View Full Version : December Fishing Trips

10-02-2010, 11:05 AM
This is my December less days that have allready been posted in other threads.

Steve Half Day (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/31/steve-half-day)

December 31st, 2009

I shouldn't have put to sea this day but the weather had been iffy the whole time and lots of holiday makers were keen to have a fish. The day got off to a bad start when I forget to disconnect the winch cable, the second time in over 300 launches. This buggered up my mudguard which was in poor shape anyway. Who would want to run a charterboat with the continual niggling boat issues plus the corrosive nature of saltwater? We were trying to get to the blinker where we knew the fish were but we only got as far as the Inner Gneerings. Steve took seasick so I did a downsea troll to Old Woman Island. We didn't have any hits and were home and back on the trailer within two hours.

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=98&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/31/steve-half-day#feedbacks)

Wayne and Bruce Full Day (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/30/wayne-and-bruce-full-day)

December 30th, 2009

Wayne and Bruce were up from Melbourne on holidays and wanted to go fishing. We started off down at Caloundra and in sloppy seas on the second pass we landed a spanish mackerel. There wasn't much bait there so I headed to another close spot. This looked the goods and sure enough we were straight into another spanish but the hooks pulled mid fight. The bait was there but the fish weren't chewing. We eventuall pulled a spotty mackerel then we were swamped by boats. I tried all the other Caloundra reefs but did no good so we put the high speed lures out. Within 10mins out the back of the Caloundra 12mile we were connected to a good wahoo but we pulled the hooks clearing the other rod. We trolled up to Mooloolaba and jigged up some bait just as Craig McCulloch's 7.2m Kevlacat Reel Capture tagged their second marlin for the day. We put some live baits out and pretty quickly we had a mahi mahi on. A while later we pulled the hooks one what would have been a shark or a marlin that had a lot of speed and weight but didn't jump. One the same rig a while later we straighted the circle hook on another good size mahi mahi after a good jump, the fish before must have fatigued it. The boys were happy to head in early if I gave them a hand with cleaning the fish. Not a bad day with the action not red hot but steady all day just the same.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/Image_00012s.jpg

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=99&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/30/wayne-and-bruce-full-day#feedbacks)

Failure to Launch (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/29/failure-to-launch)

December 29th, 2009

I had my first bit of major boat trouble at the ramp this morning which cancelled my day. In the end it was a simple fix with a main ignition fuse corroded on one leg but the boat has always been super reliable for me or easily fixed. I took it to a mate Mark who has an autoelectrical business and we started tracing the wires with a test light after checking the batteries etc. After pulling the boat apart it had to be at the battery end and sure enough I found the fuse. It had a spare in the holder and if I had found it at the ramp we could have been away and fishing in no time. Very frustrating to say the least.

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=100&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/29/failure-to-launch#feedbacks)

Danish Full Day Gamefishing Charter (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/23/danish-full-day-gamefishing-charter)

December 23rd, 2009

I had two Danish tourists aboard today who wanted to catch marlin. Well we did real well tagging one each for the boys as well as keeping a mahi mahi for them for a feed. The drift was quick early so I concentrated on securing a fair heap of slimy mackerel for live bait. Once I had a tank full I was happy and knew it had set up my day nicely. We wandered away from the fleet to get a couple of live baits out and to have a slow troll around looking for our own bait. A short while into the troll and we were hooked up to a nice black marlin. 40mins later I had it on the leader and then into the boat for a photo. We tagged it, measured it and let it go. It's short length was 1.59m making it 38kg from the length to weight tables. Next fish up as we trolled back to the fleet was a mahi mahi. It went in the ice box and we put another slimy out. The bait broke up a bit but I was lucky enough to keep finding it a bit south of the fleet. Right next to a few boats we hooked up again and were on. A bit of fancy boat manouvaring and with an experienced crew we would have secured a tag within about 2 minutes but it ended up a 20min fight as I leadered our second for the day. This one was 30kg from the length to weight tables. It went quiet from then on so we put the lures and gar out and had a troll around. Some of the bait looked ok but it didn't happen. We got the call that birds were chopping the surface everywhere in close but they ended up being bonito so we had a bit of fun and topped up the bait supplies for next time.

