View Full Version : Weather vs Tinnie & Tackle show

Boab Bribie
15-03-2010, 05:54 AM
Hi Guys,
Going on the 7 days forecast the weather is going to be ordinary AGAIN on the weekend for fishing http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/icons/icon13.gif. On the other hand the next best thing is heading to the tinnie and tackle show on the weekend for a bargin on some tackle etc http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/icons/icon14.gif. My centre cab will be in the show for the first time at the BOAB stand. If last years show is anything to go by it should be a good turn out i remember walking around last year and it was stinking hot.

Cheers BOAB BRIBIE

mookyandlumpy
15-03-2010, 09:03 PM
im heading down on satruday,

do you think they would mind me filming the some of the Club Marine Fishing Expo, i have a short memory,, it will just be for personal use not broadcast any where, so i can go back and watch it later at home..

15-03-2010, 09:40 PM
is going Saturday also..waste a few hours strolling around

Chris Ryan
15-03-2010, 09:46 PM
say hi to the ECOfishers boys at the show.

15-03-2010, 10:22 PM
say hi to the ECOfishers boys at the show.

And sign the Coral Sea petition!

Bill_Corten
16-03-2010, 11:29 AM
Looking forward to the Tinnie and Tackle Show this year too.
Keen to see if last years record attendance of 32,000 over the entire show is exceeded.
Also very keen to see so many new boat releases at the show and of course don't forget to drop in at your leisure to the fishing expo.
There is $10k for the winning team in the Humminbird Qld Open featuring the competing teams at the daily live weigh in's. Plenty of kids prizes at the Sat and Sun Berkley kids fishing shows and plenty of variety regardless of your fishing preferences built into the program. In addition to the top notch local presenters Bushy will be on stage Saturday and of particular interest will be the bush cooking and Kimberley adventures sessions daily with Jase and Rodo's All 4 Adventure. Their new show kicks off on ###### pay tv channel 183 on Wednesday night at 7:30 and on Briz 31 at 9:00 Wednesday night.
See you at the show. Program is attached in case you haven't seen it.

Chris Ryan
16-03-2010, 05:46 PM
Bill, with 30-40knots and a 6m swell predicted.........I reckon we'll get a few headed to the RNA for this event.

16-03-2010, 06:51 PM
Bill, with 30-40knots and a 6m swell predicted.........I reckon we'll get a few headed to the RNA for this event.

Is that all? I reckon the jigging at Square Patch'd be awesome, I might have to play hookey from the EcoFishers stand on Sunday!

And I reckon Mr. Corten might renig on a few agreements and go run a bar crossing course. Damn fine conditions for it!

Bill_Corten
16-03-2010, 08:58 PM
Hey Tim

You know I like a challenge. If it is going to 30 knots and a 6 metre swell it would be good to get you out on the bar just to see the whites of your eyes. I reckon they would be so big Chris Ryan would capture them in a telephoto lens from the beach on Moreton.
See you guys at the Ecofishers stand with bells on.

Bill

16-03-2010, 09:40 PM
CLUB MARINE FISHING EXPO PROGRAM

MARINE QUEENSLAND TINNIE AND TACKLE SHOW 2010

Day/Time Topic Presenter/s

Friday 19 March 2010

9:30 A beginners guide to fishing Jumpinpin Dave “Nuggett” Downie
10:15 Trolling for wahoo Jason Comino
11:00 Yamaha Supertank lure fishing Brett Thomson
11:45 Specialist rigs and techniques for fishing the Dave “Nuggett” Downie
Southern Bay
12:30 Bush cooking and Kimberley adventures Jase and Rodo’s All 4
Adventure
1:15 Squidding and crabbing in Moreton Bay Gary Howard
2:00 Weigh-in, Humminbird BREAM Qld Open Bill Corten/
Simon Goldsmith
3:00 Chasing pelagics with soft plastics Frank Oostenbroek
3:45 Floatlining offshore for reef fish Jason Comino
4:30 Freshwater fishing options close to Brisbane Mike Delisser

