View Full Version : Rod Racks

Dean1
29-05-2010, 08:21 AM
I have lots of rods and trying to find rod racks to mount on the wall to store them in a horizontal position.

Anybody seen them for sale anywhere???

I can only find the vertical ones on ebay etc..

Meant to put this in the tackle section, i say it will be moved, thanx your honour ;D

Thanks for any help,

Deano.

lampuki
29-05-2010, 08:40 AM
Hi Deano.

All the ones I have seen have been DIY jobs....They end up being a lot nicer than most of the mass produced ones anyway.

However I quickly looked on google and found:

http://www.jannsnetcraft.com/fishing-rod-holders/

Locally, bias do a budget pair and I think I have even seen something at BCF:

http://www.biasboating.com.au/c-187-rod-holders.aspx

Im sure more advice is on the way.

Dean1
29-05-2010, 09:19 AM
Hi Deano.

All the ones I have seen have been DIY jobs....They end up being a lot nicer than most of the mass produced ones anyway.

However I quickly looked on google and found:

http://www.jannsnetcraft.com/fishing-rod-holders/

Locally, bias do a budget pair and I think I have even seen something at BCF:

http://www.biasboating.com.au/c-187-rod-holders.aspx

Im sure more advice is on the way. Thanks mate i did see those ones.

Nothing like custom made maybe i have a job on my hands.

29-05-2010, 09:22 AM
Have a look at these http://www.rodholders.com.au/

I got 2, easy to mount and good value.

29-05-2010, 11:23 AM
I store mine on square hooks suspended from floor joists above my garage, Works a treat!

Storing them in this way takes up no space, puts them safely out of the way of grandkids, and puts them pretty well out of the reach of rodents and pests generally.

See details by clicking on the pix below ...

http://img.skitch.com/20100529-8xtidc226kcju1ixh6gm8n3fh8.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/df3mb/skitched-20100529-111635)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/df3mb/skitched-20100529-111635) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

http://img.skitch.com/20100529-q3pn32cihgq3a2sksmgiy686p3.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/df3k5/skitched-20100529-111307)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/df3k5/skitched-20100529-111307) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

http://img.skitch.com/20100529-cstwi4ts765mgp2ka1pn2hsy4f.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/df3ks/skitched-20100529-110651)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/df3ks/skitched-20100529-110651) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

If needed, each one of those square hooks can carry a couple of rods and reels.

4x4frog
29-05-2010, 11:49 AM

Those look the goods.
I emailled the owner of that business and he's happy for anyone to drop by the warehouse and pick-up their order too. $20 is a steal for a rack for 7 rods.

Grand_Marlin
29-05-2010, 11:50 AM
I saw the ones Luc mentioned at the boat show.

I am getting some of them.

$20 per set (2 holders) that hold 7 rods

29-05-2010, 12:03 PM

That will be the cheapest solution in the market!

29-05-2010, 12:07 PM
Do bunnings sell something like this?

29-05-2010, 01:16 PM
Do bunnings sell something like this?

Not when I was looking last year sometime.

29-05-2010, 03:34 PM
Thanks mate

brute898
30-05-2010, 10:35 AM
I couldnt find a vertical rod rack that I liked so I ended up making my own. I have been thinking about making these and selling them as a flat pack and unpainted. It holds all my rods even with the reels on so I dont need to take the reels off. Here is some pics:

http://i357.photobucket.com/albums/oo15/brute898/102_2437.jpg

http://i357.photobucket.com/albums/oo15/brute898/102_2439.jpg

http://i357.photobucket.com/albums/oo15/brute898/102_2441.jpg

Dean1
30-05-2010, 02:31 PM
Shyte brute898 youv got some serious stock there!!!

Looks like you like your'e spin reels??!!

Nice collection...

Thanks for pics, Deano..

tenzing
30-05-2010, 06:47 PM
I made this one for under 10 bucks.
Grab an old piece of pine stud or the like and line up your gear and mark the centres.
Grab a hole saw and cut out holes to easily fit the largest handle.
Keep the waste and use a few of the wooden "wheels" you have made as spacers to keep it out from the wall.
Throw a couple of longish batten srews through the pine and offcuts into the wall studs.
Pop and old piece of timber up on the ceiling ( I used a piece of painted skirting board offcut.) and throw some vinyl covered cup hooks into her.
Open corona and enjoy!

Brendan

Ps my wife said I had made it with more holes than I had rods.Soon fixed that problem.
I keep the overheads vertically due to their weight and length.
I kept them up fairly high so I didnt have to disable the fan in the "shed"

Geoff-
30-05-2010, 06:59 PM
the best thing bunnings sells for wall mounting are these wide hooks, i only have 3 rods so it was easy to buy a packet of 6 and mount 2 hooks per rod, job done. could have packed them in a lot closer but i made a mistake and went 1 brick too low when doing the second row so i had to carry it on or it would look odd ;D

if mounting from the ceiling charleville's setup looks the best.

bdaearth
30-05-2010, 08:01 PM
Well it about time you hung them up!!!!! maybe you could put them on the ceiling of the lounge room so you can still look at them from the couch :)

Dean1
30-05-2010, 08:06 PM
Some great ideas there fellas thanks for the pics and advice.

The cieling mounting idea looks appealing, tenzing that looks pretty sweet thanks for the full build up steps, especially the last one!! ;D

Gotta get them up off the ground before the missus drives over them :'(

Cheers, Deano..

tenzing
30-05-2010, 08:17 PM
Well it about time you hung them up!!!!! maybe you could put them on the ceiling of the lounge room so you can still look at them from the couch :)

Mate I would if I could. Where do you think my first choice location was.
Seriously though we are renovating at present and the workroom wall came down the other day as SHE is taking some of the space to extend the laundry! I had to get some rods up there to kinda mark out my territory!

4x4frog
31-05-2010, 09:41 AM
Mate I would if I could. Where do you think my first choice location was.
Seriously though we are renovating at present and the workroom wall came down the other day as SHE is taking some of the space to extend the laundry! I had to get some rods up there to kinda mark out my territory!
What can you extend the laundry for? House hubby here and the amount of time one spends in the laundry each week wouldn't be more than an hour.(that's washing for 6 people too);D

31-05-2010, 11:18 AM
by far the best rod storage systems I have seen (and always promised myself to do it one day) is a custom made "pantry" thing, a guy I know got a kitchen place to build him a tall and wide but very shallow (depth) double door cupboard, all his rods are secured away from dirt and theives by the lockable doors, fits flat against hs garage wall, and is only as deep as his biggest reel plus a small amount, he has some vertical racks mounted inside to keep them all neat and untangled. It did cost a bit (not as much as I thought) but when you consider it is a one off cost, it is pretty good value. I have a couple of those metal clothes lockers to stor my game roods in, they fit in easy height wise and are locked away save and sound, all other gear goes on simple home made rod racks keeping them all horizontal along a wall, tackle and odds and ends go in matching metal (brownbuilt) cabinets.

Fishbait
31-05-2010, 08:58 PM
Had some aluminium rod racks custom made from a bloke in the trade. Have them on the ceiling in the garage of the house as well - looks nice and tucked out of the way. Maybe just pop down to your local bloke and see what they charge to make you some? Good idea i reckon hanging them off your garage roof - nicely stored and secured in the safety of your own house. Cheers, Darren.;)