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=86&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/23/danish-full-day-gamefishing-charter#feedbacks)

Mick Milligan Half Day Charter out of Rainbow Beach (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/22/mick-milligan-half-day-charter-out-of-ra)

December 22nd, 2009

Mick booked me in to take himself, his dad Rick and mate Damo out for the morning. We put in at Carlo Point boat ramp and headed to the bar. It was dead flat and we crossed fisherman's gutter with no problem. We started looking for bait on the 38m reefs and there was heaps there but it all looked like whitebait or glass or frogmouth pilchards. We had a few drifts on every likely looking show pulling a few pearlies of legal or just under sizes. Eventually we cracked a reef that looked the goods. The plastics were performing pulling the best pearlie as well as a good 71cm snappper. It went off the boil a bit so we keep looking. One spot looked ok and we pulled a couple of fish but where we had come from was definately the place to be. We headed back and pulled another nice snapper then we pulled the hooks on what would have been a nice AJ also on the plastics. Damo ended up hooking up bigtime right as we called last drop and pulled in a 82cm snapper on his own bottom basher. Back in through the main bar which had barely a ripple on it topping off a top morning.

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=87&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/22/mick-milligan-half-day-charter-out-of-ra#feedbacks)

Dwayne Full Day Charter Out of Rainbow Beach (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/21/dwayne-full-day-charter-out-of-rainbow-b)

December 21st, 2009

Dwayne had me booked in to take him out for quite some time on this date. His crew constantly changed but eventually John and his son locked themselves in. We started off trolling but it was quiet. We switched to bottom bashing but the current was racing. We picked a few up the first drift with parrot the main thing coming up and then trolled back north. Next drift we did better with Dwayne picking up a spangled emperor over 80cm and some red throat emperor hitting the deck. Dwayned ended up with a good coronation trout in one of the drifts and species list included a rainbow runner, yellowtail kingfish, a hussar and a fair few red throats and parrot. The current was running at about 2.3knots so we headed back in to look for spotty mackerel. We cast at about 12 mack tuna schools but couldn't find any spottys.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/P2251334a.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/P2251338a.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/P2251343a.jpg

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=88&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/21/dwayne-full-day-charter-out-of-rainbow-b#feedbacks)

10-02-2010, 11:12 AM
Phil T Full Day Trip (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/20/phil-t-full-day-trip-1)

December 20th, 2009

Phil T was back again with another group of mates. We had a hot tip that the kingfish and AJs were at the blinker but today there was no current and no fish. The day before the current was ripping and the fish were on the surface.
We headed to the 8mile billfish grounds and jigged up some bonito and yakkas. Catching 6 bonito at a time was a blast for the guys.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/Smithy.jpg

We didn't get any billfish but we did see a free feeding sailfish a couple of times on a meatball of bait it had rounded up by flashing it's sail up and down and also a free swimming black marlin and hammerhead shark.

Not much was going on so I headed a bit wider to have a troll for some wahoo and dolphinfish. They didn't play the game either with just one mack tuna landed. The consolation was the AJs and kingfish were on resulting in quadruple hookups on soft plastics, live baits and jigs. There should be more photos coming from the guys.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/s.jpg

Can you tell Grant is happy?

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/GrantafterAJs.jpg

With this!

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/GrantAjs.jpg

Phil in action.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/PhilThookedups.jpg

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=89&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/20/phil-t-full-day-trip-1#feedbacks)

Gary White Half Day Trip (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/18/gary-white-half-day-trip)

December 18th, 2009 Today didn't live up to the previous day's expectations. The water looked different with a bit of a green colour about it and it was not ripping off the back of the blinker with the same venom. We trolled round and round the hot spots but nothing was happening. We trolled out over Murphy's Reef and out to the 50m line hoping for a yellowfin tuna but the water was much the same and no bait compared to how it had been. We ran back into the blinker and had immediate success landing a yellowfin tuna, the best eating pelagic fish in my opinion. The sucked us into trying the area again but it wasn't happening. We trolled back in over Leach Shoal picking up a spanish mackerel on the way and joined the procession trolling over the Inner Gneerings. We still couldn't add to the box and with the northerly freshening we headed in.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/Pics008s.jpg

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=90&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/18/gary-white-half-day-trip#feedbacks)

