View Full Version : evans head fishin classic. show some respect

ranga7
14-06-2010, 06:31 PM
the evans head fishing classic is coming up soon,9th july, and i thought i'd put forward a few points for people to consider. any fishing classic is a great time for all involved, unfortunatly there is always a handfull of disrespectful idiots.
here is a list of things that have got under the skin of the locals and other fishos over the years and would like everyone to consider,
1- in the mornings at the boat ramp be PATIENT there will be alot of boats.
2- always back you boat to one side of the ramp and not in the MIDDLE! if your not confident reversing get someone who is.
3- its not a race to the bar, don't go flying around the outside of other boats.
4- THE BAR. people thing the evans bar is a small, quiet little bar and this is where they come unstuck, just ask the coastguard who rescue flipped boats every classic and year round. again be PATIENT, if your not sure to go, don't, sit and get a feel for the wave direction and the sets and when confident then go. during the day go to the lookout and check out the sand formations. life jackets at all times. remember to log on and OFF with the c.g.
5- when out at sea don't get close to any boat at any time( unless you know them). "mark steeling" is for those who have no idea about fishing or respect. marks are often handed down from generation to generation or givin to you from people who have put in the time end effort to find them. so if your a "mark steeler" wake up to yourself, get a sounder and put some time in.
6- respect the fishery, ONLY KEEP WHAT YOU NEED. you'll often see people bak at the cleaning tables with fish stuffed to the bream of there eskies. they think if they do this people will think they are good fisherman, WRONG, anyone can fill an esky when there on. if you need em fine if not put em back.
7- when at sea keep ALL RUBBISH inside your boat.
8- back at the ramp again be patient and reverse tralier to one side. once off the ramp leave a clear passage for others.
9- after using the cleaning tables, wash them down, and remove all frames and rubbish(beer bottles).
10- basically show respect to the town, the fishery and fellow boaties/fishos. this goes for every town and classic not just evans head.:)

WARNING- anyone who comes within throwing distance of my boat at sea i have 10oz sinkers ready for deployment.>:(

=p.s iv'e probably forgotten a few things so please add to my list so people will be more aware. cheers ranga.

Y-Not
14-06-2010, 06:44 PM
Fantastic a sensible approach for all to follow well said

themissus
14-06-2010, 07:06 PM
Great advice. I've seen way to many close calls on that bar.

DAN-SK
14-06-2010, 07:21 PM
always a good ploy to put people off entering the classic so you can fish alone, hope you catch the big 1

15-06-2010, 07:33 AM
always a good ploy to put people off entering the classic so you can fish alone, hope you catch the big 1
It's not a ploy it's just downright honesty.
Every year the same thing happens.
People lose patience at the ramp. People try and push in and then there are those who think their boat deserves the full ramp for some reason and then there are those who think the rigging up and tying down should be done on the ramp itself.
Common courtesy goes out the window a fair bit for some reason.
Every year someone (or 10) goes over on the bar.
It can not be taken for granted. It will bite you in the @rse when you least expect it....especially on a run out tide.
Every year the area is inundated with people wanting to fish the classic. I can understand why. It's a great part of Australia and the rewards are great...but some are just plain grubs. How hard is it to clean up after yourselves.

One thing really that peeves me to no end is the lack of respect to speed limit on the river up to the bridge.
Many boats seem to think they're above the law and scream along the river to be first to the bar.
The speed restriction is there for a reason. Obey it or cop another 10oz if I'm there.

Enjoy the serenity. Don't wreck it for the rest of the people there!!

Oh...if a boat called "Westie" (could be Westy) sees this....read the first post. Your a serial offender of the getting too close and watch your speed when you zoom close by another boat. You are a danger and are very lucky not to cop the 10oz from me.

PS...anybody want to buy our secret snapper spot mark??
Bad luck. It's not for sale for any price ;D

Ranga...mate, you forgot to mention there are 2 ramps. Boats up to the 5 mark can use the old ramp safely and is usually quicker then the pontoon ramp.

