View Full Version : Lowrance Structurescan Images 2

leelee
13-02-2010, 03:18 PM
Took the boat for a run today in the river just to try some fine tuning on my Lowrance Structurescan.

River was running really quick and was really silty and heaps of debris was floating around after the recent rains.

I scanned an area where I knew the bank had slid down into the river.

Here is what you would normally see with the sonar without structure scan –

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot130210_1.png

When using the downscan feature this is actually what you are looking at –

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot130210_2.png

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot130210_23.png

Another pass from the reverse angle –

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot130210_7.png

And here is 1 pass over the area with side scan –

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot130210_6.png

Also scanned some bridge pylons and here is what showed up on downscan –

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot130210_4.png

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot130210_8.png

and here are the pylons on the side scan –

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot130210_5.png

I also scanned some laydowns and here is what downscan shows when you sound the far edge of the end of the laydown –

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot130210_9.png

and this is what it looks like from side scan –

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot130210_10.png

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot130210_12.png

All these soundings were taken from the Brisbane river over the space of 60 mins.

Lee

bronsonwinston
13-02-2010, 04:28 PM
Great pics. Where have you got your transducer mounted? Is it a little lower than the bottom of your hull or flush or a little up. I have mine mounted a little lower than the bottom of the hull, like a 1/4". Havnt had a chance to test yet bit worried about it will rooster tail. Cheers

leelee
13-02-2010, 05:27 PM
The LSS1 transducer is located under the pad on my boat and its a pretty safe position to have it in.

I had Grand Marlin install it because I did not want to drill through the glass under the pad.

Here it is -

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/P10100922.jpg

Lee

18-02-2010, 11:06 PM
Great pics Lee. I am looking at the upgrade myself, so I think you have convinced me mate. Bet you can't wait to see some barra on it.

leelee
18-02-2010, 11:32 PM
Great pics Lee. I am looking at the upgrade myself, so I think you have convinced me mate. Bet you can't wait to see some barra on it.

I can't wait to get it up to Mondy.

Mate I will be up at Borumba so if you want to come for a ride and have a look you are more than welcome.

I have sold my HDS7 and upgraded to a HDS8

Its hard to see how the units really work in a shop when they are on simulate mode.

If you decide you can't wait and you need one then you should order it ASAP as the back orders are filling fast. Give Grand_Marlin a call and he should be able to sort you out I think.

Lee

19-02-2010, 10:51 PM
I can't wait to get it up to Mondy.

Mate I will be up at Borumba so if you want to come for a ride and have a look you are more than welcome.

I have sold my HDS7 and upgraded to a HDS8

Its hard to see how the units really work in a shop when they are on simulate mode.

If you decide you can't wait and you need one then you should order it ASAP as the back orders are filling fast. Give Grand_Marlin a call and he should be able to sort you out I think.

Lee

Thanks Lee

I'll be at Borumba so will definitely take you up on that offer. Looking at swapping over my bow flushmount sounder 510c for the HDS5 and my console ram-mounted LCX28cHD for the HDS8. I have NMEA 2000 so would probably get them linked. Got a quote from a retailer down Capalaba way for around $4500 fitted, but might PM Pete to see what other options I have. I'll then sell my units privately.

Sounds good mate and look forward to catching up at Borumba.

leelee
20-02-2010, 12:55 PM
Thanks Lee

I'll be at Borumba so will definitely take you up on that offer. Looking at swapping over my bow flushmount sounder 510c for the HDS5 and my console ram-mounted LCX28cHD for the HDS8. I have NMEA 2000 so would probably get them linked. Got a quote from a retailer down Capalaba way for around $4500 fitted, but might PM Pete to see what other options I have. I'll then sell my units privately.

Sounds good mate and look forward to catching up at Borumba.

Yeah if you get structure scan you can basically do away with the nmea, but its still ok to hook up to use other NMEA products, but you can ethernet the 2 units together so they can share the structure scan but then they can share data between units via ethernet which is betetr then nmea.

Pete will be able to sort you out for sure and he does a great job on fitting as well. A1 workmanship and no stuff ups and really takes his time and makes things neat.

Lee

Callop
20-02-2010, 02:36 PM
Paul ,I have to agree with Lee. Pete does a great job and his service is the best that I have found. When I went to pick up my HDS5, he had it out of the box making sure all was good to go and was even doing the software update.

Lee, good to see you will be at the Bash. I'd like to compare notes on HDS settings. You are getting some great images.

20-02-2010, 07:19 PM
Yeah if you get structure scan you can basically do away with the nmea, but its still ok to hook up to use other NMEA products, but you can ethernet the 2 units together so they can share the structure scan but then they can share data between units via ethernet which is betetr then nmea.

