PDA

View Full Version : North Qld this weekend

nidrac
03-02-2010, 03:02 PM
Hey guys,

I am a bit new to this whole spearing thing and was just wondering if there was anyone from up north Queensland way that would be able to tell me what they think the vis will be like this weekend out at the reef off Lucinda. Was thinking of heading out early Saturday morning for a dive in trout ally but with all the recent rain don't know if its worth it.

Cheers,
Nidrac

Scott nthQld
03-02-2010, 03:39 PM
I reckon it'll be pretty dirty a fair way out, but if I were you, I'd take a rod and a box of squid just in case, supposed to be glassy this w/e. That way if its clear, jump in and have a spear, if not, then drop a line down, either way its not a waste heading out

nidrac
03-02-2010, 04:38 PM
Yeah mate that was the plan anyway as the old man fishes in the boat while we dive but 5 people in a boat with diving gear for 3 people doesn't leave too much room for moving around so trying to work out if we leave the diving stuff at home, either way we'll be taking advantage of the weather...

Cheers, Nidrac

boney-leg
03-02-2010, 04:48 PM
Bramble might be okay but there has been a fair bit of run so maybe it has pushed out to there. Good forecasts though!!

Chopper Taylor
03-02-2010, 06:56 PM
geez, it's tough for you blokes up there. should we dive and spear our coral trout or catch them on rod and reel?

oh, the stress you guys must be under when making these hard decisions.

and to top it off your soccer team beat my hapless Newcastle Jets last night as well.

almost enough to make me what to move north... I said almost

devocean
03-02-2010, 08:13 PM
I reckon you will get at least 15 metres which should be enough for the reef. Just don't dive furing the big run times.

googarra
03-02-2010, 08:33 PM