View Full Version : Yamaha Tilt Tube Disaster

Mindi
18-05-2010, 12:07 PM
Towed my Seascape 4.82 CC and 60 4Strk Yammy back from Darwin to Sunshine Coast without the wooden chock I use as a motor support properly in place. Bent the tilt tube so that you could see the bend with the naked eye.....so fitting the new Hydrive steering wasnt going very well when I couldnt get the steering rod through the tilt tube...!

Took it to local Yammy dealer who ordered a new tilt tube and for two hours labour pressed the old one out and inserted the new one. The old tilt tube wobbled when rolled on the concrete floor...bent as...!...Total cost so far $390....hmmm. Be more careful next time. Got the boat home and found that the new steering rod still didnt go through so I took it back and the mechanic was as puzzled as me..... my rod from Hydrive was OK as it slipped through a new motor sitting on the floor perfectly.

Lifted the motor off on a hoist and looked at the alignment and the two side support brackets are not in line when tightened up to the transom...they are toed in a few mil when viewed from above...so when a tilt tube is pressed through it is bent enough to stop it working. The new one is still fine when removed fortunately...but the motor supports are not aligned. They are actually independently mounted on the transom..not on one pad of material....and one or both have moved slightly, or they have bent, or the transom has distorted.... when you look at their relationship to the transom they are actually both a bit off square....so push the tilt tube through either side and it misses the opposing hole by as much as 4mm...height OK it misses to the rear so either or both brackets have been rotated inwards slightly......!

Straight edge on dismounted cast transom brackets looks good....straight edge on transom looks good...frustration. The cast transom brackets are $800 each and not identifiably twisted. In the end the problem was got around by getting good alignment with a shim washer on the upper bolt of the starboard support bracket...not engineering elegance but practical and safe....so all is now good without really knowing whether it is the transom a bit distorted or the brackets slightly twisted. I think it's the transom as the heavy cast brackets would not twist 1mm before breaking in my view.....the mech is not so sure.

Total cost with labour generously handled by Ray Scholes Marine was just under $800 in the end. Who performed well and who performed badly..?

Me....bloody hopeless for trailing the motor unsupported...dont do it...you can do a lot more than just bend the tilt tube....DONT DO IT

Ray Scholes Marine... excellent... couldnt be happier with their effort or their cost. Second time I have dealt with them and both times really good experience...just dropped what they were doing and worked on it non stop.

Suncorp Insurance.... Called Monday morning, boat specialist called me back Mon afternoon before problem finally resolved and after first lot of work paid. We agreed I would contact him when I had the final cost, I called him back Tuesday morning and he said all good...just email him a digital photo of the invoice and they will transfer the money to my bank acct. How good is that...didnt even fill out a form... so I am happy to give them a big wrap also.

Now back to installing the Hydrive Sportkit....bloody hell... boats are supposed to be fun.

18-05-2010, 01:05 PM
sportkit is easy to install, once all the bent bits are taken care of that is.

Mindi
18-05-2010, 03:05 PM
Finished the Sportkit without any problems....follow the instructions and no drama really.

Donny Boy
18-05-2010, 03:49 PM
Glad it all finished OK, but ............OUCH !

On a lighter note, what's the trip like ? Looking at doing it meself.........

Need a 4by ? Or OK with a Ute ?.

18-05-2010, 05:29 PM
Hey Mindy

Thanks for the wrap up, its good to get the follow through from the earlier thread. Great mechanic to just drop everything and fix the problem. Getting rare that.

How did you go in Darwin is there a thread in the report section. I just got back a few weeks ago and left a bit of a report there. At least a month next year I reckon.

Mindi
18-05-2010, 06:51 PM
Glad it all finished OK, but ............OUCH !

On a lighter note, what's the trip like ? Looking at doing it meself.........

Need a 4by ? Or OK with a Ute ?.

No need for a 4 x 4 although I use a Rodeo 4 x 4.... I go to the Daly River at Woolianna which is as far downstream as you can drive. From where I live it is 3395 km of bitumen, and 8km of good gravel at the very end. We do it comfortably in 3.5 days towing a boat or camper....Darwin about a further 150km but that would be all bitumen. Road pretty good.... fuel expensive between about Longreach and Katherine..like +30cents litre. Road through Qld no problem....not a freeway but no problem.

Mindi
18-05-2010, 06:53 PM
Hey Mindy

Thanks for the wrap up, its good to get the follow through from the earlier thread. Great mechanic to just drop everything and fix the problem. Getting rare that.

How did you go in Darwin is there a thread in the report section. I just got back a few weeks ago and left a bit of a report there. At least a month next year I reckon.

Had a good visit to Daly Rvr...barra not that easy but good enough, mainly livebaiting this year, lose no lures but heaps of leaders and hooks...LOL..plenty to eat and brought a couple home..good trip