Here's a little knobby I caught during the classic a few years ago.
Pity we weren't participating in it :-?
We just got sick of painting the house so we went fishing for an hour or so.

15-06-2010, 07:49 AM
OK so those in the know, can you enter online??

15-06-2010, 08:05 AM
OK so those in the know, can you enter online??
Doesn't look like it matey.
But here is their site where a form can be downloaded.
It looks like you need a mug shot.
http://www.evansheadfishingclassic.com.au/

http://www.evansheadfishingclassic.com.au/2010/application.htm

Are you going down??

15-06-2010, 08:32 AM
Scott, it will depend on if there is any room left in a mates house

ranga7
15-06-2010, 01:03 PM

there ain't no ploy about it bud, its all truth, everyone is welcome, just bring the right attitude.

4x4frog
15-06-2010, 01:43 PM
Good advice ranga.

The sad thing is that in today's society, advice like yours is actually needed, where as 25+ years ago, the incidence of people being complete ar$ehole$ were very rare and the need to let them know what is ethically responsible wasn't required. Sadly, today it is.
I don't at all feel ranga was being discouraging to any entrants.

trymyluck
15-06-2010, 05:49 PM
All good advice, the only thing I would add is if you see a novice thats struggling give him a hand. Not everyone is born on a boat.

onerabbit
16-06-2010, 05:24 PM
Personally Ranga,
I would rather see the EH classic moved somewhere else,
so the hoardes can play rape and pillage in someone else's backyard,

dont wish to be too negative, but it seems that after the classic is over, the fish are too scared to come out and play, or are just or are just gone.....

and I live and fish out of Ballina.........heaven help the guys who only fish from Evans.

BTW, will be looking for a through the week deckie shortly, as nowI am out of work AGAIN.......
just need the weather to play its part....and will post a thread when I am ready....maybe we could catch up?

trymyluck
16-06-2010, 05:33 PM
Personally Ranga,

dont wish to be too negative, but it seems that after the classic is over, the fish are too scared to come out and play, or are just or are just gone.....

and I live and fish out of Ballina.........heaven help the guys who only fish from Evans.

BTW, will be looking for a through the week deckie shortly, as nowI am out of work AGAIN.......
just need the weather to play its part....and will post a thread when I am ready....maybe we could catch up?

It does put a lot of stress on the fish population over a very short period of time, maybe they should try and promote catch and release a bit. But I don't think the comp is the only problem if it effects the fishery that much.

16-06-2010, 05:48 PM
I would have thought that those items listed would be applicable at any time...if you have to remind people of them then they will not change their attitudes.

ranga7
16-06-2010, 06:16 PM
Personally Ranga,

Ya right muzz we should move it, how about ballina;D

16-06-2010, 06:40 PM
It does put a lot of stress on the fish population over a very short period of time, maybe they should try and promote catch and release a bit. But I don't think the comp is the only problem if it effects the fishery that much.
It is a catch release comp where dead fish is also an option...or is it the other way around??
Anyways you can catch and release if you want and they normally have the big tank there to have a gander.
Have a read of the rules. Pretty good I reckon
http://www.evansheadfishingclassic.com.au/2010/rules.htm

And they have achieved 5 star rating from National Environmental Accreditation for Tournament Fishing (Neatfish).
5 star is the highest rating so they must be doing something right.

Bag limits are also halved for the tournament to lessen the impact.

Personally I reckon there is more of a strain on the fisheries every Christmas, Easter and any other long week-end then what the classic does.

banshee
16-06-2010, 06:54 PM
.......Personally I reckon there is more of a strain on the fisheries every Christmas, Easter and any other long week-end then what the classic does.

You aren't serious....surley?

16-06-2010, 07:43 PM
You aren't serious....surley?
Have you ever been in Evans at Christmas and Easter?

