View Full Version : Snapper mayhem s/coast

aerordauto
28-03-2010, 04:00 PM
With the weather being very ordinary of late we planned a trip to the banks and left friday afternoon.
Chris, shannon, john and myself drifted a spot and picked up a few nice fish so anchored up on sunset.
we berleyed up and sent down mullet fillets,squid on patternoster and pillies on the floaters and not long after the sun set the floater went off with some nice snapper boated averaging 6kg and 1 of chris a pb at 8.1 kg and 900mm long, and a pb for john at 6.1kg.
they soon went off the bite.
next morning the fishing was slow so we sounded most of the day and about 3.00pm found a bommie loaded with parrot, pearlies, squire and undersize reds, ending up with a good mixed bag.
the esky was full and starting on the next esky so with a good catch on board the decision was made to not stay o/night.
we left about 5.30pm and headed for home with the moon up and sitting on 25 knots in comfort.
thanks to the crew for help clean up.
cheers mark.

murf
28-03-2010, 04:33 PM
would love to get onto some fish like that this time of year down this way :) top stuff

cheers Murf

SWANY22
28-03-2010, 04:42 PM
top session . defently nice looking nobbies there that big one is a cracker.

28-03-2010, 04:52 PM
you got some good fish there. The big pearlie what did it weigh in at?
well done

indy
28-03-2010, 05:04 PM
Nice going mark some nice nobbie's there definatily worth the wait hey.

cheers pete...

DALEPRICE
28-03-2010, 06:01 PM
well done, some great snappa boated.
cheers dale

Ratman
28-03-2010, 06:18 PM
Good stuff Mark.

What sort of cat is that in the pics.

soulfish
28-03-2010, 06:23 PM
well done mate you gotta be happy

28-03-2010, 06:29 PM
Thats a top score . Some awesome knobbies there

vertico
28-03-2010, 06:29 PM
Top stuff mate, good to see the snapper firing so early in the season!

aerordauto
28-03-2010, 08:29 PM
Thanks all for the replies, spiro the biggest pearlie was about 2kg, we stayed in the shallows and did not go to the 100m.
hello mick the cat is a 27 foot shark cat ex bruce harris built.
7.0m with pods fitted and a walk through transom.top speed about 87kmh.
cheers mark

hoops86
28-03-2010, 08:52 PM
Great catch mate, lets hope thats a sign for the coming season

28-03-2010, 09:35 PM
That's a great result and good to hear you limiting your catch and not catching the limit. Theres tons of feeds in that lot I'm sure. I'd have been happy as just to see that one big snapper come onboard.

TCSunCoast
29-03-2010, 08:57 AM
Nice work Mark.

Spent so long trolling over summer I had forgotten what a good day on the reefies looked like!

toddsaarinen
29-03-2010, 09:47 AM
Nice work boys. That snapper was a honcher. Did ya get most of ya fish up north of the banks or down south? Cheers!

vertico
29-03-2010, 11:21 AM
Little birdy told me the big snapper was taken on PEtackle fly :|

jason p
29-03-2010, 05:20 PM
nice catch fellas, wich is making that bank itch even more unbearable ive gotta get back out there soon.
well done

jp

hookinin
29-03-2010, 07:33 PM
Hey Mark.
Looks like its going to take a while for that smurk on face to fade. Have to be happy with a result like that.
Cheers Gaven

aerordauto
29-03-2010, 08:30 PM
Thanks for replys,todd western banks in the warm current, petackle could have been what is it worth, gday gavin the boys got me to lift them up, down, in, out and by that time my arms where suffering.
cheers mark