Pete will be able to sort you out for sure and he does a great job on fitting as well. A1 workmanship and no stuff ups and really takes his time and makes things neat.

Lee

Thanks Lee and Dave

I love my NMEA for the fuel data it gives me. It marries perfectly with the Suzuki and Lowrance and I can get my fuel data accuracy calibrated to 0.5 litre, so it serves its purpose well. Also gives great fuel flow data from idle to WOT, as well as seasonal aggregated data.

So where is Pete located? I'll definitely PM him.

`

Callop
20-02-2010, 08:39 PM
Grand_Marlin is your man

leelee
20-02-2010, 09:09 PM
Thanks Lee and Dave

I love my NMEA for the fuel data it gives me. It marries perfectly with the Suzuki and Lowrance and I can get my fuel data accuracy calibrated to 0.5 litre, so it serves its purpose well. Also gives great fuel flow data from idle to WOT, as well as seasonal aggregated data.

So where is Pete located? I'll definitely PM him.

`

Pete is on the North Side.

Give him a yell and yes your fuel flow meter is what you want for a more accurate fuel level and usage instead of the fuel gauge as we both know the fuel gauges on our boats are never acurrate.

Lee

leelee
20-02-2010, 09:13 PM
I took these shots today as the river was full of bait but not many fish around eating them.

Few patches of bait near a pylon -

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot32.png

A few patches of bait in the river -

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot22.png

A heap of bait -

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot42.png

Bridge pylons and an unknown submersed object -

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z243/leelee_fishing/shot52.png

Lee

leelee
20-02-2010, 09:16 PM
Paul ,I have to agree with Lee. Pete does a great job and his service is the best that I have found. When I went to pick up my HDS5, he had it out of the box making sure all was good to go and was even doing the software update.

Lee, good to see you will be at the Bash. I'd like to compare notes on HDS settings. You are getting some great images.

No worries dave.

Happy to swap note and settings .

Lee

Dicko
21-02-2010, 10:49 AM
Lee

Good stuff.

When you did the sonar log thing, can you select the different views later on in the viewer on your computer or does it just take what's on the screen at the time ?

I notice your first 2 pics are from the same file.

leelee
21-02-2010, 01:41 PM
Lee

Good stuff.

When you did the sonar log thing, can you select the different views later on in the viewer on your computer or does it just take what's on the screen at the time ?

I notice your first 2 pics are from the same file.

yes when you log sonar you can go back later and take screen shots from the log. Also it appears if you have sonar, side scan and downscan on you can record all three and compare the different returns.

Lee

Steve B
21-02-2010, 09:23 PM
Lee

I know this is about the lowrance, but I just thought i would add this as it's a structure scan thing across both species hbird/lowrance

We have a truck that has been dumped in monduran...currently sits in about 72ft. I got a few locals that have the H'bird SI and DI to check it out, and they cant get a decent image. I would have thought the DI at least would have given something. These guys know their sounders, and have produced good shots of other stuctures etc too. I am suprised they couldnt with a giant truck!!!....I reckon its the depth. Hence my post, If anyone is coming to Mondy with either or H'bird or Lowrance Structure or SI/DI give me a PM. I will give you the coordinates...I would be interested if someone could get some good images of this truck....the police divers would too just for curiosity reasons. dont PM me if you want it for a 'aritficial reef' type thing...its a waste of time. there is 2.2 million snags/trees in Mondy which are all arties!!

Cheers Steve

leelee
21-02-2010, 10:18 PM
Lee

I know this is about the lowrance, but I just thought i would add this as it's a structure scan thing across both species hbird/lowrance

We have a truck that has been dumped in monduran...currently sits in about 72ft. I got a few locals that have the H'bird SI and DI to check it out, and they cant get a decent image. I would have thought the DI at least would have given something. These guys know their sounders, and have produced good shots of other stuctures etc too. I am suprised they couldnt with a giant truck!!!....I reckon its the depth. Hence my post, If anyone is coming to Mondy with either or H'bird or Lowrance Structure or SI/DI give me a PM. I will give you the coordinates...I would be interested if someone could get some good images of this truck....the police divers would too just for curiosity reasons. dont PM me if you want it for a 'aritficial reef' type thing...its a waste of time. there is 2.2 million snags/trees in Mondy which are all arties!!

Cheers Steve

Steve I won't be coming up for a while but tell the guys to try this -

Split the screen to run down scan on 455khz and normal sonar on 200khz if possible. If that does not work then switch to normal sonar and jump to 50 or 83 khz.

The reason that down scan may not be pickig it up is probably the water temp between the layers and couple that with the garbage that will be suspended and moving around through the water column woudl make it really hard to get a good sounding. I am also guessing there is a heap of sediment suspended mid water?

If its not there maybe one of the silver residents started it and drove it away ;D

Lee