View Full Version : Some Whopper 30lb+ Snapper from Arno Bay in Jan

Bigash
03-02-2010, 10:59 AM
Hi Guys
a few pics from January this year. some thumper snapper landed with lots of fish over the 25lb mark & a few in the low 30's.

Houli with a 32lb honker. this fish released

http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100120AliHoulihan32lbSnapper.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:00 AM
Kel with a 30lb "Knobber" also released
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100120Kel30lbsnapper.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:00 AM
same fish
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100120Kel30lbKnobber.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:01 AM
Tom with his 1st big red
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100120TomHoffmanSnapper.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:02 AM
couple lads getting into the action, Jake & tom
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100103BrettGalvinSnapper.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:03 AM
Brett's Happy to be in SA
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100103JakeGuideraandTomGalvinSnappe.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:03 AM
Matt from WA caught this whopper, well over 30lb
it was released
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100103MattWynne32lbSnapper.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:04 AM
Tony back for Holidays
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100103TonyGuideraSnapper.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:05 AM
Rob out fished his son Andrew with a nice 27lb fish
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100107RobMyers1275kgSnapper.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:05 AM
Geordie with 1 of a few he landed on lucanus jigs
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100108GeordieLucanusSnapper.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:06 AM
Hugh also got into the lucanus action
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100108HughLucanusSnapper.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:07 AM
whats for lunch...answer snapper
this 12ft white pointer has just scoffed a 8kg snapper at the boat & looking for more
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100108WhitePointer3.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:08 AM
Warren with 23lb fish
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100106WarrenDakin105kgSnapper.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:08 AM
He the upsized adding another 3 or 4 Lb
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100106WarrenDakin12kgSnapper.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:09 AM
Betty showed the boys how it's done.
not sure on the headlock while helping to hold the fish up
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100105BettyMarchesanSnapper.jpg

Bigash
03-02-2010, 11:10 AM
Nick with another whopper landed by a young lad.
this fish around the 28-30lb mark aswell
http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj291/Big-ash/100105NickMarchesan122kgSnapper.jpg

fishfreak01
03-02-2010, 11:36 AM
no doubt you guys have it over us on the size of snapper, however we make up for it with pelagics, lol

fishfreak

vertico
03-02-2010, 12:22 PM
absolute stonkers ash welldone mate

f.t.r.
03-02-2010, 01:10 PM
awesome, very very envious.

matty

Benno1
03-02-2010, 01:46 PM
ho...leee...CRAP!!!...wait till the yanks in the office see these :P...Top shelf BigAsh...love your work.
Cheers for the pics and report.

Mrs Benno1
Sunny

Fish_gutz
03-02-2010, 04:20 PM
awesome , there is some horses amongst them.
thanks for the pics. Cheers Andrew

cobiaman
03-02-2010, 04:50 PM
i think i need to get over there one day...

hookinin
03-02-2010, 07:12 PM
Thanks for keeping us informed Ash. Great to see that quality of fish and those happy anglers i bet it makes your job rewarding.
Cheers Gaven

murf
03-02-2010, 07:59 PM
love the snozza on that snapper :) reminds me of a deckie haha

top stuff

cheers Murf

03-02-2010, 08:52 PM
That is the sort of stuff that makes a fishing trip sooooooo memorable. They will all be able to tell their grandkids and won't have to lie about the awesome size of those fish.

Thanks for taking the time to post those pics Ash

WestOzDesertFisher
03-02-2010, 11:49 PM
Massive snapper! Nice work Bigash. Any more info on gear, rigs, baits, lures???? :P

SWANY22
04-02-2010, 04:52 AM
awsome they are stonker fish.how good would it of been for the young fellas looks like they held there own too.that would defently be a fishing trip that will never forget.

Bigash
04-02-2010, 08:55 AM
Massive snapper! Nice work Bigash. Any more info on gear, rigs, baits, lures???? :P

thanks guys
some info on gear/baits/lures
latest bait combo's i'm running are shimano spheros 8000fb/Raider 701 snapper
using 30lb mono in 20-30mt of water. using 2 gama circle hooks 5/0 up to 8/0 snooded together on 1.5mt 80lb trace. use as running rig or put a loop in the middle of the that same trace & put sinkler 1 end & swivel in the middle if fishing reefy bottom tha snags.
baits are livies slimies/chow(yakkas/yellowtail), tommy ruffs, also use them dead aswell as squid & KGWhiting frames which are the best bait when fresh.

lure combos are starlo stix tournament pro max & mid spins
with 2500/4000 Symetre reels, 10-20lb braid with 1.5mt 40lb mono leader tied with uni/uni knot.
use 28-40-60gm squidgie jig heads, Squidgie 125mm white lightning shads, flick baits 110/145mm in pillie/princess/glow/yakka/slimy/lemon chicken/green all work well on their day. don't stick to same colour lure for too long, mix it up for best results. flick baits need action applied to them aggressive some days, shads work best with slow rolling retrieve & quite often get slammed on way down, shad account for most of the real big fish on lures, all the fish i have got 28-30lb+ on lures are on white lightning shads in this fashion.
hope this helps
Bigash

Rumbles
04-02-2010, 10:23 AM
A great collection there Bigash, I am heading down to warm and sunny SA next week...hope to get into a few , they will be most likely little wipper snappers compared to a few of those monsters. It will be a bit of a change from the 25 deg water and 35 deg days with macs and marlin we have up here on the sunny coast at the moment.

Troy

Jurkyjj
04-02-2010, 05:03 PM
Great shots and great fish Ash!!

Mouth watering stuff!!

Jason.