Look at the statistics for last year here
http://www.evansheadfishingclassic.com.au/statistics.htm
Of the 1090 fish weighed in 965 of them were released and 125 died.
Pretty good figures for the week I reckon.
Remember....the bag limits are halved for competitors and are checked.

How many fish would be caught between Christmas day and end of school holidays when every Tom Dick and Jan are fishing not knowing how to get a hook out (or that it's better to just cut the 3c hook off) let alone how to release a fish and know what all the size/bag limits are.
Evans has a huge capacity for visitors....many of whom only fish once every year or two.

murf
16-06-2010, 09:18 PM

no shiit mate?

sounds like a trip to me :)

always wanted to sit up the front of your boat and watch you fish the deep stuff :P

cheers Murf

ps be at Iluka next week for a week ;)

banshee
16-06-2010, 11:15 PM
Have you ever been in Evans at Christmas and Easter?

Look at the statistics for last year here
http://www.evansheadfishingclassic.com.au/statistics.htm
Of the 1090 fish weighed in 965 of them were released and 125 died.
Pretty good figures for the week I reckon.
Remember....the bag limits are halved for competitors and are checked.

How many fish would be caught between Christmas day and end of school holidays when every Tom Dick and Jan are fishing not knowing how to get a hook out (or that it's better to just cut the 3c hook off) let alone how to release a fish and know what all the size/bag limits are.
Evans has a huge capacity for visitors....many of whom only fish once every year or two.

Fact is not many tourists crack any sorts of numbers and a small river like this shuts down with any amount of traffic,likewise offshore is at it's quietest during the hot months excepting for an early run of Mackeral that may or may not happen.Winter time though sees the run of Spawning Snapper come into the close reefs it also sees a spawning run of bream along the beaches and headlands.Personaly I just don't see the sense in concentrating a large group of anglers in one area to target these fish.
The self imposed bag limits are a farce with a steady flow of vehicles taking fish back to Casino and Lismore each night to keep people under the limit,not to mention those that blatantly just leave town with an ice box full at weeks end.Also there are those so desperate for a prize that they keep their fish in ice with the heads exposed so as to keep the eyes from sinking.The whole thing just leaves a bad taste in my mouth I'm afraid.

Mr__Bean
17-06-2010, 12:10 PM
And one other courtesy item.

Turn your bloody headlights off (or down to parkers) when on the ramp.

You are going backwards for God's sake, no need to blind the guy next to you who is trying to back his rig down next to yours.

- Darren

ranga7
17-06-2010, 03:30 PM
Fact is not many tourists crack any sorts of numbers and a small river like this shuts down with any amount of traffic,likewise offshore is at it's quietest during the hot months excepting for an early run of Mackeral that may or may not happen.Winter time though sees the run of Spawning Snapper come into the close reefs it also sees a spawning run of bream along the beaches and headlands.Personaly I just don't see the sense in concentrating a large group of anglers in one area to target these fish.
The self imposed bag limits are a farce with a steady flow of vehicles taking fish back to Casino and Lismore each night to keep people under the limit,not to mention those that blatantly just leave town with an ice box full at weeks end.Also there are those so desperate for a prize that they keep their fish in ice with the heads exposed so as to keep the eyes from sinking.The whole thing just leaves a bad taste in my mouth I'm afraid.

your right banshee these things do happen and it stinks. more patrols and bigger fines.

17-06-2010, 08:00 PM
A request from my mum if that's OK.
Please check your trailer wheel bearings.
We get to the stage where we know who's going fishing early by the squeaks, rattles and bangs their trailers make when they drive past on the way to the ramp.

17-06-2010, 08:03 PM
Your kidding scott,

17-06-2010, 08:33 PM
Your kidding scott,
No. Fairdinkum
There's some sockers and it's something you don't really think about or hear until it's a bit predawn and your only 1/2 asleep. And the dip in the road out the front of the house doesn't help :-?

hakuna
24-06-2010, 01:57 PM

Mate you left out the ones who are down here a week before the competition filling the freezer and sorting out where to go and of course the submerged fishtrap trick