PDA

View Full Version : fire extinguisher

Whiplash
16-03-2010, 03:49 PM
Do Fire Extinguishers have to be tested every year or not ?

trymyluck
16-03-2010, 04:02 PM
Home or work????

I know at work we inspect once a month in house and get a 6 monthly inspection done by a contractor.

Whiplash
16-03-2010, 04:37 PM
In the boat

Kero
16-03-2010, 04:57 PM
Not as far as I know, but if it's a dry chemical type then you should give it a shake and see if the powder has settled/hardened at the bottom. I give mine a bash against a tree when I remember.

BILLY THE KID
16-03-2010, 05:03 PM
Do Fire Extinguishers have to be tested every year or not ?

for the 30 odd dollars , i buy a new one every year

beats swimming through the bay if something goes wrong ;)

Paul007
16-03-2010, 05:19 PM
I'm a heavy equipment operator. It is a part of my pre-start before I use any machine to check fire extinguisher. I check gauge.. (needle in green), General condition of extinguisher, body and handle operating lever, bracket. Check tag to ensure six month service is not due. There is a plastic tell tale tie that makes it that the pin can not be removed without breaking the the tie (it is easily broken. but it gives an indication if the pin has been removed and then replaced. If the tie is broken I treat the extinguisher as possibly discharged and needing to be replaced before the machine can be operated.
I do a modified check on the 1 kg fire extinguisher on my boat before each use. My understanding is that they are not cost effective to test, so I have decided that three years is a good operating period. So I replace mine every three years.
I always test the old one...used to give my young bloke a demo of my fire fighting skills when he was younger and interested in those sort of things.
I have never had one not work when I have tested the old one. I have considered extending the service life of them but I figure I don't want to have it that when I really need it it is too old.