Mark Cleary Half Day (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/17/mark-cleary-half-day)

December 17th, 2009

Mark and son Louis were visiting from England. The weather forecast was good but we we headed out in 12-15 of northerly. I wanted to start out soft plasticing in close to get Louis used to being the boat and so we weren't far from shore but the boys were struggling to keep their feet. I decided trolling might be the way to go as they could sit down and wait for the bite. First pass and we had a hit that didn't stay connected. Next pass and we were on a double hookup of what turned out to be wahoo. I fought one but Mark got to land both. From then on it was a hit or fish every pass of two spots. Most bites were on the minnows but then we had a run on the skirts. Eventually we got Louis harnessed up in the full Black Magic gear and he was on next strike. He did a great job winding and caught one as well. We ended the morning with five wahoo in the ice box and two missed strikes. The weather by now was glassy calm as it should have been by the forecast making for a great morning on the water.
The double hookup in the fish bin to bleed out.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/Pics006s.jpg

Back at the Buddina boat ramp cleaning tables from my phone.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/Image_00010s.jpg

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=91&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/17/mark-cleary-half-day#feedbacks)

Scalded Cat Afternoon Trip (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/16/scalded-cat-afternoon-trip)

December 16th, 2009

I jumped at the chance to head out Wednesday afternoon on the 26' Grady White cat, Scalded with mates Kym and Conor. There was about 12knots of NE and the weather had be too iffy to organise a charter. We set the lures and within 10mins we were connected to a double hookup of mahi mahi. One become unhooked and the original one we landed, all the while the rest of the school followed it around. It was the smallest fish of the school and ened up going about 10kg. A while later I looked around to see a marlin dorsal fin following the close lure. Sure enough it struck, ran off 10m of line then spat the hook all in one motion. A while later we were hit on our 2nd closest lure, all bites so far had been on the flat lures and none off the outrigger lines and this was a nice 50-70kg black marlin that carved the ocean to foam. Kym got to fight it for 3minutes or so before the 130lb leader came back cut in two some how.

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=92&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/16/scalded-cat-afternoon-trip#feedbacks)

Chris Full Day Trip (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/14/chris-barnard-full-day-trip)

December 14th, 2009

Chris who had his own boat at Bribie was out to learn how to marlin fish with his mates. Expectations were high after getting one and seeing another the day before and another boat in the same area got one and dropped one. We got to the grounds only to find the bait scarce on the sounder. The day previous ever time I went over a likely bait school we would have a strike but today I only found two bait balls less than 20m below the surface and the total amount of bait was about 1/8th of what had been there the day previous. Not good. I ran over all my good marks around lunch so we decided to pull all the gear in and run to a never fail spot. We nearly ran over a marlin on the way in and then we saw freejumping mahi mahi but we couldn't get them to jump. Eventually we picked up a trevally on the troll and that was the signal to chase the AJs and yellowtail kingfish on the jigs and plastics. A surprise catch in this session was a dogtooth tuna, one of the white meat tunas of the bonito family but these things grow to about 100kg. He was only a junior size 4kg sort of one but the AJs and kingies were hot to trot in the short time we had on them scratching up a feed for the boys.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/Image_00009.jpg

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=93&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/14/chris-barnard-full-day-trip#feedbacks)

10-02-2010, 11:14 AM
Eddie Full Day Trip (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/13/eddie-full-day-trip)

December 13th, 2009

Eddied was booked in again to this time chase marlin. We headed north to Chardon's reef off Noosa where I had got one the week before and where I knew the bait was plentiful.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Gamefishing/IMG_1532.jpg

The bait was still there and we caught heaps of bonito and undersize tailor but we couldn't pull any yakkas or slimy mackerel. We gave it a fair while jumping off one mahi mahi but had to make a move to try and find some fish. While travelling I ran over some good bait so decided to give it a go there. Everytime we hit a good bait school on the sounder we would get a strike but when the gear came back there were no obvious teeth marks or bite-offs from wahoo or scuff marks from marlin. Interesting! We did this for a while and worked out another club boat was in the area and they had allready dropped one. Things were looking good. I told the boys to keep a close eye out as in those sort of conditions you can often see the top lobe of a marlin's tail cutting through the surface.

