View Full Version : Boat Weight

Ramjam
20-04-2010, 12:45 PM
Hi, I just bought a new trailer for my old 15 foot glass runabout which has a 1986 90hp on the back. Can anyone tell me an approximate weight of boat and trailer so as I can set it up for towing. There is no weighbridge nearby. Thankyou in advance.

20-04-2010, 01:11 PM
850-950? see what others think

20-04-2010, 01:17 PM
I guess depending on the make of boat and stuff in it, somewhere between 800KG and maybe 1 tonne, but that is entirely a guess, someone might say half that and be right!

20-04-2010, 01:21 PM
g'day ramjam, i'm guessing you're asking this to see whether you break the 750kg mark and need brakes fitted. i'd say both fnq and noel are on the money and to play it safe you'll need override brakes fitted.

dnej
20-04-2010, 01:35 PM
650 boat,220 motor,trailer 250,gear fuel etc 200, so about 1320 all up. Hope its fitted with brakes, you need them.
David

mattyd
21-04-2010, 11:36 AM
I'd guess 1000 - 1100kg myself (with fuel).

I run a total of 1.2T for my 5.3m glass cuddy cab with 90hp ETEC.

Brakes a must.

dreemon
21-04-2010, 02:30 PM
I wasn't expecting those figures , my 4.7 glass cuddy weighs 355 ( hull only) 120 for yam 90 2st, and I can bounce the trailer when I have to move it without the boat on it but unsure of it's weight, it has put on some kilos since I first got it, but I was still thinking it's under the 750? Cheers

wrxhoon
21-04-2010, 02:47 PM
I wasn't expecting those figures , my 4.7 glass cuddy weighs 355 ( hull only) 120 for yam 90 2st, and I can bounce the trailer when I have to move it without the boat on it but unsure of it's weight, it has put on some kilos since I first got it, but I was still thinking it's under the 750? Cheers

Very hard to get a 15 footer on a trailer with fuel an gear under 750 kgs mate , put her on the weighbridge and you will be shocked .

I have 2 jetskis on a trailer ( sit downs) they are $750 with fuel but one is older raider lightweight .If I put 2 jerry cans of fuel they are well over the magic 750kg.

My guess is his boat will be 900-1000 depending on gear and fuel

NTMID8
21-04-2010, 04:13 PM
Get the brakes to be safe, ive got a 4.7m glass cuddy (Haines signature) which apparantly weights 400kg, add to that the 60hp 2stroke 104kg then fuel and equip say 150 kg then the trailer another 150kg for a total of just over 800kg.

i wouldnt imagine to many glass boat and trailers under 750kg

bennyboy
21-04-2010, 04:28 PM

355 Hull
120 Motor
200 Trailer minimum
20 Battery
50 Fuel
= 745kg

You better not put any bait in the boat!

dreemon
21-04-2010, 06:11 PM
Looks like I'll be making a trip to the tip and drive over the scale there,

bennyboy, it's not the weight of the bait but more the beers that'll tip the scales on the way to the ramp,
really though, it's got me thinking cause I have two big batterys in it and just fitted s/steel rocket launcher to it , and when the wife and kids come out with us theres an extra 4 bags of who knows what !?

if it falls just under I can allways throw any extra stuff in the truck

anyone know a rough price to getting brakes fitted, cheers?

NTMID8
21-04-2010, 08:32 PM
trailer places here in Adelaide do packages for around $350 - just a quick look on the net:

http://www.marshall-eng.com.au/D.I.Y%20Brake%20Conversion%20Kits.htm#D.I.Y%20Mech anical%20Disc%20Brake%20Conversion%20Kit

21-04-2010, 08:56 PM
Looks like I'll be making a trip to the tip and drive over the scale there,

bennyboy, it's not the weight of the bait but more the beers that'll tip the scales on the way to the ramp,
really though, it's got me thinking cause I have two big batterys in it and just fitted s/steel rocket launcher to it , and when the wife and kids come out with us theres an extra 4 bags of who knows what !?

if it falls just under I can allways throw any extra stuff in the truck

anyone know a rough price to getting brakes fitted, cheers?

Just thinking...you would have to unhook the trailer to get the right weight with about 10% on the tow bar..

22-04-2010, 08:57 AM
there is plenty of boats around that have been weighed without batteries, and anchors and fuel, no spare wheel and anything else that can be removed, just to get the weighbridge "ticket" to be under the weight needed for brakes, whether this is a good move or silly is up to the idividual I guess.

NTMID8
22-04-2010, 11:44 AM
Im a firm believer in the "do it once, do it right" saying, why mess about for $400 with you 10k, 15k, 20k boat on the back? In the long run you will actually save money by having good working trailer brakes as it puts less stress on your car, therefore maximising the km you get out of your cars brakes.

Also sure you can remove items so your under 750kg but i can tell you from experience you might fool the brand new copper but an experienced Police officer will know that any glass boat of 4m plus will more than likely weigh more than 750kg meaning (here in SA anyways) a hefty fine and a defected trailer.

dreemon
22-04-2010, 05:51 PM
For now I'll just try and keep the weight low " I'll only put light beer in the esky",
My ute pulls and stops it well, it's a dualcab Delta with weight activated rear brakes. I will put it through the scales for sure, but when I do the brakes i'll have the trailer sandblasted and re-galved so will need to save for this,

I feel like I hijacked this thread ! ! ! sorry Ramjam , btw where are you ?

Thanks all an cheers

Ramjam
06-05-2010, 02:01 PM
Thanks for all the comments, I live in Tannum Sands, so when I get a chance at a weighbridge I shall let you know the total.

06-05-2010, 07:07 PM
I reckon 1000 to 1150 kg

ian

Fed
07-05-2010, 08:18 AM
In NSW the RTA doesn't count the weight on the towball so you might want to check that out for QLD as it could be 75 Kg off the weight.

deckie
07-05-2010, 10:23 AM
Motor about 115kg wet
Hull about 375kg stripped to the bare bones.
Trailer i'll guess 220kg
subtotal 700kg (ish)
plus
gizmo's, safety gear etc 20-30kg
fuel + water 60kg
batteries 15-45kg
cabling 5kg
hmmm yeah this ones gunna be close :cheesy: ...but i'll guess just overs.

I got a shock when i flowcoated just the inside and realised thats an extra 15-20 kg already. It all adds up.