PDA

View Full Version : Sounder setup in the Aquamaster 5.1m

marto78
01-03-2010, 06:58 PM
Just wondering how people have there transducer setup with this hull and do they get a good reading at speed? I've been playing around with mine for the last 12 months and can only get a faint bottom reading at speed, the sounder is a furuno 620. The next step I think is to drop it down 10 or 20cm and see if that works (just a bit worried about water pressure ripping it off). Any help from other owners would be appreciated.
Cheers Marto

peterbo3
01-03-2010, 08:11 PM
G'Day Marto,
Can you put some pics up showing transducer from side & rear, plus the hull in front of the transducer. Transducer location & fitting guidelines are pretty standard.
Having said that, do you get good bottom data at low speeds? If you do, that should eliminate a faulty transducer or 620 display unit.

marto78
02-03-2010, 06:13 AM
Hey Peter,
These are the best photos I have without going for a walk in the rain to get them;D
Hope these help some.
Marto

peterbo3
02-03-2010, 07:25 AM
Marto,
Your transducer looks to be in the right spot except for one thing. You are right in the middle of two strakes. And those strakes are fairly close together. At speed the water turbulence & aeration generated by those strakes is going to degrade your transducer signal. No ifs or buts.
You did not mention if you were getting a good pic at low speeds but I will take your non reply as an indication that all is good.
I have a plate boat which also has an issue with strake turbulence.
This was my solution.
http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m31/peterbo3/IMG_0449Medium.jpg
I mounted my transducer in front of the leg. Great bottom pics up to 24 knots with bottom trace & depth up to 30 knots.
I doubt if dropping your transducer right down will work as the aeration gets below the water surface.

marto78
02-03-2010, 05:04 PM