Saturday 20March 2010

9:30 Yamaha Supertank lure fishing Brett Thomson
10:15 Berkley kids fishing show Jason Ehrlich/Jason Medcalf
11:00 Gear to get started with soft plastics and lures Bushy
11:30 How to catch impoundment barramundi Jason Ehrlich
12:15 Bush cooking and Kimberley adventures Jase and Rodo’s All 4
Adventure
1:00 Trailerboat fishing the Great Sandy Straits Jason Medcalf
1:45 Bream, whiting and flathead on soft plastics and lures Bushy
2:15 Weigh-in, Humminbird BREAM Qld Open Bill Corten/
Simon Goldsmith
3:15 Beach fishing Gary Howard
4:00 Small tinny fishing and gathering bait in the Bay Brian Webb
4:45 Brisbane River fishing locations and techniques Paul Graveson

Sunday 21March 2010

9:30 Moreton Bay snapper on plastics and lures Duncan O’Connell
10:15 Berkley kids fishing show Jason Ehrlich/Jason Medcalf
11:00 Practical knots and leaders for lure and bait fishing Jason Ehrlich
11:45 Fishing the South Burnett impoundments Jason Medcalf
12:30 Bush cooking and Kimberley adventures Jase and Rodo’s All 4
Adventure
1:15 Yamaha Supertank lure fishing Brett Thomson
2:00 Final weigh-in, Humminbird BREAM Qld Open Bill Corten/
Simon Goldsmith
2:45 Latest lures and fishing equipment to catch more bream Tim Morgan
3:15 Sportfishing for mackerel and tuna Gary Howard
4:00 Crossing coastal bars Bill Corten

LP.

troy
18-03-2010, 08:26 AM
where abouts do they have the show as i will be in Brisbane Sunday.
Troy

gr hilly
18-03-2010, 08:56 AM
could someone please tell me if you can get the train in from the southside, as i hate driving in the city it makes grumpy and that would make my day unpleasant,

hilly

Bill_Corten
18-03-2010, 10:01 AM
G'day guys

The Tinnie and Tackle Show is at the RNA grounds between Fortitude Valley and Bowen Hills. There is parking in the RNA grounds on the northern side of Gregory Terrace but Hilly, take the train to Brunswick Street Station and stroll in from there down St Pauls Terrace. Parking may be at a premium because with the winds up for the weekend there will be a big crown at the show.
Don't forget to pop in to the fishing expo to take in whatever sessions are of interest as they are all free and say gooday at the same time.

Bill

18-03-2010, 10:32 AM
One of the really neat things about this event is being able to buy tickets online and print them off to show with photo ID to avoid the queues at the ticket box. Really good! I have printed my ticket ready for tomorrow already.

I notice that the parking is at $10 this year. My memory tells me that it was usually $6 and I recall from a woodworking show late last year that the public was so unhappy about that fee increase that the organisers displayed signs advising that the parking costs had nothing to do with them as they did not have the parking franchise.

I suspect that there will be some grumbles about that this year as well.

I would be highly tempted to take the train there myself this year except that I want to buy some stuff and carrying it home might be a nuisance in the train.

I am looking forward to Gary Howard's talk about squidding and crabbing.

[It is a pretty good mix of fishing seminars this year, Bill Corten. Well done!]

Jurkyjj
18-03-2010, 07:39 PM
I'll be going with Leethal098 (lee) on saturday.
might see a few of you boys there.

Jason.

Ozie_3
19-03-2010, 08:53 AM
looks like the weather looses and its the tinnie show .... today

on my way in half hour...

cheers Chris

19-03-2010, 06:51 PM
Will be there at opening time tommorow.

I'll be training it since I've got a yearly ticket.

Interested to have a look at the new Lowrance Mark-5X sounders and buy one if the $$ are good!!

20-03-2010, 11:10 AM
Yea, its the vbest option for the weekend. I might head over this afternoon so I get to heckle Webby and Chief

Fafnir
20-03-2010, 03:26 PM
Just got back from it. What a sh#*fight! LONG ques to get in, wish I had thought to buy my ticket online and then once inside shoulder to shoulder trying to make my way through, pushing my boys in a pram.

Trying to find anything was hard work, and many things I wanted to see I couldn't find, and ultimately couldn't be bothered. Great for the organisers, but I wish a few more of you guys had gone fishing instead, would have made it easier to have a browse.

Is it just me or are there a LOT more exhibitors there this year?

Ozie_3
20-03-2010, 03:36 PM
you shoulda gone yesterday :)

i was straight into a park on the oval.....10 bucks

then walk accross street and straight up to window, part with another 12 and in...

no problem.... lunch at 12.30 was a queue of about 6 people b4 me....

oh ! was it a workday yesterday ??