Sure enough we saw one and worked the area before getting a hit on the skip gar and we were hooked up solid. We did a bit of tag team fishing with all the boys getting a go on the hour long fight.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Gamefishing/IMG_1545.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Gamefishing/IMG_1538.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Gamefishing/IMG_1539.jpg

Eventually we got the leader on the 40-50kg fish but it popped off before photos. Somewhere in there we took a screaming strike on the hard body minnow but it too came back unscathed so it was hard to say what hit it. The other boat near us also ended up getting one and we ran out of time to get another. Thanks to Eddie for these photos and also this Youtube footage. I have some off my video camera too.

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=94&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/13/eddie-full-day-trip#feedbacks)

Scott Full Day (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/12/scott-full-day)

December 12th, 2009

Scott booked in an along with him was John. We tried trolling for wahoo and mahi mahi but nothing was happening other than yellowtail kingfish and amberjack so we pulled up and dropped some liveys down. Sure enough they were on the job. The boys were just catching and releasing so we started trolling again. Again it got boring so back to the AJs and kingies to spin them up on soft plastics. This was the order of the day, spin up the seriolas till we got bored, troll till we got bored then back to spinning to see if they were still there which they were every time then back to trolling again. We did watch Ymer hook and lose a nice 10kg plus mahi mahi right beside us which would have made our afternoon.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/SDC10110s.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/SDC10112s.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/SDC10115s.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/SDC10116s.jpg

Ymer just before hooking the mahi mahi.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/Pics005ss.jpg

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=121&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/12/scott-full-day#feedbacks)

Kevin, Jordy & Peter Trip (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/11/kevin-jordy-aamp-peter-trip)

December 11th, 2009

We started off on soft plastics and first drift we had 2 cracking snapper on for one fish in the boat. Next drift and we had another. We got a few hits and bumps but once there was some light in the sky the fish went off. We did witness two freejumping spanish mackerel but we couldn't get on any good bait schools like where we pulled the snapper off. We did the big slog north to set up for the ride home with the expected northerly. The mahi mahi were there everywhere but we could only temp one. We could see them in the water though. We setup on a reef pulling a procession of reefies till the northerly forced us home with the best legal fish from that session a nice trag jew.

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/Pics005a.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2009/December/Pics007a.jpg

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=122&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/11/kevin-jordy-aamp-peter-trip#feedbacks)

Jules Arvo Trip (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/05/jules-arvo-trip)

December 5th, 2009

With my morning charter turning into a morning snapper trip from a half day trip I rang my girlfriend Jules to come out for the afternoon as the mahi mahi were on and they would be a good intro to her as far as a gamefish species is concerned. She was always up me that so far all she had caught with me were garfish for marlin baits. We hooked up first drop but this mahi mahi took us straight into the FAD. Next drop and we had one to the boat and tagged for her first tagged gamefish on 8kg breaking strain tackle. It was getting too rough to live bait so we put some trolling gear out and headed south with the sea but did no good.

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=118&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/05/jules-arvo-trip#feedbacks)

Josh Morning Snapper Trip (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/05/josh-mcdonald-morning-snapper-trip)

December 5th, 2009

Josh came out with his wife Erin to see how she would handle offshore fishing. Not too good it would seem succumbing to seasickness but she did manange to catch a snapper or two on soft plastics before we turned the day from a half day to a morning trip. Josh was on fire though on the plastics and we ended up with 5 snapper and grass sweetlip for the session. After just commenting I had never caught a red throat emperor at this particular spot, Josh went and pulled a rte, just undersize.

Posted in Welcome (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/welcome/) | http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/rsc/icons/edit.gif Edit... (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/admin.php?ctrl=items&action=edit&p=117&redirect_to=http%3A%2F%2Fsunshinecoastdeepseafishi ngcharters.com.au%2Fblog%2Fblog1.php%2F2009%2F12%2 F%3Fblog%3D1%26m%3D200912%26posts%3D100) | Send feedback » (http://sunshinecoastdeepseafishingcharters.com.au/blog/blog1.php/2009/12/05/josh-mcdonald-morning-snapper-trip#feedbacks)

JB
10-02-2010, 11:42 AM
Comprehensive report Smithy, thanks mate good reading.

fishfreak01
10-02-2010, 02:23 PM
You sure know your stuff, well done

fishfreak