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=109402&stc=1Made myself a switch panel/box for the mighty Horizon. Knocked it up in the shed after looking at a few little pics of how other blokes had done things. Got all the stuff and sat in the boat and looked at it and, with the help of a couple of small serves of Milton Creative Encouragement Juice, came up with this little gem. It runs the Anchor Light, Nav Lights, Bilge Pump and the LED Strip Light under the side decks, and it has a double 12 Volt charger socket. It's all mounted on a piece of 3mm aluminium, and the whole show is riveted to the ribs. It's as solid as a rock, it's out of the weather and it works a treat. WINNER!!!

NICK.

OcciferNick
17-07-2016, 10:41 AM
Hello everyone,

I know this is not an invention just a modification but before I did it myself I couldn't find any info on the web at all about it. I had a live bait tank mounted on the transom but it didn't have a window in it. I found that every now and again I had to lift the lid up to check the water level and the condition of the fish. Having a window in it will give me an instant view on both. After driving around and sitting in the swell I found the water level dropped a lot hence the regular need to check.

It was was a really simple process for anyone wanting to do it themselves. I had some Perspex sheet lying around and just cut a piece out. I jthen traced around the window directly onto the face of the live bait tank. As you can see in the pic I wanted to see what it would look like in the middle lengthways but decided putting it towards the end in an upright position. Once I decided where I wanted it I just marked a line 15mm inside the diameter to give me the overlap where the silicone would go. I drilled out all four corners and just used a metal blade in my jigsaw to cut out the hole. To make a straight cut I just clamped a piece of wood as a guide along the cut line. I did run a little cutting oil along the lines just to make it easier for the blade but to tell the truth it went through the thin metal like butter. Once I cut the hole I used a file to clean and de burr the edges. After you have cleaned up the hole I layer a thick bead of "aquarium" grade silicone around the edge of the Perspex and laid it over the hole from the inside of the tank obviously. I taped it in place and left it over night to dry. While I had the silicone out I also ran it along the top where it joine the bait board as there were some gaps in the corners between the welds. It was really easy to do and took about an hour max. I think it turned out great.

cwcarter
25-07-2016, 10:49 PM
H2O GLO 20watt LED squid light mounted off transducer bracket.

ranmar850
12-08-2016, 09:24 PM
Suspension Skidzz are a new safety device for towed vehicles with leaf spring suspension. Skidzz are designed to protect your Ubolts, springs and brakes in the event of loss of wheel due to bearing failure, broken axle, or loss of wheel studs.
The Skidzz allow you to pull to the side of the road in a safe and controlled manner, while protecting the undercarriage of your trailer and boat, minimizing load shift.
Although maintenance is the highest priority for safer towing of boats and caravans, Skidzz are the latest safety product, saving lives and making our roads a safer place to be on.
Skidzz are Australian owed and made in WA. Check out our facebook or webpage for a video of Skidzz in action.
www.skidzz.com.au (http://www.skidzz.com.au) www.facebook.com/suspensionskidzz (http://www.facebook.com/suspensionskidzz)

Bloody single leaf springs--hate them. Nothing to retain axle in position when they break, and those Skidz wont stop the broken side swinging back, destroying your guard , bending your axle and very likely wrecking your tyre in the process. It's happened to me on a tandem setup, refitted trailer with proper springs and rocker arrangement. Bought another boat, had single leaf slippers. Binned them immediately and replaced with real springs and a rocker/roller load sharing setup. You do know that under ADR's , you only have the loading of one set of those springs with that setup? Can't combine, as it is not a load-sharing arrangement..

cwcarter
07-10-2016, 08:31 AM
Got sick of fuel leaking from the tank vent when sitting in storage. Never leaks when in use or trailering.
So attached a yamaha fuel tank adapter inline with the vent tube and ran a hose outside to a small portable tank to act as a catch tank.
Now no more wasted fuel and my wrap and foam floor is safe from fuel.
114486 114487 114488 114489