http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/Borumba28.png

With Downscan –

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/Borumba30.png

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/Borumba34.png

Lee

shrunken pojie
21-03-2010, 08:41 PM
So where are those big togas you were pulling out in those pics?

BR65
21-03-2010, 09:24 PM
Thanks lee

Steve B
21-03-2010, 09:38 PM
Great stuff Lee...thanks mate. THere is some great images there. I am studying them closely to gain the right perspective of the side images....think I have it sussed.

Cheers Steve

leelee
21-03-2010, 10:04 PM
So where are those big togas you were pulling out in those pics?

nah didn't pic up any togas on side scan

Great stuff Lee...thanks mate. THere is some great images there. I am studying them closely to gain the right perspective of the side images....think I have it sussed.

Cheers Steve

Steve have a real good look at the 3rd pic that has the bait. Look ate the downscan and see the hight of the bait school, probably about 1-2 foot at most. Look at the sidescan and you can see them on right hand side, but look at the individual shadows they cast.

Also the shots seem a bit grainy to me from the HDS8 compared to the HDS7, but that could just be the fact that that the amount of rain the area had the water was more silty or the fact the dam is full etc.

Lee

Steve B
21-03-2010, 10:25 PM
you must be reading my mind Lee!!

I was going to ask you if those shadows were from the bait....I figured they were. Very cool. You have it wired well too.

Sounds like the crew had a great weekend at the bash!

Cheers Steve

aharding
22-03-2010, 07:17 AM
These are excellent images, thanks for sharing.

Very interesting, I'm a fly fishing guide from Wellington in new Zealand and I fished this lake over xmas with a friend, we knew very little about the dam so drove north from Brisbane to try. Tons of sunken trees as your HDS scans show!!

Very scenic and reminds me of NZ apart from being bitten by a snake! We had some excellent fishing on the fly for Sarratoga along the weedbeds in the incredibly murky water. This is the best landed, approx 2-3kgs. How big do Sarraotoga get in this dam and would this be considered a large one? We caught several smaller ones as well.

http://www.fishing.net.nz/asp_forums/uploads/41948/IMGP4302.jpg

BR65
22-03-2010, 10:40 AM
Thats a nice Toge!
We all aim for a meter+ fish, but in reality anything over 70 is a nice fish, over 80 a good fish, over 90 a great fish!
Interesting water colour in the pic, we had chocolate brown after all the rain compared to that pea soup green.

Sillaginid
24-03-2010, 02:00 PM
Lee

I am curious as to how good these units are in very shallow water. Have you tried using the sidescan in water less than 2 m? If so, how was the image?
Also does the image quality vary much with the clarity of the water?

Dicko
24-03-2010, 03:14 PM
Nice shots Lee.

leelee
24-03-2010, 06:26 PM
Lee

I am curious as to how good these units are in very shallow water. Have you tried using the sidescan in water less than 2 m? If so, how was the image?
Also does the image quality vary much with the clarity of the water?

I have not used it in less than 2m sorry but I will be very soon.

Lee

Midnight
24-03-2010, 07:34 PM
Very very cool!

Are those images recorded onto the memory stick and then onto your computer?

Any idea what the sounder would be like in salt water say 40-130m?

Myles

24-03-2010, 09:01 PM
Wow Lee. They are really nice shots. Takes a bit of adjustment to get used to. I have to try and stop kinking my neck when looking at the side scan. Top stuff mate, you have it wired all right.

Grand_Marlin
24-03-2010, 09:10 PM
Very nice Mate, you have certainly got it sussed out better than anyone else I have seen.
Installation must be spot on ... who did that for you? ;D

Midnight
24-03-2010, 10:12 PM
Don't let Newby see, he be cranky!;D

leelee
24-03-2010, 10:57 PM
Very nice Mate, you have certainly got it sussed out better than anyone else I have seen.
Installation must be spot on ... who did that for you? ;D

Yes thanks Pete, your work is excellent;D

The installation was spot on and needs to be with the structure scan;)

Lee

blackjew
10-09-2011, 08:48 AM
Gday Lee
Thats great mate awesome pics, Thanks ive been going back through all your threads ,doing lots of study .You have some great knowledge that is helping me understand what to look for .
I ordered my HDS8 yesterday so cant wait .

djgtom
11-09-2011, 07:50 AM
Hi guys, here are some for ya's,

this one was taken on Eildon by a mate with a camera as he didn't know about screenshot, note the depth. it is an old intake tower from the dam

this one was taken on Muwala in shallow water, can you spot the large Cod ?

just a random one

took me a while to work out what these were, came across these regularly on mulwala. 1st thought they were lures snagged on bottom but they turned out to be bubbles, i stumbled across this as i trolled over the top of a bubble area and this image appeared on the down and side imaging. amazing stuff

Deano

blackjew
11-09-2011, 08:36 AM
Gday Deano ,good pics with a camera mate ,hows the one of the castle lol looks like a watch tower ,would like to see them with the screen shots,now the Big Cod is that it at the top Port side just after the most recent data,There is an obect there that looks like it might be a fish .
Or about half way dow on the port side were the flat starts to rise thats a big shadow thou.
Cheers Rob

vertico
11-09-2011, 09:18 AM
anyone used this lowrance gear offshore and achieved good results ?