:) :) :)

20-03-2010, 03:50 PM
ITs been flat our in the mornings, not so busy in the afternoons

20-03-2010, 04:15 PM
I stood in the long queue also to get in..had a good stroll around and chatted with a few people I knew..nothing i wanted to buy.

20-03-2010, 04:31 PM
Just got back from it. What a sh#*fight! LONG ques to get in, wish I had thought to buy my ticket online

I stood in the long queue also to get in..

I don't know why you blokes don't buy your ticket online. You can probably do it five minutes before you leave home if you want to.

They email you the invoice which you print off and when you get there you walk straight past the queue and straight inside where a bloke checks off your invoice number against his list. He is also supposed to check some photo ID but they did not seem to be too worried about that when I went.

This is a lot neater online ticket buying process than happens for other shows where they post you out your ticket such that you need to order it well before the event.

reddybayfisher
20-03-2010, 05:12 PM
I went yesterday also - and found it quite comfortable to walk around at my own pace and not feel crowded....I listened to Nugget about the Pin and the strolled around, had some lunch (no queue), went to the bream weigh-in (Team Lowrance was leading - how did the boys go today?), listening to Frank OO about chasing pelagics with SPs, then went back and bought the things I wasn't going to be carry around all day and buy that time it was 4.30pm - I had a great day and I'll be back next year....

Fafnir
20-03-2010, 05:48 PM
I don't know why you blokes don't buy your ticket online.

Didn't realise I could until I got back and read your earlier post.

you shoulda gone yesterday :)

I went fishing yesterday instead. Wish I had of done it the other way around now.

Do you think the big crowds today are a good or bad thing for exhibitors? I would have thought a lot of 'lookers' making it harder for 'buyers' to get to talk to stall holders would be a bad thing for an exhibitor. On the other hand, lots of people milling around might encourage people to buy? Maybe?

20-03-2010, 07:32 PM
Got there at 910 this morning no lines & no crowd so was able to have a quick walkround then back to the interesting ones. Got ticket on line just before going to the train station.:D

Liked:
The Attack boats specially the light blue & white one,
IMO the tiller long boat with the 40/2 was great value and
The ezy topper would make a great roof topper or electric outfit .

None of the new Lowrance for sale but got to see them at North Side Marine stand and just have to wait for stocks!!

Started to get really crowed by mid morning.

Bought a Biji Barbi & a sun2sea shirt & went home.

Got home & gave the Biji a test run with snags, tbone & eggs.;D

20-03-2010, 09:35 PM
There were a lot of $$$$ to be spent ;D

Had a walk around for the last 2 days wondering how a lazy 150k in my back packet would go ?

Not far ! Some nice big platey boats (waiting for the call on the 17th, June to say i've won the raffle for the 6800 AMM weekender !) ;D The 6500 Origin boat was Sweet !

Damo

Joe-90
20-03-2010, 11:33 PM
Who else saw the german carbon fibre boat. Can't imagine how much pain you'd feel running that up against some oyster covered rocks. Mean looking boat though!

21-03-2010, 05:30 AM
. Got ticket on line just before going to the train station.:D

A very smart man! :)

Knotpretty
21-03-2010, 08:35 AM
Sorry to put a dampener on the show hype .I went Sat and was very disappointed. Two tackle areas selling cheap junk. Local tackle shop kicks their butts. The area for presentations was far to small. Sorry for being a kill joy but If thats the show then i wont be returning. mojo

21-03-2010, 04:15 PM
I went today with my wife. A few observations:

1/ I thought the crowd was very good, plenty there

2/ Usual tackle sellers. Cheap quality...... overhead combos were FLYING off the rack at one stall - reduced from $89 to $60. They were cheap for a reason.........they were CRAP. Buy people queued up to grab one.

3/ There were no bargains. you can get quality gear cheaper outside any time of the year.

3/ The ACCC, Dept Fair Trading, RNA Association, ANYONE should wake up about the prices of a drink and food at these places. The prices were high???? No. The prices were ridiculous???? No. THE PRICES WERE FU***** OBSCENE AND BORDERING ON CRIMINAL PROFITERRING. 4.50 for a 450ml bottle of coke. 4.50 for a box of chips......... mate 4 boxes might feed a grown man. and $hyte if you wanted a urger? 8 bucks. Same at footy grounds, rugby and AFL grounds. Wake up dickheads that run these places, thats why people wont go, they cant afford the obscene prices. Rant over.............

