View Full Version : Theres no such thing as bad weather....

Karl Inge
01-02-2010, 04:43 AM
...just bad clothes- At least, thats what we say in Norway. Thought you guys- who I saw on the news are pretty hot nowadays might like a catchreport some friends of mine just posted from a fishing trip night friday/saturday this weekend...

http://www.fiskersiden.no/forum/index.php?showtopic=51739&pid=570626&st=0&#entry570626

mirage
01-02-2010, 05:59 AM
You gotta be keen to bother with that!!

captain rednut
01-02-2010, 06:11 AM
You gotta be keen to bother with that!!hi
i will never complain about the weather again.
cheers cr

Karl Inge
01-02-2010, 06:33 AM
Its after commenst like that when I use forums from around the world I like to show off my PB Placie- that was a very nice trip, but we had serious problems finding all the gear when we were going home...

http://www.sportsfiske.nu/foto/arkiv/5143/12821_s.jpg

01-02-2010, 06:45 AM
you guys are legends..................

fishfreak01
01-02-2010, 08:29 AM
That is real dedication and passion for your sport.

I remember when I was young and got my first tinny, I would fish in rain, wind, night all kind of weather. Now days I like warmth, dry, light and comfort.

I can't remember if I caught more fish then or now, but what I do know is that i am more comfortable and dry now.
'
fishfreak

BR65
01-02-2010, 09:17 AM
Whats that white stuff???

Is that ........................ SNOW!!!!!

Mate, I fished last week with lumps of ice under my hat in the daylight hours to try and cool the noggin down, it was stinking hot.

What a totally differant enviroment o fish.

01-02-2010, 10:39 AM
hi
i will never complain about the weather again.
cheers cr

2nd that.

That's dedication. No need for an esky then??

Wags

01-02-2010, 03:46 PM
man thats to keen..Atleast you won't run out of ice.lol

alba
01-02-2010, 04:17 PM
Fished on some cold days while in Scotland, but thats taking it to the extreme good luck mate
Alba

Bear001
01-02-2010, 04:32 PM
you guys are legends..................

You guys are IDIOTS............lol.........................that s dedication!

bluefin59
01-02-2010, 05:01 PM
WOW unreal conditions , a bottle of rum would be a must there great work guys you are way keener than me i cant stand the cold ...matt

Liberty
01-02-2010, 05:15 PM
Oh that's plain nuts. At least in the US Midwest, they icefish in huts, not out in the open!

reel scream
01-02-2010, 08:17 PM
After a bad trip I have thought about golf instead. But seeing that weather I would have to take up Bar hoping at strip joints!!!

01-02-2010, 08:28 PM
bloody hell..I have never even seen snow let alone fish in the stuff..that would be like sitting in your freezer and fishing. I will never complain about a winter overnighter ever again.

FireFly
01-02-2010, 08:50 PM
Hey Karl...reckon you guys are crazy man!

What kind of fishing line do you use...doesn't it go brittle at those very low temperatures?

:beer:,

death_ship
01-02-2010, 09:01 PM
at least the beer wont go hot

Karl Inge
01-02-2010, 09:06 PM
Both mono and multi lines get problems when you near 20 below, but its not that cold- at least not in the daytime. Its more of a problem that the saltwater freeze in your rod-rings, on your reel etc blocking the line.

Dont know if you guys saw the vids in my other thread, so here they are anyway:

Grey Heron on the ice
http://www.youfish.no/video/330/Grey-Heron

2 cods on the ice, with underwater footage
http://www.youfish.no/video/329/A-couple-of-cods-on-the-ice

Nice haddock on the ice
http://www.youfish.no/video/325/Hyse-25kg-Haddock

How to pass time on the ice- icedrilling-contest
http://www.youfish.no/video/321/Isboringkonkurranse

Nice cod on the ice
http://www.youfish.no/video/319/Nice-cod-on-the-ice

Karl Inge
01-02-2010, 09:08 PM
at least the beer wont go hot

The beer gets slushy, need at least 20% alcohol :) The French Table-wine called "cognaq" will do if we dont have som real Norwegian booze available.

FireFly
01-02-2010, 09:21 PM
[quote=Karl Inge;1126113]Both mono and multi lines get problems when you near 20 below, but its not that cold- at least not in the daytime. ;D;D;D LOL

upstart
01-02-2010, 10:00 PM
I've got the same Plano tackle box!! What a small world.

Liberty
01-02-2010, 10:04 PM
Its more of a problem that the saltwater freezen in your ring ...

Yeah I've heard that too ... ;-)

Karl Inge
01-02-2010, 10:18 PM
Hehe, I refrased that a bit, my english aint that good :)

01-02-2010, 11:42 PM
I must admit that I have fished the snowy river on a morning when the grass was brittle and you could land a worm on the iced over water, then drag it into the flowing water. Caught three nice trout that morning. I did not have a blizzard to contend with though.

It's refreshing to say the least and you know you are alive when you see the great outdoors in a pristine way

geeb
02-02-2010, 12:20 AM
Takk skal du ha for det stor rapportere............regards............Geeb

Karl Inge
21-02-2010, 07:58 PM
Norwegian language settings geeb??? ;)

Have to admit- today I just wasnt up for any fishing.... had a small walk in the neighbourhood with my videocamera.... Todays weather (http://www.youfish.no/video/334/Snowy-weather)

http://www.youfish.no/video/334/Snowy-weather

geeb
13-03-2010, 09:35 AM
[quote=Karl Inge;1133715]Norwegian language settings geeb??? ;)

Hi Karl no it was a translator program did it make any sense. It still all seemed very Dutch to me.....Cheers.....Geeb

gr hilly
13-03-2010, 07:49 PM
stuff that qld beautiful one day perfect the next, those guys in that pic are brain dead from the ice how could you enjoy that ime blessed i live here in seq
hilly

fishandchips
20-03-2010, 10:22 AM
that reminds me of the trout fishing i did when i was younger living in the blue mountains, good times good times. thank mate luke

Jurkyjj
21-03-2010, 01:34 PM
Great effort guys.
I rather like the winter over here more.
15 - 20 is more within my temp zone!!

Jason.