blackjew
11-09-2011, 01:41 PM
Gday vertigo mate do a search on here Structure scan in deep water ,or try some googling ,heaps of info out there .
Cheers Rob

djgtom
11-09-2011, 06:57 PM
Gday Deano ,good pics with a camera mate ,hows the one of the castle lol looks like a watch tower ,would like to see them with the screen shots,now the Big Cod is that it at the top Port side just after the most recent data,There is an obect there that looks like it might be a fish .
Or about half way dow on the port side were the flat starts to rise thats a big shadow thou.
Cheers Rob

Rob,

We all reckon it's on the left side in line with the top of the 9.9 ft symbol sitting alone on the creek bed, you can see it's shadow.

Deano

ps. have some shots of barra sitting on a rock bar in the south alligator, just need to find them ::)

Stressless
12-09-2011, 08:37 AM
Nice shots Lee.

I spend more time hitting the "screen snap-shot" button, than fishing!!! What these units pick up is eye opening.

Only run the sounder in structure or down scan mode, no longer use the 50/200 transducer, except for temp

Fed
12-09-2011, 09:09 AM
Amazing pictures Deano I'd get no fishing done at all if I had one of those to play with.
A question, if you were stationary at the castle would it then stretch across the whole screen and alternatively if you went past the castle at say 5 Knots would it then appear skinny?
I'm having some trouble getting my head around those pics they're like snaps from a camera.
The shadows are screwing with my head too.

djgtom
12-09-2011, 03:12 PM
Amazing pictures Deano I'd get no fishing done at all if I had one of those to play with.
A question, if you were stationary at the castle would it then stretch across the whole screen and alternatively if you went past the castle at say 5 Knots would it then appear skinny?
I'm having some trouble getting my head around those pics they're like snaps from a camera.
The shadows are screwing with my head too.

I find going along steady at approx 5-15 km/hr is best for super clear image, the imaging does work up to about 35 km/hr with very poor results. the down imaging does hold bottom at 70 km/hr but ya can't see crap. As for sitting over an object, i'm not entirely sure but i would suggest it would just smear or fill the screen up. The best way i can describe the technology is imagine a thin laser beam coming from the transducer out 180 degrees level with the top of the water and down into the water column, when you pass the beam hits objects and casts a shadows which are interpreted, ie the boat must keep moving for it to work properly, the humminbird site has a great explanation of how the imaging works, i found this very helpful when i had my 1st h'bird imager. ;D

hope this helps
Deano

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3BYkA4hyDg

Si
12-09-2011, 03:48 PM
I find going along steady at approx 5-15 km/hr is best for super clear image, the imaging does work up to about 35 km/hr with very poor results. the down imaging does hold bottom at 70 km/hr but ya can't see crap. As for sitting over an object, i'm not entirely sure but i would suggest it would just smear or fill the screen up. The best way i can describe the technology is imagine a thin laser beam coming from the transducer out 180 degrees level with the top of the water and down into the water column, when you pass the beam hits objects and casts a shadows which are interpreted, ie the boat must keep moving for it to work properly, the humminbird site has a great explanation of how the imaging works, i found this very helpful when i had my 1st h'bird imager. ;D

hope this helps
Deano

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3BYkA4hyDg

hey d,
nice shots from the structure scan there mate. thanks for sharing. how do you find the lss compared to the h'bird that you mentioned you previoulsy had?

blackjew
12-09-2011, 04:22 PM
Hey Deano well thats great to know mate i looked at that image first and thought nah that cant be it that actually looks like a fishes tail lol
Mate Awesome cant wait to get mine . another couplea days i recon .
Cheers Rob

blackjew
12-09-2011, 04:30 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ouZdcssm-u4 This ones worth a look to i recon ,it made things alot easyer to understand for me .

djgtom
12-09-2011, 06:08 PM
hey d,
nice shots from the structure scan there mate. thanks for sharing. how do you find the lss compared to the h'bird that you mentioned you previoulsy had?

Hi,
i still have my 798 h'bird which lives in the small tinny. The HDS 8 is much clearer on the down and side imaging for sure. side imaging is roughly the same when the hds is on 455 kh thingy's same as the h'bird instead of 800 kh thingy's :P the hds normally runs on. the only reason i upgraded is me mates had em so i had to have one ::);D just like any self respecting fisho would do lol.

I believe the h'bird is easier to use

Onya Rob.....just don't run into anything when yr playing with the new toy !!!! the soft keys shortcuts are the go....have fun

Deano

blackjew
12-09-2011, 07:08 PM
Mate im going to mount mine on the seat of me tinnie right infront of me,on a rised bracket so i can still see what im going to run into lol
Cheers Rob

leelee
18-09-2011, 04:26 PM
Sorry not been on line much over the past week.

Yes some of those shots from djgtom look awesome.

Rob happy to help out any time as once you get it setup and get on the water and start using it, you will be an expert in no time at all.

First things first though is leave the structure scan on auto settings until you get a handle on it. After that turn of the auto as you can get much better results by tweaking it yourself.

Cheres

Lee