Show a tad disappointing to me. Except chatting to the guys on Ecofisher stand and Bill Corten at the stage.

PS: Just me or are there alot of new brands of tinny's on the market now?????

21-03-2010, 04:32 PM
If you go to the show expecting a bargain then a bit of common sense will tell yo uotherwise. The exhibitors have to pay for their exhibits and also pay overtime for the staff there. Most of the tackles retailers do not attend..but then again most of the tackles retailers don;t get involved in much at all esp. not protecting their businesses. (I just had to toss that in there.)
I found the food to be ok..$5 for a burger and $5 for a beer..was not too bad.
I did enjoy it and will go again.
I did get some good news..my new boat is probably ready.
I got some funny looks when I said I might pick it up next week or the week after.

Ozie_3
21-03-2010, 05:33 PM
im with greg,
the prices are high and so is the overhead..... and i probably attend 3 or 4 shows a year so if it costs 15bucks for fish'n'chips n a coke who cares....but i didnt take a wife and 2 or 3 kids, then it'd be like $200.....

i did buy some gear.... a stack of raider type slices for 2 bucks each and a couple of squid jigs for the same...was buggar all choice in colours but....for a quid each if theyre leff snagged on a rock i don't care..

i was looking at kayaks and only saw 3 displays... and no the deals were not great...normal price with a few freebies tossed in....but thats another story...and i found a much better deal away from the show on saturday...

i did see my new plate boat on display...pick it up on june 18th.....it was at the surf lifesavers foundation stand, cost me 20 bucks..... rofl...

just my opinion....
cheers chris

21-03-2010, 05:50 PM
i did see my new plate boat on display...pick it up on june 18th.....it was at the surf lifesavers foundation stand, cost me 20 bucks..... rofl...

If it was the same bloke who was selling those tickets on Friday, I reckon that he was picked for the job because they could save money on megaphones with him.

What a loud piercing voice!

Likewise at the el cheapo tackle sellers against the back wall at the Gregory Terrace end of the underneath area. As a bloke who loves the peaceful serenity of night-time fishing, I just had to get out of that area as fast as I could because his ongoing yelling about half price tackle was more than I could stand.*

He kept on going on about their wanting to clear all stock. That's bloody obvious, I would have thought. We did not need to be reminded continuously. Does he think that we would somehow surmise that he would otherwise want to cart all that stuff back to wherever he came from? Bloody boofhead! ::)

;D ;D ;D

* BTW some years ago, I bought a bait-runner style reel from that crowd for a significant enough price, albeit much cheaper than what brand names would cost. The reel was Chinese-made, of course, but it had plenty of bearings and appeared to be well machined, very smooth movements and it felt really good to use in one's hands. I caught a few tailor with it after dark at Mud Island that winter but after about three outings, I hooked up something that did a big run and peeled off heaps of line and I staged a magnificent effort fighting the fish and was steadily getting him back towards the boat.

Then the reel collapsed in my hands. :-[

Bugger! Bugger! Bugger! ;D ;D ;D

I later threw it in a rubbish bin and went out and bought myself a new 6500 Shimano bait-runner instead. I have never looked back with that reel. 8-)

I don't buy cheap unknown brands of reel nor rods any more.

I saw fishing rods at the show for $5. Give me a break! ;D What would anyone expect from them other than supreme disappointment when you least can afford it. :(

21-03-2010, 06:42 PM
I , perhaps, have a different outlook on these types of shows. As an example, i worked yesterday morning and all day today as well as all last week and this coming week. I have limited spare time therefore these types of shows are a good time saver for me. I can look at the various products and who sells what without driving all over town to have a look at a sounder etc. I can see various products of different manufacturers all in the one place. If it costs me $50 to park and get in and something to eat and drink then it is time and money well spent. Plus catching up with a few friends there makes it even better.

21-03-2010, 07:02 PM
Have to agree that the tackle 4 sale wasn't much chop. But, good prices on the watersnake leccys.

If you're looking at boats, the range wasn't too bad.

Food/drink prices pretty much as expected, wouldn't like to have to feed a family!!

This is pretty much the only show I go to so I'm happy to be out of pocket up to $50 for food drinks and odds & sods for a day there. This year I could only attend for a few hours so food & drink was only around $20.

I'll be back next year for a full day.

21-03-2010, 07:15 PM
I got Kristy's phone number and Sarah asked for mine. ;)

There were boats there ?????? :-/ 8-) ;D 8-)

Spent all day Saturday and from lunch time Sunday there.

Met many people, new faces and old.

$11.20 for a coffee and an ice tea.................. :o

Thanks to all you good folk that dropped into the ECOfishers stand to say g'day, sign the petition or join up.

LP.

21-03-2010, 07:58 PM
I got Kristy's phone number and Sarah asked for mine. ;)

There were boats there ?????? :-/ 8-) ;D 8-)

Spent all day Saturday and from lunch time Sunday there.

Met many people, new faces and old.

$11.20 for a coffee and an ice tea.................. :o

Thanks to all you good folk that dropped into the ECOfishers stand to say g'day, sign the petition or join up.

LP.

Some bugger decided to park a $160k cat next to our stand, which I neglected to look at all weekend (it is a cat after all, see one seen them all). Timmy convinced me to go take a look, now I am sitting here toying with numbers to see if I can somehow come up with the coin to buy one... By far the best boat at the show in my opinion...

21-03-2010, 09:12 PM
What brand of cat there mate? Wish I could have gone. I was contending with Dust storms and rockets lol.

21-03-2010, 09:31 PM
What brand of cat there mate? Wish I could have gone. I was contending with Dust storms and rockets lol.

This little beuty: http://www.powercatmarine.com.au/page/Boat_Range/2500_PowerCat_Sports_Fisherman/

Best laid out cat that size I have ever been in. Not sure I can stretch the budget out that far though.

21-03-2010, 10:16 PM
It looks like they have copied Glacier Bays toilet/sleeping set up... A great set up IMO. Pity its still not got full glass available though.

22-03-2010, 07:27 AM
Good to have gone in the last few hours of Sunday, great show! Bumped into Phil and Chris doing a stirling job, signed up a friend who was with me right then and there:o

Unfortunately my prepaid ( online) ticket didnt save me the long wait to get in, friend who was with me had not paid yet, but that's OK. Straight over from another country, he was like a kid in a candy shop and was eager to see what was around every corner he turned.

One guy tried to sell us a long esky at " show price" and tried to convince me I had to pay a deposit in the closing hour of the show in order to take advantage of the discount. But I ask you, if I ring him in a weeks time and said I wanted to pay the same price a week later, would he walk away and miss a sale? My wallet stayed safe in my hip pocket, didn't walk away with another rod and reel combo to join the others in my rod stand ( half don't get used any more!)

Those Stabicraft looked like a nice combo too, especially around the 6mtr , anyone have a favourite boat package?

Tried to find you Bill, catch up with you soon.;)

chief
22-03-2010, 05:42 PM
It was a great show. Only problem was going home with out that Camo Attack 480 in tow, Talk about my dream boat. I keep having dreams about that rig ;D

kickback
22-03-2010, 06:07 PM
I couldn't resist those damn switchblades for $10 a pop. I just had to grab a few lol.

22-03-2010, 06:42 PM
We got an interesting person at the ECOFishers stand on the last day. An organic beef farmer who grew organic fish (perch i think) who said he does not like people to catch fish cause it causes them pain???

22-03-2010, 06:51 PM
We got an interesting person at the ECOFishers stand on the last day. An organic beef farmer who grew organic fish (perch i think) who said he does not like people to catch fish cause it causes them pain???

Yeah what a turd burgler.

Andy and I cleared off and left him with Chris. We just wanted to smash the damned hypochrite. "Hooking fish is cruel but feedlotting cattle and killing them is fine."

What a jerk. What a friggin' waste of carbon.

Tim.

Chris Ryan
22-03-2010, 08:40 PM
Now now boys he was entitled to his opinion. I did manage to get him to agree our principle of sustaining fisheries for generations of fisherman was sound. Thanks for the support by the way - ;)

We had a big weekend and gave away a heap of flyers on us, the MBMP, charters, fish handling (including DVD's) and lots of signatures and some new members on the spot.

Bill_Corten
22-03-2010, 09:22 PM
Hi Chris

Well done to all who manned the ECOFISHERS stand. You guys picked the perfect weekend to put up a display and fly the flag. There was a tad more than 35,000 people through the gates which is another new record for the T&T show.

Bill

Chris Ryan
23-03-2010, 08:12 AM
Thanks Bill. I appreciate the comments here and made during the show.

Can't say we had any influence over the weather but those attendance numbers are encouraging for the industry as a whole.